Olga de Amaral

1932 | Bogota, Colombia
Informations
Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Olga de Amaral

Sponsor
— Olga de Amaral

Colombian visual artist.

Maintaining subtle links between age-old craft traditions from her home country and western academic art, the works of Olga de Amaral – at once vividly colourful and deafeningly sombre, monumental, small and intimate – have a distinctive timeless and totemic character. Through familial and traditional connections, the Colombian artist O. de Amaral is deeply attached to the Antioquia region in northern Colombia where her family originated. After a childhood in a warm and reassuring family context, O. de Amaral studied architecture at the Colegio Mayor de Cundinamarca before enrolling in 1954 in the Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan, United States. There, she explored the world of textiles for the first time. After returning to Colombia, she combined her training built on the modernist principles of the Bauhaus with her cultural heritage. Discovering the richness in the art of weaving and traditional works of natural fibres, she tirelessly observed weavers spinning. This led her to conduct her first experiments with raw wool, tinted by natural colours and creating geometric motifs, a way of reconnecting with this artisanal practice. In the following years, the relative mathematical rigour in her early works gave way to a less predictable rhythm based on the colourful entanglement of woven strips of fabric (Muros [walls] series, 1970s).

At the end of the 1970s, still in search of new textures and reinvented forms, O. de Amaral moved to Paris, where she discovered a more intimate language through the realisation of small format works. The series Fragmentos [Fragments, 1975] thus marks the beginning of a period during which her works were primarily monochrome, presenting almost austere surfaces in which colour dissolved the geometry imposed by the rigid grid structure. At the same time, her fondness for pre-Columbian Andean culture and the skill found in indigenous productions increased through her artistic explorations. Following the footsteps of the Guambianos and Paeces people, she travelled to Tierradentro, to the ruins of the San Agustín archaeological site as well as to Machu Picchu, discovering the splendours of gold, its evocative symbolic powers and its ability to condense and reflect light (Alquimias [Alchemies] series, 1980s).

Initially two-dimensional, her works freed themselves from the surface plane of the wall throughout her career, finally forming abstract and colourful sculptures (Brumas [mists] series, 2010s). Favouring a conceptual practice that borrowed techniques from painting, sculpture and architecture, O. de Amaral adopted large formats and gave volume to texture, notably weaving. Sandstone coloured linen became one of the primary materials in her creations, while the colours white, gold and blue also dominate. By exploring space with tapestries that exploit the possibilities offered by volume, and constantly experimenting with non-traditional fibres used for weaving, O. de Amaral is today regarded as one of the leaders in contemporary textile arts, for the richness of her influences and the artistic techniques that she has developed.

Read more

Marie Perennès

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 13 [Alchemies 13], 1984, linen, gesso and gold leaf, 140 × 180 cm, © Olga de Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 002 [Alchemies 002], 2009, lin, gesso, acrylic paint and gold leaf, 105 x 225 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 99 [Alchemies 99], 2007, linen, gesso, acrylic paint and gold leaf, 200 x 200 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma (morado-naranja) [Mists (purple-orange], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 191 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma (turquesa-rojo) [Mists (turquoise-red)], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 190 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma C (rojo) [Mists C (red)], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 192 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma D (verde-magenta) [Mists D (green-magenta)], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 193 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma E (turquesa-naranja) [Mists E (turquoise-orange)], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 194 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma G (rojo-amarillo) [Mists G (red-yellow)], 2013, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 190 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Lienzo ceremonial 14 [Ceremonial canvas], 1989, linen, gesso et acrylic paint, 227 x 60 cm, © Olga de Amaral et Diego Amaral

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Olga de Amaral

1932 | Bogota, Colombie
Informations
Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Olga de Amaral

Soutien
— Olga de Amaral

Plasticienne colombienne.

Entretenant de subtils liens tant avec les traditions artisanales séculaires de son pays natal qu’avec les principes artistiques académiques occidentaux, les œuvres d’Olga de Amaral, vivement colorées ou sombres aux tons assourdis, monumentales ou parfois plus petites et intimes, revêtent un caractère intemporel et totémique. Artiste colombienne, O. de Amaral reste profondément attachée, par ses liens familiaux et la tradition, au département d’Antioquia dans le nord de la Colombie, d’où sa famille est originaire. Après une enfance passée dans un cadre familial chaleureux et rassurant puis des études d’architecture au Colegio Mayor de Cundinamarca, O. de Amaral s’inscrit en 1954 à la Cranbrook Academy of Art dans l’État du Michigan, aux États-Unis, où elle explore pour la première fois le monde du textile. À son retour en Colombie, elle associe cette formation bâtie sur les principes modernistes du Bauhaus à son héritage culturel. Découvrant toute la richesse de l’art du tissage et du travail traditionnel des fibres naturelles, elle observe inlassablement les tisserandes occupées à filer ; elle mène ses premières expérimentations avec la laine vierge, les couleurs naturelles ou obtenues après teinture, les motifs géométriques, et en renouant avec le geste artisanal. La relative rigueur mathématique de ses premières œuvres cède la place, dans les années qui suivent, à un rythme moins prévisible, fondé sur l’enchevêtrement coloré des bandes tissées (série Muros [Murs], années 1970).

À la fin des années 1970, toujours en quête de nouvelles textures et de formes réinventées, O. de Amaral s’installe quelque temps à Paris où elle trouve un langage plus intime en réalisant de petits formats. La série des Fragmentos [Fragments, 1975] marque alors le début d’une période au cours de laquelle les œuvres sont principalement monochromes et présentent des surfaces presque austères dans lesquelles la couleur dissout la géométrie imposée par la structure rigide de la trame. Dans le même temps, son goût pour la culture des Andes précolombiennes et l’habileté dont témoignent les productions indigènes augmente au fur et à mesure de ses recherches. Elle se rend à Tierradentro sur les traces des Guambianos et des Paeces, dans les ruines du site archéologique de San Agustín ou encore au Machu Picchu, et découvre lors de ces voyages la splendeur de l’or, son pouvoir d’évocation symbolique ainsi que sa faculté à concentrer et à réfléchir la lumière (série Alquimias [Alchimies], années 1980).

D’abord en deux dimensions, ses œuvres s’affranchissent, tout au long de sa carrière, de la surface plane des cimaises pour finalement former des sculptures abstraites et colorées (série Brumas [Brumes], années 2010). Privilégiant ainsi une pratique conceptuelle qui emprunte ses techniques tant à la peinture qu’à la sculpture et à l’architecture, O. de Amaral adopte les grands formats et donne du volume aux textures, notamment grâce au tressage. Le lin couleur grès est devenu le principal matériau de ses créations, où dominent aussi le blanc, l’or et le bleu. Explorant l’espace avec des tapisseries qui exploitent les possibilités offertes par le volume et expérimentant sans cesse avec des fibres non traditionnellement utilisées pour le tissage, O. de Amaral est aujourd’hui reconnue comme l’une des cheffes de file de l’art textile contemporain pour la richesse de ses influences et des techniques artistiques qu’elle développe.

Lire plus

Marie Perennès

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 13 [Alchimies 13], 1984, lin, gesso et feuilles d’or, 140 × 180 cm, © Olga de Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 002 [Alchimies 002], 2009, lin, gesso, acrylique et feuilles d’or, 105 x 225 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Alquimia 99 [Alchimies 99], 2007, lin, gesso, acrylique et feuilles d’or, 200 x 200 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma (morado-naranja) [Brumes (violet-orange)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 191 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma (turquesa-rojo) [Brumes (turquoise-rouge)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 190 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma C (rojo) [Brumes C (rouge)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 192 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma D (verde-magenta) [Brumes D (vert-magenta)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 193 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma E (turquesa-naranja) [Brumes E (turquoise-orange)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 194 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Bruma G (rojo-amarillo) [Brumes G (rouge-jaune)], 2013, lin, gesso et acrylique, 190 x 90 cm, Courtesy Casa Amaral, © Diego Amaral

Olga de Amaral — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga de Amaral, Lienzo ceremonial 14 [Toile de cérémonie], 1989, lin, gesso et acrylique, 227 x 60 cm, © Olga de Amaral et Diego Amaral

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29