Ceija Stojka

1933Kraubatth An Der Mur, Austria | 2013Vienna, Austria
Informations

Austrian painter and poetess.

Ceija Stojka was born in the Austrian state of Styria. Her parents descended from a line of Romani horse traders, the Lovara, who were originally from Hungary but had settled in Austria two centuries earlier. While still only a child, due to the restrictions and discriminations levelled at the Tzigani community, her family was forced into a sedentary existence. In 1941 her father was deported to Dachau and her mother went into hiding with the children. The following year her father was transferred to the Hartheim Euthanasia Centre, where he was assassinated. In 1943 C. Stojka, her mother, and her five brothers and sisters were arrested and deported to Auschwitz-Birkenau. A year later she was sent to Ravensbrück with her mother and one of her sisters, where she witnessed scenes of appalling cruelty. The family found itself separated once again the following year and C. Stojka was moved to Bergen-Belsen before being liberated by British troops. She was later to claim that she had only survived her last camp by scraping the bark of a branch to release its sap.

C. Stojka returned to Vienna on foot with her mother, where they were reunited with her two sisters and two of her brothers who had managed to survive the camps. It is estimated that following the mass deportations of the late 1930s, 90 per cent of the Austrian Romani population were murdered. For those who survived and managed to return to Austria, harsh living conditions awaited them.
The Stojka family resumed its horse-trading business in the late 1940s; in 1955, C. Stojka, who was still living in Vienna, was selling fabrics door-to-door but a few years later she obtained a licence to sell carpets in markets. In the mid-1980s her brother Karl (1931-2003) began producing paintings depicting his experience in the concentration camps. In 1988 C. Stojka published her first text Wir leben im Verborgenen (We live in hiding), recalling her memories of the war, and also produced her first paintings and drawings.
It is not easy to categorise her pictorial output according to period, as she tended to favour an interweaving of different autobiographical elements rather than work in series: vibrantly coloured works reflecting a happy childhood surrounded by her family are juxtaposed with other infinitely darker works, depicting the months in hiding, the shock of the arrest, the episodes of violence and brutality she experienced in the camps, and her liberation.
In her drawings and paintings, C. Stojka worked with both hand and brush, in sweeping forceful movements, on cardboard, paper or paperboard, using acrylic or oil paint, coloured sand, biro, ink or sequins. The scenes featuring the concentration camps are usually complemented by texts evoking her mother’s or her own voice, or the orders of her Nazi persecutors. In memory of Bergen-Belsen, her signatures on some of the works are flanked by a drawing of a branch, as in No one had ever seen that… (1995) and There Was No Room for the Living There (2005).

Her work was shown in public for the first time in 1991, at the Amerlinghaus in Vienna, and subsequently in a great many more institutions, including the Ravensbrück Memorial Site (1996-1997) and the Jewish Museum Vienna (2004). In 2013 she published a collection of poetic essays; she died that same year. Today her oeuvre continues to be shown in both solo and group exhibitions.

Read more

Camille Paulhan

Translated from French by Caroline Taylor.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1991, Gouache on cardboard, 65 x 50 cm., 25 5/8 x 19 ¾ in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1992, gouache and watercolour on cardboard, 65 x 50 cm,  25 5/8 x 19 ¾ in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, L’étang noir, 1992, acrylic on card stock, 50 x 65 cm, 19.69 x 25.59 in, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache on cardboard, 50 x 65 cm, 19 ¾ x 25 5/8 in. , Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka , Sans titre, 1993, gouache on cardboard, 65 x 50cm, 25 5/8 x 19 ¾ in, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache on cardboard, 50 x 65 cm, 19 ¾ x 25 5/8 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache on cardboard, 50 x 65 cm, 19 ¾ x 25 5/8 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache on cardboard, 65 x 50 cm, 25 5/8 x 19 ¾ in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, Gouache on cardboard , 50 x 65 cm, 19 ¾  x 25 5/8 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1994, gouache on cardboard, 50 x 65 cm, 19 ¾ x 25 5/8 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Personne n’avait vu cela…ref 828, 1995, acrylic on cardboard, 65 x 50 cm, 25 5/8 x 19 ¾ in. , Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, La citrouille, 1995, acrylic on card stock, 50 x 65 cm, 19.69 x 25.59 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 2000, oil on canvas , 60 x 50 cm, 23 5/8 x 19 3/4  in, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Là, il n’y avait pas de place pour les vivants (Bergen-Belsen, ref 817), 2005, ink, felt and acrylic on paper, 24 x 32 cm, 9 ½ x 12 5/8 in., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, ADAGP, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Magazine
Linked articles
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Ceija Stojka

1933Kraubatth An Der Mur, Autriche | 2013Vienne, Autriche
Informations

Peintre et poétesse autrichienne.

Ceija Stojka naît dans le Land autrichien de Styrie. Ses parents sont issus d’une lignée de marchands de chevaux roms, originaires de Hongrie et installés depuis deux siècles en Autriche, les Lovara. Alors qu’elle est encore une petite fille, en raison des restrictions et des discriminations qui touchent la communauté tsigane, sa famille se voit obligée de se sédentariser. En 1941, son père est déporté à Dachau et sa mère se cache avec ses enfants. L’année suivante, son père est assassiné au centre de mise à mort de Hartheim, où il a été transféré. En 1943, C. Stojka, sa mère et ses cinq frères et sœurs sont arrêté·e·s et déporté·e·s à Auschwitz-Birkenau. Un an plus tard, elle est envoyée à Ravensbrück avec sa mère et une de ses sœurs ; très jeune, elle est témoin de scènes d’une terrible cruauté. La famille est encore séparée l’année qui suit : C. Stojka est déplacée à Bergen-Belsen, avant d’être libérée par les troupes anglaises. Plus tard, elle dira qu’elle a dû sa survie dans ce dernier camp à une branche d’arbre dont elle a gratté l’écorce pour en récupérer la sève.

Avec sa mère, C. Stojka rentre à pied à Vienne où elle retrouve ses deux sœurs et deux de ses frères qui ont réchappé des camps. On estime que 90 % de la population rom autrichienne, déportée massivement dès la fin des années 1930, a été exterminée ; les rescapé·e·s revenu·e·s dans le pays vivent dans des conditions très difficiles à leur retour.
La famille Stojka reprend son commerce de chevaux à la fin des années 1940 ; en 1955, C. Stojka, qui habite toujours à Vienne, vend des tissus au porte-à-porte, puis obtient quelques années plus tard un permis pour exercer le métier de marchande de tapis sur les marchés. Au milieu des années 1980, son frère Karl (1931-2003) commence à exécuter des tableaux figurant son expérience concentrationnaire. En 1988, C. Stojka fait publier un premier texte (Wir leben im Verborgenen, paru plus tard en français sous le titre Nous vivons cachés), dans lequel elle raconte ses souvenirs de la guerre, et elle réalise ses premières peintures et dessins.

Il est difficile de classer sa production picturale en différentes périodes, dans la mesure où elle ne travaille pas par séries, sa pratique étant davantage dictée par une manière de naviguer entre différents éléments autobiographiques : des œuvres joyeusement colorées, représentant une enfance heureuse au milieu de sa famille, en côtoient d’autres marquées par une grande noirceur, évoquant les mois passés à se cacher, le choc de l’arrestation, les épisodes de violence et de brutalité vécus dans les camps, jusqu’à leur libération.
Pour ses dessins et ses peintures, C. Stojka travaille à la main comme au pinceau, par grands mouvements énergiques, sur du carton, du papier ou du papier cartonné, utilisant de l’acrylique ou de la peinture à l’huile, de la craie, du sable coloré, un stylo-bille, de l’encre ou des paillettes. Les scènes concentrationnaires sont généralement complétées de textes, incarnant la voix de sa mère ou la sienne, ou encore les injonctions des bourreaux. En souvenir de Bergen-Belsen, elle accompagne la signature de certains de ses tableaux d’un dessin de branche d’arbre, par exemple dans Personne n’avait vu cela… (1995) ou Là, il n’y avait pas de place pour les vivants (2005).

Son travail est montré au public pour la première fois en 1991, à l’Amerlinghaus à Vienne, et par la suite dans de nombreuses institutions, notamment au Mémorial de Ravensbrück (1996-1997) ou au Jüdisches Museum de Vienne (2004). Elle décède en 2013, après avoir fait paraître des essais de poésie, et son œuvre continue d’être présentée au sein d’expositions collectives et monographiques.

Lire plus

Camille Paulhan

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1991, Gouache sur papier, 65 x 50 cm., Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1992, gouache et aquarelle sur carton, 65 x 50 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, L’étang noir, 1992, acrylique sur papier cartonné, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache sur papier, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka , Sans titre, 1993, gouache sur papier, 65x50cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache sur papier, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache sur papier, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, gouache sur papier, 65 x 50 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1993, Gouache sur carton, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy  Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 1994, gouache sur papier, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Personne n’avait vu cela…ref 828, 1995, acrylique sur carton, 65 x 50 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, La citrouille, 1995, acrylique sur papier cartonné, 50 x 65 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Sans titre, 2000, huile sur toile, 60 x 50 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele.

Ceija Stojka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ceija Stojka, Là, il n’y avait pas de place pour les vivants (Bergen-Belsen, ref 817), 2005, encre, feutre et acrylique sur papier, 24 x 32 cm, Courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard, © Ceija Stojka, Adagp, Paris. © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele.

Magazine
Articles liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29