Sibylle Bergemann

1941Berlin, Germany | 2010Margaretenhof, Gransee, Germany
Informations
Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Selfportrait of Sibylle Bergemann, Estate Sibylle Bergemann

German photographer.

After having completed a business management training, Sibylle Bergemann started working in the editorial department of the journal Das Magazin. It was there that she came into contact with photography, which eventually became her mouthpiece. An autodidact, her 1965 encounter with Arno Fischer (1927-2011), one of the most prestigious East German photographers, was formative: as life-long companions, S. Bergemann was first his student and soon his advisor, critic, supporter and inspiration. Their flat in East Berlin functioned as a meeting place for intellectuals and artists as well as international photographers visiting the GDR, including Henri Cartier-Bresson (1908-2004), Josef Koudelka (b. 1938), Robert Frank (1924-2019) and Helmut Newton (1920-2004). S. Bergemann was a founding member of the group Direkt (1966-1980), which sought to set different photographic standards within the journal landscape of the GDR. She began working as a freelance photographer in 1967, mostly for art and cultural magazines such as Sonntag and Sibylle.  
 

S. Bergemann was driven to explore, unveil and test boundaries by her credo: “I’m interested in the edge of the world, not the centre. The non-exchangeable is of concern to me, when something is not quite right in the faces or landscapes.” When trying to conceive of life in East Germany – the hopes, desires and sorrows of people – there is no way around S. Bergemann’s photographs. Her “belletristic” gaze mirrors traces of life, sometimes other-worldly, sometimes trenchant, but always in a sensitive and reflective manner. In all her photo series, whether fashion, portrait, architecture or street photography, intuition led the way. S. Bergemann’s laconic style conveyed a candour, involvement and subtle irony that continues to affect people. Among her main themes were women and dogs, and she described her fashion photographs as portraits. The latter often functioned as a means to comment on other topics, such as the environmental degradation of the GDR (Birgit Karbjinski, Berlin, 1984) or the official image of people living under socialism (Marisa und Liane, Sellin [Marisa and Sellin], 1981. The commissioned series Das Denkmal [The Monument] is S. Bergemann’s most iconic work: undertaken from 1975 until 1986, the series on the erection of the Marx and Engels Monument in Berlin-Mitte depicts floating, headless, veiled and tied up figures which is why scholars interpret it as a foretelling of the downfall of the GDR. Berlin was a life-long subject and she continuously documented the changing landscapes of her city, for example: Schöneweide, Berlin (1972), Dog at the Berlin Wall after Its Opening, Berlin (1989) and Mauerpark, Berlin (1996). Colour becomes a stylistic element in her later photographs to create enraptured images that proclaim new realities, as does Polaroid.  
 
In 1990 she co-founded the photographic agency Ostkreuz as a way to develop a strategy for the professional survival of photographers; today Ostkreuz is one of the most prominent photographer-run agencies in Germany. She became part of the Academy of Arts in 1994. In addition, S. Bergemann is one of the most acclaimed East German photographers who worked for esteemed magazines such GEO, DIE ZEIT, Stern and the New York Times Magazine and whose photographs are part of collections across the world, including MoMA, New York and Tate, London. 

Anne Pfautsch

A notice produced as part of AWARE’s academic network, TEAM: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Marisa und Liane, Sellin, Insel Rügen [Marisa and Liane, Sellin, Insel Rügen], 1981, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Birgit Karbjinski, Berlin, 1984, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Frieda von Wild, Berlin, 1988, (Design: Angelika Kroker), black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Dakar, Senegal, for GEO, 2010, color photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Raquel Taveres, Fado singer, Lisbon, Portugal, 2006, color photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, from the series Das Denkmal, Berlin [The Monument, Berlin], 1986, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, from the series Das Denkmal, Gummlin, Usedom [The Monument, Gummlin, Usedom], May 1984, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Mario Büge in the play ‘Woyzeck(en)’, Theatre RambaZamba, Berlin, 1997, color photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Jennifer Lau, in the play ‘Woyzeck(en)’, Theatre RambaZamba, Berlin, 1997, color photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Schöneweide, Berlin, 1972, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Dog at the Berlin Wall after Its Opening, Berlin, 1989, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Mauerpark, Berlin, 1996, black and white photography, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Sibylle Bergemann

1941Berlin, Allemagne | 2010Margaretenhof, Gransee, Allemagne

Informations
Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Autoportrait de Sibylle Bergemann, Estate Sibylle Bergemann

Photographe allemande.

Après une formation en gestion d’entreprise, Sybille Bergemann est embauchée à la rédaction de Das Magazin. C’est là qu’elle découvre la photographie, qui deviendra plus tard son moyen d’expression privilégié. Sa rencontre en 1965 avec Arno Fischer (1927-2011), l’un des photographes les plus renommés d’Allemagne de l’Est, est déterminante pour cette autodidacte : compagne de toute une vie, S. Bergemann, après avoir été son élève, devient sa conseillère, sa critique, son soutien et sa source d’inspiration. Dans leur appartement de Berlin-Est se rencontrent intellectuelles, intellectuels et artistes, ainsi que des photographes étrangères et étrangers de passage en RDA, comme Henri Cartier-Bresson (1908-2004), Josef Koudelka (1938-), Robert Frank (1924-2019) et Helmut Newton (1920-2004). S. Bergemann co-fonde le groupe Direkt (1966-1980), qui cherche à établir de nouvelles normes photographiques pour le milieu journalistique de la RDA. Elle commence à travailler en tant que photographe pigiste en 1967, notamment pour des magazines artistiques et culturels comme Sonntag et Sibylle. 


S. Bergemann explore, découvre et éprouve les limites, animées par une profession de foi : « Je m’intéresse à la marge du monde, pas au centre. Ce qui me préoccupe, c’est le non échangeable, lorsque quelque chose cloche dans un visage ou un paysage ». Quiconque s’efforce de concevoir ce qu’était la vie en Allemagne de l’Est, les espoirs, les désirs et les soucis de la population, ne peut passer à côté ses photographies. Son regard « littéraire » reflète des traces de vies, de manière parfois éthérée, parfois tranchante, mais toujours avec sensibilité et réflexion. C’est l’intuition qui mène la danse dans toutes ses séries de photos, qu’il s’agisse de mode, de portraits, d’architecture ou de photographie urbaine. Le style laconique de S. Bergemann est porteur d’une franchise, d’un engagement et d’une subtile ironie qui touche encore les spectateurs et spectatrices aujourd’hui. Les femmes et les chiens font partie de ses sujets de prédilection. Elle appelle ses photographies de mode des portraits : en effet, celles-ci servent souvent à évoquer d’autres sujets, comme la dégradation écologique de la RDA (Birgit Karbjinski, Berlin, 1984) ou l’image officielle de la population des pays socialistes (Marisa und Liane, Sellin [Marisa et Liane, Sellin], 1981). La commande Das Denkmal [Le monument] est la plus emblématique de l’œuvre de S. Bergemann : cette série sur l’érection du monument à Marx et Engels dans le quartier de Mitte à Berlin, réalisée entre 1975 et 1986, montre des figures flottantes, sans tête, voilées et ligotées. De ce fait, les spécialistes l’interprètent comme une prémonition de la chute de la RDA. Berlin est son sujet tout au long de sa vie ; la photographe enregistre sans discontinuer l’évolution des paysages de sa ville, par exemple dans Schöneweide, Berlin (1972), Dog at the Berlin Wall After Its Opening, Berlin [Chien devant le mur de Berlin après son ouverture, Berlin, 1989] et Mauerpark, Berlin (1996). Plus tard, la couleur devient un élément stylistique de ses photographies, créant des images extasiées qui proclament des réalités nouvelles, comme le Polaroid sait le faire.

En 1990, S. Bergemann co-fonde l’agence de photographes Ostkreuz afin d’élaborer une stratégie de survie pour la profession ; il s’agit aujourd’hui d’une des plus importantes agences d’Allemagne gérée par des photographes. Elle entre à l’Académie des arts en 1994. En outre, S. Bergemann est l’une des photographes est-allemandes les plus estimées : elle a travaillé pour des magazines aussi reconnus que GEO, DIE ZEIT, Stern et le New York Times Magazine et l’on trouve ses photographies dans des collections du monde entier, dont celles du MOMA à New York et de la Tate à Londres.

Lire plus

Anne Pfautsch

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Marisa und Liane, Sellin, Insel Rügen [Marisa et Liane, Sellin, Insel Rügen], 1981, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Birgit Karbjinski, Berlin, 1984, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Frieda von Wild, Berlin, 1988, (Design : Angelika Kroker), photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Dakar, Senegal [Dakar, Sénégal], for GEO, 2010, photographie couleur, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Raquel Taveres, Fado singer, Lisbon, Portugal [Raquel Taveres, chanteuse de Fado, Lisbonne, Portugal], 2006, photographie couleur, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, de la série Das Denkmal, Berlin [Le monument, Berlin], 1986, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, de la série Das Denkmal, Gummlin, Usedom [Le monument, Gummlin, Usedom], mai 1984, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Mario Büge in the play ‘Woyzeck(en)’, Theatre RambaZamba, Berlin [Mario Büge dans la pièce “Woyzeck(en)”, Théâtre RambaZamba, Berlin], 1997, photographie couleur, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Jennifer Lau, in the play ‘Woyzeck(en)’, Theatre RambaZamba, Berlin [Jennifer Lau dans la pièce “Woyzeck(en)”, Théâtre RambaZamba, Berlin], 1997, photographie couleur, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Schöneweide, Berlin, 1972, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Dog at the Berlin Wall after Its Opening, Berlin [Chien devant le mur de Berlin après son ouverture, Berlin], 1989, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Sibylle Bergemann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sibylle Bergemann, Mauerpark, Berlin, 1996, photographie noir et blanc, Estate Sibylle Bergemann/OSTKREUZ

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29