Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Laure Albin Guillot

1879Paris, France | 1962Nogent-sur- Marne, France
Informations
Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), french photographer. 1941. © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Sponsor
— La Parisienne de photographie

French photographer.

The perfect example of a successful female photographer, Laure Albin Guillot acted as a bridge between two generations of artists: the pictorialists, who wanted to correlate photography with painting, and, as from the 1920s, the Nouvelle Vision movement, a group of modern-minded photographers. Around 1901, under the influence of her husband, a doctor, the musician and dancer began to take pictures of microscopic crystallisations and plant cells, which she called “micrographies” [micrographs]. She also photographed landscapes in a pictorialist style, achieving a faint and hazy blurredness with the Eidoscope and Opale lenses, and paying great attention to her prints by thoroughly researching photographic paper. She also started photographing her family and circle of friends. Quickly recognised as a professional portraitist, she became a defender of the “psychological” portrait: her fellow photographer Emmanuel Sougez, the leader of “pure photography”, praised her sensitivity. After her husband died, she not only made a living from commissioned portraits, but also as a pioneer in the fields of fashion and commercial photography. Like many photographers during the interwar period, she managed to simultaneously pursue a successful commercial career and intense creative activity.
Striving for the recognition of her art in the 1930s, she founded the Société des artistes photographes [Society of artist photographers] in 1932. With Sougez, she obtained the creation of a photography section at the 1937 International Exhibition in Paris, and even contemplated the foundation of a museum of photography in the new Trocadéro pavilion. The artist’s work on nudes shows how cleverly she transitioned from a pictorialist to a modern aesthetics. While she photographed female nudes in classical poses and compositions in the early 1920s, her work saw a formal evolution in its use of whites and framing between 1927 and 1934. She was also one of the only photographers of the 1930s to approach male nudes beyond the domains of sport and allegory. At the exhibition Portraits d’hommes [Male Portraits], (Billiet-Vorms Gallery, Paris, 1935), she presented audacious male nudes alongside classic portraits. Her photographs were published in Arts et métiers graphiques (1927) and Vu (1928), and she took part in the first Salon des indépendants de la photographie [Salon of independent photographers], also known as the “Salon de l’escalier” [Staircase salon] in 1928 with, among others, André Kertész.

The event, which was the first salon to be held independently of the Société française de photographie [SFP, French Photographic Society], marked the acknowledgement of the Nouvelle Vision movement and presented itself as the successor of Eugène Atget and Nadar, brought cosmopolite and women artists to the foreground. In 1931, the photography book Micrographie décorative [Decorative micrography], which combined science and art in a collection of 20 plates chosen from hundreds of micrographs, became a key publication despite its limited print run. In addition to the exceptional quality of its prints and the “great evocative power” of its “abstract, regular and often geometrical compositions”, it also elaborated, according to the photography historian Christian Bouqueret, “a new aesthetic vocabulary”. In the 1930s, Laure Albin Guillot was fully involved in the Nouvelle Vision movement, alongside other photographers such as Germaine Krull and Florence Henri. As Bouqueret demonstrated, “advertising played a decisive part in the breakthrough of Nouvelle Photographie”. Albin Guillot took pictures with very clean-cut close-ups for Renault enterprises and Le Bon Marché department stores. She published Photographie publicitaire (1933), and in doing so was the first to defend this type of modern photography. In 1934, she collaborated with the writer Paul Valéry for the illustrated edition of Narcisse, the 14 male nude prints of which met with great success. She then worked with Pierre Louÿs (Les Chansons de Bilitis, 1937), Montherlant, and illustrated Claude Debussy’s Preludes. A pioneer in her field, she blazed a trail for many burgeoning women photographers of the 1930s, such as Yvonne Chevalier, Ilse Bing, Ylla or Rogi André.

Read more

Anne Reverseau

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Jean Cocteau, écrivain français, 1939, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Femme se maquillant, étude publicitaire pour la crème Diadermine, c. 1950, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu masculin, c. 1939, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude publicitaire pour Rigaud, flacon et poudrier, 1932, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Microphotographie, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Microphotographie, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Emmanuel Sougez, photographe français. France, 1938, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Projet d’illustration pour “La Cantate de Narcisse” de Paul Valéry, c. 1930, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu, 1930-1940, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu, 1930-1940, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Laure Albin Guillot

1879Paris, France | 1962Nogent-sur- Marne, France
Informations
Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot (1879-1962), photographe française. 1941. © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Soutien
— La Parisienne de photographie

Photographe française.

Modèle de réussite d’une femme photographe, Laure Albin Guillot a joué un rôle de passeur entre deux générations artistiques : celle des pictorialistes, mouvement artistique qui veut rapprocher la photographie de la peinture, et, dès les années 1920, celle de la Nouvelle Vision, groupe de photographes tournés vers la modernité. Vers 1901, sous l’influence de son mari médecin, cette musicienne et dessinatrice réalise de nombreux clichés de préparations microscopiques de cristallisations et de cellules végétales, qu’elle appelle « micrographies ». Dans un style pictorialiste, elle photographie aussi des paysages, en obtenant un flou léger et vaporeux avec les objectifs Eidoscope et Opale, et soigne particulièrement ses tirages en effectuant des recherches sur les papiers photographiques. Elle commence aussi à photographier sa famille et son cercle d’amis. Très vite reconnue comme portraitiste professionnelle, elle défend le portrait dit « psychologique » : le photographe Emmanuel Sougez, chef de file de la « photographie pure », louera sa sensibilité. Après le décès de son mari en 1929, elle vit de ses commandes de portraits, mais aussi de la photographie de mode et de la photographie publicitaire dans laquelle elle se montre pionnière. Comme nombre de photographes de l’entre-deux-guerres, elle mène de front une activité commerciale rentable et une activité créatrice intense.
Œuvrant pour la reconnaissance de son art dans les années 1930, elle fonde la Société des artistes photographes en 1932, obtient avec E. Sougez la création de la section photographique de l’Exposition internationale de Paris de 1937 et projette même la fondation d’un musée de la photographie dans le nouveau Trocadéro. Comme le montre son travail du nu, l’artiste passe d’une esthétique pictorialiste à une esthétique moderniste avec intelligence. Au début des années 1920, elle réalise des nus féminins aux poses et aux cadrages classiques. Mais, entre 1927 et 1934, elle évolue formellement en travaillant les blancs et les cadrages. En outre, elle est, dans les années 1930, l’une des rares photographes à aborder le nu masculin hors du cadre sportif ou allégorique. Dans l’exposition Portraits d’hommes (galerie Billiet-Vorms, Paris, 1935), elle présente des nus audacieux en même temps que des portraits classiques. Ses photographies sont publiées dans Arts et métiers graphiques (1927), dans Vu (1928), et elle participe au premier Salon des indépendants de la photographie, dit « Salon de l’escalier » (1928), aux côtés, notamment, d’André Kertész.

Premier salon à se tenir hors de la tutelle de la Société française de photographie (SFP), cette manifestation, qui marque la reconnaissance de la Nouvelle Vision et se présente comme l’héritière d’Eugène Atget et de Nadar, fait la part belle aux artistes cosmopolites et aux femmes. En 1931, le livre de la photographe, Micrographie décorative, qui conjugue science et art en rassemblant 20 planches parmi des centaines de micrographies, devient, malgré son modeste tirage, un ouvrage phare. Outre son exceptionnelle qualité d’impression et la « grande puissance d’évocation » de « ces compositions abstraites, régulières et souvent géométriques », c’est un « nouveau vocabulaire esthétique » qui s’élabore, selon l’historien de la photographie Christian Bouqueret. Dans les années 1930, la photographe appartient donc pleinement au mouvement de la Nouvelle Vision aux côtés de Germaine Krull ou de Florence Henri. Comme l’a montré C. Bouqueret, « la publicité aide de façon décisive la Nouvelle Photographie à percer ». L. Albin Guillot réalise ainsi des images avec de gros plans très nets pour les entreprises Renault et pour le magasin Le Bon Marché. Première à défendre ce type de photographie moderne, elle publie Photographie publicitaire (1933). En 1934, elle collabore avec l’écrivain Paul Valéry pour l’édition illustrée du Narcisse, et ses 14 planches de nus masculins rencontrent un franc succès. Elle travaille ensuite avec Pierre Louÿs (Les Chansons de Bilitis, 1937), avec Montherlant, et illustre les Préludes de Claude Debussy. Pionnière, elle ouvre la voie à de nombreuses photographes qui débutent dans les années 1930, comme Yvonne Chevalier, Ilse Bing, Ylla ou Rogi André.

Lire plus

Anne Reverseau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Jean Cocteau, écrivain français, 1939, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Femme se maquillant, étude publicitaire pour la crème Diadermine, vers 1950, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu masculin, vers 1939, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude publicitaire pour Rigaud, flacon et poudrier, 1932, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Microphotographie, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Microphotographie, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Emmanuel Sougez, photographe français. France, 1938, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Projet d’illustration pour « La Cantate de Narcisse » de Paul Valéry, vers 1930, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu, 1930-1940, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Laure Albin Guillot — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laure Albin Guillot, Étude de nu, 1930-1940, © Laure Albin Guillot / Roger-Viollet

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29