Prix AWARE

2024 Edition

To reward the work of women artists1 on the French scene, to respond to the lack of visibility in France and abroad, and to highlight their works and the longevity of their careers, beyond stereotypes: these are the objectives of the AWARE prizes. Through these prizes, AWARE is committed to supporting the laureates over the long term, through the creation of publications, exhibitions and offering production assistance.

The AWARE prizes for women artists were created in 2016 to tackle the inequality in contemporary art awards and prizes. While the situation has improved in recent years, particularly for emerging artists who now benefit from more support, promotion and visibility, women artists are still largely underrepresented among prizewinners. Conscious of the changing needs of women artists, AWARE reimagined one of its prizes in 2022. The emerging artists’ prize evolved to reward mid-career artists, who are currently less supported by existing prizes and the art world in general. More than just a symbolic recognition of their career paths, the Nouveau Regard prize is an unprecedented opportunity to open new horizons for the development of the artists’ careers and to promote their work internationally.

Thanks to the support of CHANEL, the winner of the Nouveau Regard prize benefits from a residency organised in partnership with the Villa Albertine, a French cultural institution in the United States that hosts 60 residencies throughout the United States each year, and the A.I.R. Gallery in New York. The A.I.R. Gallery, a historic feminist venue that dedicated an exhibition to French women artists curated by Aline Dallier in 1976, will accompany the laureate throughout her stay in the United States by organising visits and meetings with curators, art critics, curators, gallery owners and journalists. Once the artist returns to France, AWARE will contact French art centres to co-produce a personal exhibition of the artist’s work in France. As part of its partnership with AWARE, the Cnap (Centre national des arts plastiques) will offer the winner of the Nouveau Regard prize the acquisition of works that will enter its collection.

The winner of the Outstanding Merit prize 2023 will receive a €10,000 grant, thanks to the continued support of the French Ministry of Culture. In partnership with Manuella Éditions, AWARE will publish a book-length interview with the artist, documenting her contribution to the history of art of the twentieth century and allowing her to reflect on her career in her own words.

Once again in 2024, four commissioners – active professionals from the world of culture: art historians, critics, curators – have each shortlisted two artists, nominated respectively for the Nouveau Regard prize (mid-career artists) and the Outstanding Merit prize (women artists with careers of 40 years or more). The commissioners – Simona Dvorák, Antoine Idier, Noelia Portela et Olivier Zeitoun – will present and defend the artists’ work before a jury composed of seven major figures from the world of art and culture. The jury will be chaired in 2024 by Béatrice Salmon (director of the Cnap, Centre national des arts plastiques) and composed of : Camille Morineau (co-founder and Director of Research at AWARE), Bénédicte Alliot (Executive Director of la Cité internationale des arts), Marc Benbekoff (Director of La Galerie – centre d’art contemporain d’intérêt national de Noisy-Le-Sec), Florence Ostende (art historian and Curator of the Barbican Art Gallery), Marie-Hélène Pereira (Senior Curator of Performative Practices in Haus der Kulturen der Welt) and Frédéric Pescatori (director of Bridgepoint SAS, donor).

The prize winners will be announced on March 7, 2024 during a ceremony at the Ministry of Culture.

1
« women » includes all women-identifying artists. As of this year, the AWARE Prizes are open to intersex, non-binary and post-gender artists.

Nominees

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Prix AWARE

Édition 2024

Récompenser le travail d’artistes femmes1 de  la scène française, répondre au manque de visibilité en France et à l’étranger et mettre en lumière leurs œuvres comme la longévité de leurs carrières, au-delà des stéréotypes : tels sont les objectifs des prix AWARE. Par ces prix, l’association s’engage à soutenir les lauréates sur le long terme, par la mise en place de publications, d’expositions et d’aides à la production.

Les prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes ont été créés en 2016 dans le but de remédier au manque de parité des récompenses et prix d’art contemporain. Si la situation s’est améliorée ces dernières années, notamment pour les artistes émergentes qui bénéficient aujourd’hui de dispositifs d’aide, de promotion et de visibilité plus nombreux, les artistes femmes restent toujours largement sous-représentées parmi les artistes célébré·e·s. Soucieuse de poursuivre son engagement, AWARE a réorienté en 2022 son prix afin de mettre en lumière les artistes femmes en milieu de carrière, bien moins soutenues par des aides, bourses, salons, résidences et prix existants. Plus qu’une reconnaissance symbolique du chemin parcouru par ces artistes femmes, le Prix Nouveau Regard est une occasion d’ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives de développement de leur carrière et de promouvoir leur travail à l’international.

Grâce au mécénat de CHANEL, l’artiste lauréate du prix Nouveau Regard bénéficiera d’une résidence à New York, en partenariat avec la Villa Albertine, institution culturelle de la France aux États-Unis accueillant chaque année 60 résidences d’exploration à travers l’ensemble du territoire américain, et la A.I.R. Gallery. Ce dernier partenaire, lieu féministe historique ayant consacré une exposition aux artistes femmes françaises sous le commissariat d’Aline Dallier en 1976, accompagnera la lauréate tout au long de son séjour aux États-Unis en organisant des visites et des rencontres avec des commissaires d’exposition, critiques d’art, conservateur·ice·s, galeristes et journalistes. Au retour de la lauréate en France, un appel à coproduction sera lancé auprès des centres d’art pour la réalisation d’une exposition monographique de l’artiste en France. Dans le cadre de son partenariat avec AWARE, le Cnap (Centre national des arts plastiques) proposera à la lauréate du prix Nouveau Regard l’acquisition d’œuvre qui rejoindra sa collection.

La lauréate du prix d’honneur attribué à des artistes femmes justifiant de plus de 40 ans de carrière bénéficie, depuis 2019, de modalités de visibilisation grâce au soutien pérennisé du ministère de la Culture et se voit remettre une dotation de 10 000 euros. Enfin, pour couronner sa carrière, AWARE, en partenariat avec Manuella Editions, lui consacre un entretien inédit qui constitue un apport important à l’histoire de l’art du XXe siècle à travers son propre témoignage.

À nouveau cette année, quatre rapporteur·se·x·s – professionnel·le·x·s engagé·e·x·s du monde de la culture : historien·ne·s de l’art, critiques, curateur·trice·x·s d’exposition – ont présélectionné chacun·e deux artistes, nommées respectivement au prix Nouveau Regard (artistes en milieu de carrière) et au prix d’honneur (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis plus de quarante ans). Ces rapporteur·se·x·s – Simona Dvorák, Antoine Idier, Noelia Portela et Olivier Zeitoun – présenteront et défendront le travail des artistes devant un jury composé de sept figures majeures du monde de la culture. Ce dernier sera présidé en 2024 par Béatrice Salmon (directrice du Cnap, Centre national des arts plastiques) et composé de : Camille Morineau (co-fondatrice et directrice scientifique d’AWARE), Bénédicte Alliot (directrice générale de la Cité internationale des arts), Marc Bembekoff (directeur de La Galerie – centre d’art contemporain d’intérêt national de Noisy-Le-Sec), Florence Ostende (historienne de l’art et commissaire d’exposition à la Barbican Art Gallery), Marie-Hélène Pereira (commissaire d’exposition des pratiques performatives à la Haus der Kulturen der Welt) et Frédéric Pescatori (président de Bridgepoint SAS, donateur).

Les lauréates seront annoncées le 7 mars 2024 lors d’une cérémonie au ministère de la Culture.

1
« femmes » inclut toutes les artistes s’identifiant comme telles. Depuis cette année, les prix AWARE sont ouverts aux artistes intersexes, non-binaires et post-genres

Les Nommées

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29