Marcia Hafif

1929Pomona, United States | 2018Laguna Beach, United States
Informations

American paintor.

Marcia Hafif grew up in California and was educated at Pomona College until 1951. Her career really began in December 1961, when she moved to Italy, living there until 1969. In Rome, she mixed with the Italian avant- garde of the time (Carla Accardi (1924-2014) was a particularly close friend), producing more than two hundred paintings that were virtually unknown until the 1990s. She describes this group of major works, including 84. and 123., as ‘minimal pop’. Hard-edge lines, the interplay of positive and negative, strong colours, and rounded, sometimes biomorphic shapes: in these paintings, the possible symbolism of the abstract idiom and the abstraction from any figuration merge.
Returning to California, M. Hafif started a course at the University of California (Irvine), where Robert Irwin (1928-) and Craig Kauffman (1932-2010) were teaching. She gave up painting for a period for film, photography, and sound installation. In 1971, she went to New York, joining the Sonnabend Gallery in 1973. At that time, her painting was becoming monochromatic.

Her 1978 article in Artforum on the future of abstract art, ‘Beginning Again’, attracted a lot of attention. The interest she expressed in European experiments, and especially the French group Supports / Surfaces, was unusual in New York at the time. Olivier Mosset (1944-) then approached her, and with a few others they soon set up a group that made history in 1984 with the Radical Painting exhibition organized by Thomas Krens at Williams College, Massachusetts. Her work can be divided into different series representing the parameters defining painting (in particular material, colour, application technique). She returned to California in 1999. In 2011, MAMCO in Geneva put on an exhibition of the work that she did while she was living in Rome, and in 2015 the Laguna Art Museum held a very belated first retrospective, which toured Switzerland.

Looking back on her career in 2010, M. Hafif said: “It never occurred to me that I could not succeed in painting on the basis of being a woman. Nor did I feel that I must search out a ‘woman’s way’… I did not see that my sex should prevent me from doing the work I wanted to do.” She went on to say: “There was a naiveté in this, however, which served me well.”

Read more

Michel Gauthier

Translated from French by Thames & Hudson Ltd.

As published in Women in Abstraction © 2021 Thames & Hudson Ltd, London

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Untitled, 1978, watercolor on paper, 28.89 x 28.89 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Warm Sepia, 1980, watercolor on paper, left scheet 19.68 x 22.22 cm, right sheet 19.05 x 24.13 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, French Painting Terraile, 1990, oil on canvas, 152.4 x 152.4 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Red Series, Indian Yellow Tint, 1998, oil on canvas, 47.32 x 147.32 x 3.81 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Paliogen Maroon, 1998, oil on canvas, 147.32 x 147.32 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Payne’s Gray, 2002, watercolor on paper, 19.05 x 26.03 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery collection Buffalo, New York

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Marcia Hafif

1929Pomona, États-Unis | 2018Laguna Beach, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre états-unienne.

C’est en 1961 que commence vraiment la carrière de Marcia Hafif. Après une jeunesse californienne, des études à Pomona College d’où elle sort en 1951, elle part en décembre 1961 pour l’Italie où elle vit jusqu’en 1969. C’est à Rome, côtoyant l’avant-garde italienne de l’époque (elle est notamment proche de Carla Accardi (1924-2014)), qu’elle crée plus de deux cents peintures qui resteront presque inconnues jusqu’aux années 1990. L’artiste qualifie de « pop minimal » cet ensemble d’œuvres majeur auquel appartiennent les deux toiles 84 et 123. Ligne hard-edge, jeu du positif et du négatif, couleurs vives et formes arrondies, parfois biomorphiques – avec de telles peintures, le possible symbolisme de l’idiome abstrait et l’abstraction d’une éventuelle figuration se confondent.
Rentrée en Californie, M. Hafif reprend des études à l’Université de Californie (Irvine) où enseignent Robert Irwin (1928-) et Craig Kauffman (1932-2010). Elle délaisse alors la peinture pour le film, la photographie et l’installation sonore. En 1971, elle part pour New York et entre à la Sonnabend Gallery en 1973. Sa peinture se fait alors monochromatique.

En 1978, elle publie dans Artforum un essai remarqué, intitulé « Beginning again », consacré à l’avenir de l’abstraction picturale, dans lequel elle témoigne d’un intérêt, rare à l’époque à New York, pour les expérimentations européennes, et notamment pour Supports/Surfaces. Olivier Mosset (1944-) se rapproche alors d’elle pour bientôt créer, avec quelques autres, un groupe qui entre dans l’histoire en 1984 grâce à l’exposition Radical Painting qu’organise Thomas Krens au Williams College (Massachusetts). Son œuvre est scandée par différentes séries qui déclinent les paramètres constitutifs de la peinture (matériau, couleur, technique d’application, notamment). En 1999 elle retourne en Californie. Le MAMCO de Genève organise en 2011 une exposition des œuvres de la période romaine. Et, en 2015, le Laguna Art Museum lui consacre une première rétrospective bien tardive, qui circulera en Suisse.

Revenant en 2010 sur sa carrière, M. Hafif confie : « Je n’ai pas imaginé un instant que je pourrais ne pas réussir dans la peinture pour la seule raison que j’étais une femme. Je ne me suis pas crue obligée non plus de chercher à faire une ‘peinture de femme’. […] Je ne voyais pas en quoi le fait d’être une femme m’aurait empêchée de travailler comme j’en avais envie. » Elle ajoute : « Il y avait quand même une part de naïveté dans cette attitude, qui m’a rendu service. »

Lire plus

Michel Gauthier

Publication en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction présentée au Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Galerie 1, Paris, du 5 mai au 23 août 2021, sous le commissariat de Christine Macel et de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska (pour la photographie), assistées de Laure Chauvelot. Notice tirée du catalogue de l’exposition publié par les éditions du Centre Pompidou ©Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2021

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Untitled, 1978, aquarelle sur papier, 28,89 x 28,89 cm, collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Warm Sepia, 1980, aquarelle sur papier, feuille de gauche 19,68 x 22,22 cm, feuille de droite 19,05 x 24,13 cm collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, French Painting Terraile, 1990, huile sur toile, 152,4 x 152,4 cm, collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Red Series, Indian Yellow Tint, 1998, huile sur toile, 47,32 x 147,32 x 3,81 cm, collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Paliogen Maroon, 1998, huile sur toile, 147,32 x 147,32 cm, collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Marcia Hafif — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marcia Hafif, Payne’s Gray, 2002, aquarelle sur papier, 19,05 x 26,03 cm, collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29