Rosemarie Castoro

19392015 | New York, United States
Informations
Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Rosemarie Castoro in front a ‘Free Standing Wall’ in her studio, Spring Street, New York, 1970, vintage black and white polaroid photograph, 8.26 x 10.80 cm, 3.25 x 4.25 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

American visual artist.

While studying graphic design at the Pratt Institute in New York, Rosemarie Castoro was drawn to the experimental contemporary dance scene, in particular some of Yvonne Rainer’s choreography. After graduating, she decided to become a painter, but her work throughout her career reflects a special interest in the moving body. In the early 1960s, she joined conceptual and minimal art movements and was closely involved with their members. From 1961 to 1970, her life companion was Carl Andre (1935-), and a 1969 photograph shows other artists who were part of her close circle, such as Lawrence Weiner (1942-), Richard Long (1945-), Sol LeWitt (1928-2007), Robert Smithson (1938-1976) and Jan Dibbets (1941-). In 1971, she exhibited at the Tibor de Nagy Gallery a series of self-supporting wooden panels covered with graphite patterns imitating the marks of a brushstroke, repeated all over. Arranged as screens in the exhibition space, the pieces are more or less the same size as a human body. Their arrangement can be altered, influencing the way viewers walk, and it changes their environment by “sculpting” the space.

R. Castoro made those pieces the start of her “brushstrokes” series, massive brushstrokes spreading at random over her studio walls. One of them, Armpit Hair (1972), is a long sculpture made of a layer of plaster covered with graphite and applied to a wooden background with a broom. This imprint of the artist’s gesture looks like something growing organically from the existing structure. The works, hanging on their own or in a group and extending over every part of her living and working space, are called after parts of the body, an amused reference to the artist’s fragmented physical self. The title of the Armpit Hair sculpture-painting, deriding the smooth, hairless feminine ideal, echoes calls for the liberation of women’s bodies in the second wave of feminism in the United States. R. Castoro’s abstraction falls within the scope of the informal-looking eccentric abstraction backed by Lucy R. Lippard, who showed her conceptual pieces in the “Numbers Shows”: “557,087”in Seattle and “955,000” in Vancouver. At the start of her career, R. Castoro used the formal, pared-down, and mathematical language of the minimalists, but hers was a subversive version, infusing her work with a biographical and emotional content. In 1970, she wrote: “I think of myself as a container, and what I do as an eruption of what I am.” Although the idea of work embodying the subjectivity of the artist makes hers akin to feminist art, she refused to be categorized by her gender: “I do not consider myself as a woman artist. I am foremost an artist and do not want to be segregated in a quota system.” Her work, for many years underrated by art historians, is now enjoying renewed attention, as evidenced by a major retrospective at MAMCO in Geneva in 2019 and by its acquisition by the Centre Pompidou in the same year.

Read more

Laure Chauvelot

Translated from French by Thames & Hudson Ltd.

As published in Women in Abstraction © 2021 Thames & Hudson Ltd, London

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Red Blue Green Ochre Black, 1965, acrylic on canvas,  213.36 x 213.26 cm, 83.96 x 83.96 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Blue Red Gold Pink Green Yellow Y Bar, 1965, acrylic on canvas, 181.61 x 360.68 cm, 71.5 x 142 in. , © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, No Connection Whatsoever, 1968, Graphite on paper, 48.58 x 65.72 cm, 19 1/8 x 25 7/8 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Untitled (Concrete Poetry), 1969, prismacolor marker, graphite on graph paper, paper, 27.9 x 21.6 cm, 11 x 8.5 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Gallery Cracking, installation view of the exhibition Number 7 curated by Lucy Lippard, Paula Cooper Gallery, 1969, archival Photograph, vintage black and white photograph, 27.8 x 21.5 cm, 11 x 8.5 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Seattle Cracking, installation views at Seattle Center, Seattle, 1969, set of two archival photographs, 7 x 11 cm, 2 ¾ x 4 3/8 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Seattle Cracking, installation views at Seattle Center, Seattle, 1969, set of two archival photographs, 26.67 x 16.51 cm, 10 ½ x 6 ½ in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Eight Corners, 1971, graphite, marble dust, gesso, hollow core doors, 213.4 x 292 x 762 cm, 84 x 115.2 x 300 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Armpit Hair, 1972, masonite, wood, gesso, graphite, modeling paste 274.3 x 762 x 10 cm, 107.99 x 300 x 3.94 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Georgia Branch Dance, installation view at Mt. Berry, Georgia, July 16, 1974, black and white print on photo paper, 20.3 x 25.4 cm, 8 x 10 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Land of Lads, 1975, epoxy, steel, pigments, styrofoam, installation about: 203 x 580 x 60 cm, 79.92 x 228.35 x 23.62 in. , © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Land of Lashes, 1976, 8 sculptures, steel, fiberglass, epoxy, styrofoam, and pigment, installation area: 322 x 122 cm, 126.77 x 48.03 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Black Flasher B, 1979, galvanized steel, paint, 250 x 70 x 74 cm, 98.43 x 27.56 x 29.13 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Flashers, installation view at 780 Third Avenue, New York, 1984, black and white print on photo paper, frame: 30.2 x 36 x 3 cm, 11.89 x 14.17 x 1.18 in., © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Rosemarie Castoro

19392015 | New York, États-Unis
Informations
Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Rosemarie Castoro in front a ‘Free Standing Wall’ in her studio, Spring Street, New York, 1970, tirage polaroïde noir et blanc d’époque, 8,26 x 10,80 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Plasticienne états-unienne.

Au cours de ses études de design graphique au Pratt Institute de New York, Rosemarie Castoro se rapproche de la scène de la danse contemporaine expérimentale, participant notamment à certaines chorégraphies d’Yvonne Rainer. Une fois diplômée, elle décide de se consacrer quotidiennement à la peinture. Ses œuvres témoigneront pourtant tout au long de sa carrière d’un intérêt spécifique pour le corps en mouvement. Au début des années 1960, elle s’inscrit dans les mouvements conceptuel et minimal, dont elle fréquente assidûment les acteurs. Elle partage de 1961 à 1970 sa vie avec Carl Andre (1935-), on la voit également sur une photographie de 1969 aux côtés de Lawrence Weiner (1942-), Richard Long (1945-), Sol LeWitt (1928-2007), Robert Smithson (1938-1976) et Jan Dibbets (1941-). En 1971, elle présente à la Tibor de Nagy Gallery un ensemble de panneaux de bois autoportants recouverts de motifs tracés au graphite imitant les traces d’un coup de pinceau répété en all-over. Disposés tels des paravents dans l’espace d’exposition, ces œuvres ont sensiblement la taille d’un corps humain. Leur agencement peut varier, influant sur la déambulation du spectateur et transforme l’environnement dans lesquels ils s’insèrent en « sculptant » l’espace.

R. Castoro fait de ces œuvres la genèse de la série des brushstrokes, coups de pinceaux monumentaux s’étendant librement sur les murs de son atelier. Parmi ces œuvres, Armpit Hair (1972) est une longue sculpture composée d’une couche de plâtre recouverte de graphite et appliquée sur un support de bois à l’aide d’un balai. Cette empreinte du geste de l’artiste semble être une excroissance organique de l’architecture existante. Ces œuvres, accrochées seules ou en groupe, s’étendant dans tous les coins de son lieu de vie et de travail, portent des noms de partie du corps humain, clin d’œil amusé au corps de l’artiste fragmenté. Le titre de cette « peinture-sculpture », Poil sous les bras, qui dénonce le corps lisse et épilé comme idéal féminin, inscrit également R. Castoro dans la lutte pour la libération du corps des femmes menée pendant la seconde vague féministe aux États-Unis. L’abstraction de R. Castoro s’inscrit dans les recherches d’une abstraction « excentrique » à l’aspect informel soutenue par Lucy Lippard, qui présente d’ailleurs ses œuvres conceptuelles dans les Numbers Shows 557,087 à Seattle et 955,000 à Vancouver. Bien que R. Castoro adopte, au début de sa carrière, le vocabulaire formel épuré et mathématique des minimalistes, elle en propose une version subversive, insufflant à ses œuvres un contenu biographique et émotionnel. Elle écrit en 1970 : « Je me vois comme un récipient et ce que je crée comme une éruption de ce que je suis. » Si l’idée d’une œuvre incarnant la subjectivité de son auteur la rapproche de l’art féministe, elle refuse d’être catégorisée en fonction de son genre : « Je ne me considère pas comme une femme artiste. Je suis avant tout artiste et refuse d’être classée dans un système de quotas et de ségrégation. » Son œuvre, longtemps sous-évaluée par les historiens de l’art, reçoit aujourd’hui une attention renouvelée, entrant notamment en 2019 dans les collections du Centre Pompidou et bénéficiant la même année d’une importante rétrospective au MAMCO de Genève.

Lire plus

Laure Chauvelot

Publication en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction présentée au Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Galerie 1, Paris, du 5 mai au 23 août 2021, sous le commissariat de Christine Macel et de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska (pour la photographie), assistées de Laure Chauvelot. Notice tirée du catalogue de l’exposition publié par les éditions du Centre Pompidou ©Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2021

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Red Blue Green Ochre Black, 1965, acrylique sur toile, 213,36 x 213,26 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Blue Red Gold Pink Green Yellow Y Bar, 1965, acrylique sur toile, 181,61 x 360,68 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, No Connection Whatsoever, 1968, mine de plomb sur papier, 48,58 x 65,72 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Untitled (Concrete Poetry), 1969, marker prismacolor, mine de plomb sur papier milimétré, papier, 27,9 x 21,6 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Gallery Cracking, vue de l’installation à l’exposition Number 7 curatée par Lucy Lippard, Paula Cooper Gallery, 1969, image d’archive, tirage noir et blanc d’époque, 27,8 x 21,5 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Seattle Cracking, vue de l’installation au Seattle Center, Seattle, 1969, lot de deux images d’archives, 7 × 11 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Seattle Cracking, vue de l’installation au Seattle Center, Seattle, 1969, lot de deux images d’archives, 26,67 x 16,51 cm © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Eight Corners, 1971, mine de plomb, poussière de marbre, gesso, porte à âme creuse, 213,4 x 292 x 762 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Armpit Hair, 1972, masonite, bois, gesso, graphite, pâte à modeler, 274,3 x 762 x 10 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Georgia Branch Dance, vue de l’installation au Mt. Berry, Georgia, 16 juillet 1974, tirage noir et blanc sur papier photo, 20,3 x 25,4 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Land of Lads, 1975, epoxy, acier, pigments, polystyrène, installation d’environ : 203 x 580 x 60 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Land of Lashes, 1976, 8 sculptures, acier, fibre de verre, epoxy, polystyrène, et pigment, zone d’installation : 322 x 122 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Black Flasher B, 1979, acier galvanisé, peinture, 250 x 70 x 74 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Rosemarie Castoro — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rosemarie Castoro, Flashers, vue de l’installation au 780 Third Avenue, New York, 1984, tirage noir et blanc sur papier photo, cadre : 30,2 x 36 x 3 cm, © Estate of Rosemarie Castoro & Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29