Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Hannah Wilke

19401993 | New York, United States
Informations
Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke with Model for a Room Sculpture, 1978 , HWCALA © Scharlatt VAGA, NY / ADAGP Paris

Sponsor
— Estate Hannah Wilke

American visual and performance artist.

Hannah Wilke was educated at the Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia and is considered to be a pioneer among feminist conceptual artists. Her body of work includes sculptures, drawings, collages, photographs, videos, performances, and installations. She established herself in the 1960s through her depictions of vulvas, terra cotta sculptures that she would later make out of other materials such as kneaded erasers, gum, ceramic, and porcelain, some very large, in large installations. She also created large-scale latex wall sculptures. A large portion of her process is based on the obsessive and exacerbated recurrence of her own image, as a reflection of feminine representations in the art and media of the time. SOS Scarification Object Series (1974-1982) consists of a series of photographs placed in a grid, in which the artist strikes glamorous, provocative, and artificial poses inspired by fashion imagery, and which are immediate reactions to the mass-marketing of the bodies of celebrities – often feminine – used to stimulate consumer needs. Her skin is covered in sculptures she made into vaginal shapes from chewed bubble gum. The grid structure echoes the manner in which Andy Warhol framed his star images, mechanically reproduced in series as if they were products.

Her noteworthy creations include Hello Boys (1975), the recording of a performance that took place at the Gerald Piltzer gallery in Paris: behind the glass of a large aquarium, the artist, naked, assumed a wide range of erotic poses while rock music played in the background, evoking the mythological mermaid, both sexually bewitching and vulnerable. This double strategy of overexposure and transparency found its culmination in Through the Large Glass (1976), where the artist played with codes – both those of art history and fashion – her clothing style reminiscent of the iconic styles created by Helmut Newton or Yves Saint Laurent in the 1970s. Filmed through Marcel Duchamp’s Le Grand Verre in the Philadelphia Museum of Art, she performed a striptease, adopted sexualized attitudes, and with a certain absurdity, cycled through all of the patterns of the representation of glamour. In the 1990s, afflicted by lymphoma, she actively transformed her suffering into the image of a wounded exoskeleton, where real and constructed signs of her pain were exhibited on, and by, her body. Through this transformation, Wilke managed to express a critical position with respect to cultural prejudices associated with the (image) of her disease. She left behind two posthumous pieces, Intra-Venus (1994), a collection of photographs made as Performalist Self-Portraits, the term Wilke coined for work in which she asked others to photograph her, and a videotape installation, Intra-Venus Tapes (1994), both portraying her slow physical deterioration.

Read more

Stéphanie Moisdon

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, S.O.S. Starification Object Series, An Adult Game of Mastication (Mastication Box), 1974-1975, paper, paperboard, eraser, Plexiglass, gelatin silver prints, Centre Pompidou, Paris © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, S.O.S. Starification Object Series, 1974-1982, gelatin silver prints with chewing gum sculptures, 40 x 58 1/2 x 2 1/4″ (101.6 x 148.6 x 5.7 cm), Museum of Modern Art, NY
© Scharlatt / VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Needed-Erase-Her, 1974, kneaded erasers on board, 45 x 300 cm, Centre Pompidou, Paris © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Hello Boys, 1975, (still), video (black and white, sound), 12’ © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Ponder-r-rosa 4, 1976, latex, metal snaps, and push pins, 16 sculptures, each 17 x 26 x 5 3/4″ (43.2 x 66 x 14.6 cm), overall 68″ x 20′ 10″ x 5 3/4″ (172.7 x 635 x 14.6 cm), Museum of Modern Art, © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Sweet Sixteen, 1977, HWCALA, © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, So Help Me Hannah, 1979, HWCALA, © Goddard

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Through the Large Glass, 1977, still from performance film HWCALA © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Intra-Venus #6, Februrary 19, 1992, chromogenic print, 120.65 x 181.61 cm, 47.5 x 71.5 in., HWCALA, © Goddard

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Hannah Wilke

19401993 | New York, États-Unis
Informations
Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke avec Model for a Room Sculpture, 1978 , HWCALA © Scharlatt VAGA, NY / ADAGP Paris

Soutien
— Estate Hannah Wilke

Plasticienne et performeuse américaine.

Formée à la Tyler School of Art de Philadelphie, considérée comme une pionnière parmi les artistes féministes conceptuelles, Hannah Wilke compose une œuvre faite de sculptures, dessins, collages, photographies, vidéos, performances et installations. Elle se fait connaître dans les années 1960 par ses représentations de vulves, petites sculptures en terre cuite qu’elle déclinera par la suite, parfois à grande échelle, dans d’autres matériaux tels que gommes mie de pain, gomme, céramique et porcelaine, dans de vastes installations. Elle crée aussi des sculptures murales en latex de grand format. Une grande partie de sa démarche s’appuie sur le retour obsessionnel et exacerbé de sa propre image, en écho aux représentations féminines dans l’art et dans les médias de cette époque. SOS Scarification Object Series (1974-1982) est constitué d’une série de photographies insérées dans une grille, dans lesquelles l’artiste prend des poses glamour, provocantes et artificielles, inspirées par l’imagerie de la mode, qui sont des réponses immédiates à la marchandisation massive des corps des célébrités – souvent féminines – utilisés pour stimuler le désir du consommateur. Sa peau est recouverte de petits bouts de chewing-gum mâchés en forme de vagins puis collés. La structure de la grille rappelle la manière dont Andy Warhol encadrait ses images de stars, reproduites en série comme autant de produits.

Parmi ses réalisations marquantes figurent Hello Boys (1975), la captation d’une performance réalisée à la galerie Gerald Piltzer à Paris : derrière la vitre d’un grand aquarium, l’artiste, nue, se livre à un répertoire de postures érotiques sur fond de musique rock, suggérant la figure mythologique de la sirène, à la fois sexuellement envoûtante et vulnérable. Cette double stratégie de surexposition et de transparence trouve son aboutissement avec Through the Large Glass (1976), où l’artiste se joue des codes – et de l’histoire de l’art et de la mode –, son style vestimentaire rappelant celui des icônes d’Helmut Newton ou d’Yves Saint Laurent dans les années 1970. Filmée à travers Le Grand Verre de Marcel Duchamp au musée de Philadelphie, elle se livre à un strip-tease, adopte des attitudes sexualisées et décline avec une certaine absurdité tous les schémas de la représentation glamour. Atteinte d’un lymphome dans les années 1990, elle transforme activement son vécu souffrant en l’image d’un exosquelette blessé, où des marques réelles ainsi que des signes construits autour de sa douleur sont exhibés sur son corps et par lui. Par cette transformation, H. Wilke parvient à exprimer une position critique face aux préjugés culturels qui sont rattachés à (l’image de) sa maladie. Elle laisse deux œuvres posthumes, Intra-Venus (1994), recueil de photographies prises par un système de « performalist self-portraits », le terme inventé par H. Wilke pour les œuvres où elle a demandé à d’autres de la photographier, et l’installation vidéo Intra-Vénus Tapes (1994), dépeignant toutes deux sa lente dégradation physique.

Lire plus

Stéphanie Moisdon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, S.O.S. Starification Object Series, An Adult Game of Mastication (Mastication Box), 1974-1975, papier, carton, gomme, Plexiglas, épreuves gélatino-argentiques, Centre Pompidou, Paris © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, S.O.S. Starification Object Series, 1974-1982, épreuves gélatino-argentiques avec sculptures en chewing gum, 101,6 x 148,6 x 5,7 cm, Museum of Modern Art, NY, © Scharlatt / VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Needed-Erase-Her, 1974, gommes de mie de pain sur contreplaqué, 45 x 300 cm Centre Pompidou, Paris © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Hello Boys, 1975, (still), vidéo (noir et blanc, son), 12’ © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Ponder-r-rosa 4, 1976, latex, 43,2 x 66 x 14,6 cm chaque, dimensions de l’ensemble : 172,7 x 635 x 14,6 cm, Museum of Modern Art, © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Sweet Sixteen, 1977, HWCALA, © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, So Help Me Hannah, 1979, HWCALA, © Goddard

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Through the Large Glass, 1977, capture d’écran du film de la performance HWCALA © Scharlatt © VAGA, New York, 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Wilke — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Wilke, Intra-Venus #6, Februrary 19, 1992, tirage chromogénique, 120,65 x 181,61 cm, HWCALA, © Goddard

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29