Browse by Themes

Photography, a women’s story?
Major Questions in Art History
09.10.2020 | Sibylle Vabre

Sabine Weiss, Sabine Weiss chez Vogue, Paris, 1956, © Studio Fllebé

At the time of its invention, in 1839, photography was seen as a young medium with democratic goals, far from the gender discrimination that burdened the academic training of artists. From the outset women took up photography and made major contributions to its history, as well as its technical and aesthetic innovations. This is abundantly illustrated in the exhibition Who’s Afraid of Women Photographers? 1839-1945, which was held at the Musée d’Orsay and the Musée de l’Orangerie in 2015-2016.

Amongst the female pioneers of photography, Anna Atkins (1799-1871) is recognized for her mastery of the cyanotype – a photographic process characterised by blue tints developed by John Herschel (1792-1871) in 1842 – that she used in a botanical publication as early as 1843, inaugurating the use of photography in book illustration. Julia Margaret Cameron (1815-1879) was an important representative of pictorialism. Although the movement was developed in amateur clubs, several women became involved as it aimed to raise the status of photography to that of art, including Gertrude Käsebier (1852-1934) and Anne Brigman (1869-1950). Many of them made their mark in pictorialist circles before carrying out other experiments, following the upheavals of the world by founding an aesthetic adapted to modernity. For example Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), who explored microphotography amongst other things, opened the way to abstraction. Many of the photographers who undertook the formal research characteristic of the interwar period were linked to avant-garde movements, such as Florence Henri (1893-1982), whose vocabulary mixed the deconstruction of space and geometric forms echoing cubism and constructivism, and Dora Maar (1907-1997), whose photomontages reflect a dreamlike surrealist iconography. The book Métal (1928) by Germaine Krull (1897-1985) condensed her reflections on photography: the innovative angles and framing complemented modern architecture, making the artist a figure of the New Vision photographic movement.

Most of these artists attest to the increasing professionalisation of photographers in the early 20th century: abandoning the model of the first photographers from the bourgeoisie, female photographers became portraitists, architectural photographers, photojournalists, and worked in advertising. Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976) claimed this in her manifesto “Photography as a Profession for Women” (1913). She also worked for the emergence of straight photography in the United States. Documentary photography experienced a new expansion in the United States through the work of Dorothea Lange (1895-1965) and Tina Modotti (1896-1942), acquiring a social and political dimension. It stood out from the ethnographic photography in the work of Constance Stuart Larrabee (1914-2000), who was also known for being the first South African war correspondent. Embodied by Sabine Weiss (1924) in France, the humanist photography movement developed after the war, gaining a certain uncanniness in the scenes that Diane Arbus (1923-1971) captured on the streets of New York. Similarly Paz Errázuriz (born in 1944) turned her lens towards marginalised people, but her work was part of a genuine political resistance under the Chilean dictatorship.

Since the 1970s photographic practices have undergone an exponential development and diversification, from documentary to more hybrid forms, particularly with the emergence of so-called “fine art” photography. Joining the Düsseldorf School influenced by Hilla (1934-2015) and Bernd Becher (1931-2007), Candida Höfer (born in 1944) gave a breath of fresh air to documentary aesthetics with her large format frontal architectural photographs. Among the practices with which photography is associated, text has played a prominent role, as seen in the visual poems of Lenora de Barros (born in 1953) and the narrative works of Sophie Calle (born in 1953). Between reality and fiction the medium became a favoured tool for questioning representation and the visibility of identities. It is identity that is at the heart of the work of Nan Goldin (born in 1953), whose autobiographical scope and rawness have revolutionised the relationship to the intimate. Ishiuchi Miyako (born in 1947) explores the medium’s expressive capacities by first photographing places, revealing part of her personal history through images of Yokosuka, the city where she grew up, which is marked by an American presence. Some artists explore the theatrical potential of photography to probe the imaginary, such as Pushpamala N. (born in 1956), who quotes and diverts Indian cultural stereotypes and images drawn from Western art. Others approach the image from an openly militant perspective, such as Zanele Muholi (born in 1972), who works on the representation of black lesbian South Africans, among other things.

In addition to their diverse practices, some photographers also contributed to the history and theory of photography, such as Lucia Moholy (1894-1989), who wrote a cultural history of the medium in A Hundred Years of Photography, 1839-1939 (1939), as well as Gisèle Freund (1908-2000), whose Photography and Society (published in French in 1974 and English in 1980), based on her pioneering thesis on the sociology of photography, remains an important reference.

Artists
Explore the artists
1899 — Germany | 1998 — United States
Ilse Bing - AWARE

Ilse Bing

1869 — Hawaii | 1950 — United States
Anne Brigman - AWARE

Anne Brigman

1883 — 1976 | United States
Imogen Cunningham - AWARE

Imogen Cunningham

1879 — 1962 | France
Laure Albin Guillot - AWARE

Laure Albin Guillot

1893 — United States | 1982 — France
Florence Henri - AWARE

Florence Henri

1907 — 1997 | France
Dora Maar - AWARE

Dora Maar

1897 — Poland | 1985 — Germany
Germaine Krull - AWARE

Germaine Krull

1895 — 1965 | United States
Dorothea Lange - AWARE

Dorothea Lange

1896 — Italy | 1942 — Mexico
Tina Modotti - AWARE

Tina Modotti

1924 | Switzerland
Sabine Weiss - AWARE

Sabine Weiss

1944 | Chile
Paz Errázuriz - AWARE

Paz Errázuriz

1934 — 2015 | Germany
Hilla Becher - AWARE

Hilla Becher

1944 | Germany
Candida Höfer - AWARE

Candida Höfer

1953 | Brazil
Lenora de Barros - AWARE

Lenora de Barros

1953 | United States
Nan Goldin - AWARE

Nan Goldin

1956 | India
Pushpamala N. - AWARE

Pushpamala N.

1972 | South Africa
Zanele Muholi - AWARE

Zanele Muholi

1894 — Czech republic | 1989 — Switzerland
Lucia Moholy - AWARE

Lucia Moholy

1908 — Germany | 2000 — France
Gisèle Freund - AWARE

Gisèle Freund

1864 — 1952 | United States
Frances Benjamin Johnston - AWARE

Frances Benjamin Johnston

1896 — Poland | 1990 — United States
Lotte Jacobi - AWARE

Lotte Jacobi

1901 — Austria | 1983 — United States
Lisette Model - AWARE

Lisette Model

1913 — 2009 | United States
Helen Levitt - AWARE

Helen Levitt

1949 | France
Sophie Ristelhueber - AWARE

Sophie Ristelhueber

1951 — 1997 | Switzerland
Hannah Villiger - AWARE

Hannah Villiger

1962 | Cameroon
Angèle  Etoundi Essamba - AWARE

Angèle Etoundi Essamba

1957 | Spain
Ouka Leele - AWARE

Ouka Leele

1852 — 1934 | United States
Gertrude Käsebier - AWARE

Gertrude Käsebier

1910 — Canada | 1997 — United States
Ida Lansky - AWARE

Ida Lansky

1934 | United States 

Lorraine O’Grady - AWARE

Lorraine O’Grady

1956 | Morocco
Lalla Essaydi - AWARE

Lalla Essaydi

1914 — United Kingdom | 2000 — United States of America
Constance Stuart Larrabee - AWARE

Constance Stuart Larrabee

1912 — German Empire | 2000 — Germany
Marta Hoepffner - AWARE

Marta Hoepffner

1799 — 1871 | United Kingdom
Anna Atkins - AWARE

Anna Atkins

1948 — New Zealand | 2014 — England
Alexis Hunter - AWARE

Alexis Hunter

1815 — India | 1879 — Sri Lanka
Julia Margaret Cameron - AWARE

Julia Margaret Cameron

See more
Explore

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

La photographie, une histoire de femmes ?
Les grandes questions de l’histoire de l’art
09.10.2020 | Sibylle Vabre

Sabine Weiss, Sabine Weiss chez Vogue, Paris, 1956, © Studio Fllebé

Inventée en 1839, la photographie a l’image d’un médium jeune à visée démocratique, étranger aux discriminations de genre qui pèsent alors sur la formation académique des artistes. Les femmes s’en emparent dès l’origine et contribuent largement à l’histoire de la photographie, aux innovations techniques et esthétiques, comme l’a mis en avant la riche exposition Qui a peur des femmes photographes ? 1839 à 1945 (2015-2016) qui s’est tenue au musée d’Orsay et au musée de l’Orangerie.

Parmi les pionnières, Anna Atkins (1799-1871) est remarquée pour sa maîtrise du cyanotype – procédé photographique mis au point en 1842 par John Herschel (1792-1871) et caractérisé par ses teintes bleues – qu’elle utilise dans un ouvrage botanique dès 1843, inaugurant l’usage de la photographie pour l’illustration de livres. Julia Margaret Cameron (1815-1879) est une représentante incontournable du pictorialisme. Bien que celui-ci se développe dans des clubs amateurs, plusieurs femmes s’impliquent dans ce mouvement qui vise à hisser la photographie au rang d’art, comme Gertrude Käsebier (1852-1934) ou Anne Brigman (1869-1950). Beaucoup font leurs armes dans les cercles pictorialistes avant de mener d’autres expérimentations, accompagnant les bouleversements du monde en fondant une esthétique adaptée à la modernité. Ainsi Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), qui explore entre autres la microphotographie, ouvre la voie à l’abstraction. Nombre des photographes qui mènent les recherches formelles caractéristiques de l’entre-deux-guerres sont liées aux mouvements d’avant-garde, comme Florence Henri (1893-1982) dont le vocabulaire mêle déstructuration de l’espace et formes géométriques en écho au cubisme et au constructivisme, ou encore Dora Maar (1907-1997) dont les photomontages servent une iconographie onirique surréaliste. L’ouvrage Métal (1928) de Germaine Krull (1897-1985) condense quant à lui ses réflexions ayant trait à la prise de vue : les angles et cadrages novateurs y flattent une architecture moderne, faisant de l’artiste une figure de la Nouvelle vision.

La plupart de ces artistes témoignent de la professionnalisation croissante des photographes au début du XXe siècle : s’éloignant du modèle des premières photographes issues de la bourgeoisie, elles sont portraitistes, photographes d’architecture, réalisent des reportages, travaillent pour la publicité. Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976) le revendique dans son manifeste Photography as a Profession for Women (1913). Elle œuvre par ailleurs à l’émergence de la photographie pure aux États-Unis. La photographie documentaire connaît un nouveau développement en Amérique à travers les travaux de Dorothea Lange (1895-1965) ou encore Tina Modotti (1896-1942), gagnant une dimension sociale et politique. Elle se détache des clichés ethnographiques dans les images de Constance Stuart Larrabee (1914-2000), connue par ailleurs pour être la première correspondante de guerre sud-africaine. Après-guerre se développe le courant de la photographie humaniste, incarné par Sabine Weiss (1924) en France, tandis qu’il gagne une part d’étrangeté dans les scènes que Diane Arbus (1923-1971) saisit dans les rues de New York. Comme elle, Paz Errázuriz (1944) tourne son objectif vers les personnes marginales, mais son travail s’inscrit dans une véritable résistance politique sous la dictature chilienne.

À partir des années 1970, les pratiques photographiques connaissent un développement et une diversification exponentiels, du documentaire aux formes les plus hybrides, avec l’émergence notamment de la photographie dite plasticienne. Se rattachant à l’École de Düsseldorf sous l’influence d’Hilla (1934-2015) et Bernd Becher (1931-2007), Candida Höfer (née en 1944) contribue à donner un nouveau souffle à l’esthétique documentaire par ses photographies d’architecture prises à la chambre de manière frontale. Parmi les pratiques auxquelles la photographie est associée, le texte tient une place de choix, comme dans les poèmes visuels de Lenora de Barros (née en 1953) ou les œuvres narratives de Sophie Calle (née en 1953). Entre réalité et fiction, le médium devient un outil privilégié de questionnement des représentations et de visibilité des identités. Ce dernier enjeu est au cœur de l’œuvre de Nan Goldin (née en 1953), dont la portée autobiographique et la crudité ont révolutionné le rapport à l’intime. C’est en photographiant d’abord des lieux qu’Ishiuchi Miyako (née en 1947) explore les capacités expressives du médium, révélant une part de son histoire personnelle à travers ses clichés de la ville de Yokosuka où elle a grandi, marquée par la présence américaine. Certaines artistes explorent le potentiel théâtral de la photographie pour sonder les imaginaires, comme Pushpamala N. (née 1956), qui cite et détourne des stéréotypes culturels indiens et des images puisées dans l’art occidental. D’autres se servent de l’image dans une perspective ouvertement militante, comme Zanele Muholi (née en 1972), qui œuvre notamment à la représentation des femmes noires lesbiennes sud-africaines.

Outre leur pratique, certaines photographes contribuent également à l’histoire et à la théorisation de la photographie comme Lucia Moholy (1894-1989), qui écrit une histoire culturelle du médium dans A Hundred Years of Photography (1939), et Gisèle Freund (1908-2000), dont Photographie et société (1974), fondé sur sa thèse pionnière en sociologie de la photographie, est un ouvrage de référence.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29