Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Susan Hiller

1940Tallahassee, United States | 2019London, United Kingdom
Informations
Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Carla Borel

American photographer and visual artist.

After studying anthropology (among other subjects) at Tulane University in New Orleans, Susan Hiller started working as an anthropologist before she obtained her PhD in 1965. She started experimenting with happenings and collective actions, and in 1972 performed her series Hand Grenades, in which she set her own paintings on fire. Following this attack on painting, which she carried out as a sort of ritual, she proceeded to define her work method, which consists of making inventories of the visual forms at her disposal while cross-referencing several other disciplines – ethnography, art history – and using several mediums at once – photography and film. Memory, psychology, storytelling and iconography constitute her main lines of research, in which she simultaneously assumes the figures of the artist, critic, and ethnologist to explore her relationship to the world. Her work is featured in a large number of public collections and a retrospective of her work was held at Tate Liverpool in 1996. Dedicated to the Unknown Artist (1972-1976), one of her best known pieces, is the first in a series of works for which she collected tourist postcards featuring waves. In an interview with Roger Malbert (2007), she explained that what interested her was the relationship between the captions and the pictures. For her, the “unknown artists” who print out these colourful pictures are women. With this series, she used the vocabulary and method of presentation of minimalist and conceptual art, and combined it with Pop art aesthetics.

Around the same time, her involvement in research groups, such as Dream Mapping, led her to think of “art as a criticism of existing culture”. In 1972, the piece Sisters of Menon relied on the process of automatic writing, which the artist describes as a “meditation on the multiplicity of individual consciousness”, further adding, “Identity is a collaboration”. The piece consists of four L-shaped panels carrying deliberately mysterious inscriptions that open onto several directions at once. Hiller decided to exhibit the piece only in 1979. In the 1970s, her work, still linked to minimalism, illustrated the way in which the elements of a work of art are able to interact following a non-hierarchical and non-aesthetic structure. It fell inherently within the feminist perspective. As such, S. Hiller photographed herself while pregnant (Ten Months, 1977-1979): 10 grids, each made out of 28 black and white photographs that matched the phases of the moon, which she juxtaposed with excerpts of her diary from the same period. Rationality and conscience, as well as aesthetic principles and artistic canons, are all issues she addresses. In the 1990s, she created a piece for the Freud Museum in London which she placed inside a display cabinet in the room Freud occupied in the last year of his life. The piece, entitled From the Freud Museum (1991-1997), consisted of a set of 23 elements, each shaped like an archaeologist’s box. The project has since been expanded to 50 elements. Her inspiration for this work came from both Freud’s collection of antiques and from the history of psychoanalysis. The boxes contain combinations of objects, photographs, texts from Hiller’s earlier works, traces from her own memory, and all sorts of elements made to be interpreted differently by each viewer. The Street Project (2002), another work devoted to the question of traces and memory, consisted of an inventory of 303 street or road names that mention the word “Jew” in German cities and rural areas. Along the same lines, Psychic Archaeology (2005) is an installation that consists of two video screens in which she questions archetypes and stereotypes about Jewish people. Whether collecting and classifying the signs and symbols of ancient cultures in Journey to the Land of the Tarahumaras (2008), in correlation with the works of Antonin Artaud, or working with photographs from the Freud family’s collection (Curiosities, 2005), S. Hiller’s work is not only deeply linked with archival themes, but also invents a perfectly singular form of poetics with each new piece.

Read more

Marion Daniel

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Magic Lantern, 1987, 3 channel, 35 mm slide projection with sound, synchronised, 12 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Belshazzar’s Feast, 1983-1984, 20-minute single-screen installed video programme, configuration and size variable, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, First Aid: Homage to Joseph Beuys, 1969-2016, 13 vintage wooden first aid boxes, felt-lined, with 86 vintage bottles containing water from holy wells, sacred streams, etc., collected by the artist from around the world; some boxes contain vintage medical supplies, wall-mounted, 156 x 188 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo: Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, From India to the Planet Mars, 1997-2017, unique photographic negatives in wall mounted lightboxes, 52 x 67.5 x 12 cm each, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo: Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Die Gedanken Sind Frei [Thoughts Are Free], 2012, Jukebox on 4 rollers and stainless steel base, variable dimensions, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Lost and Found, 2016, single-channel projection with sound, 30 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Psi Girls, 1999, video installation: 5 synchronised programmes, 5 projections, colour with stereo sound, real-time audio processing, programme duration 20 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Split Hairs: The Art of Alfie West, 1998, 20 framed and captioned split hair works by Alfred West on glass or mirror, various dates, installed in vintage vitrine with accompanying catalogue by Susan Hiller and David Coxhead, variables dimensions, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo: Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, The Last Silent Movie, 2007-2008, 22 minute audio-visual work, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo: Hendrik Zeitler, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Towards an Autobiography of Night, 1983, 12 C-type photographs, hand painted with gold ink, 50.8 x 76.2 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Wild Talents, 1997, video installation: 3 synchronised programs, chair, monitor, votive lights, 2 projected programs, colour with stereo sound and one black and white silent program on video monitor, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo: Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Witness, 2000, 400 speakers, wiring, steel structure, 10 CD players, switching equipment, lights suspended from ceiling and walls, variable dimensions, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Susan Hiller

1940Tallahassee, États-Unis | 2019Londres, Royaume-Uni
Informations
Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Carla Borel

Photographe et plasticienne américaine.

Après des études, entre autres, d’anthropologie à l’université Tulane à la Nouvelle- Orléans, Susan Hiller travaille d’abord en tant qu’anthropologue, puis obtient son doctorat en 1965. C’est alors qu’elle expérimente le happening, les actions collectives, puis brûle dans ses Hand Grenades (1972), des peintures qu’elle avait réalisées. À la suite de cette attaque contre la peinture, qui prend chez elle une allure de rituel, elle définit sa méthode de travail, procédant à un inventaire de l’ensemble des formes visuelles à sa disposition, tout en faisant écho à plusieurs disciplines : l’ethnographie, l’histoire de l’art, et à plusieurs médiums à la fois – l’image photographique et le film. La mémoire, la psychologie, le récit et l’image constituent les axes principaux de sa recherche, dans laquelle elle adopte simultanément les figures de l’artiste, du critique et de l’ethnologue pour penser sa relation au monde. Son travail est conservé dans de nombreuses collections publiques. Une rétrospective de son travail a eu lieu en 1996 à la Tate Liverpool. Dedicated to the Unknown Artist (1972-1976), l’une de ses réalisations les plus connues, inaugure sa série de travaux ; elle y recense un ensemble de cartes postales touristiques comportant une vague. Dans un entretien donné à Roger Malbert (2007), elle explique que c’est la relation entre les mots inscrits dans les légendes et les images qui l’intéresse. Pour elle, ceux qu’elle nomme les « artistes inconnus », ceux qui réalisent les impressions colorées, sont des femmes. Dans cette série, elle utilise le vocabulaire et le mode de présentation des œuvres minimalistes et conceptuelles, en les combinant avec une esthétique propre au pop art.

À cette époque, sa participation à des groupes de recherche, tels que Dream Mapping, l’amène à penser que « l’art peut fonctionner comme une critique de la culture existante ». En 1972, l’œuvre Sisters of Menon est fondée sur une expérience d’écriture automatique, qu’elle décrit elle-même comme une « méditation sur la multiplicité de la conscience individuelle ». Elle ajoute : « L’identité est une collaboration. » Quatre panneaux en forme de L y entretiennent un mystère, quant à la signification des mots inscrits, ouvrant sur plusieurs directions à la fois. Elle choisit de n’exposer cette œuvre qu’en 1979. Dans les années 1970, son travail, encore lié au minimalisme, illustre la manière dont les éléments d’une œuvre peuvent s’articuler de manière non hiérarchique et non esthétique. Il s’inscrit fondamentalement dans une perspective féministe. Ainsi, S. Hiller se photographie enceinte (Ten Months, 1977-1979) : dix grilles, composées chacune de 28 photographies en noir et blanc, correspondent aux phases de la lune ; les clichés sont accompagnés de notes extraites de son journal à la même période. Rationalité et conscience, principes esthétiques et canons artistiques font partie de ses questionnements. Dans les années 1990, elle installe une œuvre au Freud Museum de Londres, à l’intérieur d’une vitrine située dans la chambre où Freud a séjourné la dernière année de sa vie. Cette œuvre, intitulée From the Freud Museum (1991-1997), consiste en un ensemble de 23 éléments, chacun empruntant sa forme aux boîtes utilisées par les archéologues. Le projet s’est agrandi et en comporte aujourd’hui 50. Elle est inspirée tout à la fois par la collection d’antiquités de Freud et par l’histoire de la psychanalyse. Dans ces boîtes, S. Hiller associe en effet des objets, des photographies, des textes qui constituent des morceaux de ses pièces antérieures, des traces de sa propre mémoire, et différentes sommes d’éléments, destinées à être interprétées de façon diverse par les spectateurs. En 2002, elle réalise The Street Project (2002), une autre œuvre consacrée à la question de la trace et de la mémoire, qui consiste en un inventaire de 303 rues ou chemins, dans lesquels le mot « juif » apparaît dans les campagnes et dans les villes allemandes. Dans la même lignée, Psychic Archaeology (2005) est une installation de deux écrans vidéo, dans laquelle elle s’interroge sur les archétypes et les stéréotypes juifs. Prélever et classer les signes et symboles de cultures anciennes dans Journey to the Land of the Tarahumaras (2008), en corrélation avec l’œuvre d’Antonin Artaud, travailler à partir de photographies présentes dans les collections de la famille Freud (Curiosities, 2005) : le travail de S. Hiller a partie liée avec la notion d’archives, tout en inventant, à chaque œuvre, une poétique parfaitement singulière.

Lire plus

Marion Daniel

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Magic Lantern, 1987, 3 canaux, projection d’une diapositive de 35 mm avec son, synchronisée, 12 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Belshazzar’s Feast, 1983-1984, programme vidéo de 20 minutes sur un écran unique, configuration et taille variable, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, First Aid: Homage to Joseph Beuys, 1969-2016, 13 boîtes de premiers secours vintage  en bois feutré, avec 26 bouteilles vintage contenant de l’eau des puits et rivières sacrés, etc., collectée par l’artistes partout dans le monde, certaines boîtes murales contiennent d’anciennes fournitures médicales, 156 x 188 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, From India to the Planet Mars, 1997-2017, négatifs photo uniques sur un mur de caissons lumineux, 52 x 67,5 x 12 cm chacun, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Die Gedanken Sind Frei [Les pensées sont libres], 2012, Jukebox sur une base en acier inoxydable à 4 roulettes, dimensions variables, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Lost and Found, 2016, projection d’un canal unique avec son, 30 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Psi Girls, 1999, installation vidéo : 5 émissions synchronisées, 5 projections couleur avec son en stéréo, traitement audio en direct, durée du programme : 20 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Split Hairs: The Art of Alfie West, 1998, 20 œuvres coupées encadrées et légendées d’Alfred West sur verre ou miroir, dates diverses installées dans une vitrine vintage avec catalogue explicatif par Susan Hiller et David Coxhead, dimensions variables, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, The Last Silent Movie, 2007-2008, œuvre audio-visuelle de 22 minutes, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Hendrik Zeitler, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Towards an Autobiography of Night, 1983, 12 photographies de type C, peintes à la main avec de l’encre dorée, 50,8 x 76,2 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Wild Talents, 1997, installation vidéo : 3 émissions synchronisées, chaise, moniteur, lumières votives, 2 émissions projetées en couleur avec son en stéréo et une émission en noir et blanc silencieux sur moniteur vidéo, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Photo : Jack Hems, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Susan Hiller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Susan Hiller, Witness, 2000, 400 haut-parleurs, câblage, structure en acier, 10 lecteurs CD, équipement de commutation, lumières suspendues au plafond et aux murs, dimensions variables, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Susan Hiller, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29