Browse by Themes

1937: The Year for Women Artists in Paris
In the school curriculum
10.07.2020 | Nina Meisel

Romaine Brooks, Le Trajet, ca. 1911, oil on canvas, 115.2 x 191.4 cm, 45 3/8 x 75 3/8 in., Smithsonian American Art Museum

The inter-war period was a promising environment for the promotion of women on the cultural scene, and 1937 marked its apogee. That year two major events symbolised the promotion of women creators in the French capital: Femme artistes d’Europe (Women artists of Europe), exhibited at the Jeu de Paume from 11 to 28 February, and the Universal Exposition from 25 May to 25 November. However, this was not the first time that works by women were shown in Paris at major international events: for example, the Swedish painter Hanna Hirsch-Pauli (1862-1940) had presented her work at the 1889 Exposition Universelle, and the French artist Georges Achille-Fould (1865-1951) exhibited at the 1900 Paris Exposition.

Women Artists of Europe at the Jeu de Paume was one of the first international exhibitions entirely dedicated to women. In the selection made by Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), photographer and co-founder of the Société des Artistes Photographes, all disciplines blended together to reflect the plurality of practices paying tribute to the inventiveness of women creators. In painting, the modernity of Romaine Brooks (1874-1970) was seen in the similarity of her male and female nudes. Practitioners of Cubism such as Marie Laurencin (1883-1956) and Alice Halicka (1895-1975) further strengthened the group of painters. The sculptures of Chana Orloff (1888-1968), as well as the cinematographic rendering of the paintings of Tamara de Lempicka (1898-1980) illustrated the involvement of women in contemporary artistic trends.

The Universal Exposition was organised in national pavilions dispersed throughout Paris so that each country could promote its technical and cultural innovations. First, women artists responded to commissions for the decoration of these sites, where the goal was to awaken patriotic sentiment: Marie Raymond (1908-1989) created a fresco for the regional pavilion of the Alpes-Maritimes, and Odette Pauvert (1876-1967) – already known for her decorative frescoes for schools – decorated two other pavilions. On the Champ de Mars the buildings of Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union faced each other, the first marked by an imposing imperial eagle and the second proudly crowned by the couple of the Worker and the Kolkhozian. This sculpture by Vera Ignatevna Mukhina (1889-1953) became a recurring image of Eastern Bloc patriotism.

Female artists were also present at the various exhibitions organised during the event, although they remained in the minority compared to the men. Sculptor Germaine Richier (1902-1959) received several medals of honour for her allegory of the Mediterranean, and Polish-French artist Mela Muter (1876-1967) was awarded the gold medal for her expressionist work. Female artists were even invited to take part in event’s the organisation. L. Albin Guillot worked in tandem with Louis-Victor Emmanuel Sougez (1889-1972) to set up the Photographic Creation section.

This encouraging parenthesis for women artists closed rapidly. In the aftermath the Second World War it wasn’t until the 1970s, and more precisely 1975 – the UN-decreed International Women’s Year – that the work of women artists was shown in an exhibition of similar scale to that of 1937:  Femmes au présent : Exposition internationale itinérante d’art contemporain (Women of today: International travelling exhibition of contemporary art, 1975-1976). It was only twenty years later that the first exhibition highlighting women artists’ political and feminist declarations was organised at the Magasin-Centre National d’art Contemporain in Grenoble: Vraiment: féminisme et art (1997).

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Pour les jeunes

1937 : l’année des artistes femmes à Paris
Au programme de seconde
10.07.2020 | Nina Meisel

Romaine Brooks, Le Trajet, vers 1911, huile sur toile, 115,2 x 191,4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

L’entre-deux-guerres constitue un contexte favorable à la valorisation des femmes sur la scène culturelle et l’année 1937 en marque l’apogée. Cette année-là, deux évènements majeurs symbolisent la mise en valeur des créatrices dans la capitale française : Les femmes artistes d’Europe exposent au Jeu de Paume du 11 au 28 février et l’Exposition universelle du 25 mai au 25 novembre. Pour autant, ce n’est pas la première fois que des œuvres de femmes sont montrées à Paris dans de grandes manifestations internationales, parmi elles, la peintre suédoise Hanna Hirsch-Pauli (1862-1940) qui présente son travail à l’Exposition universelle de 1889 ou la française Georges Achille-Fould (1865-1951) à celle de 1900.

Les femmes artistes d’Europe exposent au Jeu de Paume, est l’une des premières expositions internationales entièrement dédiée aux femmes. Dans la sélection faite par Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), photographe et cofondatrice de la Société des artistes Photographes, toutes les disciplines se mêlent pour refléter la pluralité des pratiques et rendre hommage à l’inventivité des créatrices. En peinture, la modernité de Romaine Brooks (1874-1970) se retrouve dans la similarité de réalisation de ses nus masculins et féminins. Des actrices du cubisme comme Marie Laurencin (1883-1956) et Alice Halicka (1895-1975) viennent étayer le groupe des peintres. Les sculptures de Chana Orloff (1888-1968), mais aussi le rendu cinématographique des toiles de Tamara de Lempicka (1898-1980) illustrent l’implication des femmes dans les courants artistiques contemporains.

L’Exposition universelle, s’organise en pavillons nationaux égrainés dans tout Paris, afin que chaque pays puisse y promouvoir ses innovations techniques et culturelles. D’abord, les artistes femmes répondent à des commandes pour la décoration de ces lieux, où elles doivent réveiller le sentiment patriotique : Marie Raymond (1908-1989) réalise une fresque pour le pavillon régional des Alpes-Maritimes et Odette Pauvert (1876-1967), déjà connue pour ses fresques décoratives réalisées dans des écoles, décore deux autres pavillons. Sur le Champ de Mars, les bâtiments de l’Allemagne nazie et de l’Union soviétique se font face, le premier survolé d’un imposant aigle impérial et le second, fièrement couronné du couple de l’Ouvrier et la kolkhozienne. Cette sculpture de Vera Ignatevna Moukhina (1889-1953) devient une image récurrente du patriotisme du bloc de l’Est.

Les artistes sont aussi présentes lors des différentes expositions organisées pendant de la manifestation, même si elles restent minoritaires face aux hommes. La sculptrice Germaine Richier (1902-1959) reçoit plusieurs médailles d’honneur pour son allégorie de la Méditerranée et l’artiste polonaise-française Mela Muter (1876-1967) se voit attribuer la médaille d’or pour son œuvre expressionniste. Enfin, des artistes s’invitent même dans l’organisation de l’évènement, L. Albin Guillot, travaille en binôme avec Louis-Victor Emmanuel Sougez (1889-1972) à la mise en place de la section Création photographique.

Cette parenthèse encourageante pour les artistes femmes se referme rapidement. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il faut attendre les années 1970 et plus précisément l’année 1975 – année internationale de la Femme décrétée par l’ONU – pour que le travail des artistes femmes soit montré dans une exposition d’envergure similaire à celle de 1937 : Femmes au présent : Exposition internationale itinérante d’art contemporain (1975-1976).  Ce n’est ensuite que 20 ans plus tard, qu’est organisée au Magasin-Centre national d’art contemporain de Grenoble la première exposition mettant en lumière les revendications politiques et féministes des plasticiennes : Vraiment : féminisme et art (1997).

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29