Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Rogi André

1905Budapest, Hungary | 1970Paris, France
Informations
Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Autoportrait, ca. 1930, gelatin silver print, 51 x 41 cm, © Photo:  Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Rights reserved

French Photographer and Painter.

The daughter of a doctor, Rogi André received a bourgeoise education in Budapest during the Austrian occupation. Suffering from severe scoliosis since childhood, she wore an iron corset, which limited her movements, leading her to learn to play the violin and to draw. In 1924, she studied at the Fine Art School in Budapest, hoping to become a painter. The next year, she travelled alone to Paris, where she met several exiled supporters of Count Mihály Károlyi, the temporary president of the Hungarian Republic, all of whom were opposed to the dictatorial Horthy regime. She became particularly close with the sculptor István Beöthy and his wife, the painter Anna Beöthy-Steiner (1902–1985). In 1928, she married the photographer André Kértesz. They lived together at 75, boulevard de Montparnasse in Paris, next to the constructivist gallery/bookshop L’esthétique founded by their friend, painter Evsa Model. Trained in photography by her husband, R. André was thus able to become financially independent. Around 1927–1928, she began photographing nude female figures, in high demand by the press, although she was clearly not personally drawn to this genre. She nevertheless quickly managed on her own and even advised her friend Lisette Model, who began working in photography as well. In 1930, she specialised in portraiture. She made full-length portraits of her sitters, giving great importance to the position of the head, their gestures and their hands. She captured her models in their everyday life, eliminating all artifice in order to attain a likeness of their personality.

For each portrait, she would take four to six photographs. She transported her own equipment, a 1912 9 x 12 Voigtländer Bergheil with folding plates, which was heavy, cumbersome and complicated to handle and whose installation time was long since she also took time to meet with her models. Her prints eliminated all details that would not be important to the photograph. In her portrait of Max Jacob, the elegance of the penholder placed on his desk seems not only to accompany the gesture of the writer, but also to reduce his existence to the pen; in that of Mondrian, the stiffness of his pose is accentuated by the lines of his paintings seen behind him; and when she photographed André Lhôte in front of his easel, his pupils behind him are truly the ones being photographed. In her portrait gallery one comes across the Tout-Paris of the arts and literature: Braque, Bissière, Bonnard, Duchamp, Crevel, Peignot, Breton, Colette, Dora Maar. The artist always made her prints herself, adapting to the small space at her disposal: a small corner of her kitchen or bathroom.

After her divorce in 1932, she moved into a building on the Rue du Père-Cotentin, where she reunited with two other photographers, Florence Henri (1893–1982) and Ilse Bing (1899–1998)–these three women supported each other. R. André worked for several magazines: Paris Magazine; Arts et métiers graphiques; and Verve. In 1935, she photographed Jacqueline Lamba (1910–1993) swimming to illustrate Breton’s text La Nuit du tournesol published in the magazine Minotaure. She was exhibited in several galleries such as Art et industrie, Pléaide, Le Chausseur d’images, and in several group exhibitions, such as the 1936 Exposition internationale de la photographie contemporaine (International Exhibition of Photography) at the Pavillon de Marsan in the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris; and the exhibition Photography, 1839-1937 at the Museum of Modern Art in New York in 1937. In 1941, she left Paris assisted by Renée Beslon, whom she met in the studio of A. Lhote, whose painting classes she took, for the unoccupied zone and fled temporarily to Touraine. After returning to Paris, the gallerist Jeanne Bucher protected her by hiding her in her daughter’s bedroom. In 1944, R. André was commissioned to photograph Kandinsky on his death bed. Starting in 1950, living in poverty, she turned to painting. According to several accounts, she had an extremely difficult personality and lived in solitude, despite having met all of the painters and writers from the legendary Montparnasse neighbourhood during the interwar period. Throughout her life, she was a nomadic artist always catching the eyes of others.

Read more

Catherine Gonnard

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Alberto Giacometti, 1935, gelatin silver print, 36.5 x 28.9 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, André Derain, 1935, gelatin silver print, 38.1 x 28.6 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Dora Maar, 1941, gelatin silver print, private collection

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Florent Fels, 1935, gelatin silver print, 29.2 x 19.4 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Maurice Utrillo, 1943, gelatin silver print, 39.1 x 30.4 cm, © Photo:  Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Rights reserved

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Peggy Guggenheim in Kay Sage’s house, Paris, 1940, gelatin silver print, BnF

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Piet Mondrian, 1937, gelatin silver print, 40 x 30.1 cm, © Photo: Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © Rights reserved

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Rogi André

1905Budapest, Hongrie | 1970Paris, France
Informations
Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Autoportrait, vers 1930, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 51 x 41 cm, © Photo :  Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Droits réservés

Photographe et peintre française.

Fille de médecin, Rogi André reçoit une éducation bourgeoise à Budapest, sous domination autrichienne. Atteinte dès l’enfance d’une forte scoliose, elle porte un corset de fer ; ainsi limitée dans ses gestes, elle apprend le violon, dessine. En 1924, elle étudie à l’École des beaux-arts de Budapest en vue de devenir peintre. L’année suivante, elle vient seule à Paris, où elle retrouve nombre d’exilés autour du comte Mihály Károlyi, l’éphémère président de la République hongroise – tous opposés au régime dictatorial d’Horthy. Elle se lie particulièrement avec le sculpteur István Beöthy et sa femme, la peintre Anna Beöthy-Steiner (1902-1985). En 1928, elle épouse le photographe André Kértesz ; ils habitent alors au 75 boulevard de Montparnasse, tout à côté de l’Esthétique, la librairie galerie au décor constructiviste fondée par leur ami, le peintre Evsa Model. Formée aux techniques de la photographie par son mari, R. André peut ainsi assurer son indépendance financière. Elle commence par photographier des nus féminins vers 1927-1928, très demandés par la presse illustrée, mais manifestement, elle ne se trouve pas dans ce genre. Néanmoins, elle se débrouille très vite seule, et conseille même son amie Lisette Model lorsque celle-ci se lance à son tour dans la photographie. En 1930, elle se spécialise dans le portrait : elle prend ses sujets en pied, attachant une grande importance au port de tête, aux gestes et à la forme des mains ; elle saisit ses modèles dans leur cadre de vie quotidien, éliminant tout artifice pour les atteindre au plus près de leur personnalité.

Pour chaque portrait, elle fait quatre ou six prises. Elle transporte elle-même son matériel un Voigtländer Bergheil 9 x 12 à plaques, mis sur le marché en 1912, lourd, encombrant et d’un maniement sophistiqué, dont la durée d’installation est longue, car elle y inclut le temps consacré à sa rencontre avec le modèle. Ses tirages suppriment tout détail qui ne serait pas significatif, si bien que dans le portrait de Max Jacob, l’élégance du porte-plume posé sur sa table de travail semble non seulement accompagner le geste de l’écrivain, mais aussi réduire son existence à cette plume ; dans celui de Mondrian, la raideur de la pose est accentuée par les quelques lignes des tableaux, aperçues derrière lui. Le plus souvent, les artistes surgissent de l’ombre, face au spectateur, sans le moindre support évoquant leur travail, et lorsqu’André Lhote est devant un chevalet, ce sont ses élèves qui sont photographiés. Dans sa galerie de portraits, le Tout-Paris des lettres et de la peinture défile devant le public : Braque, Bissière, Bonnard, Duchamp, Crevel, Peignot, Breton, Colette, Dora Maar. L’artiste réalisera toujours elle-même les tirages, s’accommodant du peu d’espace à sa disposition : un coin de cuisine ou de salle de bains.

Après son divorce en 1932, elle s’installe dans un immeuble de la rue du Père-Cotentin, où elle retrouve les deux photographes Florence Henri (1893-1982) et Ilse Bing (1899-1998) ; les trois femmes s’entraident. R. André travaille pour différentes revues : Paris magazine ; Arts et métiers graphiques ; Verve. En 1935, elle réalise la photo de Jacqueline Lamba (1910-1993) en naïade, qui illustre le texte de Breton, La Nuit du tournesol, dans la revue Minotaure. Elle expose dans les galeries Art et industrie, Pléiade, Le Chasseur d’images, et dans des manifestations collectives, dont l’Exposition internationale de la photographie contemporaine au pavillon de Marsan en 1936, le musée des Arts décoratifs à Paris et l’exposition Photography, 1839-1937 au Museum of Modern Art de New York en 1937. En 1941, aidée par Renée Beslon – rencontrée dans l’atelier d’A. Lhote où elle suit des cours de peinture –, elle part en zone libre et se réfugie temporairement en Touraine. De retour à Paris, c’est la galeriste Jeanne Bucher qui la protège, en la cachant dans la chambre de sa fille. En 1944, à la demande de celle-ci, R. André photographiera Kandinsky sur son lit de mort. À partir de 1950, réduite à la pauvreté, elle se consacre surtout à la peinture, D’un caractère extrêmement difficile, selon les dires de nombreux témoins, elle vit dans une grande solitude, bien qu’ayant rencontré tous les peintres et écrivains du légendaire Montparnasse de l’entre-deux guerres. Tout au long de sa vie, elle aura été une artiste nomade, accrochant le regard des autres.

Lire plus

Catherine Gonnard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Alberto Giacometti, 1935, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 36,5 x 28,9 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, André Derain, 1935, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 38,1 x 28,6 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Dora Maar, 1941, épreuve gélatino-argentique, collection particulière

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Florent Fels, 1935, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 29,2 x 19,4 cm, MoMA

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Maurice Utrillo, 1943, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 39,1 x 30,4 cm, © Photo :  Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Droits réservés

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Peggy Guggenheim in Kay Sage’s house, Paris, 1940, épreuve gélatino-argentique, BnF

Rogi André — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rogi André, Piet Mondrian, 1937, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 40 x 30,1 cm, © Photo : Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Georges Meguerditchian, © Droits réservés

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29