Lynda Benglis

1941 | Lake Charles, United States
Informations
Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Sebastian Kim

Sponsor
— Gallery Cheim & Read

American visual artist.

Barely, graduated her BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) from de Newcomb College, Lynda Benglis moved to New York in 1964, where she developed a reactionary art that fought against the strict laws of modernism and minimalism. In 1965, she created her first Wax Paintings, totem-shaped reliefs made out of beeswax. Fusing matter, form, and content, she became involved in post-minimalism, with her creative process patently manifest in the work itself. Her Fallen Paintings series are a nod to Jackson Pollock, debates on the death of painting, and fall under the umbrella of lyrical or eccentric abstraction. In 1969, her in situ art, too colourful and illusionistic, was excluded from the Whitney Museum’s Anti-Illusion: Procedures/Materials exhibition. Her Expansions, made out of polyurethane foam, were presented in three solo exhibitions in 1970, and the following year she designed a series of six major installations: the cantilevered, ephemeral, and occasionally phosphorescent Wings, which the artist described as “frozen gestures.” In 1972, she began her Knots mural sculpture series, contorting poor materials – cotton, plaster, wire mesh – to which she added acrylic paint and glitter (Sparkle Knots), or “metallized” (by coating them in zinc, aluminium, or copper).

Benglis was a pioneering filmmaker. Her films as Mumble (1972, co-direted with Robert Morris), Now (1973), and Female Sensibility (1973), which showcase and lampoon political gender issues, power imbalances, the director/performer relationship, and sexual prejudice. She subverted macho representation techniques used in the media in order to control her image in Sexual Mockeries (1972-1976), a series of photographs engineered for use as invitation cards and advertisements. This work was carried over to Secrets (1974-1975), a series of Polaroid collages, and culminated in a double-page spread in Artforum magazine, in which she posed nude with a dildo, causing a controversy that extended far beyond the American art world.

In 1975, she cast some of her plastic sculptures in bronze, including Eat Meat (1973). In her Sculpture exhibition at the Paula Cooper gallery in November 1975, the Primary Structures (Paula’s Props) installation no doubt marked a turning point: resembling a theatrical tableau in ruins, the piece, including velvet drapery, metal classical columns, and two plants – one real, one fake – was a direct allusion to a minimalist sculpture exhibition from 1966. It amounted to a reflection on art, reality, excessive consumption, and performance. The artist then kept her distances from the New York art scene and adopted a certain flounce (mannerist or decorative swagger). The notions of “proprioception” (self-perception resulting from the experience of sculpture) and “configuration” are used in the artist’s continued work on the idea, the body, the environment, perception, immediacy, the sensual involvement of both creator and spectator. Surfaces and textures continued to broaden in the second half of the 1970s, in sculptural series such as Lagniappes, Torsos, Peacocks, and the beginning of Pleats; the latter, often borrowing their titles from the automotive industry, are created by working with steel mesh then coated with different metals. The Wave (The Wave of the World, 1983-1984), a monumental bronze fountain sculpture commissioned by the Louisiana World Exposition in New-Orleans, signalled her return to environmental issues in a literal (landscape, nature, and climate) and figurative sense (captation), that were already present in Wings. In the 1990s and 2000s, Benglis experimented with monumental sculpture made with hewn bricks in India (Chimera,1995). She also used glass, ceramic, or paper for her creations. Her casting work became more complex in the Pedmarks (1995-1998) series, and the new potential made possible by polyurethane took form in Hot Spots (1999), The Graces (2003-2005), and her fountains: Double Fountain (2007), North South East West (2009).

Read more

Caroline Hancock

Translated from French by Toby Cayouette.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Wing, 1970, cast aluminum, 170.2 × 150.5 × 152.4 cm, 67 × 59 1/4 × 60 in, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Phantom (installation), 1971, polyurethane foam with phosphorescence, 259.1 × 1066.8 × 243.8 cm, 102 × 420 × 96 in (installed), © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Bundi, 1971, wax on plaster, 91.4 × 12.7 × 7.6 cm, 36 × 5 × 3 in, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Eat Meat, 1969-1975, aluminum, 61 × 203.2 × 137.2 cm, 24 × 80 × 54 in, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Spindle, 1977, chicken wire, plaster, cotton, gesso, gold leaf, 91.4 × 40.6 × 20.3 cm, 36 × 16 × 8 in, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, To Be (B), 1992, céramique, 38,1 × 44,5 × 35,6 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Hills and clouds, 2014, cast polyurethane with phosphorescence and stainless steel, 335.3 × 579.1 × 579.1 cm, 11 × 19 × 19 ft, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Double fountain, mother and child, for anand, 2007, bronze in two parts, 182.9 × 299.7 × 66 cm, 72 × 118 × 26 in, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lynda Benglis

1941 | Lake Charles, États-Unis
Informations
Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Sebastian Kim

Soutien
— Gallery Cheim & Read

Plasticienne américaine.

Tout juste titulaire d’un BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) du Newcomb College, Lynda Benglis s’installe à New York en 1964, où elle développe une œuvre en réaction aux lois rigides du modernisme et du minimalisme. En 1965, elle réalise ses premiers Wax Paintings, des reliefs en cire en forme de totems. Fusionnant la matière, la forme et le contenu, elle s’implique dans le postminimalisme, avec la manifestation prégnante de son processus de création (process). Sa série des Fallen Paintings (« peintures déchues) fait référence à Jackson Pollock, aux débats sur la mort de la peinture, et s’inscrit dans l’abstraction lyrique ou excentrique. En 1969, son travail in situ, trop coloré et illusionniste, est exclu de l’exposition Anti-Illusion : Procedures/Materials du Whitney Museum. Ses Expansions en mousse de polyuréthane sont présentées dans trois expositions personnelles en 1970, et elle conçoit, l’année suivante, six installations majeures en porte-à-faux : la série des Wings (« ailes ») éphémères et parfois phosphorescents. L’artiste parle alors de frozen gesture (« geste figé »). En 1972, elle commence la série de sculptures murales, Knots (« nœuds »), contorsionnant des matériaux pauvres – coton, plâtre, grillage –, auxquels elle ajoute de la peinture acrylique et des paillettes (Sparkle Knots) ou qu’elle « métallise » (vaporisation de zinc, aluminium, cuivre).

Benglis est une vidéaste pionnière. Ses films, comme Mumble (« marmonnement », 1972, coréalisé avec Robert Morris), Now (1973) et Female Sensibility (1973), soulignent et ridiculisent les questions politiques de genre, les déséquilibres de pouvoir, la relation directeur/performeur et les préjugés sexuels. Elle subvertit les techniques de représentation machistes dans les médias afin de contrôler son image dans la série des Sexual Mockeries (1972-1976), photographies orchestrées pour ses cartons d’invitation et publicitaires. Ce travail est adapté dans des assemblages de Polaroid, Secrets (1974-1975), et culmine dans une double-page du magazine Artforum publié en 1974, où elle pose nue avec un godemichet, sujet d’une controverse qui s’étend bien au-delà du monde de l’art américain.

En 1975, elle coule certaines de ses sculptures de plastique en bronze, dont Eat Meat (1973). Dans son exposition Sculpture chez Paula Cooper en novembre 1975, l’installation Primary Structures (Paula’s Props) marque sans doute un tournant : tel un tableau théâtral en ruine, cette œuvre comprenant un drapé de velours, des colonnes classiques en métal, deux plantes – l’une vraie, l’autre factice – est une allusion directe à une exposition de sculpture minimaliste en 1966. Elle constitue une réflexion sur l’art, la réalité, la consommation à outrance et le spectacle. L’artiste prend alors ses distances avec la scène new-yorkaise et revendique un certain flounce (déhanchement maniériste ou décoratif). Les termes « proprioception » (perception de soi dans l’expérience même de la sculpture) et « configuration » sont utilisés par la plasticienne pour résumer son travail sur l’idée, le corps, l’environnement, la perception, l’immédiateté, l’implication sensuelle du créateur et du spectateur. Les surfaces et les textures continuent à s’élargir dans la deuxième moitié des années 1970, avec les séries sculptées des Lagniappes, des Torses, des Peacocks (« paons ») et le début des Pleats (« plis ») ; ces derniers, aux titres souvent empruntés à l’industrie automobile, sont créés par son action sur des mailles d’acier ensuite métallisées. Wave (The Wave of the World, 1983-1984), la sculpture-fontaine en bronze monumentale commandée pour le Louisiana World Exposition à La Nouvelle-Orléans, dénote son retour aux problématiques d’environnement au sens littéral (paysage, nature et climat) et figuré (captation), déjà présentes dans Wings. Dans les années 1990-2000, L. Benglis expérimente une sculpture monumentale de briques taillées, Chimera (1995), en Inde. Elle utilise par ailleurs du verre, de la céramique ou du papier pour ses créations. Le travail de moulage se complexifie davantage avec la série des Pedmarks (1995-1998), et les nouvelles potentialités des polyuréthanes sont matérialisées dans les Hot Spots (« points chauds » ou « zones sensibles »), The Graces (2003-2005) et les fontaines (Double Fountain, 2007 ; North South East West, 2009).

Lire plus

Caroline Hancock

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Wing, 1970, fonte d’aluminium, 170,2 × 150,5 × 152,4 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Phantom (installation), 1971, mousse de polyuréthane phosphorescente, 259,1 × 1066,8 × 243,8 cm (installée), © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Bundi, 1971, cire sur plâtre, 91,4 × 12,7 × 7,6 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Eat Meat, 1969-1975, aluminium, 61 × 203,2 × 137,2 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Spindle, 1977, grillage, plâtre, coton, gesso, feuille d’or, 91,4 × 40,6 × 20,3 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, To Be (B), 1992, céramique, 38,1 × 44,5 × 35,6 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Hills and clouds, 2014, polyuréthane moulé phosphorescent et acier inoxydable, 335,3 × 579,1 × 579,1 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Lynda Benglis — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lynda Benglis, Double fountain, mother and child, for anand, 2007, bronze en deux parties, 182,9 × 299,7 × 66 cm, © Courtesy Cheim & Read, New York

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29