Tsuneko Taniuchi

1946 | Nishinomiya, Japan
Informations
Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Tsuneko Tanuichi, Photo Nacása Partners Inc., Courtesy of Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Franco-Japanese multidisciplinary artist.

Tsuneko Taniuchi studied at Kobe College (Japan) and at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. After spending several periods in New York between 1979 and 1984, she settled in Paris in 1987, where she still lives and works.
Her core practice revolves around performance, video, photography and installations. In 1995 she honed the concept of the ‘Micro-Event’, which unlike the ‘Macro-Event’ highlights everyday life through the prism of the individual. T. Taniuchi developed this concept as a way of rethinking the relations between viewer, work and artist, applying it throughout her oeuvre to focus on the notion of limits, not only in terms of art and reality but with reference to multiple identities, whether sexual, social or racial.

Her first Micro-Events highlighted the communication problems at the heart of a single social group and questioned the possibility of common languages (Micro-Event no. 1 /Ato no matsuri /Too Late, 1995; Micro-Event no. 6 /Berlin /Fast Food, 2000). Many of her works rebel against the shackles imposed on the individual by society. In Micro-Event no. 5 /Nine Female Characters (1999), this led her to explore different stereotypes of women imprisoned within their own roles, in order to envisage their possible emancipation in the context of the prevailing power systems.
A number of her works, performed in the public arena, directly confront the happenstance viewer. In 1998, for instance, in Micro-Event no. 8 /Public Action, she initiated an unauthorised action in a Parisian supermarket by posing as a housewife doing her shopping accompanied by two plastic dolls. Having reached the check-out she yelled that someone had stolen her wallet and papers, to the dismay of the staff and customers, who were unable to ascertain whether they were watching a genuine situation or an artistic creation. The unease triggered by disturbing mises en scène of this nature forces the viewer to take a stance in relation to otherness.
The destruction of her childhood home in the 1995 earthquake that devastated the region of Kobe inspired T. Taniuchi to initiate a project that called on autobiography but also questioned the social order. My Sentimental Journey (1997) is an installation comprising a slide show under canvas which not only echoes the loss of her ties to the past but also reveals the ambiguity of her relationship to her native country and to France.
The impact of her discovery of Was Geschah, nachdem Nora ihren Mann verlassen hatte oder Stützen der Gesellschaften [What Happened After Nora Left Her Husband or Pillars of Society, 1977] by feminist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature Elfriede Jelinek (the author’s rewriting of Henrik Ibsen), inspired T. Taniuchi to come up with a sequel: Nora taking on the guise of a homeless woman as a figure of emancipation (Plastic Bag Lady, 1995; The Collections of Nora, 1995; Micro-Event no. 12 /The Right to Housing, 2001).
In anticipation of the political argument in favour of same-sex marriage, the Micro-Events on the theme of weddings are undoubtedly the most significant and subversive of T. Taniuchi’s creations – at least before 2013, when the law came into force in France. Since 2002, the artist had in fact celebrated her union with over 290 partners representing the entire spectrum of sexual orientation, in venues as diverse and unexpected as museums, town halls and a caravan, in France and abroad. This oeuvre resulted in 2012 in an installation featured at MAC VAL – Musée d’Art Contemporain du Val-de-Marne (Vitry-sur-Seine) and in 2014 at the Maison Hermès Forum in Ginza, Tokyo.

Over the last ten years, the concept of ‘intersectional feminism’ instigated by Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw and that of ‘multiracial democracy’, linked to the postcolonial theories of Achille Mbembe, have become increasingly prevalent in the work of T. Taniuchi. She is currently exploring these themes through the medium of performances involving other protagonists of all genders, in order to transmit her vision of performance to younger artists and in an attempt to broaden the notion of the body to encompass social, political and economic factors (as in Micro-Event no. 50 /My Body is Political, 2018).

Read more

Asuka Ikeda

Translated from French by Caroline Taylor-Bouché.

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°1 /Ato no matsuri /Trop tard, performance, Galerie chez Valentin, Paris, 1995, Photo Sylvain Flanagan, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°5 /Neuf personnages de femmes, performance Plastic Bag Lady, view of the exhibition Paris pour escale, curating by Hou Hanru and Evelyne Jouanno, Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris, 2000-2001, Photo Marc Dommage, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°5 /Neuf personnages de femmes, performance Boxeuse, edition version in 2008, Photo Volker Renner, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°6 /Berlin /Fast food, performance, Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, 2000 (Bourse de la Villa Médicis Hors les Murs / AFAA, 2000), Photo Rudie Ewals © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°8 /Action publique, performance, event Ici tout est réel, organised by Tribeca magazine, Monoprix, Paris, 1998, Photo Eric Tabuchi, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°12 /Le droit au logement, performance, for Rewind, Glassbox, Paris, 2001, Photo Julia Rometti, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n° 25 /Public communication bar /VIP Cocktails, performance, for Occupation #1, MAC/VAL, Vitry, 2004, Photo Laurent Vicari, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°14 /Future épouse aime faire la peinture, for Art & Vitrine, Rougier & Plé, Paris, 2002, Photo Tiina Ketara, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement /Anniversaire de mariages, performance, for Rendez-vous du forum, Session 2, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2010, Photo Maria Tomé, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement N°50 /Mon corps est politique, 2019, performance, 60 min, The Emily Harvey Foundation, New York, Supports by CNAP, Fondation des Artistes and Parsons Paris / New York, The New School, Photo Gaia Squarci, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événements de Mariages, 2002-2012, Micro-événement /Anniversaire de mariages, installation with 26 photos, 1 video and 1 wedding anniversary invitation card, CNAP Collection, view of the exhibition Situation(s) [48°47 34 N / 2°23 14 E], curator Frank Lamy, MAC VAL, Vitry, 2012, Photo Martin Argyroglo, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, La mariée, installation with podium, stairs, motor, audio equipment, music, mannequin, wedding dress and accessories, Hôtel de Ville, Paris, 2003-2012, MAC VAL Collection, 2012, Photo Martin Argyroglo, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, My Sentimental Journey, 1997, installation with tent and slide show with background sound, 160 black and white and color slides, juxtaposed with music and recorded conversations in different languages, for Parisien(ne)s, curating Hou Hanru, Iniva in collaboration with Camden Arts Centre, Londres, 1997

Magazine
Linked articles
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Tsuneko Taniuchi

1946 | Nishinomiya, Japon
Informations
Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait de Tsuneko Tanuichi, Photo Nacása Partners Inc., Courtesy of Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Artiste pluridisciplinaire franco-japonaise.

Tsuneko Taniuchi étudie au Kobe College (Japon) puis à l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Après plusieurs séjours à New York entre 1979 et 1984, elle s’installe à Paris en 1987, où elle vit et travaille toujours.
Performance, vidéo, photographie et installation sont au cœur de sa pratique. En 1995, elle met au point la formule du « Micro-événement » qui, par opposition au « macro-événement », renvoie à la vie quotidienne en s’intéressant à ce qui arrive à l’échelle individuelle. Elle l’investit comme moyen de repenser les relations entre le public, l’œuvre d’art et l’artiste. Par l’intermédiaire de ce concept, l’œuvre de T. Taniuchi traite principalement de la question des limites, celles qui existent entre l’art et la réalité, mais aussi celles qui traversent la multiplicité des identités, qu’elles soient sexuelles, sociales ou raciales.

Ses premiers « Micro-événements » mettent en évidence les difficultés de communication au sein d’un même groupe social et interrogent la possibilité de langages communs (Micro-événement no 1 /Ato no matsuri /Trop tard, 1995 ; Micro-événement no 6 /Berlin /Fast Food, 2000). Nombre de ses œuvres s’en prennent aux carcans qu’impose la société à l’individu. Ainsi, dans Micro-événement no 5 /Neuf personnages de femmes (1999), elle explore différents stéréotypes de femmes enfermées dans leurs propres rôles, afin d’envisager leurs possibilités d’émancipation par rapport aux systèmes de pouvoir.
Réalisées dans l’espace public, certaines de ses interventions engagent le·la spectateur·rice fortuit·e dans une confrontation directe. En 1998, avec Micro-événement no 8 /Action publique, elle mène une action non autorisée dans un supermarché parisien en se présentant en mère de famille, avec deux poupées en plastique, pour y faire ses courses. Arrivée à la caisse, elle s’exclame qu’on lui a volé son portefeuille et ses papiers, devant le personnel et les client·e·s déconcerté·e·s et incapables de reconnaître s’il s’agit d’une situation réelle ou de création artistique. Le malaise provoqué par ce type de mise en scène perturbante exige du public qu’il se positionne vis-à-vis de l’altérité.
La disparition de sa maison d’enfance lors du séisme de 1995 qui a dévasté la région de Kobe inspire à T. Taniuchi un projet qui mêle autobiographie et questionnement d’ordre social. My Sentimental Journey (1997) est une installation constituée d’un diaporama photographique abrité sous une tente, qui fait écho à la perte des liens avec son passé, mais révèle aussi l’ambiguïté des rapports qu’elle entretient avec son pays d’origine et la France.
Marquée par la lecture de Was Geschah, nachdem Nora ihren Mann verlassen hatte oder Stützen der Gesellschaften [Ce qui arriva après que Nora eut quitté son mari ou les soutiens des sociétés, 1977] de la féministe et prix Nobel de littérature 2004 Elfriede Jelinek (une réécriture de Henrik Ibsen par cette autrice), T. Taniuchi invente alors une suite à ce texte : Nora en SDF comme figure émancipée (Plastic Bag Lady, 1995 ; Les Collections de Nora, 1995 ; Micro-événement no 12 /Le droit au logement, 2001).
Anticipant le projet politique de « mariage pour tous », les Micro-événements sur le thème de la noce sont sans doute parmi les réalisations les plus importantes et les plus subversives de T. Taniuchi, du moins jusqu’à la loi autorisant les unions de personnes de même sexe votée en France en 2013. En effet, depuis 2002, elle a célébré son mariage avec plus de 290 conjoints et conjointes, de toutes orientations sexuelles, et dans des lieux aussi divers et inattendus que des musées, des mairies, une caravane, en France comme à l’étranger. Cette œuvre a pris la forme d’une installation exposée en 2012 au MAC VAL – musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne (Vitry-sur-Seine) et en 2014 au Forum de la maison Hermès de Ginza, à Tokyo.

Depuis une dizaine d’années, la notion de « féminisme intersectionnel », introduite par Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw, et celle de « démocratie multiraciale », liée à la pensée postcoloniale d’Achille Mbembe, ont pris une place de plus en plus importante dans le travail de T. Taniuchi. Elle les explore désormais dans des performances réalisées avec d’autres participant·e·s, afin de transmettre sa vision de la performance à de jeunes artistes et de tenter ainsi d’élargir le concept du corps à ses dimensions sociales, politiques et économiques (par exemple dans Micro-événement no 50 /Mon corps est politique, 2018).

Lire plus

Asuka Ikeda

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°1 /Ato no matsuri /Trop tard, performance, Galerie chez Valentin, Paris, 1995, Photo Sylvain Flanagan, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°5 /Neuf personnages de femmes, performance Plastic Bag Lady, vue de l’exposition Paris pour escale, commissariat de Hou Hanru et Evelyne Jouanno, Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris, 2000-2001, Photo Marc Dommage, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°5 /Neuf personnages de femmes, performance Boxeuse, version édition en 2008, Photo Volker Renner, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°6 /Berlin /Fast food, performance, Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, 2000 (Bourse de la Villa Médicis Hors les Murs / AFAA, 2000), Photo Rudie Ewals © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°8 /Action publique, performance, évènement Ici tout est réel, organisé par la revue Tribeca, Monoprix, Paris, 1998, Photo Eric Tabuchi, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°12 /Le droit au logement, performance, pour Rewind, Glassbox, Paris, 2001, Photo Julia Rometti, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n° 25 /Public communication bar /VIP Cocktails, performance, pour Occupation #1, MAC/VAL, Vitry, 2004, Photo Laurent Vicari, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement n°14 /Future épouse aime faire la peinture, pour Art & Vitrine, Rougier & Plé, Paris, 2002, Photo Tiina Ketara, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement /Anniversaire de mariages, performance, pour Rendez-vous du forum, Session 2, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2010, Photo Maria Tomé, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événement N°50 /Mon corps est politique, 2019, performance, 60 min, The Emily Harvey Foundation, New York, Soutiens du CNAP, de la Fondation des Artistes et de Parsons Paris / New York, The New School, Photo Gaia Squarci, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, Micro-événements de Mariages, 2002-2012, Micro-événement /Anniversaire de mariages, installation avec 26 photos, 1 vidéo et 1 carte d’invitation d’anniversaire de mariage, Collection du CNAP, vue de l’exposition Situation(s) [48°47 34 N / 2°23 14 E], commissaire Frank Lamy, MAC VAL, Vitry, 2012, Photo Martin Argyroglo, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, La mariée, installation avec podium, escalier, moteur, équipement audio, musique, mannequin, robe de mariée et accessoires, Hôtel de Ville, Paris, 2003-2012, Collection du MAC VAL, 2012, Photo Martin Argyroglo, © ADAGP, Paris 2021

Tsuneko Taniuchi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tsuneko Tanuichi, My Sentimental Journey, 1997, installation avec tente et diaporama avec fond sonore, 160 diapositives en noir et blanc et couleur, juxtaposées à des musiques et à des conversations enregistrées dans différentes langues, pour Parisien(ne)s, commissaire Hou Hanru, Iniva en collaboration avec le Camden Arts Centre, Londres, 1997

Magazine
Articles liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29