Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

ORLAN

1947 | Saint-Étienne, France
Informations
ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy ORLAN

Sponsor
— ORLAN

French visual and multimedia artist.

Emblematic of the interest that contemporary artists have taken in performance art and in the possibilities of using one’s body as a creative medium, ORLAN stands out thanks to her use of multiple practices and medias. Questioning representations of art, genres, sexuality and the self, this international artist has constantly brought her appearance and her identity into play, reinventing herself in a continuous work of “self-sculpture”. Trained at the Conservatory of Dramatic Arts and at the School of Fine Arts of Saint-Étienne (ESADSE), she shows, from the age of 17, performance pieces in which she quotes classical masterpieces by replaying them in Tableaux Vivants (1967-1975). In Étude documentaire : le drapé, le baroque (1974-1984), an ensemble mixing performance, photography and sculpture and revisiting Judeo-Christian iconography and baroque aesthetic, her bridal trousseau’s linen, diverted from their matrimonial vocation, become the medium for provocative pieces.
In 1977 she brings Le Baiser de l’artiste (The Artist’s Kiss, Frac des Pays de la Loire) to the FIAC (International Fair of Contemporary Art) in Paris. Sitting behind a photography of her own naked torso, she sells French kisses to the fair’s visitors or invites them to light a votive candle to her image dressed as a Madonna. The installation superposed the sacred woman – Sainte-ORLAN – and the objectified woman – ORLAN-corps – and created a scandal that costed the artist her teaching position. Since this first period, her creation hasmoved forward by revisiting her older pieces; most of her performances and derived pieces enter long-term series.

Other occasional works keep their individual status such as her parody of Courbet’s L’Origine du monde turned L’Origine de la guerre (1989) and showing a close-up of the lower abdomen of a man in erection. ORLAN also played a pioneering role in the artistic use of telematics, via the Minitel (a network developed prior to the Internet in France). In the 1990s, assisted by medical doctors, she began a series of “surgical-operation-performances”. She transforms the operating room into an atelier, where her body is surgically operated and modified under her direction. Some of these surgical interventions were filmed andtransmitted live through satellite to high-art spaces (Omniprésence, 1993). If the whole process, from project to result, constitutes a work of art in itself, interventions also bring about videos, photographs, drawings and other pieces recycling body matter derived from the surgeries. The artist associates these performances to readings of essays by philosophers like Michel Serres, and writes her own Carnal Art Manifesto (1992) that explains the issues at stake in her work. As a critical diversion of cosmetic surgery, a demonstration of the new plasticity of the flesh that allows the contemporary subject to claim authorship of her/his own body, a questioning of beauty codes and their violence, her project distinguishes itself from body art by rejecting pain and making her body “a space of public debate”. In Reconfigurations-Self-Hybridations (starting from 1998), she uses digital image processing technologies to blend her face and pieces representing physical and artistic canons from pre-Columbian art, African sculpture, paintings of North-american natives by George Catlin (1796-1872) and Chinese art. These hybrid portraits blur distinctions in individuality, sexuality, temporality, ethnicity, religion or artistry in order to create as many mutant figures. In parallel, ORLAN pursues her exploration of the impact ofbiotechnology.

In 2007, her installation Harlequin’s Coat mixed video-projections, Petri dishes and a bioreactor allowing the in vitro culture of her own cells combined with those of other human and animal stems. Patchwork, collaboration and reprise equally govern the creation of clothing-artworks, when she collaborates with fashion designers to exhibit garments recycled from her own closet. This logic of recombination continues when she invests Maubuisson Abbey with her exhibition Unions mixtes, mariages libres et noces barbares (2009). The thoughtful and complex path of this norm-challenging artist, which mixes intensely art, life and sociopolitical questions, has always taken place in close dialog with her audience, gleefully mocking consensus.

Read more

Hugues Marchal

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Corps-sculpture avec masque n°5, 1965, black and white photo, 81.3 x 76.2 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN en grande Odalisque d‘Ingres, 1977, black and white photo, 150 x 210 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Etude documentaire : le Drapé-le Baroque au Palazzo Grassi (Venise), 1979, performance, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Défiguration-Refiguration, Self-hybridations précolombienne n°35, 1998, cibachrome on aluminium, 120 x 150 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Robes sans corps, sculptures de plis, 2010, variable dimensions, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, La Liberté en écorchée, 2013, video, 55’’, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Self-hybridations Opéra de Pékin n°1, 2014, colour photo, 120 x 120 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

ORLAN

1947 | Saint-Étienne, France
Informations
ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy ORLAN

Soutien
— ORLAN

Artiste multimédia française.

Emblématique de l’intérêt que les artistes contemporains ont porté à la performance et aux possibilités d’utiliser leur corps comme médium de création, ORLAN se singularise par ses pratiques multiples. Interrogeant les représentations de l’art, des genres, de la sexualité et du sujet, cette artiste à l’envergure internationale n’a cessé de mettre en jeu son apparence et son identité pour se réinventer au fil d’un travail continu de « sculpture de soi ». Formée au conservatoire d’art dramatique et à l’école des beaux-arts (actuelle ESADSE) de Saint-Étienne, elle s’illustre dès l’âge de 17 ans dans des performances, où elle cite des œuvres classiques qu’elle rejoue lors de tableaux vivants. Dans Étude documentaire : le drapé, le baroque (1974 – 1984), ensemble mêlant performances, photographies et sculpture, et revenant sur l’iconographie judéo-chrétienne et le baroque, les draps de son trousseau, détournés de leur vocation matrimoniale, deviennent le support d’œuvres provocatrices.
En 1977, elle investit la Fiac (Foire Internationale d’Art Contemporain) de Paris avec Le Baiser de l’artiste (Frac des Pays de la Loire). Assise derrière une photographie de son buste nu, elle vend des baisers aux visiteurs ou les invite à offrir un cierge à son image en madone. L’installation, qui superpose femme sacrée – sainte ORLAN – et femme objet – ORLAN-corps –, fait scandale et lui vaut d’être renvoyée de son poste d’éducatrice. Dès cette première époque, sa création avance en revisitant ses propres œuvres ; une majorité de ses performances et des pièces qui en dérivent entrent dans des séries au long cours.

D’autres travaux ponctuels gardent un statut individuel, comme sa parodie de L’Origine du monde de Gustave Courbet devenue L’Origine de la guerre (1989) montrant en gros plan le bas-ventre d’un homme en érection, et ORLAN joue un rôle pionnier dans l’emploi artistique de la télématique, via le Minitel. Dans les années 1990, s’assurant le concours de médecins, elle entame une série d’« opérations – chirurgicales – performances ». Elle transforme le bloc opératoire en un atelier, où son corps est opéré et modifié sous sa direction. Certaines interventions chirurgicales sont filmées et retransmises en direct par satellite dans de hauts lieux d’art (Omniprésence, 1993). Si le processus, du projet au résultat, constitue une œuvre à part entière, les interventions donnent aussi lieu à des vidéos, à des photographies, à des dessins et à d’autres pièces recyclant les matières corporelles issues de la chirurgie. L’artiste associe ces performances à la lecture d’essais de philosophes, tel Michel Serres, et elle écrit son Manifeste de « L’Art Charnel » (1992) qui explique les enjeux de son travail. Détournement critique de la chirurgie esthétique, démonstration de la nouvelle plasticité de la chair, qui permet au sujet contemporain de se faire l’auteur de son propre corps, mise en question des codes de beauté et de leur violence : son projet se distingue de l’art corporel (body art), en refusant la douleur et fait de son corps un « lieu de débat public ». Dans Reconfigurations-Self-Hybridations (à partir de 1998), elle utilise les technologies numériques de traitement de l’image pour mêler son propre visage à des œuvres représentant des canons corporels et artistiques empruntés à l’art précolombien, à la sculpture africaine, aux peintures d’Indiens de l’Américain George Catlin (1796 – 1872) et à l’art chinois. Ces portraits hybrides estompent les distinctions individuelles, sexuelles, temporelles, ethniques, religieuses ou artistiques, pour créer autant de figures mutantes. Parallèlement, elle poursuit son exploration de l’impact des biotechnologies.

En 2007, son installation Le Manteau d’Arlequin mêle projections vidéo, boîtes de Pétri et bioréacteur permettant la culture in vitrode ses propres cellules combinées avec celles d’autres souches humaines et animales. Patchwork, collaboration et reprise gouvernent également la création d’œuvres-vêtements, quand elle collabore avec des créateurs de mode pour exposer des habits recyclant sa garde-robe. Cette logique de recombinaison se poursuit quand elle investit l’abbaye de Maubuisson avec son exposition Unions mixtes, mariages libres et noces barbares (2009). Le parcours réfléchi et complexe de cette artiste hors normes, qui mêle intensément art, vie et interrogations sociopolitiques, s’est toujours déroulé dans un dialogue étroit avec le public et se moque allègrement du consensus.

Lire plus

Hugues Marchal

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Corps-sculpture avec masque n°5, 1965, photographie noir et blanc, 81,3 x 76,2 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN en grande Odalisque d‘Ingres, 1977, photographie noir et blanc, 150 x 210 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Etude documentaire : le Drapé-le Baroque au Palazzo Grassi (Venise), 1979, performance, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Défiguration-Refiguration, Self-hybridations précolombienne n°35, 1998, cibachrome collé sur aluminium, 120 x 150 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Robes sans corps, sculptures de plis, 2010, dimensions variables, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, La Liberté en écorchée, 2013, vidéo, 55’’, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

ORLAN — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

ORLAN, Self-hybridations Opéra de Pékin n°1, 2014, photographie couleurs, 120 x 120 cm, © Orlan, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29