Jann Haworth

1942 | Los Angeles, United States
Informations
Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Sponsor
— Modern West Fine Art

American visual artist.

Born in 1942, Jann Haworth moved to London in 1961 to study at the Slade School of Fine Art. She discovered that the art school was a profoundly sexist environment, which led her to think not so much about her gender as about the “battle of the sexes”. It was her experiences as a young woman in Hollywood (close to her film-producer father, who encouraged her taste for illusions and mastery of the codes of the society of appearances) that would later arm her for research dedicated to reconciling moments of social and artistic struggle.
Between 1963 and 1965, she produced many artworks in three dimensions, such as Cheerleader (Pom-Pom Girl), Cowboy and Charm Bracelets, characterising a deceptive materiality problematised by the norms of the female body. For this artist who – along with Patty Mucha and Yayoi Kusama – was a pioneer of soft sculpture in the 1960s, the appropriation of the symbols of mass American culture and the creation of 3D replicas of human bodies, transformed into giant rag dolls and objects, represented an act of transformation and deformation that countered male desire. The sewn body enabled Haworth to distinguish her work from the dominant representations of women, particularly those delivered by pop artists, thus situating the gender wars on the level of pop art. As a site of production very different from male pop prerogatives that were mostly based on painting, sewing enabled her to affirm her creative status, versus that of the muse or woman artist.
It became a medium through which Jann Haworth negotiated her contradictory identities as an ‘artist woman’, striving to liberate herself from the social role assigned to her by the media, and as a ‘woman artist’ – her partner at the time was artist Peter Blake.

After 1963 and the Young Contemporaries exhibition at the RBA Galleries (London), she was represented by the Robert Fraser gallery. Throughout the sixties, their collaboration gave rise to various individual and collective exhibitions, including The Obsessive Image at the Institute of Contemporary Arts in London (1968) and ended when Fraser commissioned her and Black to create the album cover for The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967). Her participation consists of the sculptural work of the three-dimensional figures surrounding those of the Fab Four. The visual memory of British popular traditions, directly in line with the works of William Blake, bear witness to a nostalgic treatment of English identity, which relativizes Haworth’s intervention. Owing to Haworth’s knowledge of the counter-culture, who included in her crowd scene Californian figures such as Wallace Berman and Simon Rodia, the illustration has a higher degree of conformity to The Beatles’ musical research, transitioning from pop towards psychedelia. Haworth thus played a decisive role in the process of construction of the band’s new identity and in the legitimacy of The Beatles as psychedelic musicians.
After working with another band, The Who, and following her separation with Peter Blake, Haworth lost her English gallerist in 1979 and moved to the United States, where she dedicated herself to teaching. By comparison with her contribution to the huge popularity of the album cover, her role in the history of art has been long overlooked. She is nevertheless one of the major artists of pop art.

Read more

Marine Schütz

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

© 2017 Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Old Lady, 1962, mixed fabrics, 91.4 × 38.1 × 45.7 cm, 36 × 15 × 18 in., Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Cutter One, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Shepherds Bush, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Tommy corset, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Dreaming painters, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Invisible Woman, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, A Cowgirl Gets Up in the Morning, Decides What She is Going to Do and Does It, undated, acrylic on vinyl, 101.6 x 91.44 cm, 40 x 36 in., Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Incredible Invisible Woman, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Invisible woman, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Two Toned, White-walled Buick with Cruiser-line Ventaports, undated, techniques diverses, 121 x 76.2 cm, 48 x 30 in., Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Mannequin Defector, undated, oil on linen, 101.6 x 45.72 cm, 40 x 18 in., Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, That’s all folks, undated, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Old couple, 1962, installation exhibition Work to Do, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jann Haworth

1942 | Los Angeles, États-Unis
Informations
Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Soutien
— Modern West Fine Art

Plasticienne américaine.

Née en 1942, Jann Haworth gagne Londres en 1961 pour étudier à la Slade School of Fine Art. Elle découvre que l’école d’art est marquée par le sexisme, ce qui la conduit à ne plus penser tant à son genre qu’à la « guerre des genres ». Ce sont les expériences d’une jeunesse passée à Hollywood dans la proximité d’un père producteur de cinéma qui, favorisant son goût pour les faux-semblants et la maîtrise des codes de la société des apparences, lui donnent les armes adéquates à une recherche vouée à la conciliation des temps des luttes sociale et artistique.
Entre 1963 et 1965, elle produit de nombreuses œuvres en trois dimensions, telles que Cheerleader (Pom-Pom Girl), Cowboy et les Charm Bracelets, que caractérise une matérialité déceptive où sont mises à mal les normes du corps féminin. Pour celle qui, avec Patty Mucha et Yayoi Kusama, est une pionnière de la sculpture molle dans les années 1960, l’appropriation des signes de la culture de masse américaine et la création de répliques en volume de corps humains, devenus de géantes poupées de chiffon, et d’objets sont un geste de transformation et de déformation, qui prend le désir masculin à revers. Le corps cousu permet à J. Haworth de se démarquer des représentations dominantes de la femme, notamment celles que livrent les artistes pop, situant ainsi la guerre des genres à l’échelle du pop art. En tant qu’espace de réalisation séparé matériellement des prérogatives masculines pop qui s’ancrent surtout dans la peinture, la couture lui permet d’affirmer son statut de créatrice, contre celui de muse ou de femme d’artiste. Elle devient un médium grâce auquel Jann Haworth négocie ses identités contraires d’artiste femme, qui tente de s’affranchir du rôle social que lui assignent les médias, et de femme d’artiste – son conjoint est l’artiste Peter Blake.

Après 1963 et l’exposition Young Contemporaries, aux RBA Galleries (Londres), elle est représentée dans la galerie de Robert Fraser. L’ampleur de leur collaboration, qui au fil des années 1960 donne lieu à différentes expositions individuelles et collectives, dont The Obsessive Image à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts de Londres (1968), culmine quand Fraser lui passe commande, ainsi qu’à Blake, de la pochette de l’album des Beatles Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967). Sa participation réside dans le travail sculptural des figures en volume qui entourent celles des quatre musiciens. La mémoire visuelle des traditions populaires britanniques, dans le droit-fil des œuvres de Blake, témoigne d’un traitement nostalgique de l’identité anglaise, que relativise l’intervention de J. Haworth. Il revient en effet au savoir contre-culturel de cette dernière, que matérialise l’insertion dans la foule de figures californiennes, comme Wallace Berman et Simon Rodia, d’avoir donné à l’illustration un plus grand degré de conformité avec la recherche musicale des Beatles, qui opèrent alors un passage du pop vers le psychédélisme. J. Haworth joue ainsi un rôle déterminant dans les processus de construction de la nouvelle identité du groupe, d’une part, et de légitimation des Beatles en tant que musiciens psychédéliques, d’autre part.
Après avoir travaillé avec un autre groupe, les Who, et sa séparation avec Peter Blake, en 1979, J. Haworth perd son galeriste anglais et déménage aux États-Unis où elle se consacre à l’enseignement. Proportionnellement à sa contribution à l’immense popularité de la pochette de l’album, son rôle dans l’histoire de l’art a longtemps été occulté. Elle n’en reste pas moins l’une des artistes majeures du pop art.

Lire plus

Marine Schütz

© 2017 Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Old Lady, 1962, tissus mixtes, 91,4 × 38,1 × 45,7 cm, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Cutter One, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Shepherds Bush, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Tommy corset, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Dreaming painters, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Invisible Woman, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, A Cowgirl Gets Up in the Morning, Decides What She is Going to Do and Does It, non daté, acrylique sur vinyle, 101,6 x 91,44 cm, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Incredible Invisible Woman, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Invisble woman, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Two Toned, White-walled Buick with Cruiser-line Ventaports, non daté, techniques diverses, 121 x 76,2 cm, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Mannequin Defector, non daté, huile sur lin, 101,6 x 45,72 cm, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, That’s all folks, non daté, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Jann Haworth — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jann Haworth, Old couple, 1962, installation pour l’exposition Work to Do, Courtesy Modern West Fine Art

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29