Mistuko Tabe

1933 | Taitung City, Taiwan
Informations
Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Mitsuko Tabe in her studio, 28 November 2011, Photo Kokatsu Reiko

Japanese visual artist.

Mitsuko Tabe was born in 1933 in Taiwan when it was under Japanese colonial rule. Soon after the Second World War ended, she settled in Fukuoka Prefecture, where she still lives.
Though known for being among the few female members of Kyūshū-ha, one of the avant-garde art groups that emerged in Japan from the late 1950s to the 1960s, her artistic activity has never been limited to the period or to this framework. She continued working until the 2010s, consistently developing her own original pieces.
Her earliest works were shown at the Kyūshū-ha group’s inaugural exhibition in 1957, and she continued showing her work in the group’s exhibitions until 1960, and participating and winning awards in open-call/juried shows.
Among the works recognised in these exhibitions were Gyozoku no Ikari [Anger of Fishes, 1959] and Hanshoku suru 2 [Breeding 2, 1958/1988], both employing a process that consists of melting asphalt and pouring it on a sheet of plywood, and then pasting bamboo rings on that sheet. Anger of Fishes was created against the backdrop of her fury towards the US hydrogen-bomb test that led to the Lucky Dragon No. 5 incident in 1954, and also towards environmental pollution that led to tragic results such as Minamata disease.

M. Tabe’s major works from the Kyūshū-ha include Jinkō Taiban [Artificial placenta] and Placards, both created in 1961. The former was based on her desire for women to be liberated from their long pregnancies. It was created at a time when she had to keep on producing her work while pregnant. The installation Jinkō Taiban was shown in the Kyūshū-ha Exhibition in 1961 at Ginza Gallery in Tokyo. Consisting of three objects, each composed from the hip part of a mannequin, propped upside-down, into which cotton and ping-pong balls were attached, nails hammered in, and a vacuum tube inserted in place of the vagina, it was exhibited together with two objects representing foetuses.
The original five pieces making up Placards, which were shown in the same exhibition at Ginza Gallery, are now in the collections of museums in Tokyo and Fukuoka. These works, representing political and sexual advertisements, interweave with her interest in societal issues and eroticism. Her interest in the latter was symbolically expressed through employing kiss marks and women’s genitalia. As the supports of those pieces she used parts of a fusuma, Japanese sliding door, moving her artistic production beyond the conventional framework of a canvas.

After the Kyūshū-ha group dissolved in the 1970s, M. Tabe presided over the Kyūshū Women’s Art Exhibition for ten years (1974-1984). During the 1980s, she established the “Earth Post Office” while also executing her Mail Art project. In 1988 she declared herself “retired from being a housewife” and began to fully devote her time to painting. Beginning in the 1990s she predominantly focused on the motif of the “apple”, considering it to be the symbol of universe. She embarked on Ringo [Apple] series, composed of oil paintings and collages, and on the Shuwa [Sign Language] series, in which hand-sign gestures created from plaster were attached around the image of an apple in the centre.

Read more

Reiko Kokatsu

Translated from Japanase by Taeko Nanpei.

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Gyozoku no Ikari [Anger of Fishes], 1959, oil, asphalt and bamboo on board, 130.2 x 162.2 cm, Collection of Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Hanshoku suru 2 [Breeding 2], 1958/1988, oil, asphalt, plaster and bamboo on canvas, 92.2 x 130 cm, Collection of Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe in front of her works, Placards and Jinkō Taiban [Artificial placenta], Ginza Gallery, Tokyo, 1961

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Jinkō Taiban [Artificial placenta], 1961

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Jinkō Taiban [Artificial placenta], 1961/reworked in 2004, mannequin, ping-pong ball, synthetic cotton, vacuum tube, electrical cords, metal nails, cloth, 49.8 x 49.4 x 41.8 cm (x3), Collection of Contemporary Art Museum, Kumamoto

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Placard, 1961, printed matter, synthetic fiber, ink, lipstick, varnish on paper Fusuma, 86 x 93 cm, Collection of Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Placard, 1961, printed matter, brass, lipstick, ink, paint and varnish on paper Fusuma, 86.5 x 93.2 cm, Collection of Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Marcel Proust’s Dining Table, 1995, collage on paper, 45.8 x 60.8 cm, Collection of Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Sign Language, 1996/2010, oil, plaster, gold leaf and printed matter on board, 129.7 x 119.8 x 6.5 cm, Collection of Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Looking for One and Only Existence, 2013, acrylic, charcoal, collage, gold leaf, platinum leaf on silkscreen print, 180 x 100 cm (x6), 180 x 100 cm (x3), exhibition view at Mitsuko Tabe New Works Show at Mizoe Art Gallery, Fukuoka, November-December 2013, Photo Kokatsu Reiko

Magazine
Linked articles
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Mistuko Tabe

1933 | Taitung, Taïwan
Informations
Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait de Mitsuko Tabe dans son atelier, 28 novembre 2011, Photo Kokatsu Reiko

Plasticienne japonaise.

Mitsuko est née à Taïwan, alors sous domination japonaise, en 1933. Peu après la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle s’installe dans la région de Fukuoka, où elle vit encore aujourd’hui.
Si elle est connue pour être l’un des quelques membres féminins du Kyūshū-ha, un groupe d’artistes d’avant-garde du Japon de la fin des années 1950 et 1960, son activité artistique ne s’est jamais limitée à cette période ou à ce cadre. Elle a poursuivi son travail jusqu’aux années 2010, élaborant sans cesse des œuvres originales.
C’est à l’exposition inaugurale de Kyūshū-ha en 1957 que sont exposées ses premières œuvres. Elle continuera de participer aux expositions du groupe jusqu’en 1960 et remporte plusieurs récompenses dans des concours d’art.
Dans ces expositions, on trouve les œuvres Gyozoku no Ikari [Colère des poissons, 1959] et Hanshoku suru 2 [Reproduction 2, 1958/1988], qui emploient un même procédé consistant à faire fondre du bitume et à le couler sur une feuille de contreplaqué, puis à y coller des rondelles de bambou. Colère des poissons s’inscrit dans la fureur de l’artiste à l’encontre du test américain de la bombe à hydrogène, à l’origine de la contamination du Daigo Fukuryū Maru en 1954 et d’une pollution aux conséquences tragiques, dont la maladie de Minamata.

Parmi les œuvres majeures de la période Kyūshū-ha de M. Tabe, citons Jinkō Taiban [Placenta artificiel] et Placards, toutes deux datées de 1961. La première émane de son souhait de voir les femmes libérées de leurs longues grossesses. En effet, elle l’a créée à une époque où elle devait continuer de travailler sur ses œuvres tout en étant enceinte. L’installation a été présentée à l’exposition de Kyūshū-ha en 1961 à la galerie Ginza à Tokyo. Elle est composée de trois objets, chacun constitué du bassin d’un mannequin posé à l’envers, sur lequel sont collés du coton hydrophile et des balles de ping-pong ; des clous y sont enfoncés et un tube électronique est y est inséré en guise de vagin. L’œuvre était présentée avec deux objets représentant des fœtus.
Les cinq premières pièces constituant la série Placards, exposées au même moment à la galerie Ginza, se trouvent désormais dans les collections de musées de Tokyo et de Fukuoka. Ces œuvres, représentant des publicités à caractère politique et sexuel, s’inscrivent dans l’intérêt de M. Tabe pour les problématiques sociales et l’érotisme, comme l’expriment symboliquement les marques de rouge à lèvres et le sexe féminin. En guise de support, elle utilise des morceaux de fusuma, les portes coulissantes japonaises, déplaçant sa production artistique hors du cadre conventionnel de la toile.

Après la dissolution du Kyūshū-ha dans les années 1970, M. Tabe préside dix années de suite l’exposition annuelle Women’s Art à Kyūshū (1974-1984). Dans les années 1980, elle installe le « bureau de poste de la Terre » tout en réalisant son projet d’art postal. En 1988, elle se déclare « à la retraite de sa carrière de femme au foyer » et se consacre entièrement à la peinture. À partir des années 1990, elle concentre sa pratique sur le motif de la pomme, qu’elle considère comme un symbole de l’univers. Elle entame la série Ringo [Pomme], constituée de peintures à l’huile et de collages, et la série Shuwa [Langue des signes], où des mains en plâtres formant des signes sont disposées autour de l’image d’une pomme.

Lire plus

Reiko Kokatsu

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Gyozoku no Ikari [Colère des poissons], 1959, huile, asphalte et bambou sur panneau, 130,2 x 162,2 cm, Collection Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Hanshoku suru 2 [Reproduction 2], 1958/1988, huile, asphalte, plâtre et bambou sur toile, 92,2 x 130 cm, Collection Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe devant ses oeuvres, Placards et Jinkō Taiban [Placenta artificiel], Ginza Gallery, Tokyo, 1961

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Jinkō Taiban [Placenta artificiel], 1961

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Jinkō Taiban [Placenta artificiel], 1961/repris en 2004, mannequin, balle de ping-pong, coton synthétique, tube à essai, cordons électriques, clous, vêtement, 49,8 x 49,4 x 41,8 cm (x3), Collection Contemporary Art Museum, Kumamoto

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Placard, 1961, matière imprimée, fibre synthétique, encre, rouge à lèvres, vernis sur papier Fusuma, 86 x 93 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Placard, 1961, matière imprimée, laiton, rouge à lèvres, encre, peinture et vernis sur papier Fusuma, 86,5 x 93,2 cm, Collection Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Marcel Proust’s Dining Table, 1995, collage sur papier, 45,8 x 60,8 cm, Collection Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Sign Language, 1996/2010, huile, plâtre, feuille d’or et matière imprimée sur panneau, 129,7 x 119,8 x 6,5 cm, Collection Fukuoka Art Museum

Mistuko Tabe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mitsuko Tabe, Looking for One and Only Existence, 2013, acrylique, fusain, collage, feuille d’or, feuille de platine sur sérigraphie, 180 x 100 cm (x6), 180 x 100 cm (x3), vue de l’exposition Mitsuko Tabe New Works Show à la Mizoe Art Gallery, Fukuoka, novembre – décembre 2013, Photo Kokatsu Reiko

Magazine
Articles liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29