Clara Rilke-Westhoff

1878Bremen, Germany | 1954Fischerhude, Germany
Informations

German sculptor and painter.

The daughter of a Bremen merchant, Clara Westhoff began studying art in 1895 in Munich at the Fehr/Schmid-Reutte private art school. She developed a keen interest in the drawing lessons of Friedrich Fehr (1862-1927), which she attended for two years. During this time she drew numerous portraits and took anatomy and perspective classes. She also contested the increasing prices of women’s classes, to no avail. In November 1896, with her parents’ approval, she started drawing nudes at the studio of Moritz Weinholdt (1861-1905).
She admired the collection of copper engravings at the Alte Pinakothek in Munich, visited the 1895 and 1896 exhibitions of the Munich Secession and the 1895 International Exhibition at the Glass Palace, where the painters of the Worpswede community achieved their first success. In the summer of 1897 she stayed in Heimhausen for five months to train with landscape painter Bernhard Buttersack (1858-1925).
C. Rilke-Westhoff left Munich for Worpswede in 1898. She followed the advice Fritz Mackensen (1866-1953) had given her to focus on sculpture, and began to create life-size pieces. She occasionally worked with Paula Becker (1876-1907), F. Mackensen’s pupil, sharing the same models – female farmers and the destitute. She sculpted a bust of Paula Becker on this occasion.

She presented Frau Mindermann (Portrait of the “Old Lady”) at the German Art Exhibition in Dresden in 1899 and in Bremen, where she also showed a Portrait of the Painter Paula Modersohn-Becker and a Portrait of the Artist’s Grandmother, Laura Westhoff. On the recommendation of F. Mackensen, she went on to study with Max Klinger (1857-1920) in Leipzig that same year and learnt to work with marble. She then travelled to Paris in 1900 on the advice of Carl Seffner (1861-1932) and M. Klinger and perfected her craft at the Académie Julian, the École des Beaux-Arts and at the studio of Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), who praised her work. She later returned to work with him after she married poet Rainer Maria Rilke in 1901. In 1900 she created winged angel faces for the Zion Church in Worpswede and around 1937-1938 bas-reliefs for a fishermen’s house in Wesermünde; but her preferred subject matter remained the human figure.
She and R. M. Rilke quickly separated and she continued to travel to Rome, Denmark, Sweden and Egypt. She settled in Munich with her daughter Ruth from 1911 to 1919 before moving to Fischerhude, where she would live until her death in 1954. After having sculpted portraits, busts, nudes and medallions, she painted the village’s surrounding nature. Several exhibitions were devoted to her from 1955 to 1988. In 1986 Marina Sauer’s biography of the artist and catalogue raisonné provided additional insight into her life and work.

Read more

Mathilde Leïchlé

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Gerhart Hauptmann, 1909-1910, h. 32.5 cm, Bremen art Gallery

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Paula Modersohn-Becker, 1899, h. 46.5 cm, Kunsthalle Brême

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Heinrich Vogeler, 1902, h. 43 cm, Mandesmuseum fur Kinst Luturgeschichte Oldenburg

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Ricarda Huch, 1912, h. 32 cm, Musée Georg Kolbe, Berlin

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Portrait de Gustav Pauli, 1917, h. 35.5cm, Bremen art Gallery

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Rainer Maria Rilke, 1936, h. 38 cm, Bremen art Gallery

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Clara Rilke-Westhoff

1878Brême, Allemagne | 1954Fischerhude, Allemagne
Informations

Sculptrice et peintre allemande.

Fille d’un marchand de Brême, Clara Westhoff commence sa formation artistique en 1895 à Munich dans l’école d’art privée Fehr/Schmid-Reutte. Elle est très enthousiasmée par les cours de dessin de Friedrich Fehr (1862-1927), auxquels elle participe pendant deux ans. Elle dessine alors de nombreux portraits, suit des leçons d’anatomie et de perspective. Elle conteste sans succès l’augmentation des prix des cours destinés aux femmes. En novembre 1896, avec l’autorisation de ses parents, elle commence à dessiner le nu dans l’atelier de Moritz Weinholdt (1861-1905).
À la Alte Pinakothek à Munich, elle admire la collection de gravures sur cuivre. Elle se rend en 1895 et 1896 aux expositions de la Sécession munichoise et, en 1895, à l’Exposition internationale du palais des Glaces, où les peintres de Worpswede connaissent leur premier succès. À l’été 1897, elle part cinq mois à Heimhausen se former auprès du peintre de paysages Bernhard Buttersack (1858-1925).
C. Rilke-Westhoff quitte Munich en 1898 pour Worpswede. Elle suit alors les conseils de Fritz Mackensen (1866-1953) et se concentre sur la sculpture. Elle réalise des œuvres grandeur nature. Elle travaille ponctuellement avec Paula Becker (1876-1907), peintre et élève de F. Mackensen, partageant les mêmes modèles – des paysannes, des personnes démunies. Elle réalise alors le portrait en buste de son amie.

Elle présente Frau Mindermann [Portrait de la « Vieille »] à l’Exposition d’art allemand de Dresde de 1899 ainsi qu’à Brême, où elle envoie aussi le Portrait de la peintre Paula Modersohn-Becker et le Portrait de sa grand-mère, Laura Westhoff. Recommandée par F. Mackensen, elle part étudier auprès de Max Klinger (1857-1920) à Leipzig la même année et y apprend le travail du marbre. Elle se rend ensuite à Paris en 1900 sur les conseils de Carl Seffner (1861-1932) et de M. Klinger, et développe son travail à l’académie Julian, à l’École des beaux-arts ainsi que dans l’atelier d’Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), dont elle reçoit les éloges. Elle revient travailler avec ce dernier après son mariage avec le poète Rainer Maria Rilke en 1901. En 1900, elle réalise des têtes d’anges ailés pour l’église de Sion de Worpswede et, vers 1937-1938, des bas-reliefs pour une maison de pêcheurs à Wesermünde ; mais son sujet de prédilection reste la figure humaine.
Le couple qu’elle forme avec R. M. Rilke se sépare rapidement et elle continue ses voyages à Rome, au Danemark, en Suède et en Égypte. Avec sa fille Ruth, elle s’installe à Munich de 1911 à 1919 puis à Fischerhude jusqu’à sa mort, en 1954. Après avoir sculpté des portraits, des bustes, des nus et des médaillons, elle peint le paysage entourant le village. De 1955 à 1988, plusieurs expositions lui rendent hommage. En 1986, la biographie et le catalogue raisonné établis par Marina Sauer permettent de retracer sa vie et son œuvre.

Lire plus

Mathilde Leïchlé

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Gerhart Hauptmann, 1909-1910, h. 32,5 cm, Galerie d’art Brême

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Paula Modersohn-Becker, 1899, h. 46,5 cm, Kunsthalle Brême

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Heinrich Vogeler, 1902, h. 43 cm, Mandesmuseum fur Kinst Luturgeschichte Oldenburg

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Ricarda Huch, 1912, h. 32 cm, Musée Georg Kolbe, Berlin

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Portrait de Gustav Pauli, 1917, h. 35,5cm, Galerie d’art de Brême

Clara Rilke-Westhoff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Clara Rilke, Buste de Rainer Maria Rilke, 1936, h. 38 cm, Galerie d’art de Brême

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29