Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Tatiana Trouvé

1968 | Cosenza, Italy
Informations
Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Alastair Miller

Sponsors
— Tatiana Trouvé — Gagosian Gallery

French sculptor and multimedia artist.

Tatiana Trouvé grew up in Dakar, Senegal. After studying art in the Netherlands and a residency at the Villa Arson in Nice, she won the Marcel Duchamp Prize in 2007. Her work is primarily sculpture and installation, but drawing and sound play important underlying roles in her shape-shifting pieces. In 1997, she gave a generic title to an enormous collection of works: Le Bureau d’Activités Implicites (BAI, or Bureau of Implicit Activities), which was divided into different modules, full-scale architectural installations each dedicated to one of the artist’s activities, either concretely or theoretically linked to her creative process (archiving, copying, writing, administration, trials, breaks, movement, slips of the tongue, reminiscence, failures, aspirations).

Since the 2000s, she also has developed maquettes of “implicit places”, entitled Polders, which are an extension of her Modules. These sculptures, set on the ground or mounted on a wall, are distinguished by their diminished, child-sized scale. Her work is marked by an administrative aesthetic (offices, waiting rooms), but also by the universes of sports and music. Her hybrid installations make up a sort of complicated labyrinth, which is the artist’s vision of a world haunted by questions of memory. “If reality only takes shape with the help of memory, if the present is nothing but the past passing, then the work takes shape at the moment when it begins to fade from our field of vision”, she explains. Her ambition is to give a non-illustrative form to the space and time of memory. After abandoning the BAI, Trouvé tried to create, through sculptures and series of drawings like Remanence (Endurance, 2008-2010), intermediary spaces that she calls “intermondes”, composed of rocks, copper, deformed steel, bolts, or other everyday objects, like mattresses or warped bedframes. Kafka-esque, atmospheric images of a parallel world, anxiety and worry radiate from these speculative works, in which the spectator floats through spaces defined by metallic tubes or glass windows.

For several years, her work also explored the inherent properties of museum exhibition spaces themselves through installations that dissect the “visible” components of the space via carefully worked and selected materials, like tubes or, for A Stay Between Enclosure and Space (2010), magnetic fields constructed in situ: thus, Trouvé uncovers, through the museum space, a mental space. “My work that engages with space, my installations, is defined by the creation of physical laws that are different than those that traverse and make up our reality. I imagine magnetic fields or singular atmospheric densities, speeds that, in their turn, sculpt the forms of the work, all while contradicting the laws of gravity, by lifting the materials and objects to the ceiling, in deforming or compressing them, but also in fixing them in the moment of falling or balance”, she says.

Read more

Bernard Marcadé

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Bureau of Implicit Activities, Administrative Module, 1997- 2003, wood, paint, identity cards, rubber bands, photographs, paper, plastic, metal, tools, felt, Plexiglas, 150 × 350 × 180 cm, © Photo: Marc Domage, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Polder, 2005, copper, paint, resin, metal, 450 × 350 × 450 cm, © Photo: André Morin, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Untitled, 2007, metal, rubber, 218 x 268 x 240 cm, © Photo: Daniele Resini, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Untitled, 2007, concrete, Plexiglas, Formica, metal, copper, marble, bronze, wood, leather, 300 × 610 × 421 cm, © Photo: Daniele Resini, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Untitled from the series Les dessouvenus, 2013, pencil on paper mounted on canvas, bleach, copper, 153 x 240 x 3,5 cm, © Photo: Laurent Edeline, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Desire Lines, 2015, metal, epoxy paint, wood, ink, oil, rope, 350 × 760 × 950 cm, © Photo: Emma Cole, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Desire Lines (detail), 2015, metal, epoxy paint, wood, ink, oil, rope, 350 × 760 × 950 cm,  © Photo: Emma Cole, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, 750 Points Towards Infinity, 2009, plumb lines, magnets, metal, 750 x 1500 x 1500 cm, © Photo: Yang Hao, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, August, 2019, from the series The Great Atlas of Disorientation, 2018-, ink, bleach and pencil on paper mounted on canvas, 153 x 240 cm, © Photo: Florian Kleinefenn, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, The Guardian, 2019, patinated bronze, onyx, paint, 91.5 x 80 x 64 cm, © Photo: Florian Kleinefenn, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, The Guardian, 2019, patinated bronze, marble, 78 x 74 x 76 cm, © Photo: Florian Kleinefenn, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, The Shaman, 2018, patinated bronze, marble, granite, concrete, steel, sand, water, variable dimensions, © Photo: Fredrik Nilsen Studio, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Untitled, 2019, from the series Les dessouvenus, 2013-, pencil on bleach on paper mounted on canvas, 125 x 200 cm, © Photo: Florian Kleinefenn, © Tatiana Trouvé, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Tatiana Trouvé

1968 | Cosenza, Italie
Informations
Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© photo : Alastair Miller

Soutiens
— Tatiana Trouvé — Gagosian Gallery

Sculptrice et artiste multimédia française.

Tatiana Trouvé a grandi à Dakar, au Sénégal. Après des études artistiques aux Pays-Bas et à la villa Arson à Nice, elle est lauréate du prix Marcel-Duchamp en 2007. Sa démarche relève de la sculpture, de l’installation, mais le dessin et le son jouent également un rôle primordial dans son travail protéiforme. En 1997, elle donne un titre générique à l’ensemble de ses œuvres : le Bai (Bureau d’activités implicites), qui se compose de différents Modules, des installations d’abord à échelle humaine puis miniature, chacune dédiée à une des activités de l’artiste, qu’elles soient concrètes ou liées à son processus de création (archive, reproduction, écriture, administration, attente, grève, déplacement, lapsus, réminiscence, ses échecs, ses aspirations).

Depuis les années 2000, elle développe également des maquettes de « lieux implicites » dénommés Polders, qui sont une extension de ses Modules. Ces sculptures, posées à même le sol ou fixées au mur, se distinguent de ces derniers par une échelle réduite, correspondant à la taille d’un enfant. Son œuvre reste marquée par l’esthétique administrative (bureaux, salles d’attente), mais aussi par l’univers du sport et de la musique. Ces installations hybrides constituent une manière de labyrinthe inextricable, qui renvoie aussi bien à la biographie de l’artiste qu’à une vision du monde hantée par la question de la mémoire. « Si la réalité ne prend forme qu’avec la mémoire, si le présent n’est que du passé qui passe, alors les œuvres se constituent aussi à partir du moment où elles quittent notre champ de vision », explique-t-elle. Son ambition est de donner une forme non illustrative à cet espace/temps de la mémoire. Après l’abandon du Bai, T. Trouvé cherche à matérialiser, grâce à des sculptures et à des séries de dessins comme Remanence (2008-2010), des espaces intermédiaires qu’elle nomme les « intermondes », composés de roches, de cuivre, d’acier déformé, de verrous ou d’éléments extraits du quotidien, dont des cadres de lits tortueux ou des matelas. À l’image d’un monde parallèle, une atmosphère kafkaïenne, anxiogène et inquiétante émane de cette démarche prospectrice, où le spectateur voyage à travers les tubes métalliques ou vitres de verre qui construisent l’espace.

Depuis quelques années, son travail s’attache aussi à explorer les lieux d’exposition des musées et leurs qualités propres, par le biais d’installations qui dissèquent les composants de l’espace « visible », via des matériaux précieusement choisis et travaillés, comme des tubes ou, pour A Stay Between Enclosure and Space (« un arrêt entre l’enclos et l’espace », 2010), des champs magnétiques construits in situ : dès lors, T. Trouvé révèle, à partir de l’espace muséal, un espace mental. « Le travail que j’engage sur l’espace, dans mes installations, est déterminé par la création de lois physiques différentes de celles qui traversent et constituent notre réalité. J’imagine des secteurs magnétiques ou des densités atmosphériques singulières, des vitesses qui, à leur tour, sculpteraient les formes, tantôt en contredisant les lois de la gravité, en aspirant les matières et les objets vers le plafond, en les déformant ou en les compressant, mais aussi en les figeant dans des mouvements de chute ou d’équilibre », dit-elle.

Lire plus

Bernard Marcadé

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Bureau d’Activités Implicites, Module Administratif, 1997- 2003, bois, peinture, cartes d’identité, élastiques, photographies, papier, plastique, métal, outils, feutrine, plexiglas, 150 × 350 × 180 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © photo : Marc Domage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Polder, 2005, cuivre, peinture, résine, métal, 450 × 350 × 450 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © photo : André Morin, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Sans titre, 2007, métal, caoutchouc, 218 × 268 × 240 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Daniele Resini, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Sans titre, 2007, ciment, plexiglas, formica, métal, cuir, marbre, bronze, bois, 300 × 610 × 421 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Daniele Resini, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, 300 points à l’infini, 2009, fils à plomb, aimants, métal, 450 × 800 × 800 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Mamco, Ilmari Kalkkinen, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Sans titre issu de la série Les dessouvenus, 2013, crayon sur papier marouflé sur toile, eau de javel, cuivre, 153 x 240 x 3,5 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Laurent Edeline, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Sans titre issu de la série Les dessouvenus, 2015, crayon sur papier marouflé sur toile, eau de javel, 153 x 240 x 3,5 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © photo : Florian Kleinefenn, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Sans titre issu de la série Intranquillity, 2015, crayon sur papier marouflé sur toile, cuivre, 153 × 240 × 3,5 cm, Courtesy Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © photo : Florian Kleinefenn, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Desire Lines, 2015, métal, peinture époxy, bois, encre, huile, corde, 350 × 760 × 950 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Emma Cole, © ADAGP, Paris

Tatiana Trouvé — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tatiana Trouvé, Desire Lines (détail), 2015, métal, peinture époxy, bois, encre, huile, corde, 350 × 760 × 950 cm, © Tatiana Trouvé & Gagosian Gallery, © Photo : Emma Cole, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29