Sophie Taeuber-Arp

1889Davos, Switzerland | 1943Zurich, Switzerland
Informations

Swiss painter, sculptress, dancer and textile artist who took French nationality.

The daughter of a German father and Swiss-German mother, Sophie Taeuber grew up in an environment in which art and culture were part of daily life. In St Gallen she learned textile design, embroidery and lacework, then studied in the “experimental studios” of Hermann Obrist and Wilhelm von Debschitz in Munich where she learned a variety of techniques, including woodworking and architecture. In 1912–13 she studied weaving at the Decorative Arts School in Hamburg. She met the painter and poet Hans (or Jean) Arp in Zurich in November 1915 and joined him in the Dada movement. They married in 1922. Her participation in the International Exposition of Modern Industrial and Decorative Arts took her to Paris in 1925 where the couple, who would obtain French nationality the following year, frequented the Surrealists. Their house-cum-studio was an international artistic meeting place between 1929 and 1939. Sophie Taeuber-Arp joined the Cercle et Carré and Abstraction–Creation associations. Together with César Domela, Hans Arp and New York collectors and patrons, she published the multilingual review Plastique (1937–39) until just before the war. Highly concerned by the political turn of events, she strove to make fresh contact with those artists who had dispersed from Paris. Her exodus with her husband took them to Grasse where, with Alberto Magnelli and Sonia Delaunay, they created drawings that clearly expressed their anti-fascist commitment. Following the failure of their plan to emigrate to the United States, the couple took refuge in Switzerland in November 1942. The death of Sophie Taeuber-Arp in Zurich on 13 January 1943 remains a puzzle.

This artist’s multifaceted work is a true artistic synthesis. A pupil of Rudolph von Laban, she was involved in research into dance and choreographic notation from 1915 in Zurich and the Monte Verità colony of artists in Canton Ticino. With her friend Mary Wigman, she introduced dance into the Dada movement at the Cabaret Voltaire in Zurich. She took up plastic creation as a result of her experience of working with textiles, both theoretic and practical. Taking her point of departure as the vertical and horizontal intersection that governs weaving, she designed orthogonal patterns in coloured crayon. Her designs (Vertical-Horizontal Composition, 1915–16) were produced at the same time as the works of Kazimir Malevich and Piet Mondrian, the pair recognized for the introduction of geometric abstraction. A pioneer of geometric concrete art in Switzerland (Vertical-Horizontal Composition with Reciprocal Triangles, 1918), her plastic language influenced her husband and together the couple produced such works as the series Duo-Collage (1918–19). During the years of Dada, she tackled three-dimensional creation by means of turned and painted wood, in which she played on the object-sculpture dynamic with a two-part container (Dada Bowl, 1916). This was followed by similar sculptures that she created with her husband. The originality of her puppets created in 1918 brought her public recognition. Among the Heads she produced in painted turned wood were the Portrait of Jean [Hans] Arp(1918), her self-portrait Head (1920) and Dada Head (1920), a true “Dadaist plastic manifesto”.

In Strasbourg between 1926 and 1928 she executed large mural paintings and stained-glass windows, and worked with Hans Arp and Theo van Doesburg on the interior decoration of the building called the Aubette in 1928, a creation that has been referred to as the “Sistine Chapel of modernity”. She would later produce a large number of reliefs and paintings along this line. Heralding Minimalism and Op Art, during the 1930s Sophie Taeuber-Arp introduced new plastic concepts through her Space Pictures, in which vertical and horizontal lines, crosses, diagonals and circles compose the balance (Four Spaces with a Broken Cross, 1932; Échelonnement désaxé, 1934). In her series Moving Circles(1934), she investigated the form of the circle. Her painted woodcuts of the 1930s merge painting and sculpture, in which plastic compositions tend towards spatial and even architectural constructions, and represented the outcome of her research. Artists in both Europe and the Americas would be influenced by her constructed works that explore the notions of the grid, the module and series, and which give priority to experimentation. Through her blend of the rational and poetic, Sophie Taeuber-Arp became a “luminous figure” in the development of abstract art.

Read more

Gabriele Mahn

Translated from French by Timothy Stroud.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition, 1931, © Museum of Art in Lodz

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition Dada, 1920, oil on canvas

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Turned Wood Sculpture, 1937, wood, 38.9 cm, 15 5/16 in., © Yale University Art Gallery

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Quatre espaces à croix brisée, 1932, image: 43 cm x 33,4 cm, Support: 64 cm x 49 cm, © Museum of New Zeland

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition géométrique verticale horizontale, 1926-1928

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Study for a Marionette, 1918, graphite on paper, mounted to paperboard, primary support: 30.2 x 18.1 cm (11 7/8 x 7 1/8 in.), secondary support: 41.9 x 29.2 cm, 16 1/2 x 11 1/2 in.

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition ovale avec motifs abstraits, 1922, wood

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition, 1931, © Museum of Art in Lodz

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Sophie Taeuber-Arp

1889Davos, Suisse | 1943Zurich, Suisse
Informations

Peintre, sculptrice, danseuse et artiste textile suisse naturalisée française.

De père allemand et de mère suisse allemande, Sophie Taeuber grandit dans un milieu où la culture et l’art imprègnent la vie quotidienne. À Saint Gall, elle apprend le dessin décoratif et les techniques de la broderie et de la dentelle, puis étudie dans les « ateliers expérimentaux » de Hermann Obrist et de Wilhem von Debschitz, à Munich, où elle se forme à toutes les disciplines artistiques, y compris au travail sur bois et à l’architecture. En 1912-1913, elle apprend également le tissage à l’École des arts décoratifs de Hambourg. À Zurich, en novembre 1915, elle rencontre le peintre et poète Hans (ou Jean) Arp, et s’engage avec lui dans le mouvement dada. Ils se marient en 1922. Sa participation à l’Exposition internationale des arts décoratifs et industriels modernes (1925) la conduit à Paris, où le couple, qui obtiendra la nationalité française l’année suivante, côtoie les surréalistes. Leur maison-atelier devient, de 1929 à 1939, un foyer de rencontres artistiques internationales. S Taeuber-Arp rejoint les associations Cercle et Carré et Abstraction Création. En collaboration avec César Domela, H. Arp et des collectionneurs et mécènes new-yorkais, elle édite la revue multilingue Plastique (1937-1939) jusqu’à la veille de la guerre. Très concernée par l’évolution politique, elle s’efforce ainsi de renouer les liens entre les artistes dispersés. L’exode avec son mari les conduit à Grasse, où ils réalisent, avec Alberto Magnelli et Sonia Delaunay, des dessins à quatre mains, manifestes de leurs positions antifascistes. Après l’échec de leur projet d’exil aux États-Unis, le couple se réfugie en Suisse en novembre 1942. La mort de S. Taeuber-Arp à Zurich, le 13 janvier 1943, reste une énigme.

L’œuvre de cette artiste plurielle se caractérise par la réalisation d’une véritable « synthèse des arts ». Élève de Rudolph von Laban, elle participe, dès 1915, aux recherches sur la danse et sur la notation chorégraphique, à Zurich et au sein de la colonie utopiste de Monte Verità, dans le Tessin. Avec son amie Mary Wigma, elle introduit la danse dans le mouvement dada, au Cabaret Voltaire de Zurich. Elle aborde la création plastique par son expérience du travail sur textile, tant théorique que pratique. Partant du principe qui régit le tissage – le croisement de la verticale et de l’horizontal -, elle dessine au crayon de couleur des constructions orthogonales. Ses dessins (Composition verticale-horizontale, 1915-1916) sont contemporains des œuvres de Kazimir Malevitch et de Piet Mondrian, reconnues pour avoir introduit l’abstraction géométrique. Pionnière de l’art concret géométrique en Suisse (Composition verticale-horizontale à triangle réciproques, 1918), son langage plastique influence H. Arp, et le couple réalise des œuvres en collaboration, dont la série Duo-collage (1918-1919). Durant les années dada, elle aborde la création tridimensionnelle par le bois tourné peint, en jouant sur la tension entre objet et sculpture avec un récipient bipartite (Coupe dada, 1916). Suivront des sculptures semblables crées avec son époux. L’originalité de ses marionnettes (1918) lui confère la reconnaissance publique. Parmi les Têtes qu’elle réalise en bois tourné peint, elle crée le Portrait de Jean (ou Hans) Arp (1918), son autoportrait, Tête (1920) et Tête Dada (1920) – véritable « manifeste plastique dadaïste ».

À Strasbourg, de 1926 à 1928, elle exécute de grandes peintures murales et des vitraux, et suscite la collaboration de H. Arp et de Theo van Doesburg pour la création du décor intérieur de l’Aubette (1928), surnommée « chapelle Sixtine de la modernité ». Elle développera ensuite de nombreux reliefs et peintures de cette lignée. Durant les années 1930, anticipant l’art minimal et l’op’art (« optical art »), elle introduit de nouveaux concepts plastiques, avec des séries de peintures comme Compositions à espaces dans lesquelles verticales, horizontales, croix, diagonales et cercles jouent sur l’équilibre (Quatre espaces à croix brisées, 1932) ou Échelonnement (1934). L’artiste s’intéresse aussi à la forme du cercle avec Cercles mouvementés (1934). Les reliefs en bois peint des années 1930, réunifiant peinture et sculpture, constituent l’aboutissement de son œuvre, dont les compositions plastiques tendent vers ses constructions spatiales, voire architecturales. Tant en Europe qu’aux Amériques, des artistes seront marqués par cette œuvre construite, qui explore la grille, le module et le sériel, et donne la priorité à l’expérimentation. Par son jeu entre le rationnel et le poétique, S. Taeuber-Arp apparaît comme une « figure lumineuse » dans l’évolution de l’art abstrait.

Lire plus

Gabriele Mahn

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition, 1931, © Museum of Art in Lodz

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition Dada, 1920, huile sur toile

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Turned Wood Sculpture, 1937, bois, 38,9 cm © Yale University Art Gallery

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Quatre espaces à croix brisée, 1932, image : 43 cm x 33,4 cm, support : 64 cm x 49 cm, © Museum of New Zeland

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition géométrique verticale horizontale, 1926-1928

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Study for a Marionette, 1918, graphite sur papier, monté sur carton, support premier : 30,2 x 18,1 cm, support secondaire : 41,9 x 29,2 cm

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition ovale avec motifs abstraits, 1922, laine

Sophie Taeuber-Arp — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Composition, 1931, © Museum of Art in Lodz

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29