Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nancy Spero

1926Cleveland, United States | 2009New York, United States
Informations
Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galerie Lelong

Sponsor
— Galerie Lelong

American visual artist and painter.

Known for being a passionate activist and feminist, Nancy Spero is above all a great artist. In 1949, she graduated from the Art Institute of Chicago, a stronghold of resolutely figurative painting, after which she studied for a year at the School of Fine Arts in Paris at the atelier of André Lhote. After returning to the United States, she married the painter Leon Golub, with whom she would have three children. At the time, she worked on a single canvas, which she erased and started over and over again, unable to complete it. Her painting up to the mid-60s was dominated by the human figure and remained very dark. Standing figures and embracing couples constituted the major part of her formal vocabulary for over ten years. In 1959, the family moved to Paris. Her Black Paintings became Paris Black Paintings and were shown at the Galerie Breteau. She moved back to New York in 1964, where, horrified by the Vietnam War, she channelled her rage in a new series of works. She gave up oil on canvas, which she deemed too closely related to the masculine world, and replaced them with thin, cheap paper and gouache. From 1966 to 1970, she made about 150 pieces: in War Series, she transcended the burning issue of the atrocities committed by the US army in Vietnam, and in doing so became part of an epic tradition, linking her to Antiquity and its war stories, to the medieval world of illumination, and, more recently, Goya and Otto Dix.

 

In 1969, Spero became interested in the work of Antonin Artaud, whom she identified with. In him, she saw her own rage, violence, and frustration. The result was a series of sixty or so works on paper, the Artaud Paintings, in which she quoted the artist’s words and added elements of collage. These were followed by the Codex Artaud, a series of 34 vertical or horizontal pieces made out of scrolls of paper glued end-to-end – a technique that would become typical of her style. That same year, she joined the activist group Women Art Revolution (WAR) then, the next year, the Ad Hoc Women Artists’ Committee. She was also a founding member of the A.I.R. (Artists in Residence) Gallery, the first cooperative gallery for women, which opened in New York in 1972. Typography was a major element in her work during the 70s. She made stamps of each letter in the alphabet and printed them in red and black, as seen in her work Search & Destroy, completed in 1974. The same year, she chose to view the world exclusively through the representation of women. She continued to associate text and images in frequently monumental pieces, such as the 14 panels of Torture of Women, shown in 1976 – the year of its creation – at the A.I.R. Gallery. After this, she created a new alphabet made up of pictures of women of all periods and cultures, which she had transferred onto metal in order to use it as a set of stamps. Her use of text gradually disappeared in favour of pictures during the 80s. Colours became bolder and her eminently pictorial work on backgrounds enabled her to reacquaint herself with the painting she had given up in 1966, as can be seen in Black and the Red III (1994). Despite her arthritis, Spero’s creations became increasingly ambitious: Azur, completed in 2002, 85 metres long and made up of 39 panels, is the culmination of fifty years of work. With this major piece, the artist positions herself in the artistic continuation of Egyptian papyrus scrolls, the friezes of the Parthenon and the Bayeux tapestry. She remained very attentive to milestone events such as the 9/11 tragedy. She evoked the falling bodies of the Twin Towers in small formats, with an unusual choice of colours. Golub died in 2004, after which Spero started working on her last on her last monumental installation, Cri du Coeur, which runs along the foot of the walls. In 2007, she created Maypole/Take No Prisoners for the Venice Biennale. She died at the age of 83, while a retrospective of her work at the Centre Pompidou was in preparation.

Read more

Jonas Storsve

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Artaud Painting – Les choses n’ont plus d’odeur…, 1970, gouache and collage on paper, 55.9 x 52 cm, 25 x 20.5 in., Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black Painting, 1962, oil on canvas, 41 x 43 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Catacomb / Vulture Goddess, 1992, manual printing and collage on paper, 99 x 122 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, The Goddess Nut, 1990, diptych, hand printing and printed collage on paper, framed : 52 x 280 cm each, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Homslatin III, 1997, printing and collage on paper, 65.5 x 48 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, handprinting and printed collage on paper, 22 panels approximately 49.5 x 245.1 cm, 19.5 x 96.5 in. Each, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, handprinting and printed collage on paper, 22 panels approximately 49.5 x 245.1 cm, 19.5 x 96.5 in. Each, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, handprinting and printed collage on paper, 22 panels approximately 49.5 x 245.1 cm, 19.5 x 96.5 in. Each, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Azur, 2002, handprinting and printed collage on paper, 39 sections totaling approximately: 61 x 844 cm, 24 x 3324 in., Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Azur, 2002, handprinting and printed collage on paper, 39 sections totaling approximately: 61 x 844 cm, 24 x 3324 in., Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Maypole: Take No Prisoners, 2007, handprinting on aluminum, ribbon, steel chain, and aluminum pole with steel base, variable dimensions, 914.4 x 914.4 x 1066.8 cm, 30 x 30 x 305 feet, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Nancy Spero

1926Cleveland, États-Unis | 2009New York, États-Unis
Informations
Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galerie Lelong

Soutien
— Galerie Lelong

Plasticienne et peintre américaine.

Connue comme activiste et féministe passionnée, Nancy Spero est avant tout une immense artiste. Diplômée en 1949 de l’Art Institute de Chicago, haut lieu de la peinture résolument figurative, elle étudie un an aux Beaux-Arts de Paris dans l’atelier d’André Lhote. À son retour aux États-Unis, elle épouse le peintre Leon Golub, avec qui elle aura trois enfants. Elle travaille alors à une seule peinture sur toile qu’elle efface et recommence, sans arriver à la terminer. Jusqu’au milieu des années 1960, sa peinture, dominée par la figure humaine, reste très sombre. Figures debout et couples enlacés constituent son vocabulaire formel pendant plus de dix ans. En 1959, la famille s’installe à Paris. Ses Black Paintings devenus des Paris Black Paintings, sont exposés à la Galerie Breteau. De retour aux États-Unis en 1964, installée à New York, elle est horrifiée par la guerre du Vietnam et canalise sa rage dans une nouvelle série d’œuvres. Elle abandonne la peinture à l’huile et la toile, selon elle trop liées au monde masculin, et les remplace par du papier fin et bon marché, et de la gouache. De 1966 à 1970, elle réalise environ 150 œuvres : dans War Series, elle transcende l’actualité brûlante des atrocités commises par l’armée américaine au Vietnam pour s’inscrire dans une tradition épique qui la relie à l’Antiquité et à ses récits guerriers, au monde médiéval des enluminures et, plus près de nous, à Goya et à Otto Dix.

En 1969, N. Spero se tourne vers l’œuvre d’Antonin Artaud, à qui elle s’identifie. Elle se reconnaît dans sa fureur, sa violence et sa frustration. Il en résulte une soixantaine d’œuvres sur papier, les Artaud Paintings, où elle utilise les paroles de l’artiste, auxquelles elle ajoute des éléments de collages. Elles seront suivies par le Codex Artaud, constitué de 34 pièces, verticales ou horizontales, composées de papiers collés bout à bout, une technique qui deviendra caractéristique de son style. La même année, elle rejoint le groupe d’activistes Women Art Revolution (WAR) puis, l’année suivante, Ad Hoc Women Artists’ Committee. Elle est membre fondateur de la galerie A.I.R. (Artists in Residence), première galerie coopérative pour femmes qui ouvre à New York en septembre 1972. La typographie est un élément très important dans son travail pendant les années 1970. Elle réalise des tampons de chaque lettre de l’alphabet qu’elle imprime en rouge et noir comme dans l’œuvre Search & Destroy qu’elle termine en 1974. La même année, elle choisit de regarder le monde exclusivement à travers l’image de la femme. Elle continue d’associer textes et images dans des œuvres souvent monumentales, comme les 14 panneaux de Torture of Women, qu’elle expose en 1976 – l’année de sa création – à la galerie A.I.R. Puis elle élabore un nouvel alphabet créé uniquement d’images de femmes de tous les temps et de toutes les cultures du monde, qu’elle fait transférer sur métal afin de pouvoir l’utiliser comme un ensemble de tampons. Pendant les années 1980, les images prennent graduellement de l’importance et les textes disparaissent. La couleur gagne en force et le travail éminemment pictural des fonds lui permet à sa façon de renouer avec la peinture abandonnée en 1966, comme dans l’œuvre monumentale Black and the Red III (1994). Bien que N. Spero souffre d’arthrose, ses créations deviennent de plus en plus ambitieuses : Azur, terminée en 2002, 85 mètres de long, comprenant 39 panneaux, est l’aboutissement de cinquante ans de travail. Avec cette œuvre majeure, l’artiste s’inscrit dans l’histoire de l’art aux côtés des rouleaux de papyrus égyptiens, des frises du Parthénon et de la tapisserie de Bayeux. Elle reste très attentive aux événements marquants, comme la tragédie du 11 septembre en 2001. Dans des petits formats, elle évoque avec une palette inhabituelle la chute des corps des tours jumelles. L. Golub meurt en 2004. N. Spero travaille alors à une dernière installation monumentale, Cri du cœur, courant sur les murs au niveau du sol. En 2007, elle crée Maypole/Take No Prisoners pour la Biennale de Venise. Elle s’éteint à 83 ans, alors que sa rétrospective au Centre Pompidou est en préparation.

Lire plus

Jonas Storsve

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Artaud Painting – Les choses n’ont plus d’odeur…, 1970, gouache et collage sur papier, 55,9 x 52 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black Painting, 1962, huile sur toile, 41 x 43 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Catacomb / Vulture Goddess, 1992, impression manuelle et collage sur papier, 99 x 122 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, The Goddess Nut, 1990, diptyque, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, encadré : 52 x 280 cm chacun, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Homslatin III, 1997, empreinte et collage sur papier, 65,5 x 48 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, 22 morceaux, environ 49,5 x 245,1 cm chacun, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, 22 morceaux, environ 49,5 x 245,1 cm chacun, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Black and the Red III, 1994, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, 22 morceaux, environ 49,5 x 245,1 cm chacun, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Azur, 2002, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, 39 morceaux, total d’environ : 61 x 844 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Azur, 2002, empreinte de main et collage imprimé sur papier, 39 morceaux, total d’environ : 61 x 844 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Spero — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Spero, Maypole: Take No Prisoners, 2007, empreinte de main sur aluminium, ruban, chaîne d’acier, plateau en aluminium avec base en acier, dimensions variables, 914,4 x 914,4 x 1066,8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Lelong, © Nancy Spero © ADAGP, Paris

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29