Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mouna Karray

1970 | Sfax, Tunisia
Informations
Sponsor
— Mouna Karray

Tunisian photographer and video artist.

Mouna Karray is a photographer and video artist who lives and works in Paris and Sfax. She studied at the Institut supérieur d’animation culturelle in Tunis and at the Tokyo Institute of Polytechnics and Arts, from which she graduated with a Master’s degree in 2001.
Her work has been shown in solo shows (in Tunisia and Great Britain) and collective exhibitions (The Divine Comedy. Heaven, Hell, Purgatory Revisited by Contemporary African Artists, Frankfurt, Museum für Moderne Kunst / Washington, Smithsonian National Museum of African Art / Savannah, Walter O. Evans Collection of African American Art, 2014; Broken English, London, Tyburn Gallery, 2015; Afriques capitales, Paris, la Villette / Lille, Saint-Sauveur station, 2017; opening exhibition of the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa, 2017, etc.), as well as international events (Dakar and Bamako Biennales, Photoquai, les Mois de la photo du Grand Paris). With an often intimate and poetic tone, her photographic series focus on past or more recent socio-political issues.
“The question I ask myself is: how does one tell a story? […] Is History the privilege of rich people, of city dwellers, of winners? How does one tell the story of those who were left on the sidelines of Tunisia’s independence and revolution?” the artist wonders in a discussion with anthropologist Alexandra Galitzine-Loumpet (A*Magazine, June 2017). These questions were the starting point for the series Personne ne parlera de nous (Nobody Will Talk About Us), shot from 2012 to 2015 in the south of Tunisia. In each of the photographs, a strange white bag – from which a body seems to want to break free – is shown sitting amid rocky and often solitary landscapes. Now and again, men, animals and children pass nearby, going about their everyday occupations. But what is the enigmatic presence doing there? And most of all, what does it represent?

While the artist refuses, and rightly so, to provide direct and unequivocal clarifications of her work, instead referring to a “silent and suggestive questioning”, the themes that stand out offer a subtle comment on feelings of isolation, oppression, and suffocation. However, there are also glimpses of hope, resistance, and possible liberation in these pictures: the eight photographs of the series Noir (2013) also show a body wrapped in white fabric; in this case, a hand can be seen slipping out of the wrapping to press the shutter release, in a gesture that perhaps foreshadows the promise of a breath of air or of empowerment. She uses a similar process in the series The Rope (2014), in which a tug of war is stretched out over four successive photographs (with an overexposed portion hiding part of the rope), suggesting both the tension and the balance between the two players pulling at the ends. This same capacity for resistance, no matter how modest or minuscule, also resonates in the series Murmurer (2007–2009), for which the artist returned to the outskirts of her hometown of Sfax to photograph the remains of the wall that used to surround the port that once brought wealth to the city. In this case also, we find ourselves immersed in the margins, in fullness and emptiness, in stories of times past and future, in the layered strata of eras. They are imbued with the implicit question of the evocation of the experiences that happened there – another overarching theme in M. Karray’s work.

Read more

Marian Nur Goni

Translated from Franch by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #12, from the series Murmurer, 2007-2009, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #20, from the series Murmurer, 2007-2009, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #18, from the series Murmurer, 2007-2009, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #5, from the series Murmurer, 2007-2009, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 33°28’34.8″N 9°20’54.3″E, from the series Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 34°21’53.0”N 8°25’41.0”E, from the series Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 33°56’12.8″N 8°09’45.3″E, II, from the series Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 34°25’02.6 “N 8°25’10.6″E, from the series Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Noir #1, from the series Noir, 2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Noir #3, from the series Noir, 2013, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, The Rope 3/4, 2014, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, The Rope 4/4, 2014, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mouna Karray

1970 | Sfax, Tunisie
Informations
Soutien
— Mouna Karray

Photographe et vidéaste tunisienne.

Artiste photographe et vidéaste, Mouna Karray vit et travaille entre Paris et Sfax. Elle se forme à l’Institut supérieur d’animation culturelle à Tunis et au Tokyo Institute of Polytechnics and Arts, à Tokyo, où elle obtient un master en 2001.
Son œuvre a fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles (en Tunisie et en Grande-Bretagne) et collectives (The Divine Comedy. Heaven, Hell, Purgatory Revisited by Contemporary African Artists, Francfort, Museum für Moderne Kunst, Washington, Smithsonian National Museum of African Art, Savannah, Walter O. Evans Collection of African American Art, 2014 ; Broken English, Londres, Tyburn Gallery, 2015 ; Afriques capitales, Paris, la Villette, Lille, gare Saint-Sauveur, 2017 ; exposition d’ouverture du Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa, 2017, etc.) et a également été présentée lors d’événements internationaux (Biennales de Dakar et de Bamako, Photoquai, le Mois de la photo du Grand Paris). À travers une approche souvent intime et poétique, ses séries abordent des sujets sociopolitiques historiques ou plus contemporains.
« La question que je me pose est : comment raconter ? […] L’Histoire est-elle privilège des riches, des villes, des vainqueurs ? Comment raconter l’histoire des oubliés d’une Tunisie de l’indépendance et de la révolution ? » se demande-t-elle au cours d’un entretien avec l’anthropologue Alexandra Galitzine-Loumpet (A*Magazine, juin 2017). C’est en partie de ces interrogations que naît la série Personne ne parlera de nous, créée entre 2012 et 2015 dans le Sud tunisien. D’une image à l’autre, on retrouve un étrange sac blanc – dont un corps paraît vouloir s’extraire – posé au cœur de paysages minéraux, et souvent solitaires. Parfois, des hommes, des animaux ou des enfants entrent subrepticement dans le cadre, ils travaillent ou jouent juste à côté, ils vaquent à leurs occupations habituelles. Que fait-elle là, cette présence énigmatique ? Et, surtout, de quoi est-elle le nom ?

Si l’artiste se refuse, à raison, à fournir des explications directes et univoques au sujet de son œuvre, préférant renvoyer à des « questionnements silencieux et suggestifs », les thèmes qui semblent en émerger s’apparentent à un commentaire sensible sur l’enfermement, l’oppression, voire une certaine suffocation. Toutefois, des signes d’espoir, de résistance et de possibles libérations sont aussi inscrits dans ses images : ainsi, les huit clichés qui composent la série Noir (2013) donnent à voir un autre corps, lui aussi contraint, enveloppé dans un tissu blanc, d’où s’échappe néanmoins une main qui presse le déclencheur d’un appareil photographique, geste qui préfigure, peut-être, la promesse d’un temps de respiration et d’affirmation. Ou encore dans la série The Rope (2014), où un jeu de corde s’étire sur quatre clichés successifs (qu’un effet de surexposition nous cache cependant en partie), laissant deviner une tension et un équilibre toujours instables entre celles et ceux qui se trouvent aux extrémités de la corde sur laquelle ils tirent… Enfin, cette capacité de résistance, si modeste et si minuscule soit-elle, résonne également dans la série Murmurer (2007-2009), où l’artiste revient aux abords de sa ville natale, Sfax, pour y photographier ce qui reste des murs ceignant le port qui a permis le développement de la ville. Là aussi, nous sommes plongé·e·s dans les marges, dans des vides et des pleins, des récits de ce qui fut et de ce qui advient, des strates superposées de temps. En filigrane s’immisce la question de la mémoire des expériences qui se sont jouées là, autre thème qui traverse le travail de M. Karray.

Lire plus

Marian Nur Goni

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #12, de la série Murmurer, 2007-2009, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #20, de la série Murmurer, 2007-2009, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #18, de la série Murmurer, 2007-2009, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Murmurer #5, de la série Murmurer, 2007-2009, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 33°28’34.8″N 9°20’54.3″E, de la série Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 34°21’53.0”N 8°25’41.0”E, de la série Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 33°56’12.8″N 8°09’45.3″E, II, de la série Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, 34°25’02.6 « N 8°25’10.6″E, de la série Personne ne parlera de nous, 2012-2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Noir #1, de la série Noir, 2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, Noir #3, de la série Noir, 2013, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, The Rope 3/4, 2014, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Mouna Karray — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mouna Karray, The Rope 4/4, 2014, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29