Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Dora Maar

19071997 | Paris, France
Informations
Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Portrait de Dora Maar, unknown date, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © Rights reserved

French painter and photographer.

Dora Maar is mostly remembered as Picasso’s muse and lover, but his portrait of her as the Weeping Woman, bordering on madness, detracts from her singular work as a prominent photographer of the surrealist movement. Henriette Théodora Markovitch was born to a French mother and spent her early years in Argentina, where her Croatian-born father worked as an architect. When her family returned to Paris in 1926, she started taking classes at the Académie Julian and studied at the École de Photographie. In the late 1920s she shortened her name to Dora Maar and chose to focus on her photographic work, which was starting to gain recognition. Associated with Pierre Kéfer from 1930 to 1934, she collaborated in 1931 on the photographic illustration of the art historian Germain Bazin’s book Le Mont Saint-Michel (1935). She then shared a studio with Brassaï, after which Emmanuel Sougez, the spokesman for the New Photography movement, became her mentor. Her work met the aesthetic criteria of the time: close-ups of flowers and objects, and photograms in the style of Man Ray. She also took portraits, original publicity shots, and fashion and erotic photographs. In 1934, while traveling alone in Spain, Paris and London, she shot a vast number of urban views (posters, shop windows, ordinary people). Both a passionate lover and committed intellectual, she became the mistress of the filmmaker Louis Chavance and of the writer Georges Bataille, whom she met in a left-wing activist group. She signed the Contre-Attaque manifesto and rubbed shoulders with the agitprop artistic group Octobre. A close friend of Jacqueline Lamba, who became Breton’s wife, she was fully involved in the surrealist group, of whose members she made many portraits. At the height of her creativity in 1935-1936, she composed strange and bold photomontages, the most famous being 29, rue d’Astorg and The Simulator. Some of her compositions verge on eroticism, like the photomontage showing fingers crawling out of a shell and sensually digging into the sand (Untitled, 1933-1934). She also used her city photographs as backdrops for unsettling scenes: her Portrait of Ubu (1936) – in fact the picture of an armadillo foetus – conforms to the surrealists’ fascination for macabre and deformity.

She was already an accomplished artist and nonconformist who had exhibited with the surrealists (between 1934 and 1937) when she met Picasso. According to legend, the painter noticed her while she was playing the knife game in a café in 1936. It was passion at first sight: she became Picasso’s muse, of whom he drew multiple portraits and erotic sketches. The two lovers also collaborated on a series of photograms and etchings on film. Dora Maar now owes her photographic reputation to replacing Brassaï and documenting the creative process of Guernica (May-June 1937). Encouraged by Picasso, she returned to painting and did stylised portraits in the cubist style (Portrait of Jacqueline Breton and Portrait of Pablo Picasso in the Mirror), but also very angular still lives reminiscent of the style of New Photography. By this time her fame was less a matter of her work than of her tumultuous relationship with the Spanish painter and his fascination for her as a model as he became obsessed by her, constantly depicting her as a suffering woman. When they separated for good in 1946 she suffered a severe nervous breakdown, as shown in her poems, and was treated by the psychoanalyst Jacques Lacan. Surrounded by her closest friends, she increasingly retired into mysticism and spent part of her late years as a recluse. The engravings and paintings she made during this period are in stark contrast with the rest of her work: devastated, austere, and almost abstract landscapes of a romantic Provence. She made a brief return to photography in the 80s, reprising the technique of the photogram. She also made regular additions to her poetry notebook, which she called “a secret that remains a secret even to myself,” until her death. The only exhibition of her work as a photographer in her lifetime was held in Valencia, Spain, in 1995.

 

Read more

Anne Reverseau

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Untitled [Shell-Hand], ca. 1934, silver print on flexible media, 23.4 x 17.5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Cavalier, ca. 1936, 11.7 x 9.4 in., © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Untitled [Assia], 1934, glass print with silver gelatino-bromine, 24 x 18 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Untitled [unknown female model wearing a négligé], ca. 1934, 9 x 12 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Les yeux, ca. 1932-1935, silver print on flexible media, 29.5 x 23.5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Nusch Eluard, ca. 1935, silver print, 24,5 x 18 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Jean-Claude Planchet, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Jacqueline Lamba nue, en été 1936, 1936, unknown dimensions, © Succession Picasso – Gestion droits d’auteur Maar Dora (dite), Markovitch Henriette Dora (1907-1997), © RMN-Grand Palais (musée national Picasso – Paris) / image RMN-GP, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Picasso en Minotaure criant, 1937, silver print, 70 x 95 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Dora Maar

19071997 | Paris, France
Informations
Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Portrait de Dora Maar, date inconnue, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © Droits réservés

Peintre et photographe française.

Dora Maar est passée dans l’histoire comme la muse et la maîtresse de Pablo Picasso, mais son image de Femme qui pleure, aux limites de la folie, occulte l’œuvre singulière de cette photographe centrale du mouvement surréaliste. Henriette Théodora Markovitch, née de mère française, passe sa jeunesse en Argentine, où son père, d’origine croate, travaille comme architecte. Quand sa famille rentre à Paris en 1926, elle suit les cours de peinture de l’académie Julian et étudie à l’École de photographie. À la fin des années 1920, elle contracte son nom en Dora Maar et privilégie son travail photographique, qui commence à recevoir un accueil favorable. Associée à Pierre Kéfer entre 1930 et 1934, elle collabore en 1931 à l’illustration photographique du livre de l’historien d’art Germain Bazin, Le Mont Saint-Michel (1935). Elle partage ensuite un atelier avec Brassaï ; puis Emmanuel Sougez, porte-parole de la Nouvelle Photographie, devient son mentor. Son travail répond alors aux critères de l’époque : fleurs en plan rapproché, gros plans d’objets et photogrammes à la Man Ray. Elle réalise aussi portraits, publicités originales, photographies de mode et photographies érotiques. En 1934, voyageant seule en Espagne, elle multiplie, comme à Paris et à Londres, les vues urbaines (affiches, vitrines, petites gens). Tant amoureuse passionnée qu’intellectuelle engagée, elle devient la maîtresse du cinéaste Louis Chavance, puis de l’écrivain Georges Bataille qu’elle rencontre dans un groupe d’activistes d’extrême-gauche. Avec André Breton et G. Bataille, elle signe le manifeste de Contre-Attaque et fréquente le groupe d’agitprop artistique Octobre. Amie intime de Jacqueline Lamba, future épouse d’A. Breton, elle appartient pleinement, dans les années 1930, au groupe surréaliste, dont elle réalise de nombreux portraits. Au sommet de sa créativité, en 1935-1936, elle compose des photomontages étranges et audacieux, dont 29, rue d’Astorg et Le Simulateur sont les plus célèbres. Certaines de ses compositions touchent à l’érotisme, comme ce photomontage qui montre des doigts sortant d’un coquillage et s’enfonçant voluptueusement dans le sable (Sans titre, 1933-1934). Elle réutilise aussi ses vues urbaines, qui servent de décor à des mises en scène inquiétantes. Son Portrait d’Ubu (1936) – en fait, l’image d’un fœtus de tatou – rejoint la fascination des surréalistes pour l’horrible et l’informe.

Lorsqu’elle entre dans la vie de P. Picasso, elle est donc une artiste accomplie qui expose avec les surréalistes (en 1934 et en 1937), et une femme au style anticonformiste. Selon la légende, c’est en jouant à planter un canif entre ses doigts, dans un café en 1936, qu’elle est remarquée par le peintre. Leur histoire est d’emblée passionnelle : elle devient la muse de P. Picasso qui multiplie les dessins de son visage et les esquisses érotiques. Les amants collaborent à une série de photogrammes et de gravures sur pellicule. D. Maar doit aujourd’hui sa réputation de photographe au fait d’avoir remplacé Brassaï et d’avoir immortalisé le processus de création de Guernica (mai-juin 1937). C’est sur les conseils de Picasso qu’elle se remet ensuite à la peinture : portraits stylisés à la manière cubiste (Portrait de Jacqueline Breton et Portrait de Pablo Picasso au miroir), mais aussi natures mortes très anguleuses d’objets isolés, proches de l’esthétique de la Nouvelle Photographie. Sa célébrité dépend désormais moins de son œuvre que de sa relation orageuse avec le peintre espagnol et de l’emprise qu’elle exerce sur lui en tant que modèle. Elle devient en effet une véritable obsession pour celui qui ne cesse de la représenter en femme souffrante. En 1946, lors de leur séparation définitive, elle est victime d’une grave dépression nerveuse, comme en témoignent ses poèmes, et est soignée par le psychanalyste Jacques Lacan. Entourée de ses rares amis, elle s’isole dans un mysticisme grandissant et passe une partie de la fin de sa vie recluse. Les gravures et peintures qu’elle réalise alors contrastent avec le reste de son travail : paysages dévastés et austères d’une Provence romantique, presque abstraits. Brièvement, dans les années 1980, elle renoue avec la photographie, reprenant les techniques du photogramme. Elle alimente aussi jusqu’à sa mort son carnet de poèmes, qu’elle désigne comme « ce secret à moi-même secret ». En 1995 a lieu à Valence, en Espagne, la seule exposition de son travail photographique de son vivant.

Lire plus

Anne Reverseau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Sans Titre [Main-coquillage], ca. 1934, négatif gélatino-argentique sur support souple, 23,4 x 17,5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI© ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Cavalier, ca. 1936, 29,8 x 23,9 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, 1934, Sans titre [Assia], négatif verre au gélatino-bromure d’argent, 24 x 18 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Sans Titre [modèle féminin non identifié en déshabillé], ca. 1934, 9 x 12 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Les yeux, ca. 1932-1935, négatif gélatino-argentique sur support souple, 29,5 x 23,5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Nusch Eluard, ca. 1935, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 24,5 x 18 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Jean-Claude Planchet, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Jacqueline Lamba nue, en été 1936, 1936, dimensions inconnues, © Succession Picasso – Gestion droits d’auteur Maar Dora (dite), Markovitch Henriette Dora (1907-1997), © RMN-Grand Palais (musée national Picasso – Paris) / image RMN-GP, © ADAGP, Paris

Dora Maar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dora Maar, Picasso en Minotaure criant, 1937, négatif gélatino-argentique, 70 x 95 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29