Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite)

19302004 | Milan, Italy
Informations
Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino in her study

Italian painter.

Dadamaino’s friend, the artist Piero Manzoni, commented on her artistic aims in the catalogue accompanying a solo exhibition of her work in Padua in 1961, saying that she had overcome the “problem of painting” and that other parameters informed her work. She believed her works were the flags of a new world; they did not just “say something different”, they also said something new. Ten years earlier, Eduarda Emilia Maino (who became Dadamaino following an error in the catalogue for an exhibition in the Netherlands in 1961) began working as a self-taught painter. Her encounter with the work of Lucio Fontana, the father of Spatialism, led her towards a form of art that she conceived as a radical plunge into space and other possible dimensions. In the city of Milan, which had connections with the Paris art scene and was open to cultural exchanges with the Netherlands, Germany, and Denmark, artists began to look at hitherto unknown formal solutions and experimental techniques.

Dadamaino’s series “Volumi” [Volumes], dating from the late 1950s, are monochrome canvases punctured by elliptical holes, a form of conceptual exploration into the depth of the canvas. Her “Volumi a moduli sfasati” [Volumes with out-of-phase modules] feature thin overlapping plates of Rhodoid plastic, with each layer slightly shifted to produce a dynamic optical effect. Combining her studies of perception with her interest in geometry – following directly in the footsteps of the Paduan Group N and the Düsseldorf Group Zero – Dadamaino attracted the notice of the European art world with her “Oggetti ottico-dinamici” [Optical-dynamic objects] and “Oggetti visivi instabili” [Unstable visual objects], which were shown at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris in its 1964 exhibition of new international visual trends entitled Nouvelle Tendance: Propositions visuelles du mouvement international. In these works, she placed small aluminium plates, arranged according to size and based on precise mathematical calculations, onto nylon wires to create the optical effect of circular shapes. She explained that the resulting square and rectangular surfaces take on the appearance of semi-spheres with an elusive dynamic, adding that although static, the object appears to be in a constant state of motion and transformation.

After experimenting with aluminium, plastic, and Plexiglas, she went on to produce series such as “Ricerca del colore” (Research into colours), a chromatic combination of different colours of the spectrum based on a predetermined number of variations, and “Fluorescenti” [Fluorescents], created by sticking fluorescent strips onto a monochrome base, so that they took shape through the vibrations of the plastic and the effects of ultraviolet rays. She described the result as “lumino-kinetic”. She remains unforgettable for her obstinate and tireless exploration of the surface as a threshold, something that is crossed, while also opening up all sorts of possibilities. This is demonstrated in series such as “Inconscio razionale” [Rational unconscious] and “Alfabeto della mente” [Alphabet of the mind], in which calligraphic signs record oscillations of thought, brain patterns, pulses, and falls. The result is works that are both rigorous and lyrical.

Read more

Chiara Gatti

Translated from French by Thames & Hudson Ltd.

As published in Women in Abstraction © 2021 Thames & Hudson Ltd, London

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Volumi [Volumes], 1959, watercolor, 100 x 80 cm, Philippe Migeat, © Archivio Opera Dadamaino

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Subject Optical Dynamic no. 1, 1963, wood, machined aluminum and nylon, 96 x 96 cm, © Museo del Novecento, Milan, Italy Mondadori Portfolio/Electa/Luca Carrà/Bridgeman Images

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Sans titre, nd, perforated papier, 68 x 68 cm, private collection

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Ricerca del colore marrone su rosso, 1960 – 1970, acrylic technique on canvas board, 20 x 20 cm, private collection

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, The gates of the East (Le porte d’Oriente), 1990, polychrome mosaic, © Mondadori Portfolio/Marco Ravenna/Bridgeman Images

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite)

19302004 | Milan, Italie
Informations
Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino dans son atelier

Peintre italienne.

« Dada Maino a dépassé la « problématique picturale » : d’autres mesures donnent forme à son œuvre : ses tableaux sont les drapeaux d’un nouveau monde […] : ils ne se contentent pas de « dire différemment » : ils disent quelque chose de nouveau. » C’est ainsi que Piero Manzoni a commenté la recherche artistique de Dadamaino à l’occasion d’une de ses expositions personnelles à Padoue en 1961. Dix ans plus tôt, Eduarda Emilia Maino (devenue Dadamaino à la suite d’une erreur dans le catalogue d’une exposition en Hollande en 1961) avait commencé à peindre en autodidacte. Mais sa rencontre avec l’œuvre de Lucio Fontana, père du spatialisme, l’amena vers un art pensé comme une plongée radicale dans l’espace et autres dimensions possibles. Au cœur d’une Milan connectée à Paris et ouverte aux échanges culturels avec la Hollande, l’Allemagne et le Danemark, se déploie une réflexion tournée vers des solutions formelles inédites et des techniques expérimentales.

Les Volumi de la fin des années 1950 sont des toiles monochromes percées de trous ovales, une opération de fouille conceptuelle au creux de la toile. Les Volumi a moduli sfasati [volumes avec modules déphasés] superposent des feuilles de rhodoïd en en déplaçant légèrement le maillage afin de produire un effet de dynamique optique. Mariant ses études sur la perception au charme de la géométrie – dans la droite ligne des réflexions du Groupe N de Padoue ou du Groupe Zéro de Düsseldorf – Dadamaino fut remarquée sur la scène artistique européenne grâce aux Oggetti ottico-dinamici [Objets optique-dynamiques] ou Oggetti visivi instabili [Objets visuels instables] exposés au Musée des arts décoratifs de Paris au sein de l’exposition Nouvelle Tendance : Propositions visuelles du mouvement international en 1964. De petites plaques en aluminium placées par tailles, en ordre croissant et suivant des calculs mathématiques précis, sur des fils de nylon, créaient des impressions optiques de forme circulaire. « Les quadrilatères en surface ainsi obtenus, expliquait-elle, prennent l’apparence de demi-sphères à la dynamique fuyante […]. Bien que statique, l’objet donne l’impression d’être constamment en mouvement et en transformation. »

En testant l’aluminium, le plastique, le Plexiglas, elle aboutit à des séries telles que la Ricerca del colore [Recherche de couleur], fruit de la combinaison chromatique entre les différentes couleurs du spectre suivant un nombre déterminé de variations, et les Fluorescenti [Fluorescent] obtenus au moyen de bandes fluorescentes appliquées sur un fond monochrome, de telle sorte que celles-ci prennent corps grâce aux vibrations du plastique et aux effets des rayons ultra-violets ; elle qualifia le résultat de « luminocinétique ». Son entêtement à travailler sans relâche le thème de la surface comme seuil, à la fois lieu de la traversée et de tous les possibles, reste inoubliable, notamment dans des séries telles que Inconscio razionale [Inconscient rationnel] et Alfabeto della mente [Alphabet de l’esprit], où les signes calligraphiques enregistrent oscillations de la pensée, schémas cérébraux, pulsations et chutes. Œuvres tout autant rigoureuses que lyriques.

Lire plus

Chiara Gatti

Traduit de l'italien par Maïra Muchnik.

Publication en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction présentée au Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Galerie 1, Paris, du 5 mai au 23 août 2021, sous le commissariat de Christine Macel et de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska (pour la photographie), assistées de Laure Chauvelot. Notice tirée du catalogue de l’exposition publié par les éditions du Centre Pompidou ©Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2021

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Volumi [Volume], 1959, peinture à l’eau, 100 x 80 cm, Philippe Migeat, © Archivio Opera Dadamaino

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Subject Optical Dynamic no. 1, 1963, bois, aluminum usiné et nylon, 96 x 96 cm, © Museo del Novecento, Milan, Italie Mondadori Portfolio/Electa/Luca Carrà/Bridgeman Images

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Sans titre, nd, papier perforé, 68 x 68 cm, collection particulière

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, Ricerca del colore marrone su rosso, 1960 – 1970, technique acrylique sur carton entoilé, 20 x 20 cm, collection particulière

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dadamaino, The gates of the East (Le porte d’Oriente), 1990, mosaïque polychrome, © Mondadori Portfolio/Marco Ravenna/Bridgeman Images

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29