Marie Bracquemond

1840Landunvez, France | 1916Sèvres, France
Informations

French painter, ceramicist, illustrator and engraver.

Born into a relatively modest family, Marie Bracquemond, née Quivoron, was an Impressionist artist who distinguished herself through the diversity of her body of work. M. Bracquemond initially studied in Étampes in the 1850s, before receiving advice from Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres (1780-1867). In the 1860s she furthered her education with painters Désiré François Laugée (1823-1896), Émile Signol (1804-1892) and Hugues Merle (1822-1881). Between 1859 and 1875 she began working professionally as a painter – first under her mother’s name, Pasquiou or Pasquiou-Quivoron – and exhibited portraits and scenes inspired by the Middle Ages and literature at the Salon. Her work as a copyist and drawing teacher for the city of Paris earned her enough to support herself, her mother and her half-sister.
In 1869 she married engraver and ceramicist Félix Bracquemond (1833-1914), whom she met at the Louvre. The marriage would have a defining influence on her career. Between 1872 and 1881 she took advantage of her painting skills to work under his direction at the Atelier d’Auteuil and paint new ceramic designs for the Haviland manufacture. She also created a monumental ceramic panel for the 1878 World’s Fair, based on an allegorical subject, Les Muses des arts (The muses of the arts), today lost. She used motifs inspired by modern life in her vases and plates, which she later developed in drawings for the press (for the magazine La Vie moderne from 1879 to 1886) and in her paintings of female figures in outdoor sceneries. Because of her limited access to models, the artist used the frequent opportunity she had of depicting her sister in her garden in Sèvres to study lighting effects, as in La Dame en blanc [(Lady in White].

In 1879, 1880 and 1886, M. Bracquemond participated in Impressionist exhibitions, most likely at the invitation of Edgar Degas (1834-1917). On these occasions, she was able to show the full diversity of her artistry (preparatory sketches for her Muses, glazed earthenware, paintings and watercolours), but did not exhibit the works that were most similar in technique and colour to those of other artists in the group (Sur la terrasse, à Sèvres [On the terrace at Sèvres], 1880). In this respect, she chose to present the preparatory drawings for her Trois Grâces (Three Graces, c. 1880) instead of the oil painting itself in 1886. It seems that F. Bracquemond disapproved of his wife’s stylistic evolution at the time.
M. Bracquemond, who took part in the Black and White exhibition at the Dudley Gallery, London, in 1881, focused her work increasingly on original etchings. In 1890, she exhibited with the French Society of Painters-Etchers at Galerie Durand-Ruel. Her etched self-portrait caught the attention of Henri Beraldi, a writer specialised in etchings. In 1893, on the occasion of her second exhibition, she presented two etchings at the Woman’s Building of the Chicago World’s Fair. From then on she put an abrupt end to her career in the public eye and would only practice painting and watercolour privately.

In 1919, three years after M. Bracquemond’s death, her only child, Pierre Bracquemond (1870-1926), organised a retrospective of fifty-seven of her works at Galerie Bernheim-Jeune. Gustave Geffroy, who prefaced the catalogue, had devoted a chapter of his Histoire de l’impressionnisme to her in 1894. While M. Bracquemond remained in her husband’s shadow during her lifetime and was later mostly forgotten, some studies and exhibitions in the past decades have drawn further attention to her work. In 2019 the Musée d’Orsay showed her drawings and watercolours in the exhibition Femmes, art et pouvoir. Other public collections hold some of her works, in Paris (Petit Palais, Bibliothèque Nationale de France), other French cities (Musée des Beaux-Arts, Rouen; Musée Adrien Dubouché, Limoges; Musée Fabre, Montpellier), and abroad (Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, and Art Institute of Chicago, among others).

Read more

Ludivine Fortier

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Trois femmes aux ombrelles, 1841-1916, oil on canvas, 141.3 x 895 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo: Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Études d’une femme debout, d’une tête de femme, de mains et de pieds, lead pencil drawing, 30.7 x 38.8 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond et la manufacture Haviland, Vase : Femme de profil, 1876-1881, enamelled terracotta , h. 32 ; ø 25 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Autoportrait ou Femme à l’éventail, etching on japonese paper, 28 x 31 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Madame Beraldi, assise, de face, appuyée sur un carton à dessin, lead pencil drawing, 29.6 x 23.9 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Tony Querrec

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Autoportrait, c. 1870, oil on canvas, 45 x 38.5 cm, musée des Beaux-arts, Rouen, © Photo: Catherine Lancien & Carole Loisel

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Le goûter, vers 1880, oil painting, 81.5 x 61.5 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Femme montant les degrés d’une échelle double et tenant un pichet, 32.5 x 25.1 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Femme assise, watercolor, graphite pencil, 28.1 x 21.6 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, La dame en blanc, c. 1880, oil on canvas, 180.5 x 105 cm, Cambrai, musée des Beaux-Arts, dépot du Musée d’Orsay, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsayy) / Hervé Lewandowski

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Intérieur d’un salon, watercolor, black pencil drawing, 47.5 x 20.8 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Jardin en terrasse, dominant la campagne, watercolor, black pencil drawing, 17.8 x 25.5 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Dame assise, vue de face, ramenant son bras gauche en arrière, lead pencil drawing, 35.8 x 26 cm, musée d’Orsay, kept at the musée du Louvre, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Divonne, watercolor, graphite pencil, 13 x 21 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Marie Bracquemond

1840Landunvez, France | 1916Sèvres, France
Informations

Peintre, décoratrice sur céramique, illustratrice et graveuse française.

Issue d’un milieu plutôt modeste, Marie Bracquemond, née Quivoron, est une artiste impressionniste qui s’illustre par la diversité de son œuvre. Elle se forme d’abord à Étampes dans les années 1850, avant de recevoir les conseils de Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres (1780-1867). Dans les années 1860, elle approfondit sa formation à Paris auprès des peintres Désiré François Laugée (1823-1896), Émile Signol (1804-1892) et Hugues Merle (1822-1881). Entre 1859 et 1875, elle entame une carrière de peintre et expose au Salon, d’abord sous le nom de sa mère, Pasquiou ou Pasquiou-Quivoron, des portraits et des scènes inspirées du Moyen Âge et de la littérature. Son travail est alors la source de revenus du foyer qu’elle forme avec sa mère et sa demi-sœur, grâce à la commande de copies puis à son poste de professeure de dessin pour la Ville de Paris.
En 1869, son mariage avec le graveur et céramiste Félix Bracquemond (1833-1914), rencontré au musée du Louvre, influe sur sa carrière. Entre 1872 et 1881, elle met à profit sa formation de peintre sous sa direction au sein de l’atelier d’Auteuil et renouvelle le décor sur céramique pour la manufacture Haviland. Pour l’Exposition universelle de 1878, elle réalise un panneau de céramique monumental sur un sujet allégorique, Les Muses des arts, aujourd’hui perdu. Elle introduit des motifs de la vie moderne sur des vases et des assiettes, sujets développés ensuite par le dessin de presse (pour la revue La Vie moderne, entre 1879 et 1886) et en peinture autour de la figure féminine en plein air. Limitée dans son accès aux modèles, l’artiste étudie en réalité les effets de lumière en représentant maintes fois sa sœur dans son jardin de Sèvres, comme dans La Dame en blanc.

En 1879, 1880 et 1886, M. Bracquemond participe aux expositions impressionnistes, certainement à l’invitation d’Edgar Degas (1834-1917). Elle montre alors la diversité de son art (cartons préparatoires pour Les Muses des arts, faïence, peintures, aquarelles), mais sans exposer les œuvres qui s’approchent le plus, par la technique et les couleurs, de celles d’artistes du groupe (Sur la terrasse, à Sèvres, 1880). Ainsi, en 1886, elle présente non pas l’huile sur toile mais les dessins préparatoires des Trois Grâces (vers 1880). F. Bracquemond s’opposerait alors aux évolutions stylistiques de son épouse.
M. Bracquemond, qui participe en 1881 à l’exposition Black and White de la Dudley Gallery à Londres, se tourne dans les années 1880 vers l’eau-forte originale. En 1890, elle expose avec la Société des peintres-graveurs français à la galerie Durand-Ruel. Son Autoportrait gravé est particulièrement remarqué par Henri Beraldi, écrivain spécialiste des estampes. En 1893, lors de sa dernière exposition, elle présente deux estampes au sein du Woman’s Building de l’Exposition universelle de Chicago. Elle interrompt brutalement sa carrière publique et ne pratique alors la peinture et l’aquarelle que dans un cadre privé.

En 1919, trois ans après la mort de M. Bracquemond, son fils unique, Pierre Bracquemond (1870-1926), réunit cent cinquante-sept de ses œuvres pour une exposition rétrospective à la galerie Bernheim-Jeune. Gustave Geffroy, qui en préface le catalogue, avait consacré un chapitre à l’artiste dès 1894 dans son Histoire de l’impressionnisme. Si M. Bracquemond est restée de son vivant dans l’ombre de son mari artiste, et tombée ensuite dans l’oubli, des études et des expositions valorisent depuis quelques décennies son œuvre. En 2019, le musée d’Orsay exposait des dessins et aquarelles de l’artiste au sein du parcours « Femmes, art et pouvoir ». D’autres collections publiques conservent une partie de ses œuvres, à Paris (Petit Palais, Bibliothèque nationale de France), dans d’autres villes françaises (musée des Beaux-Arts à Rouen, musée Adrien Dubouché à Limoges, musée Fabre à Montpellier) et même à l’étranger (Metropolitan Museum of Art à New York et Art Institute of Chicago, entre autres).

Lire plus

Ludivine Fortier

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Trois femmes aux ombrelles, 1841-1916, huile sur toile, 141,3 x 895 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo : Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Études d’une femme debout, d’une tête de femme, de mains et de pieds, dessin à la mine de plomb, 30,7 x 38,8 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond et la manufacture Haviland, Vase : Femme de profil, 1876-1881, terre cuite émaillée, H. 32 ; ø 25 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Autoportrait ou Femme à l’éventail, eau-forte sur papier japon, 28 x 31 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Madame Beraldi, assise, de face, appuyée sur un carton à dessin, dessin à la mine de plomb, 29,6 x 23,9 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Tony Querrec

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Autoportrait, vers 1870, huile sur toile, 45 x 38,5 cm, musée des Beaux-arts, Rouen, © Photo : Catherine Lancien & Carole Loisel

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Le goûter, vers 1880, peinture à l’huile, 81,5 x 61,5 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Femme montant les degrés d’une échelle double et tenant un pichet, 32,5 x 25,1 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Femme assise, aquarelle, crayon graphite, 28,1 x 21,6 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, La dame en blanc, vers 1880, huile sur toile, 180,5 x 105 cm, Cambrai, musée des Beaux-Arts, dépot du Musée d’Orsay, RF2751, Photo (C) RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsayy) / Hervé Lewandowski

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Intérieur d’un salon, aquarelle, dessin au crayon noir, 47,5 x 20,8 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Jardin en terrasse, dominant la campagne, aquarelle, dessin au crayon noir, 17,8 x 25,5 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Dame assise, vue de face, ramenant son bras gauche en arrière, dessin à la mine de plomb, 35,8 x 26 cm, musée d’Orsay, conservé au musée du Louvre, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Adrien Didierjean

Marie Bracquemond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Bracquemond, Divonne, aquarelle, crayon graphite, 13 x 21 cm, Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-arts de la Ville de Paris

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29