Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Paula Modersohn-Becker

1876Dresden, Germany | 1907Worpswede, Germany
Informations

German painter.

Raised in Bremen, Paula Becker was born into a cultured family that was a member of artistic circles and allowed the young Paula to devote herself to her early love of painting. After her first drawing classes in London, she attended private courses given by the painter Bernhard Wiegandt in Bremen while also studying teacher-training, for which she was awarded her certificate. In 1896 she went to Berlin to study at the Zeichen und Malschule des Vereins der Künstlerinnen und Kunstfreudinnen (“School of Drawing and Painting of the Association of Women Artists and Art Lovers”). This private institution created in 1867 offered Paula Becker high-quality training from such teachers as Käthe Kollwitz and the portraitist Jeanna Bauck (1840–1926). In 1898 she moved to Worpswede where a colony of artists had existed since 1889 on the model of the Barbizon School. Here she made friends with several artists: Heinrich Vogeler, Otto Modersohn (whom she would marry), and Clara Westhoff (1878–1954, the future wife of the poet Rainer Maria Rilke). With these fellow-students she studied under the landscape artist Fritz Mackensen, who was influenced by the art of Gustave Courbet. This rural community gave Becker and Westhoff the opportunity to shrug off the heavy social conventions of the city. Like the others, Becker chose motifs of the surrounding country life for her first paintings, while also attempting to go beyond anecdotal compositions or genre scenes and reach the essence of things. She differed from her colleagues at Worpswede on account of her wish for simplification and her combination of a certain primitivism of form with her primitivism of subjects.

During her first trip to Paris, in 1900 in the company of Clara Westhoff, she attended painting courses at the Académie Colarossi and visited museums, Salons and galleries. She returned to Paris in 1903 and again two years later. In 1906 she became pregnant but died shortly after giving birth to her daughter Mathilde. Initially, Modersohn-Becker worked closely with her husband, who, like many German artists at the turn of the century, rejected the modernist movements taking place in Paris was attempted a return to the spirit of German art by eulogizing nature. With reference to the tradition of Northern European painting, her art developed towards ever-greater simplification of form. Several of her works – portraits of country-people and nudes – have similarities with the painting of Bruegel and Lucas Cranach. She was one of the first German artists to appreciate the innovations of the early 20th-century art movements. After discovering the Nabis in 1900, she became an ardent enthusiast of the painting of Paul Gauguin and Paul Cézanne as from 1903. Probably under the influence of the latter, her still-lifes of fruit and flowers, which she already included in her compositions as symbols of fertility, became a distinct genre in her production. Her compositions were uncluttered and of great formal simplicity, and she progressively introduced purer colours that she applied in flat tints. The last two years of her life, which followed her 1905 visit to Paris, were her most productive and led to a style that embraced all her influences but which remained highly personal due to the power of its expression. Her portraits of children are notable for their absence of all sentimentality and idealization. Her last self-portraits initiated a completely new genre, that of the female nude self-portrait. In Selbstbildnis als Halbakt mit Bernsteinkette(Nude Self-Portrait with an Amber Necklace, Paula Modersohn-Becker Museum, Bremen, 1906), she distils the influences of ancient German art and Paul Gauguin. Today she is considered a harbinger of expressionism through the power of her compositions though she was completely ignored during her lifetime. First known of publicly due to her diaries, which were published for the first time in 1917, she has only gradually achieved recognition outside Germany and its satellites.

Read more

Marie Gispert

Translated from French by Timothy Stroud.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker , Tête de petite fille [Head of a Girl], vers 1905, 25 × 21cm, Staedtische Galerie im Staedelschen Kunstinstitut, Frankfurt am Main, © FineArtImages/Leemage

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Portrait of a Woman, 1898, charcoal and graphite on wove paper, 34.4 x 49.1 cm (13 9/16 x 19 5/16 in.), © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Two Peasant Girls, c. 1900, etching, drypoint and roulette on heavy wove paper, plate: 14 × 9.8 cm (5 1/2 × 3 7/8 in.), sheet: 33.4 × 26.8 cm (13 1/8 × 10 9/16 in.), © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Zwei Kinder auf einer Wiese sitzend [Two Children Sitting on Grass], c. 1901, tempera on cardboard, 46.5 × 41 cm (18.3 × 16.1 in), © Private collection

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Landscape with Trees, c. 1902, drypoint, etching and roulette on wove paper, plate: 9.8 × 13.9 cm (3 7/8 × 5 1/2 in.), sheet: 19.1 × 21.7 cm (7 1/2 × 8 9/16 in.), © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Bildnis Martha Vogeler [Portrait of Martha Vogeler], 1906, oil on paperboard, 54.7 × 48.3 cm, © Private collection

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker , Nature morte à la coupe de cuivre [Still Life with a Brass Plate], Musée des Beaux-Arts de Mikalojus Konstantinas Ciurlionis, Kaunas, Lituanie, © FineArtImages/Leemage

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Selbstbildnis mit zwei Blumen in der erhobenen linken Hand [Self-portrait with two flowers in her raised left hand], 1907, oil on canvas, 55 × 25 cm (21 2/3 × 9 4/5 in), © Private collection

Magazine
Linked articles
Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Paula Modersohn-Becker

1876Dresde, Allemagne | 1907Worpswede, Allemagne
Informations

Peintre allemande.

Élevée à Brême, Paula Becker appartient à une famille cultivée qui fréquente les cercles artistiques et permet à l’adolescente de s’adonner à son amour précoce pour la peinture. Après des premiers cours de dessin à Londres, elle assiste ainsi aux cours privés du peintre Bernhard Wiegandt à Brême, tout en s’inscrivant à une école d’institutrices, dont elle suit l’enseignement jusqu’au diplôme. En 1896, elle se rend à Berlin pour suivre les cours de la Zeichen und Malschule des Vereins der Künstlerinnen und Kunstfreudinnen (« école de dessin et de peinture de l’association des femmes artistes et amateurs d’art »). Cette institution privée, créée en 1867, lui permet d’accéder à une formation de qualité, grâce à des professeures comme Käthe Kollwitz ou la portraitiste Jeanna Bauck (1840-1926). En 1898, elle s’installe à Worpswede, où une colonie d’artistes, prenant pour modèle l’école de Barbizon, s’est constituée depuis 1889. La jeune femme se lie d’amitié avec plusieurs artistes : Heinrich Vogeler, Otto Modersohn, qui deviendra son mari, et Clara Westhoff (1878-1954), la future épouse du poète Rainer Maria Rilke, avec qui elle suit les cours du paysagiste Fritz Mackensen, influencé par l’art de Gustave Courbet. Cette communauté rurale permet aux deux femmes de se libérer des conventions sociales pesantes de la ville. Comme les autres, P. Becker choisit pour ses premières toiles des motifs de la vie paysanne qui l’entoure, tout en cherchant par ses œuvres à dépasser la simple anecdote ou la scène de genre pour accéder à l’être des choses. Elle se distingue de ses collègues de Worpswede par sa volonté de simplification, alliant au primitivisme des sujets un certain primitivisme formel.

En 1900, lors d’un premier voyage à Paris en compagnie de C. Westhoff, elle suit les cours de l’académie Colarossi, visite les musées mais également les Salons et les galeries. Elle séjournera de nouveau à Paris en 1903 et en 1905. En 1906, la jeune femme est enceinte de son premier enfant ; elle mourra peu après avoir donné la vie à sa fille Mathilde. Dans un premier temps, P. Modersohn-Becker travaille étroitement avec son mari qui, comme de nombreux artistes allemands du tournant du siècle, cherche dans l’hymne à la nature un retour à l’âme de l’art allemand et rejette les mouvements modernistes français. La peintre évolue cependant vers une simplification toujours plus grande de la forme, tout en se référant à la tradition nordique. Plusieurs de ses œuvres, portraits de paysans ou nus, peuvent ainsi être rapprochées de peintures de Bruegel ou de Lucas Cranach. Elle est l’une des premières artistes allemandes à avoir apprécié la nouveauté des mouvements artistiques français du tournant du siècle. Après avoir découvert les Nabis en 1900, elle se passionne pour Paul Gauguin et Paul Cézanne dès 1903. Probablement sous l’influence de ce dernier, les natures mortes de fruits et de fleurs, déjà présentes auparavant dans ses compositions comme symboles de la fertilité, deviennent un genre à part entière. Elle choisit alors des compositions dépouillées et d’une grande simplicité formelle, et introduit progressivement des couleurs plus franches et traitées en à-plats. Les deux dernières années de sa vie, qui suivent son séjour parisien de 1905, sont les plus productives et la conduisent à un style nourri de toutes ses influences, mais qui reste très personnel par la force de son expression. Ses portraits d’enfants se distinguent ainsi par leur absence de tout sentimentalisme et le refus d’idéalisation. Les derniers autoportraits inaugurent un genre inédit, celui de l’autoportrait féminin nu. Dans Selbstbildnis als Halbakt mit Bernsteinkette (Autoportrait nu en buste au collier d’ambre, musée Paula Modersohn-Becker, Brême, 1906), l’artiste opère ainsi une synthèse des influences de l’art allemand ancien et de P. Gauguin. Aujourd’hui considérée comme précurseure de l’expressionnisme par la force de ses compositions, elle fut totalement ignorée de son vivant. D’abord connue pour son journal paru pour la première fois en 1917, elle n’atteint que peu à peu la reconnaissance hors des pays germaniques.

Lire plus

Marie Gispert

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker , Tête de petite fille, vers 1905, 25 × 21cm, Staedtische Galerie im Staedelschen Kunstinstitut, Francfort-sur-le-Main, © FineArtImages/Leemage

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Portrait of a Woman, 1898, fusain et graphite sur papier vélin, 34,4 × 49,1 cm, © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Two Peasant Girls, c. 1900, eau-forte, pointe sèche et roulette sur papier vélin, planche : 14 × 9,8 cm, feuille : 33,4 × 26,8 cm, © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Zwei Kinder auf einer Wiese sitzend [Deux enfants assis dans l’herbe], c. 1901, tempera sur carton, 46,5 × 41 cm, © Collection particulière

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Landscape with Trees, c. 1902, pointe sèche, eau-forte et roulette sur papier vélin, planche : 9,8 × 13,9 cm, feuille : 19,1 × 21,7 cm, © National Gallery of Art, Washington

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Bildnis Martha Vogeler [Portrait de Martha Vogeler], 1906, huile sur carton, 54,7 × 48,3 cm, © Collection particulière

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Nature morte à la coupe de cuivre, s.d., Musée des Beaux-Arts de Mikalojus Konstantinas Ciurlionis, Kaunas, Lituanie, © FineArtImages/Leemage

Paula Modersohn-Becker — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Modersohn-Becker, Selbstbildnis mit zwei Blumen in der erhobenen linken Hand [Autoportrait avec deux fleurs dans la main gauche levée], 1907, huile sur toile, 55 × 25 cm, © Collection particulière

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29