Helen Escobedo

19342010 | Mexico City, Mexico
Informations

Mexican Sculptor.

Daughter of an English mother and Mexican father, Helen Escobedo studied at the Royal College of Art in London from 1951 to 1954. From 1961 to 1979 she was the director of the Museo Universitario de Ciencias y Artes (MUCA), and the Galería Universitaria Aristos at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). As part of Mexico City’s preparation for the 1968 Olympic Games, she created a sixteen-metre concrete sculpture called Puertas al Viento [Gateway to the Wind] as part of a series of sculptures along the “Route of Friendship” near the Olympic village. She participated in the Independent Salons (MUCA), creating Pasaje Blanco [White passage, 1969] for the second edition of the Salon and Ambiente gráfico [Graphic environment, 1970] for the third edition. Two of her exhibitions from the 1970s, Dynamic Walls and Total Environments, were captured by Alfredo Gurrola in his short film Helen Escobedo. She participated in the monumental sculpture project at the Reserva Ecológica del Pedregal at Ciudad Universitaria, collaborating with other artists to create Espacio escultórico, a sculptural space at UNAM in 1979, and also working individually with the penetrable monumental sculpture Cóatl [Snake, 1980].

Currently, the Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo in Mexico City has a professorship named after Escobedo, which focuses on taking a critical look at contemporary art from a Latin American perspective. This is fitting, as H. Escobedo organized exhibitions at UNAM such as The International Concrete Poetry Exhibition in 1966 with Mathias Goeritz and Arte conceptual frente al problema latinoamericano [Conceptual Art Facing the Latin American Problem] in 1974. For the Paris Youth Biennial of 1977, she was asked to choose a group of artists to represent Mexico. She chose young Mexican artists who took a critical approach to repression in Latin America and the phenomenon of the mass media. As director of the Museo de Arte Moderno, INBA (1981 – 1984), she organized La Calle ¿adónde llega? [The Street, How Far Does it Go?] with Hervé Fischer in 1983.

She made ephemeral and outdoor sculptures: Alternatives in Space (1981) at the Contemporary Arts Center in New Orleans and Gentle Interferences at Scripps College in California (1983). She toured the country with Paolo Gori to carry out photographic research on Mexican sculpture, which became the book Mexican Monuments: Strange Encounters, published in both English and Spanish in 1989. Escobedo’s public artwork in the 1990s increasingly grappled with social problems such as pollution, as in the installation Negro basura, negro mañana [Black Garbage, Black Tomorrow] in Mexico City’s Bosque de Chapultepec (1991). She explored memory with La tradición del presente at the Bienal de la Habana in 1989 and El Pan nuestro de cada día in the X’Teresa Arte Alternativo (1993); the lack of communication with Imposibilia / Imposibilita with Lourdes Grobet at the 1994 Bienal de la Habana; migration with Los Refugiados (1997).

As a result of the research on Helen Escobedo’s Fund at Centro de Documentación Arkheia from Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo, Elva Peniche and Clara Bolívar co-curated the exhibition Expandir los espacios del arte. Helen Escobedo en la UNAM 1961 – 1979 (2017), which approached Escobedo’s cultural strategies as Directora de Artes Visuales. The art critic Rita Eder describes Escobedo as “nomadic” in reference to her multiple interrogations of sculptural practice and cultural management as ways of mediating the exchange between us and the specific environments and contexts that surround us. For her, art was both outside and inside museums, and she believed in the effectiveness of collective creation.

Read more

Clara Bolívar

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, A escala humana [Human Scale], 2010, installation view, Museo de Arte Moderno, Mexico City

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Coatl [Snake], 1980, Espacio escultorico, UNAM, Mexico City, Courtesy Helen Escobedo and PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Homenaje a octubre [Tribute to October], 1978, lacquered wood, 53.5 x 90 x 45 cm, Courtesy Helen Escobedo and PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Mecano, 1981, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana Iztapalapa, Mexico City, Courtesy Helen Escobedo and PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Por las tortugas [For the turtles], 1993, Parque de la paz, San José, Costa Rica, Courtesy Helen Escobedo and PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Signals, 1971, Auckland, New Zealand, Courtesy Helen Escobedo and PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Summer Fields, 2008, Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Summer Fields, 2008, Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, The Big one, 1985, Jerusalem

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Helen Escobedo

19342010 | Mexico, Mexique
Informations

Sculptrice mexicaine.

Née d’une mère anglaise et d’un père mexicain, Helen Escobedo fait ses études au Royal College of Art à Londres de 1951 à 1954. De 1961 à 1979, elle est directrice du Museo Universitario de Ciencias y Artes (MUCA) et de la Galería Universitaria Aristos à l’Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). À l’occasion des Jeux olympiques de Mexico en 1968, elle crée une œuvre en béton de 16 mètres, Puertas al Viento [Portes ouvertes au vent], qui fera partie d’une série de sculptures dressées le long de la « Route de l’amitié » menant au village olympique. Elle participe aux Salones Indépendientes (Salons indépendants) du MUCA, pour lesquels elle réalise Pasaje Blanco [Passage blanc, 1969] à la faveur de la seconde édition et, de la troisième, Ambiente Gráfico [Environnement graphique, 1970]. Deux de ses expositions des années 1970, Dynamic Walls et Total Environments, apparaissent dans le court-métrage Helen Escobedo (1976), que lui consacre Alfredo Gurrola. Elle prend part au projet de sculpture monumentale pour la réserve écologique du Pedregal à la Ciudad Universitaria, à l’occasion duquel elle collabore avec d’autres artistes pour créer en 1979 l’Espacio Escultórico, un lieu dédié à la sculpture à l’UNAM, et travaille également individuellement à une œuvre monumentale pénétrable, Cóatl [Serpent, 1980].

Le Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo de Mexico possède actuellement une chaire de professorat nommée « H. Escobedo » en hommage à l’artiste, dédiée à l’analyse critique de l’art contemporain selon une perspective latino-américaine. Dénomination fort à propos, puisque la sculptrice a organisé à l’UNAM des expositions telles que International Concrete Poetry Exhibition en 1966, avec Mathias Goeritz (1915-1990), et Arte Conceptual Frente al Problema Latinoamericano [L’art conceptuel face à la question latino-américaine] en 1974. À l’occasion de la Biennale des Jeunes Artistes de Paris en 1977, elle est chargée de choisir un groupe d’artistes pour représenter le Mexique. Elle sélectionne alors de jeunes créateurs dont l’œuvre propose une approche critique de la répression en Amérique latine et du phénomène des médias de masse. En tant que directrice du Museo de Arte Moderno de l’Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes (INBA), de 1981 à 1984, elle monte en 1983 l’exposition La Calle ¿Adónde Llega? [La rue, jusqu’où va-t-elle ?] en collaboration avec Hervé Fischer (né en 1941).

Parmi ses sculptures d’extérieur éphémères, citons notamment Alternatives in Space/Variations on the 2nd Floor (1981) pour le Contemporary Arts Center de La Nouvelle-Orléans et Gentle Interferences (1983) pour le Scripps College à Claremont en Californie. H. Escobedo parcourt le Mexique en compagnie de Paolo Gori pour mener un travail de recherche photographique sur la sculpture mexicaine, qui sera publié en 1989 en version anglaise, sous le titre Mexican Monuments: Strange Encounters, et trois ans plus tard en version espagnole, sous le titre Monumentos Mexicanos. De las Estatuas de Sal y de Piedra. Dans les années 1990, les œuvres qu’elle réalise pour des commandes publiques abordent de plus en plus les problèmes sociaux, notamment la pollution dans son installation Negro Basura, Negro Mañana [Déchets noirs, lendemains noirs] pour le parc Chapultepec (1991). Elle explore aussi le thème de la mémoire avec La Tradición del Presente [La tradition du présent] à la Biennale de La Havane de 1989 et El Pan Nuestro de Cada Día [Notre pain quotidien] lors du X’Teresa Arte Alternativo à Mexico (1993), celui du manque de communication avec Imposibilia/Imposibilita, en collaboration avec Lourdes Grobet (née en 1940) à la Biennale de La Havane de 1994, ainsi que celui de la migration avec Los Refugiados [Les réfugiés, 1997].

À la suite de leur exploration du fonds Helen Escobedo au Centro de Documentación Arkheia, au sein de l’UNAM, Elva Peniche et Clara Bolívar conçoivent ensemble l’exposition Expandir los espacios del arte. Helen Escobedo en la UNAM, 1961-1979 [Développer les espaces d’art. Helen Escobedo à l’UNAM, 1961-1979, 2017], consacrée aux stratégies culturelles qu’a déployées la sculptrice en tant que directrice du département des arts plastiques de l’institution. La critique d’art Rita Eder la qualifie de « nomade », en référence à ses multiples remises en question de la pratique sculpturale et de la direction culturelle comme vecteurs d’échanges entre nous-mêmes et les environnements et contextes spécifiques qui nous entourent. En effet, H. Escobedo considérait que l’art avait sa place à la fois à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des musées et croyait au pouvoir de la création collective.

Lire plus

Clara Bolívar

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, A escala humana [Echelle humaine], 2010, vue de l’installation, Museo de Arte Moderno, Mexico

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Coatl [Serpent], 1980, Espacio escultorico, UNAM, Mexico, Courtesy Helen Escobedo et PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Homenaje a octubre [Hommage à octobre], 1978, bois laqué, 53,5 x 90 x 45 cm, Courtesy Helen Escobedo et PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Mecano, 1981, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana Iztapalapa, Mexico, Courtesy Helen Escobedo et PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Por las tortugas [Pour les tortues], 1993, Parque de la paz, San José, Costa Rica, Courtesy Helen Escobedo et PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Signals, 1971, Auckland, New Zealand, Courtesy Helen Escobedo et PROYECTOSMONCLOVA

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Summer Fields, 2008, Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, Summer Fields, 2008, Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Helen Escobedo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Escobedo, The Big one, 1985, Jérusalem

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29