Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Maria Jarema

1908Stary Sambir, Poland | 1958Kraków, Poland
Informations
Sponsor
— Institut Polonais de Paris

Polish sculptor, painter, stage designer, and costume designer.

Maria Jarema studied from 1929 to 1935 at the Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków with sculptor Xawery Dunikowski. She was a member of the first Kraków Group (1932-1937), founded by the Academy’s leftist students to promote modern art in the challenging interwar environment. In 1957, together with Tadeusz Kantor, she co-founded the second Kraków Group, a seminal hub of the avant-garde in Poland under communism. Between 1934 and 1939, she designed costumes and sets for the avant-garde Cricot Theater of Artists, founded by her brother Józef Jarema. She made several trips to Paris (in 1937, 1947, and 1957) and visited Italy in 1958. She was one of only a few artists who refused to participate in the official, state-sponsored art scene during the period of Socialist Realism.
M. Jarema’s extraordinary inventiveness, combined with her creative take on the classical avant-garde, constituted one of the most interesting phenomena in Polish modern art. In the early 1930s, she ventured into sculpture, initially exploring a figurative idiom animated by expressive deformation (Head of Henryk Wiciński, 1935). Later in the decade, she created abstract, organic forms subscribing to the concerns of the Abstraction-Creation circle. She was analytical in her approach to the challenge of representing motion and rhythm, and accentuated the interpenetration and fluidity of forms, thus departing from the notion of sculpture as a static volumetric object (Nude, 1935). During the same period she also painted small, intimate gouaches.

After World War II, M. Jarema focused almost exclusively on painting, with only sporadic returns to sculpture (Dance, 1955). Her brilliant grasp of the relations among volumes and space, and her ability to integrate movement, light, and sound – an ability rooted in her experience in theatre – helped her develop a highly original approach to painting. Her encounter with Surrealism, which was already apparent in her works from the interwar period, encouraged Jarema to study relations between abstract forms and figurative elements, to combine referential and imagined shapes. In the early 1950s, she introduced the technique of monotype, which is connected to watercolour and gouache, to her painting, achieving a highly original aesthetic expression. Over time, her initial legible allusions to the human figure integrated with abstract shapes gave way to purely abstract compositions. Her proclivity for dance motifs and sensitivity to music, fine-tuned by her earlier collaboration with the Cricot Theater of Artists, infused her paintings and sculptures with a rhythmic and musical quality. Her works from the 1950s, such as the Expressions, Penetrations, and Filters series, are her most sublime achievements. They feature transparent monotype shapes and geometrical-cum-organic forms painted in gouache to create colorful mosaics suggesting the movement of forms in space.
In 1958, she represented Poland at the Venice Biennale. Her works are held in many collections: those of the Muzeum Narodowe in Kraków; in Warsaw, Wrocław, and Poznań; and the Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź. In 2018, the Cricoteka Kraków and the Muzeum Śląskie Katowice held a retrospective exhibition entitled Jaremianka. “I’m staying in this theatre. I like it here”.

Read more

Barbara Ilkosz

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Gtowy, 1954, color monotype, paper pasted on canvas, 58 x 42.5 cm, private collection, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Dance, 1955, h : 26 cm, brass, The National Museum, Krakow, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Akt III Swantewit, 1948, watercolor, The National Museum, Krakow, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Composition, 1934-1936, platinated paster, 52 x 20 x 22 cm, Muzeum Rzeźby, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Postacie [Characters], 1943, paper, 19.5 x 15 cm, private collection, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Projet pour costumes de théâtre, 1956, monotype on paper, 18 x 9 cm, private collection, © Maria Jarema

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Maria Jarema

1908Stary Sambir, Ukraine | 1958Cracovie, Pologne
Informations
Soutien
— Institut Polonais de Paris

Sculptrice, peintre, scénographe et costumière polonaise.

Maria Jarema étudie de 1929 à 1935 à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Cracovie sous la direction du sculpteur Xawery Dunikowski. Elle fait partie du premier Groupe de Cracovie (1932-1937), fondé par les étudiants de gauche de l’Académie dans le but de promouvoir l’art moderne dans un contexte éprouvant de l’entre-deux-guerres. En 1957, elle fonde avec Tadeusz Kantor le second Groupe de Cracovie, une plateforme phare pour l’avant-garde polonaise sous le régime communiste. Entre 1934 et1939, elle crée les costumes et décors pour la compagnie de théâtre d’avant-garde Cricot fondée par son frère Józef Jarema. Elle se rend plusieurs fois à Paris (en 1937, 1947 et 1957) et visite l’Italie en 1958. Elle est l’une des rares artistes à avoir refusé de participer au programme artistique officiel soutenu par l’État pendant la période du réalisme socialiste.
L’extraordinaire inventivité de M. Jarema, ainsi que son interprétation innovante de l’avant-garde classique, font de son œuvre l’un des phénomènes les plus fascinants de l’art moderne polonais. Au début des années 1930, elle s’essaie à la sculpture en adoptant tout d’abord un vocabulaire figuratif mu par l’usage de déformations expressives (Tête de Henryk Wiciński, 1935). Plus tard dans la décennie, elle conçoit des formes abstraites et organiques en accord avec les principes du mouvement Abstraction-Création. Elle aborde la complexe tâche de représenter mouvement et rythme dans un esprit analytique, en accentuant l’interpénétration et la fluidité des formes et en se démarquant ainsi d’une conception de la sculpture en tant que volume statique (Nu, 1935). À cette même époque, elle peint également de petites gouaches intimistes.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, M. Jarema se consacre presque exclusivement à la peinture, ne revenant que sporadiquement à la sculpture (Danse, 1955). Sa remarquable compréhension des liens entre volumes et espace, ainsi que sa capacité à y incorporer mouvement, son et lumière, qu’elle tire de son expérience théâtrale, lui permettent de développer une approche de la peinture tout à fait originale. Son contact avec le surréalisme, que l’on retrouve déjà dans ses œuvres de l’entre-deux guerres, l’encourage à s’intéresser aux liens entre formes abstraites et éléments figuratifs et à associer des formes de référence à des formes imaginaires. Au début des années 1950, elle se met à ajouter la technique du monotype à ses aquarelles et gouaches, développant ainsi un mode d’expression plastique inédit. Au fil du temps, les allusions visibles à la figure humaine, qu’elle mêlait à ses débuts à des formes abstraites, se transforment peu à peu en compositions purement abstraites. Sa prédilection pour les motifs liés à la danse et sa sensibilité musicale, affinées par ses collaborations antérieures avec le théâtre Cricot, imprègnent ses tableaux et sculptures d’une qualité rythmique et musicale. Ses œuvres des années 1950, comme les séries Expressions, Pénétrations et Filtres, comptent parmi ses plus belles réussites. Elles comprennent entre autres des mosaïques colorées de formes monotypées et de silhouettes à la fois géométriques et organiques peintes à la gouache, qui évoquent le mouvement des formes dans l’espace.
En 1958, elle représente la Pologne à la Biennale de Venise. Ses œuvres sont conservées dans de nombreuses collections : celle du Muzeum Narodowe de Cracovie ; à Varsovie, Wrocław et Poznań ; au Muzeum Sztuki de Łódź. En 2018, la Cricoteka de Cracovie et le Muzeum Śląskie de Katowice organisent une rétrospective de son œuvre, Jaremianka. « I’m staying in this theatre. I like it here ».

Lire plus

Barbara Ilkosz

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Gtowy, 1954, monotype couleur, papier collé sur toile, 58 x 42,5 cm, collection particulière, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Dance, 1955, h : 26 cm, laiton, The National Museum, Cracovie, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Akt III Swantewit, 1948, aquarelle, The National Museum, Cracovie, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Composition, 1934-1936, plâtre patiné, 52 x 20 x 22 cm, Muzeum Rzeźby, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Postacie [Caractères], 1943, papier, 19,5 x 15 cm, collection particulière, © Maria Jarema

Maria Jarema — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Jarema, Projet pour costumes de théâtre, 1956, monotype sur papier, 18 x 9 cm, collection particulière, © Maria Jarema

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29