Laura Rodig Pizarro

1901Los Andes, Chili | 1972Santiago, Chile
Informations
Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alfredo Molina Lahitte, Portrait de Laura Rodig, ca. 1930-1940, Colección Archivo Fotográfico, Biblioteca Nacional de Chile

Chilean painter, sculptor, art educator, illustrator and activist.

“The closest friend of women of the boys of her times” – with these words the painter Camilo Mori, in En Viaje, bid farewell to Laura Rodig when she passed in 1972. In spite of being expelled from the Escuela de Bellas Artes in Santiago due to her contempt for academic rules, she was re-enrolled at the request of various professors and students who believed her to be one of the most prodigious talents of the generation.
In 1914 L. Rodig met the poet Gabriela Mistral (1889-1957) and the two maintained a long relationship of affection and professional exchange. As teachers, they travelled together throughout Chile and in 1922 L. Rodig accompanied G. Mistral to Mexico, where the latter worked for the education programme of José Vasconcelos and participated in the Servicio de Misioneros de Cultura Indígena (Missionary Service of Indigenous Culture). This experience inspired L. Rodig to create, between 1922 and 1924, the series Tipos Mexicanos [Mexican Types], a group of works that she exhibited back in Chile in 1927 that depicts scenes of indigenous women, in the form of colourful sketches on cardboard or paper. Although the total number of works is unknown, the series executed using materials of poor quality carried a strong political message.

In 1924 she travelled to Spain, where she exhibited at the Galería Nancy in Madrid. One of her sculptures, India mexicana [Mexican Indian Woman], was purchased by the Museum of Modern Art in Madrid, making her the first Latin American woman artist to enter its collection. Consequently, she was featured in many press articles, among them “Las esculturas de Laura Rodig”, written by Beatriz Galindo in Blanco y Negro in 1925. L. Rodig participated in the Salon d’Automne in Paris in 1928 with the piece La Fuente y sus mujeres [Women at the Well]. She obtained the Gold Medal at the Ibero-American Exposition of 1929 in Sevilla. The following year she participated in the Première Exposition du Groupe Latino‑Americain at the Galerie Zak in Paris, organized by the Uruguayan painter Joaquín Torres‑García and with texts by Hugo Barbagelata.

After returning to Chile in 1930, she became part of the Asociación Chilena de Pintores y Escultores (Chilean Association of Painters and Sculptors). An active member of the Communist Party, she opposed Franco’s dictatorship in Spain. She was also a member of the International Red Aid and a supporter of the Mapuche case, within the activities of the Araucanía Federation in 1935. As a feminist activist, she participated in exhibitions organized by the Sociedad Artística Femenina (Women’s Artistic Society) between 1914 and 1916 as well as in the Gran Exposición Femenina (Great Women’s Exhibition) of 1927. In 1939, she was part of the committee that organized the exhibition Actividades Femeninas. La mujer en la vida nacional (Women’s Activities: Women and the National Life). The show was an initiative of the Movimiento Pro-Emancipación de las Mujeres de Chile (Pro-Emancipation Movement of Chilean Women; MEMCH) of which L. Rodig was a member. The organization advocated in favour of the right to abortion and breast-feeding for working-class women.

L. Rodig was a committed educator who worked as a teacher of drawing and as a promoter of children’s art exhibitions, for example Niños Pintores [Painting Children], a show organized in the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in Chile in 1937. She created illustrations for children’s magazines and illustrated novels, wrote poetry and collaborated with magazines Revista de Arte and La Mujer Nueva. She lectured in applied arts at the Universidad de Chile and and creator of the education area in the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in 1966, where she worked until her death. The legacy of L. Rodig has been recovered over the last few years, acquiring great relevance in association with recent women’s movements in Chile. In December 2019 the first retrospective of the artist will take place at the MNBA.

Read more

Gloria Cortés Aliaga

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Desnudo de mujer [Female Nude], ca. 1937, oil on canvas, 80 x 67 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, from the series Tipos Mexicanos [Mexican Types], ca. 1925, oil on cardboard, 80 x 66 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Mineros de Chile [Miners of Chile], 1929, engraving, 64.8 x 49.8 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Retrato de Matilde Sotomayor [Portrait of Matilde Sotomayor], 1928, bronze, 55 x 72 x 35 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Maternidad [Maternity], ca. 1940, cast in plaster with reconstituted stone, 125 x 72 x 73 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Los Salitreros [The Nitrate workers], ca. 1936, oil on canvas, 130 x 162 cm, Collection of Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chile

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, La Fuente y sus Mujeres [Women at the Well], 1928, oil on canvas, 130 x 162 cm, Collection of Museo Bellas Artes Palacio Quinta Vergara, Chile

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Laura Rodig Pizarro

1901Los Andes, Chili | 1972Santiago, Chili
Informations
Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alfredo Molina Lahitte, Portrait de Laura Rodig, vers 1930-1940, Colección Archivo Fotográfico, Biblioteca Nacional de Chile

Peintre, sculptrice, éducatrice artistique, illustratrice et militante chilienne.

« La meilleure amie des copines des garçons de son époque » : c’est par ces mots que le peintre Camilo Mori (1896-1973), dans En Viaje, rend hommage à Laura Rodig lorsqu’elle décède en 1972. Bien qu’elle ait été renvoyée de l’Escuela de Bellas Artes de Santiago à cause de son mépris des règles académiques, elle y est réintégrée à la demande de plusieurs professeurs, professeures, étudiants et étudiantes, qui la considèrent comme l’un des plus grands talents de sa génération.
En 1914, L. Rodig rencontre la poétesse Gabriela Mistral (1889-1957). C’est le début d’une longue relation, marquée par une affection mutuelle et des échanges professionnels. Elles parcourent le pays en tant qu’enseignantes ; en 1922, L. Rodig accompagne G. Mistral au Mexique, où cette dernière travaille dans le cadre du programme d’éducation de José Vasconcelos et participe au Servicio de Misioneros de Cultura Indígena (Service missionnaire de culture indigène). Inspirée par cette expérience, L. Rodig crée entre 1922 et 1924 la série Tipos Mexicanos [Types mexicains], qu’elle présentera au Chili en 1927. Les œuvres – des esquisses colorées sur carton ou sur papier – montrent des scènes avec des femmes autochtones. Le nombre total de dessins est inconnu, mais la série, réalisée à partir de matériaux de piètre qualité, porte un message politique fort.

En 1924, L. Rodig part en Espagne, où elle expose à la Galería Nancy, à Madrid. L’une de ses sculptures, India Mexicana [Indienne mexicaine, 1924], est acquise par le musée d’Art moderne de Madrid, ce qui fait d’elle la première artiste latino-américaine à être représentée dans ses collections. Par la suite, elle est mentionnée dans de nombreux articles de presse, dont « Las esculturas de Laura Rodig », écrit par Beatriz Galindo pour la revue Blanco y Negro en 1925. L. Rodig participe au Salon d’automne à Paris en 1928 avec son œuvre La Fuente y Sus Mujeres [La fontaine et ses femmes, 1928]. On lui décerne la médaille d’or lors de l’Exposición Iberoamericana [Exposition ibéro-américaine] de 1929 à Séville. L’année suivante, elle figure à la Ire Exposition du groupe latino-américain à la galerie Zak à Paris, organisée par le peintre uruguayen Joaquín Torres García (1874-1949) et dont le catalogue comprend des textes de Hugo Barbagelata.

De retour au Chili, elle adhère à l’Asociación Chilena de Pintores y Escultores (Association chilienne des peintres et sculpteurs). Elle est également adhérente du Secours rouge international et partisane de la cause mapuche dans le cadre des activités de la Federación Araucana (Fédération araucanienne) en 1935. Membre active du Parti communiste, elle s’oppose à la dictature franquiste en Espagne. En tant que féministe militante, elle prend part aux expositions proposées par la Sociedad Artística Femenina (Société artistique féminine) entre 1914 et 1916, ainsi qu’à la grande Exposición Femenina [Exposition féminine] de 1927. En 1939, elle fait partie du comité d’organisation de l’exposition Actividades Femeninas. La Mujer en la Vida Nacional [Activités féminines. La femme dans la vie nationale]. Le Movimiento Pro Emancipación de las Mujeres de Chile (MEMCH, Mouvement pour l’émancipation des femmes chiliennes), qui milite en faveur du droit à l’avortement et promeut l’allaitement pour les ouvrières, et dont L. Rodig est membre, est à l’origine de cette manifestation.

L. Rodig est une éducatrice passionnée : professeure de dessin, elle organise également des expositions d’œuvres réalisées par des enfants, dont Niños Pintores [Enfants peintres], accueillie par le Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes (MNBA) du Chili en 1937, est un exemple. Elle dessine pour des revues destinées aux enfants et des romans illustrés, écrit de la poésie et collabore aux magazines Revista de Arte et La Mujer Nueva. Elle enseigne les arts appliqués à l’Universidad de Chile et, en 1966, crée la section « Éducation » du MNBA, où elle travaillera jusqu’à sa mort. L’œuvre de L. Rodig, qui a acquis une pertinence nouvelle dans le contexte des récents mouvements de femmes au Chili, est redécouverte depuis quelques années. En décembre 2019, le MNBA présentera la première rétrospective consacrée à cette artiste.

Lire plus

Gloria Cortés Aliaga

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Desnudo de mujer [Nu féminin], vers 1937, huile sur toile, 80 x 67 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, issu de la série Tipos Mexicanos [Types mexicains], vers 1925, huile sur carton, 80 x 66 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Mineros de Chile [Mineurs du Chili], 1929, estampe, 64,8 x 49,8 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Retrato de Matilde Sotomayor [Portrait de Matilde Sotomayor], 1928, bronze, 55 x 72 x 35 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Maternidad [Maternité], vers 1940, moule en plâtre avec pierre reconstituée, 125 x 72 x 73 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, Los Salitreros [Les Ouvriers du nitrate], vers 1936, huile sur toile, 130 x 162 cm, Collection du Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Chili

Laura Rodig Pizarro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Rodig, La Fuente y sus Mujeres [La Fontaine et ses femmes], 1928, huile sur toile, 130 x 162 cm, Collection du Museo Bellas Artes Palacio Quinta Vergara, Chili

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29