Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marta Pan

1923Budapest, Hungary | 2008Paris, France
Informations
Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo: Philippe Nahoum

Sponsor
— Galerie Mitterrand

Sculptrice française.

After studying at the School of Fine Arts in her hometown, Marta Pan came to Paris in 1947, where she met Brancusi. He showed her his base-free sculpture Newborn, which he set in motion with a little push – movement that would prove decisive in the rest of M. Pan’s career. She was granted French citizenship in 1952 and spent time in Le Corbusier’s workshop, where she met his closest collaborator and her future husband, the architect André Wogenscky. She attached great importance to the link between the work of art and its surroundings and became interested very early on in organic shapes, which she translated into an abstract plastic language. Her first sculptures are a combination of modular elements that can each function independently. The ripples of the water – on which her sculptures are often placed – produce a series of variations that follow an infinite rhythm (Floating Sculpture, 1961). Her first medium was wood (1954-1960), and some of her works were used as scenery elements for contemporary dance performances, even inspiring choreographies (Maurice Béjart). Her first monumental piece, Balance en deux, was commissioned by the Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, the Netherlands (1961). Other works followed: for the Maison de la Culture in Grenoble, in collaboration with her husband (1967); for the Faculty of Medicine in Saint-Antoine (1964); for the European Parliament in Luxembourg; for the entrance of the Auber metro station in Paris (1972). She made use of the novel properties of industrial materials like oxidised aluminium, Plexiglas, and polyester.

Some of her other pieces include a Water Wall (1984) at the entrance of the Regional Council in Rennes and a Floating Circuit (1986) on the Kerguéhennec Estate in Bignan (Morbihan). Says the artist, “Water structures and holds things together,” in the search for “another place, a quiet world in contrast with its surroundings.” She adds, “A haven of peace. And silence. The sound of water is a part of silence.” Her work was supported by the Galerie Arnaud in Paris from 1952 to 1968, and by museums which held retrospectives of her work (Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 1961; Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels, 1961; University of Southern California, 1972). Other exhibitions include the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles (as from 1950), Salon de la Jeune Sculpture (as from 1952), Milan Triennale, Comparaisons Salon, Paris Biennale, Salon de Mai, and Antwerp Biennale. The couple left behind a manifesto-house designed by André Wogenscky in Rémy-lès-Chevreuse (1952), which opens out onto the garden, where it finds an echo in Pan’s steel sculptures.

Read more

Scarlett Reliquet

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Sculpture flottante 6, 1973, unknown dimensions, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Le Signe Infini, 2002, steel, 140 x 23 x 23 cm, 55.1 x 9.1 x 9.1 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan in 1966 at the Salon international des galeries pilotes in Lausanne (Switzerland), preparing the temporary installation of one of her floating sculptures, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo: Marcel Ismand

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Charnière 1, 1952, terracotta, 18 x 15 x 24 cm, 7.1 x 5.9 x 9.4 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Double Porte, 2006, steel, 230 x 50 x 22 cm, 90.5 x 19.6 x 8.6 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Lentilles flottantes, 1994, casted resin, Ø 210 cm x 105 cm, Ø 82.7 x 41.4 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Gaiac 1, 1961-2017, Gaiac wood, 51 x 31 x 33 cm, 20.1 x 12.2 x 13 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo: Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Ellipse, 2000, stainless steel, 63 x 18 x 180 cm, 24.8 x 7.1 x 70.9 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marta Pan

1923Budapest, Hongrie | 2008Paris, France
Informations
Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo : Philippe Nahoum

Soutien
— Galerie Mitterrand

Sculptrice française.

Après des études aux Beaux-Arts dans sa ville natale, Marta Pan arrive à Paris en 1947, où elle fait la connaissance de Brancusi. Il lui montre sa sculpture sans base Un nouveau-né, à laquelle il impulse un petit mouvement, geste qui sera déterminant pour la suite de la carrière de M. Pan. Elle acquiert la nationalité française (1952) et fréquente l’atelier de Le Corbusier où elle rencontre le plus proche collaborateur de ce dernier, l’architecte André Wogenscky, qui deviendra son mari. Elle attache de l’importance au lien de l’œuvre avec son environnement et, dès ses débuts, s’intéresse aux formes organiques, qu’elle transpose dans un langage plastique abstrait. Ses premières sculptures sont composées d’éléments combinés, modulables, qui conservent chacun leur indépendance. Le mouvement – de l’eau, car ses sculptures sont le plus souvent installées sur des plans d’eau – induit une série de variations de formes, suivant un rythme infini (Sculpture flottante, 1961). Elle utilise d’abord le bois (1954-1960) et certaines œuvres (Équilibre, 1957 ; Teck, 1958) serviront de décors pour des spectacles de danse contemporaine, inspirant même des chorégraphies (Maurice Béjart). Balance en deux constitue sa première commande monumentale réalisée pour le parc du musée Kröller-Müller d’Otterlo, aux Pays-Bas (1961). Suivront d’autres œuvres : pour la Maison de la culture de Grenoble, en collaboration avec son mari (1967) ; pour la faculté de médecine de Saint-Antoine (1964) ; pour le Parlement européen de Luxembourg ; pour les entrées de la station de métro Auber (1972). Elle exploite les qualités nouvelles des matériaux industriels les plus récents comme l’aluminium oxydé, le Plexiglas ou le polyester.

Elle réalise un Mur d’eau pour l’entrée du bâtiment de l’assemblée régionale de Rennes (1984) et un Parcours flottant (1986) dans le domaine de Kerguéhennec à Bignan (Morbihan). « Car l’eau structure et tient », affirme l’artiste, qui cherche « un ailleurs, un monde serein en rupture avec ce qui l’entoure ». « Une enclave de paix. Et de silence. Le bruit de l’eau fait partie du silence », ajoute-t-elle. La galerie Arnaud, à Paris, a soutenu son travail en l’exposant régulièrement (1952-1968), en même temps que les musées qui lui ont consacré des rétrospectives (Stedelijk Museum d’Amsterdam, 1961 ; Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, 1961 ; University of Southern California, 1972). Elle est présente au salon Réalités nouvelles (depuis 1950), au Salon de la jeune sculpture (depuis 1952), à la Triennale de Milan, au salon Comparaisons, à la Biennale de Paris, au Salon de mai ou à la Biennale d’Anvers. Le couple a laissé à Saint-Rémy-lès-Chevreuse (1952) une maison-manifeste, construite par André Wogenscky, ouverte sur la nature, avec laquelle ses sculptures en acier dialoguent.

Lire plus

Scarlett Reliquet

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Sculpture flottante 6, 1973, dimensions inconnues, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Le Signe Infini, 2002, acier, 140 x 23 x 23 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan en 1966 au Salon international des galeries pilotes à Lausanne lors de l’installation temporaire d’une de ses sculptures flottantes, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo : Marcel Ismand

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Charnière 1, 1952, terre cuite, 18 x 15 x 24 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Double Porte, 2006, acier, 230 x 50 x 22 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Lentilles flottantes, 1994, résine moulée, Ø 210 cm x 105 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Gaiac 1, 1961-2017, bois de Gaiac, 51 x 31 x 33 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky, © Photo : Rebecca Fanuele

Marta Pan — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Pan, Ellipse, 2000, inox, 63 x 18 x 180 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29