Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Novera Ahmed

1930Chittagong, Bangladesh | 2015Haute-Isle, France
Informations

Bangladeshi sculptor and painter.

Novera Ahmed was born to an enlightened and cultured family from Chittagong. Her mother had a special talent for making dolls and dolls’ houses in clay and other everyday materials, which triggered Novera’s early fascination with making three dimensional forms. She studied sculpture at Camberwell School of Arts and Crafts in London from 1951 to 1955, under the tutelage of eminent Czech sculptor Dr. Karel Vogel, and achieved the National Diploma in Design. She received further training in Florence from Venturino Venturi.
Considered a pioneer and the first modern sculptor of Bangladesh, N. Ahmed introduced modern sculpture into what was then East Pakistan even before sculpture was included in the curriculum of the Government Institute of Arts in Dhaka. She gave Dhaka its first frieze on the wall of the Central Public Library in 1957 and the first open-air sculpture [Cow with Two Figures] in 1958. She came into prominence through her first solo exhibition, entitled Inner Gaze and held in Dhaka in August 1960, which showcased about 75 exhibits from 1956 to 1960, mainly executed in cement. It was also the first-ever solo sculpture exhibition by any sculptor of Bangladesh and Pakistan. The sculptural vocabularies of her formative years included an assimilation of her Western training with folk tradition as well as indigenous and Buddhist themes, and an individual style featuring primarily the experiences of women.

An ambitious design for the Shahid Minar in Dhaka, the historic monument dedicated to the martyrs of the Bangla Language Movement of 1952, was a collaboration involving the muralist Hamidur Rahman, sculptor Novera Ahmed and Danish architect Jean Deleuran. With the declaration of Martial Law in October 1958, this memorial project was suspended. However, it was eventually realized, though only partially, in February 1963, with a set of five symbolic columns erected on a raised platform, following the key design presumably by N. Ahmed.
At the invitation of the poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz, secretary of the Pakistan Arts Council, N. Ahmed moved to Lahore in 1961. During her stay of more than a year, she produced several sculptures in cement and plaster [Exterminating Angel, 1961] and won the President’s Award for the best sculpture in the National Exhibition of Painting, Sculpture and Graphic Arts, held in Lahore in 1962. She was, according to the art historian Salima Hashmi, “the first sculptor in Pakistan to adopt a thoroughly contemporary idiom.”
In 1963, Novera moved to Paris, never to return to her homeland. There she met Alberto Giacometti, César, Asger Jorn and Paris-based Russian-born art photographer Grégoire de Brouhns.

The second solo exhibition of N. Ahmed, considered Thailand’s first open-air sculpture exhibition in direct metal, was organized by the Alliance Française of Bangkok in October 1970. The outcomes of her stay in Thailand between 1968 and 1970 included garden pieces, indoor reliefs and freestanding figures in welded metal, copper and bronze, along with several monumental assemblages made from the debris of crashed American planes brought from Laos, the first of its kind done by any artist. Her inventive spray paintings, using machine parts as stencils, were also showcased in the exhibition [Apollo 9, 1969].
Her third solo exhibition, comprising metal sculptures and paintings, was held in Galerie Rive Gauche in Paris, in July 1973. Her works evinced an affinity with Southeast Asian culture and the anti-war stance around the Vietnam War. On Christmas Eve, 1973, a car accident left her impaired, conceivably hindering her artistic progress. In 2014, four decades after the previous exhibition, Novera Retrospective 1969–2014 was arranged by Salon d’exposition in Paris.

Reminiscences of N. Ahmed began to appear in Bangladesh in the early 1990s and there started a “feminist intervention in art’s histories” containing a reassessment of her work. In 1997 she was awarded in absentia the Ekushey Padak, the second highest civilian award in Bangladesh. The Bangladesh National Museum took a long-awaited initiative of collecting the remaining exhibits of her formative years in Dhaka and organized an exhibition in 1998, followed by a posthumous exhibition.
Since her death in 2015, N. Ahmed has continued to “live on” through a growing interest in her œuvre. A museum dedicated to her, Musée Novera Ahmed, opened in July 2018 in La Roche-Guyon in France. The Bangladesh National Museum and the Musée Novera Ahmed have significant collections of her works.

Read more

Rezaul Karim Sumon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Cow with Two Figures, 1958, cement, h: 31 cm, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Exterminating Angel, 1961, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Apollo 9, 1969, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Peace (Buddha), date unkwnon, cement, 195 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Seated Woman, date unkwnon, grey cement, 121 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Seated Woman, date unkwnon, grey cement, 145 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Soul of the Phantom, 1973, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, The Sunflower Women, 2002, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, The Goat of Chantemesle, 2008, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Mother and Children, date unknown, cement, h: 45cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Novera Ahmed

1930Chittagong, Bangladesh | 2015Haute-Isle, France
Informations

Sculptrice et peintre bangladaise.

Novera Ahmed nait dans une famille lettrée et cultivée de Chittagong. Elle passe son enfance à observer sa mère fabriquer des poupées et maisons de poupées en terre et objets du quotidien, ce qui a pour effet de susciter sa fascination pour les formes tridimensionnelles. Elle apprend la sculpture à la Camberwell School of Arts and Crafts à Londres de 1951 à 1955, où elle a pour professeur l’éminent sculpteur Karel Vogel, et obtient un diplôme national en design. Elle poursuit sa formation à Florence sous la direction de Venturino Venturi.
Aujourd’hui considérée comme pionnière et première sculptrice moderne du Bangladesh, N. Ahmed fait connaître cette discipline à ce qui est alors le Pakistan oriental, avant même que celle-ci ne fasse partie du programme officiel du Government Institute of Arts de Dhaka. Elle crée la première frise murale de la ville de Dhaka à la Bibliothèque Publique Centrale en 1957, ainsi que la première sculpture à ciel ouvert de la ville (Cow with Two Figures [Vache et deux figures]) en 1958. Elle se fait connaître grâce à sa première exposition individuelle, intitulée Inner Gaze [Regard intérieur], qui se tient à Dhaka en 1960 et présente près de 75 pièces exécutées entre 1956 et 1960, dont la plupart sont en ciment. Il s’agit alors de la première exposition individuelle de sculpture consacrée à un sculpteur bangladais ou pakistanais. Le vocabulaire sculptural de ces années formatrices mêle les apports occidentaux de son éducation à des aspects plus traditionnels, ainsi qu’à des thématiques bouddhistes, dans un style caractéristique principalement inspiré par ses expériences en tant que femme.

Avec le muraliste Hamidur Rahman et l’architecte danois Jean Deleuran, elle participe au projet de monument Shaheed Minar à la mémoire des martyrs du Mouvement pour la Langue de 1952, mais l’instauration de la loi martiale en octobre 1958 met fin à leur projet. Ce dernier voit finalement le jour, bien que partiellement, en février 1963, constitué d’un groupe de cinq colonnes érigées sur une plateforme, sans doute inspirées par le projet original de N. Ahmed.
Suite à l’invitation du poète Faiz Ahmed Faiz, alors secrétaire du Pakistan Arts Council, N. Ahmed s’installe à Lahore en 1961. Elle y séjourne plus d’un an, y produit plusieurs sculptures en ciment et plâtre (Exterminating Angel [Ange exterminateur], 1961), et obtient le Prix de la Présidence à l’Exposition nationale de peinture, sculpture et arts graphiques tenue à Lahore en 1962. Elle est, d’après l’historienne de l’art Salima Hashmi, « la première à adopter un vocabulaire sculptural contemporain au Pakistan ».
N. Ahmed quitte définitivement son pays natal en 1963 et s’installe à Paris. Elle y rencontre Alberto Giacometti, Asger Jorn, et le photographe d’art parisien d’origine russe Grégoire de Brouhns.

La seconde exposition individuelle de N. Ahmed est organisée par l’Alliance française de Bangkok en octobre 1970. On la considère comme la première exposition en plein air de sculptures en métal brut en Thaïlande. Lors de son séjour dans le pays de 1968 à 1970, elle produit des sculptures d’extérieur, des bas-reliefs et des figures indépendantes en métal, cuivre et bronze soudés, ainsi qu’une série d’assemblages monumentaux réalisés à partir de morceaux d’épaves d’avions américains importées du Laos, les premières du genre. Sont également exposées une série de peintures à l’aérosol très innovantes, qu’elle effectue en se servant de pièces de machinerie comme de pochoirs [Apollo 9, 1969].
Sa troisième exposition individuelle, qui présente également des sculptures en métal et des peintures, se tient à la Galerie Rive Gauche à Paris en juillet 1973. Ses œuvres révèlent une certaine affinité avec la culture de l’Asie du Sud-Est et avec l’opposition à la guerre du Vietnam. La veille de Noël 1973, elle est gravement blessée dans un accident de voiture, entravant ainsi considérablement sa production artistique. En 2014, quarante ans après sa dernière exposition, le Salon d’exposition à Paris organise une rétrospective de son travail, Novera Rétrospective 1969-2014.

On recommence à parler de N. Ahmed au Bangladesh au début des années 1990, lorsqu’un mouvement « d’intervention féministe sur l’histoire de l’art » réexamine son œuvre. En 1997, on lui décerne in absentia l’Ekushey Padak, la deuxième distinction civile la plus élevée du Bangladesh. Le musée national du Bangladesh prend enfin l’initiative de regrouper les œuvres qu’elle avait présentées lors de ses premières années à Dhaka et les expose en 1998 puis à titre posthume.
Depuis sa mort en 2015, l’œuvre de N. Ahmed continue de susciter un intérêt grandissant. Le musée Novera Ahmed ouvre ses portes en juillet 2018 à La Roche-Guyon. Le musée national du Bangladesh et le musée Novera Ahmed conservent un nombre important de ses œuvres.

Lire plus

Rezaul Karim Sumon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Cow with Two Figures, 1958, ciment, h : 31 cm © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Exterminating Angel, 1961, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Apollo 9, 1969, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Peace (Buddha), date inconnue, ciment, 195 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Seated Woman, date inconnue, ciment gris, 121 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Seated Woman, date inconnue, ciment gris, 145 x 54 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Soul of the Phantom, 1973, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, The Sunflower Women, 2002, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, The Goat of Chantemesle, 2008, © Novera Ahmed

Novera Ahmed — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Novera Ahmed, Mother and Children, date inconnue, ciment, h : 45 cm, Bangladesh National Museum, © Novera Ahmed

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29