Kay Kurt

1944 | Dubuque, United States
Informations

American painter.

Kay Kurt was born in Iowa and studied at Clarke College in her hometown and at the University of Wisconsin, from which she graduated in 1968. In 1967 she painted canvases depicting faces interwoven with kitchen utensils, jewellery and fragments of found photographs. The following year the sight of a box of confectionery inspired her to start painting them. Her works always combine a hyperrealistic approach and a process of enlargement. The first of these confectionery pieces, For All Their Innocent Airs, They Know Exactly Where They’re Going (1968), which is over three metres long, was shown that same year at the Kornblee Gallery in New York. The following year, she was invited to participate in the exhibition Pop Art Redefined at the Hayward Gallery in London.
From then on, chocolates, sweets, and other mass-produced confectionery became one of her subjects of choice, without her being aware that other Pop artists were also using them as a motif during the same period, although less consistently, among them Richard Hamilton (1922-2011) and Claes Oldenburg (born in 1929). However, in K. Kurt’s works, the monumentality of the depictions imbues the sweets with a sense of deliberate ambiguity, particularly in the case of her animal-shaped sweets painted on black backgrounds. The artist has been known to spend several years, if not decades, completing canvases in her search for exaggerated likeness – a likeness that is for instance exemplified in the painting Hallelujah (1995-2016).

K.Kurt’s works were shown at the Whitney Biennial in New York in 1973 and on the occasion of a monographic exhibition at the Walker Art Centre in Minneapolis in 1980. She had more trouble exhibiting later on, one of the reasons being that the gallery that represented her (Kornblee) went out of business and she was subsequently unable to find another. This led her to believe that her work had gone out of fashion because it was not political enough, but she still chose to keep painting regardless. She was reintroduced to the art world thanks to the 2010-2011 travelling exhibition Seductive Subversion: Women Pop Artists, 1958-1968. In 2017 the gallery Albertz Benda in New York presented a monographic exhibition of her works. K. Kurt continues to produce new work in Duluth, Minnesota.

Read more

Mathilde de Croix

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with the Musée d’Art Moderne et d’Art Contemporain of Nice, in the framework of the exhibition She-Bam Pow POP Wizz! The Amazons of the POP (1961-1973).

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

"> Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes
Kay Kurt, Weingummi II, 1985, graphite on paper, 53.3 x 53.3 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York
Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Study for Red C, 1987, graphite on paper, 73.7 x 55.9 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Triptych, 1967, oil on linen, 237.5 x 227.5 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, In Vogue, 1967, oil on canvas, 121.9 x 121.9 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, L’Icarus, 1990, Oil on linen, 182.9 x 274.3 cm, 72 x 108 inches, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

"> Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes
Kay Kurt, Just the Four of Us, 1994, oil on linen, 111.8 x 116.8 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York
Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover another artist

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Kay Kurt

1944 | Dubuque, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre états-unienne.

Kay Kurt, née dans l’Iowa, étudie au Clarke College, dans sa ville natale, puis à l’University of Wisconsin jusqu’en 1968. En 1967, elle peint des toiles où s’entremêlent visages, ustensiles de cuisine, bijoux et fragments de photographies trouvées çà et là. L’année suivante, alors qu’elle observe une boîte de confiseries, elle a l’idée de les représenter. Dans ses œuvres vont toujours de pair une facture hyperréaliste et un procédé d’agrandissement. La première d’entre elles, For All Their Innocent Airs, They Know Exactly Where They’re Going (1968), de plus de 3 mètres de long, sera exposée cette même année à la Kornblee Gallery à New York. Un an plus tard, l’artiste est invitée à participer à l’exposition Pop Art Redefined à la Hayward Gallery à Londres.
Les chocolats, bonbons et autres gourmandises industrielles deviennent un de ses sujets de prédilection, sans qu’elle sache que d’autres artistes du pop art ont recours à ce motif, au même moment mais de manière ponctuelle, comme Richard Hamilton (1922-2011) ou Claes Oldenburg (né en 1929). Chez K. Kurt, la monumentalité de la représentation confère une ambiguïté délibérée aux friandises, c’est notamment le cas des bonbons en forme d’animaux dont elle dresse le portrait individuel sur fond noir. L’artiste peut passer plusieurs années, voire des décennies, à achever une toile dans une quête de similitude exacerbée, similitude que l’on observe par exemple dans le tableau Hallelujah (1995-2016).

Elle participe entre autres à la Whitney Biennial à New York en 1973 et bénéficie d’une monographie au Walker Art Center à Minneapolis en 1980. Ses œuvres sont ensuite moins largement diffusées, notamment parce que la galerie qui la représente (Kornblee) cesse son activité et parce qu’elle n’en trouve pas d’autre. L’artiste pense alors que son travail est passé de mode, car il n’est pas politique, mais explique avoir fait le choix de continuer à peindre, avec ou sans le soutien d’une galerie. Elle est réintroduite dans le monde de l’art grâce à l’exposition itinérante Seductive Subversion: Women Pop Artists, 1958-1968 en 2010-2011 ; en 2017, l’Albertz Benda Gallery à New York lui consacre une présentation monographique. K. Kurt continue à créer de nouvelles œuvres, à Duluth dans le Minnesota.

Lire plus

Mathilde de Croix

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Art moderne et d’Art contemporain de Nice, dans le cadre de l’exposition She-Bam Pow POP Wizz ! Les amazones du POP (1961-1973).

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Weingummi II, 1985, graphite sur papier, 53,3 x 53,3 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Study for Red C, 1987, graphite sur papier, 73,7 x 55,9 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Triptych, 1967, huile sur lin, 237,5 x 227,5 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, In Vogue, 1967, huile sur toile, 121,9 x 121,9 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, L’Icarus, 1990, huile sur lin, 182.9 x 274.3 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Kay Kurt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kay Kurt, Just the Four of Us, 1994, huile sur lin, 111,8 x 116,8 cm, Courtesy Kay Kurt & Gallery Albertz Benda, New York

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir une autre artiste

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29