Tayeba Begum Lipi

1969 | Gaibandha, Bangladesh
Informations
Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Sponsor
— Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Bangladeshi multi-media artist.

The sculptures, videos and paintings of Tayeba Begum Lipi (MFA University of Dhaka 1993) critique gender roles and gender-based structural violence in Bangladesh. In 2002 Lipi and her husband, artist Mahbubur Rahman, founded Britto Arts Trust, Bangladesh’s first artist-run non-profit organization, which mentors emerging artists. In 2011 Lipi and Rahman established the first Bangladesh National Pavilion, at the fifty-fourth Venice Biennale.
Lipi’s first major exhibition, “Toys Watching Toys”, for which she collaborated with Rahman, was held at Dhaka’s Alliance Française in 2002. Featured artworks addressed gendered identity in an increasingly Islamist Bangladesh. In one installation burqa-clad mannequins bearing fiberglass casts of Lipi’s head faced an oil on canvas self-portrait tryptic of the artist, in which she appears unveiled and wearing make-up. The two “Lipis” observed each other suspiciously, each questioning the other’s identity and alliances.
The artist again interrogated gender roles in her video I Wed Myself (2010), premiered at the 2011 Venice Biennale. It features Lipi performing pre-wedding preparations as both bride and groom. In embodying both genders, she acknowledges the fluidity of her own gender, thereby challenging gender hierarchies inherent in institutions of religion, marriage, and family.

Lipi continued her explorations of the instability of gender with the multi-media Reversal Reality (2015), exhibited at Britto’s “Cross Casting” in Dhaka and the India Art Fair. The project critiqued the marginalization of transgender people in Bangladesh. A video featured images of Lipi’s cisgender life juxtaposed with those of a transgender Bangladeshi woman. Reversal Reality also featured feminine personal effects, including high heels and a purse, fashioned from safety pins, and a sarcophagus of razorblades, the latter a reference to the high rate of suicide among the transgender community.
Lipi began constructing life-sized sculptures out of safety pins and razorblades in 2011. In her most celebrated work, Love Bed (2012, permanent collection of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum), hundreds of enlaced razorblades articulate a double bed. When Lipi was five years old she spied on her sister-in-law giving birth. As in many rural Bangladeshi households, a midwife was called to perform the delivery at home, and Lipi recalls the sight of the umbilical cord being cut with a razorblade in her work. The medium of Love Bed uncannily displaces the marital bed as a site of domesticity and intimacy – for rural Bangladeshi women it is a site where they risk their lives.

Safety pins too are profoundly significant signs in Lipi’s work. Her installation sculpture Comfy Bikinis (2012), first exhibited in her solo-exhibition “Never Been Intimate” at Pi Artworks, Istanbul, offers four bikinis comprised of safety pins. Like many women throughout South Asia, as a college student in Dhaka Lipi was groped on public buses. She defended herself by stabbing the anonymous hands with safety pins. While the bikinis initially appear seductive, their medium transforms them into armor – and a warning to would-be sexual predators. Lipi lives in Dhaka, where she continues to produce art that examines what it means to be a woman in a changing Bangladesh.

Read more

Melia Belli Bose

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Love Bed, 2012, stainless steel razor blades, 79.4 x 184.8 x 221 cm, 31 1/4 x 72 3/4 x 87 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My Mother’s Dressing Table, 2013, stainless steel made razor blades, 95.3 x 47 x 99.1 cm, 37.5 x 18.5 x 39 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Comfy Bikinis, 2013, brass safety pins covered with electroless nickel immersion gold, stainless steel and glass, 36.1 x 90.9 x 121.9 cm, 14.2 x 35.8 x 48.0 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo: Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Recalling 3, 2014, stainless steel razor blades, 28 x 23 x 54 cm, 11 x 9.1 x 21.3 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo: Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Agony, 2015, stainless-steel razor blades and stainless steel, 104 x 66 x 92 cm, 40.9 x 26 x 36.2 in., 107 x 51 x 92 cm, 42.1 x 20 x 36.2 in., 110 x 28 x 92 cm, 43.3 x 11 x 36.2 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Womanhood 2, 2015, stainless steel razor blades, 45 x 35 x 40 cm, 17.7 x 13.7 x 15.7 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo: Tracy Szatan,

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Womanhood 2, 2015, stainless steel razor blades, 45 x 35 x 40 cm, 17.7 x 13.7 x 15.7 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo: Tracy Szatan,

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My little privacy, 2016, brass made safety pins covererd by electroless nickel immersion gold, 17.8 x 7.6 x 25.4 cm, 7 x 3 x 10 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My pump shoes, 2016, brass made safety pins covererd by electroless nickel immersion gold, 22.86 cm, 9 in., Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Tayeba Begum Lipi

1969 | Gaibandha, Bangladesh
Informations
Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Soutien
— Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Artiste multidisciplinaire bangladaise.

Tayeba Begum Lipi obtient une maîtrise d’arts plastiques à l’université de Dhaka en 1993. Ses sculptures, vidéos et tableaux remettent en question les rôles assignés aux sexes et la violence structurelle qui en découle au Bangladesh. En 2002, T. B. Lipi et son mari, l’artiste Mahbubur Rahman, fondent la Britto Arts Trust, la première association à but non lucratif gérée par des artistes au Bangladesh, destinée à l’accompagnement d’artistes émergents. En 2011, T. B. Lipi et M. Rahman inaugurent le premier pavillon national bangladais à la 54e Biennale de Venise.
La première grande exposition de T. B. Lipi, Toys Watching Toys [Jouets regardant des jouets], en collaboration avec M. Rahman, a lieu à l’Alliance française de Dhaka en 2002. Les œuvres présentées abordent le sujet de l’identité de genre dans un Bangladesh de plus en plus islamisé. Dans l’une des installations, des mannequins vêtus de burkas et dont les visages sont recouverts de moulages en fibre de verre du visage de T. B. Lipi sont assis face à une peinture à l’huile d’un triple autoportrait de l’artiste maquillée et sans voile. Ces deux incarnations de « Lipi » s’observent avec méfiance, chacune semblant douter de l’identité et des alliances de l’autre.
L’artiste interroge à nouveau les rôles genrés dans sa vidéo I Wed Myself [Je me suis épousée] (2010), qu’elle présente à la Biennale de Venise en 2011. On y voit T. B. Lipi se préparer pour son mariage dans les rôles des deux mariés. En incarnant ces deux genres, elle légitime la fluidité de sa propre identité et, ce faisant, défie les hiérarchies qui sous-tendent les institutions religieuses, matrimoniales et familiales.

T. B. Lipi poursuit son exploration de la fluidité du genre avec son installation multidisciplinaire Reversal Reality [Réalité inversée] (2015), présentée lors de l’exposition Cross Casting à Britto Dhaka et à l’India Art Fair. Le projet dénonce la marginalisation des personnes transgenres au Bangladesh. Une vidéo juxtapose des images de la vie cisgenre de T. B. Lipi et celle d’une femme transgenre bangladaise. Reversal Reality présente également des effets personnels féminins, dont une paire de chaussures à talons et un sac à main en épingles à nourrice et un sarcophage en lames de rasoir, en référence au taux élevé de suicides au sein de la communauté transgenre.
T. B. Lipi se met à confectionner des sculptures en épingles de sûreté et rasoirs en 2011. Dans son œuvre la plus célèbre, Love Bed [Lit d’amour] (2012, collection permanente du Musée Solomon R. Guggenheim), des centaines de lames de rasoir s’entremêlent pour former un lit double. À l’âge de cinq ans, T. B. Lipi regarde accoucher sa belle-sœur en cachette. Comme dans de nombreuses familles bangladaises rurales, une sage-femme accompagne l’accouchement à domicile, et Lipi, à travers son œuvre, évoque le moment où elle voit le cordon ombilical coupé à l’aide d’un rasoir. D’autre part, l’utilisation de ce matériau opère un inquiétant renversement : le lit marital, symbole de vie de famille et d’intimité, devient pour les femmes des villages bangladais un lieu où elles risquent leur vie.

De même, les épingles à nourrice ont une profonde résonnance dans l’œuvre de T. B. Lipi. Son installation sculpturale Comfy Bikinis [Bikinis confortables] (2012), inaugurée lors de son exposition individuelle Never Been Intimate [Jamais eu de relations intimes] à Pi Artworks à Istanbul, présente quatre bikinis en épingles de sûreté. Comme un grand nombre de femmes en Asie du Sud-Est, T. B. Lipi subit des attouchements dans les transports publics lors de ses études à Dhaka. Elle se défend en piquant les mains anonymes de ses agresseurs avec ces mêmes épingles. Malgré l’aspect séduisant des bikinis, le matériau dont ils sont faits les transforme en armure et mettent en garde les potentiels prédateurs sexuels. Tayeba Begum Lipi vit à Dhaka, où elle continue d’examiner à travers sa pratique artistique le statut de la femme dans une société bangladaise en mutation.

Lire plus

Melia Belli Bose

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Love Bed, 2012, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable, 79,4 x 184,8 x 221 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My Mother’s Dressing Table, 2013, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable, 95,3 x 47 x 99,1 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Comfy Bikinis, 2013, épingles à nourrice en laiton recouvertes de nickel or chimique, acier inoxydable et verre, 36,1 x 90,9 x 121,9 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo : Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Recalling 3, 2014, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable, 28 x 23 x 54 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo : Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Agony, 2015, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable et acier inoxydable, 104 x 66 x 92 cm, 107 x 51 x 92 cm, 110 x 28 x 92 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Womanhood 2, 2015, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable, 45 x 35 x 40 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo : Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, Womanhood 2, 2015, lames de rasoir en acier inoxydable, 45 x 35 x 40 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery, © Photo : Tracy Szatan

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My little privacy, 2016, épingles à nourrice en laiton recouvertes de nickel or chimique, 17,8 x 7,6 x 25,4 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Tayeba Begum Lipi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tayeba Begum Lipi, My pump shoes, 2016, épingles à nourrice en laiton recouvertes de nickel or chimique, 22,86 cm, Courtesy Sundaram Tagore Gallery

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29