Rachel Whiteread

1963 | London, United Kingdom
Informations
Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, from the series First Women by Anita Corbin, March 2011, Courtesy Gagosian Gallery

Sponsor
— Gagosian Gallery

British sculptress.

Exploring themes of absence and the memory of place by playing with sensory perceptions of space, Rachel Whiteread pursues a systematic process which certain critics have likened to minimalist or conceptual art. Following the example of architect Luigi Moretti’s 1950s-era plaster models of interior spaces, she has refined her process: create volume using empty space, conferring a materiality to the invisible. She studied at Brighton Polytechnic, then trained in sculpture at the Slade School of Fine Art, University College of London (1985-1987). Her first exhibit took place at the Carlisle Gallery in London in 1988. There, she showed Closet, the reproduction of the interior of a clothes closet, in the form of a plaster structure covered in wood and felt. She had already begun to apply the practice of mold-making to her own body, of which she made several impressions that she was not bold enough to show.

In 1992-1993, she took part in a university exchange with Germany, and traveled to Berlin to refine her project of casting familiar, banal shapes, of which she attempted to show a hidden face, and reveal unknown usages: sinks, bathtubs, mattresses, the undersides of tables, the interiors of kettles, bookcases, and even an autopsy table. These molds were made in plaster and various other materials, including resin, rubber, and plastic, in a monochrome palette which often glimmered, like gemstones. She hoped to pay homage to “life’s underbelly,” and to the nostalgic qualities of the objects that surround us every day. Her work became more impersonal, less autobiographical. She won the 1993 Turner Prize for House at the age of 30, making her the first female artist to receive this prestigious award. House (1993-1994) was a concrete cast of the interior of an entire Victorian house in the East End of London, which she couldn’t prevent from being demolished — the last of a group of abandoned homes, destined to disappear. Emptiness transformed into fullness, the most intimate into the monumental. The house was no longer a construction, an addition, but rather a subtraction. It appeared then as a mausoleum, as a death mask or a memorial, that fixed a negative space — for its doors couldn’t open, its windows were obstructed: the house became an impenetrable surface, which confronted the viewer with its mute resistance.

After her representation at the British Pavilion at the 1997 Venice Biennale (the first woman to represent Britain alone), she received various public commissions such as Water Tower (New York, 1998) and Holocaust Memorial (Vienna, 2000). Her work is part of several public collections. Recently, her first show at the Nelson-Freeman Gallery in Paris (2010), brought together, in the form of still lifes, a collection of sculptures in resin and tinted plaster, casts of quotidian objects like cardboard tubes, medicine bottles, bits of packaging, all combined into an abstract landscape in pastel tones. Whiteread’s works on paper, although infrequently exhibited, occupy a central place in her creative process.

Read more

Scarlett Reliquet

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Water Tower, 1998, W. Broadway & Grand Street, 341.4 cm (height) × 243.8 cm (diameter), 11ft 2 in. (height) × 8 ft (diameter), resin cast of the interior of a wooden water tank, June 1998-1999, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo: Marian Harder

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Untitled (Orange Bath), 1996, rubber and polystyrene, 80 × 207 × 110 cm, 31.5 × 81.5 × 43.3 in., Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, EMBANKMENT, 2005, polyethylene boxes, dimensions variable, installation at Tate Modern, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, EMBANKMENT, 2005, polyethylene boxes, dimensions variable, installation at Tate Modern, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, House, 1993, mixed media, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo: Sue Omerod

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Monument, 2001, resin and granite, 900 × 510 × 240 cm, 354.4 × 200.8 × 94.5 in., installation at Trafalgar Square, London, United Kingdom, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Detached 1, 2012, concrete and steel, 200 × 172 × 109 cm, 78 3/4 × 67 11/16 × 42 15/16 inches, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo: Mike Bruce

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Untitled (upstairs), 2001, mixed media, 216.5 × 130 × 225.5 in. (550 × 330 × 570 cm), Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Rachel Whiteread

1963 | Londres, Royaume-Uni
Informations
Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Gagosian Gallery

Soutien
— Gagosian Gallery

Sculptrice britannique.

Explorant les thèmes de l’absence et de la mémoire des lieux par un jeu sur la perception sensorielle de l’espace, Rachel Whiteread poursuit une démarche systématique que certains critiques ont voulu rapprocher de l’art minimal ou conceptuel. Sur le modèle des maquettes en plâtre d’espaces intérieurs de l’architecte Luigi Moretti dans les années 1950, elle met au point son procédé : réaliser des volumes à partir de surfaces vides, conférant une matérialité à l’invisible. Elle étudie à l’École polytechnique de Brighton, puis se forme à la sculpture à la Slade School of Fine Art, University College, de Londres (1985-1987). Sa première exposition a lieu à la Carlisle Gallery de Londres (1988). Elle y présente Closet, la reproduction d’un intérieur de placard à vêtements, sous la forme d’une structure de plâtre recouverte de bois et de feutre. Elle a déjà commencé à appliquer le principe du moulage à son propre corps, dont elle a fait des empreintes, sans avoir eu l’audace de les montrer.

En 1992-1993, grâce à un échange universitaire avec l’Allemagne, elle travaille à Berlin et met au point son projet programmatique de moulage de formes familières ou banales, dont elle s’attache à révéler la face cachée, à dévoiler les usages méconnus : éviers, baignoires, matelas, dessous de table, intérieur de bouillotte, bibliothèque, et même table d’autopsie. Ces moulages sont exécutés dans des matériaux aussi différents que le plâtre, la résine, le caoutchouc, le plastique, et dans un coloris monochrome qui, souvent, renvoie à la brillance des pierreries. Elle cherche à rendre hommage au « bas-ventre de la vie », selon son expression, et au caractère nostalgique des objets qui nous entourent au quotidien. Le Turner Prize lui est décerné pour House (1993), alors qu’elle n’a que 30 ans, faisant d’elle la première femme artiste couronnée par cette récompense prestigieuse. Sa démarche est cette fois plus impersonnelle, moins autobiographique. House (1993-1994) était le volume moulé en béton de l’intérieur d’une maison victorienne du quartier East End à Londres, dont elle ne peut empêcher la destruction – il s’agit souvent d’appartements abandonnés, voués à disparaître. Le vide s’est mué en plein, le plus intime en monumental. La maison ne résulte plus d’une construction, d’un ajout, mais d’une soustraction. Elle s’apparente désormais à un mausolée, à un masque mortuaire ou à un mémorial, qui fixe un espace négatif. Car ses portes ne s’ouvrent pas, ses fenêtres sont obstruées : la maison est devenue une surface impénétrable, qui nous oppose sa résistance, son mutisme.

Suite à sa représentation du pavillon britannique à la Biennale de Venise en 1997 (elle est la première citoyenne de ce pays à le représenter seule), elle reçoit différentes commandes publiques comme Water Tower (New York, 1998) et Holocaust Memorial (Vienne, 2000). Ses œuvres figurent dans de nombreuses collections publiques. Récemment, sa première exposition à la galerie Nelson-Freeman à Paris (2010) a réuni, sous forme de natures mortes, un ensemble de sculptures en résine et plâtre teinté, moulages d’objets quotidiens tels que tubes en carton, boîtes de médicaments, fragments d’emballages, le tout composant un paysage abstrait dans les tons pastel. Les œuvres sur papier de R. Whiteread, quoique très rarement montrées, occupent une place centrale dans sa création.

Lire plus

Scarlett Reliquet

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Water Tower, 1998, W. Broadway & Grand Street, 341,4 cm (hauteur) × 243,8 cm (diamètre), résine moulée de l’intérieur d’une citerne à eau en bois, juin 1998-1999, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Marian Harder

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Untitled (Orange Bath), 1996, caoutchouc et polystyrène, 80 × 207 × 110 cm, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, EMBANKMENT, 2005, boites en polyéthylène, dimensions variables, installation à la Tate Modern, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, EMBANKMENT, 2005, boites en polyéthylène, dimensions variables, installation à la Tate Modern, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, House, 1993, matériaux divers, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Sue Omerod

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Monument, 2001, résine et granit, 900 × 510 × 240 cm, installation à Trafalgar Square, Londres, Royaume-Uni, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Detached 1, 2012, béton et acier, 200 × 172 × 109 cm, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Mike Bruce

Rachel Whiteread — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rachel Whiteread, Untitled (upstairs), 2001, matériaux divers, 550 × 330 × 570 cm, Courtesy Rachel Whiteread & Gagosian Gallery

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29