Browse by Themes

Hand, Eye, Camera: Female Photographers in Paris Between the Wars
In the school curriculum
05.06.2020 | Julie Sabau

Florence Henri, Komposition II, 1928, silver print, 17.2 x 23.9 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

In the wake of the First World War many women took up photography. Paris, centre of the avant-gardes, became a place of encounter and exchange for artists from everywhere.

Free of a masculine tradition and attractive, photography rapidly became a medium of choice for women. They seized the stylistic and theoretical repertoire of the image, contributed to the emergence of modernity and participated in artistic movements such as Surrealism, the New Objectivity and the New Vision. The development of the illustrated press opened up professional opportunities for them; the practice of image making was a means of ensuring a regular income and making themselves known.

Artists investigated various fields of photography. Berenice Abbott (1898-1991) and Rogi André (1905-1970) presented themselves through their portraits of artists and intellectuals. Florence Henri (1893-1982) made advertisements, notably for Lanvin perfumes. Others worked on the representation of the nude. Ergy Landau (1896-1967) depicted female bodies, while Laure Albin-Guillot (1879-1962) was one of the first to capture the image of an undressed male – a taboo subject outside of naturist or sporting frameworks. The medium also became a way of mastering staging. In her self-portraits, Claude Cahun (1894-1954) blurred the notions of identity through masquerade. F. Henri used mirrors as tools to distance gender assignments and reinvent an aesthetic construction of the representation of women.

Female photographers were not confined to working indoors; they went outside to conquer male-occupied territories such as public and political space, and the emerging markets of photojournalism and documentary photography. Marianne Breslauer (1909-2001) immortalised the French capital, showing her female contemporaries in the streets, cigarette in hand. Lisette Model (1901-1983) documented the bourgeoise society and interrogated social norms. Ilse Bing (1899-1998) and Germaine Krull (1897-1995) appropriated symbols of modernity typically associated with virility: automobiles, industrial architecture and geometric landscapes. Finally, Lee Miller (1907-1977) annexed men’s stronghold in war reporting.

Women photographers in Paris formed networks for recognition and apprenticeship. German photographer Gertrude Fehr (1895-1996) opened a photography school in 1934. E. Landau offered private training courses. Gradually, they were given a key role in the theoretical development of the medium and participated in its institutionalisation. Gisèle Freund (1908-2000) defended the first thesis on photography in France in 1936. L. Albin-Guillot, president of the Society of Photographic Artists, organised exhibitions where women took their place.

The importance of female photographers in Paris during the interwar period is undeniable. So how can we explain the oblivion into which many of them have plunged? Critics of the time associated their production with a feminine specificity, thus hierarchising it in relation to so-called “universal” creation, considering that if women were able to compete with men, it was thanks to the camera that served as their ally. Indeed, in her report on the 1936

Exposition Internationale de la Photographie Contemporaine (International exhibition of contemporary photography), Hélène Gordon wrote, “In photography …  women have an effective and, above all, objective collaborator: the camera.” Considering the tool as the receiver of creative capacity and consequently devaluing the practice of women is yet another way of erasing their contributions.

Today, a number of exhibitions, such as Pictures by Women: A History of Modern Photography at MoMA, New York (2010) and Whos Afraid of Women Photographers? 1839-1945 at the Musée de l’Orangerie and the Musée d’Orsay in Paris (2015), have highlighted the richness and diversity of female photographers’ work.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

Main, œil, appareil : les photographes à Paris durant l’entre-deux-guerres
Au programme scolaire
05.06.2020 | Julie Sabau

Florence Henri, Komposition II, 1928, tirage argentique, 17,2 x 23,9 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Au lendemain de la première Guerre Mondiale, de nombreuses femmes se saisissent de la photographie. Et Paris, carrefour des avant-gardes, devient un véritable lieu de rencontre et d’échanges pour ces artistes d’horizons divers.

La photographie, exempt d’une tradition masculine et attractive devient rapidement un medium de choix pour les femmes. Elles s’emparent du répertoire stylistique et théorique de l’image, contribuent à l’émergence de la modernité et participent aux mouvements artistiques tels que le surréalisme, la Nouvelle Objectivité, ou encore la Nouvelle Vision. Le développement de la presse illustrée leur ouvre des débouchés professionnels, la pratique de l’image est un moyen d’assurer un revenu régulier et de se faire connaître.

Les artistes investissent différents champs de la photographie. Berenice Abbott (1898-1991) et Rogi André (1905-1970) s’illustrent par leur pratique du portrait d’artistes et d’intellectuel·le·s. Florence Henri (1893-1982) produit des clichés publicitaires, notamment pour les parfums Lanvin. D’autres travaillent à des représentations du nu. Ergy Landau (1896-1967) capture des corps féminins, quant à Laure Albin-Guillot (1879-1962), elle est l’une des premières à figer l’image d’hommes dévêtus – sujet tabou lorsqu’il sort des cadres naturistes ou sportifs. Le médium devient également un moyen de maitriser leur mise en scène. Dans ses autoportraits, Claude Cahun (1894-1954) brouille les notions d’identités grâce à la mascarade. F. Henri utilise le miroir comme outil de mise à distance des assignations de genre et réinvente une construction esthétique de la représentation des femmes.

Les photographes ne restent pas cantonnées au travail en intérieur, elles en sortent pour conquérir des territoires occupés par les hommes tels que l’espace public et politique, et les marchés émergeants qu’étaient le photojournalisme et le photoreportage. Marianne Breslauer (1909-2001) immortalise la capitale française, montrant ses contemporaines, dans la rue, cigarette à la main. Lisette Model (1901-1983) documente une société bourgeoise et interroge les normes sociales. Ilse Bing (1899-1998) et Germaine Krull (1897-1995) s’emparent des symboles de la modernité, traditionnellement associés à ceux de la virilité : l’automobile, l’architecture industrielle ou les paysages géométriques. Enfin, Lee Miller (1907-1977) annexe le bastion masculin du reportage de guerre.

Les femmes photographes forment à Paris des réseaux de reconnaissance et d’apprentissage. L’Allemande Gertrude Fehr (1895-1996) ouvre en 1934 une école de photographie. E. Landau propose, quant à elle, des formations privées. Peu à peu, elles obtiennent un rôle clé dans la théorisation du médium et participent à son institutionnalisation. Gisèle Freund (1908-2000) soutien en 1936 la première thèse sur la photographie en France. L. Albin-Guillot, présidente de la Société des artistes photographes, organise des expositions où les femmes trouvent leur place.

L’importance des femmes photographes à Paris durant l’entre-deux-guerres est indéniable. Dès lors, comment expliquer l’oubli dans lequel ont été plongées nombre d’entre elles ? La critique de l’époque a attaché leur production à une spécificité féminine, la hiérarchisant ainsi par rapport à la création dite « universelle » et a considéré que si les femmes ont pu rivaliser avec les hommes, c’est grâce à l’appareil qui leur sert d’allié. En effet, Hélène Gordon, dans son compte-rendu de l’Exposition internationale de la photographie contemporaine en 1936 écrit « En photographie […] la femme a un collaborateur efficace et objectif surtout : l’appareil ». Considérer l’outil comme le récepteur de la capacité créatrice et dévaluer par conséquence la pratique des femmes est un moyen de plus de gommer leurs apports.

Aujourd’hui, de nombreuses expositions telles que Pictures by Women: A History of Modern Photography au MoMA (2010) ou encore Qui a peur des femmes photographes ?1839-1945 au musée de l’Orangerie et au musée d’Orsay à Paris (2015) mettent en lumière la richesse et la diversité du travail des femmes photographes.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29