Monica Bonvicini

1965 | Venice, Italy
Informations
Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Martin Bahler

Sponsor
— Studio Monica Bonvici

Italian visual artist.

Monica Bonvicini studied in Berlin (1986-1990), then in Los Angeles, at the California Institute of the Arts (1991-1992). Her work was presented in the mid-1990s and soon propelled her onto the international stage, with exhibitions held in many institutions (Kunstmuseum in Basel, Le Magasin in Grenoble, the Kunsthalle in Kassel, Palais de Tokyo in Paris, Museum of Contemporary Art in Vigo, Palazzo Grassi in Venice, and the Secession in Vienna). She obtained the Lion d’Or at the Venice Biennale in 1999 and the Berlin National Gallery Prize in 2005. In 2007, she won a public commission: a floating sculpture, opposite the new Opera House of Oslo (Norway). Her work is “political” and deeply rooted in contemporary society. The artist questions, sometimes violently, the traditional power structures governing male-female relationships and methodically deconstructs social, cultural, and identity-based systems of values. She thus undertakes a critical analysis of architecture, its codes and representations, in terms of sexuality: I Believe in the Skin of Things as in that of Women (1999), a title borrowed from a quote from Le Corbusier, consists of a plasterboard space whose walls bear citations from famous architects, juxtaposed with caricatured and sometimes obscene drawings that ridicule the great masters of modernism. Physical destruction is sometimes added to the moral destruction, as in Hammering Out (an old argument) (1998), a filmed performance showing a woman’s arms striking a wall with the blows of a hammer, or Plastered (1998), a fake floor covering an exhibition space, destined to be destroyed by the flow of visitors. Without being truly participatory, Bonvicini’s creations involve spectators in a particular process, from which they are sometimes rejected, but for which they remain the target. In this way, while the inscriptions in light bulbs and mirrors in Not For You (2006) address visitors, they also leave them out. The body in a space, in a building, within a given environment, constitutes one of the problematics that the artist develops throughout her work.

While architecture constitutes a field of questioning of power relations that reveals a male-female power imbalance, from the 2000s, the artist has diversified her research, focusing on other forms of domination, such as the practice of sadomasochism, appropriating its characteristic elements – black leather and steel chains – which she combines with metal grids and shattered glass, subverting all of this in service to powerful and sardonic stagings (Never again, 2005; Identity Protection, 2006). Leather thus becomes an emblematic material in many of her artworks (Black You, 2010; Leather Chainsaw, 2004; Leather Tools, 2009), as do steel chains (Black, 2002; Knotted (big) 2004; Stairway to Hell, 2003; and Scale of Things [to come], 2010). Whether defined by their absence or presence, women play an important role, especially in performances that denounce masculine hegemony (Hausfrau Swinging, 1997; Wallfuckin’, 1995-1996). Through her approach, the artist develops a discourse that falls within the legacy of the feminist movements of the 1970s, such as the Feminist Art Movement, a very active group whose aim was to fight sexism. However, here it is not so much a matter of taking up a position in favour of women as it is of deconstructing the traditional relationships between the sexes within society. In her works, the woman is therefore not considered an object of desire or categorised by a series of clichés. For M. Bonvicini, women are a potentially destructive force, capable of destabilising authoritarian structures and overthrowing masculine domination, sometimes becoming the dominant party themselves.

Read more

Ludovic Delalande

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, SCALE OF THINGS (to come), 2010, galvanized steel pipes, galvanized plates and chains, clamps, 393 x 192 x 485 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Hammering Out (an old argument), 1998, video color projection, sound, amplifier, two speakers, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Destroy She Said, 1998, two channel color video projection, stereo sound, two drywall screens, wood, white paint, four speakers, red lights or foils, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Latent Combustion no.3, 2015, chainsaws, black polyurethan, matt finish, steel chains, hooks, 300 x 135 x 135 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Light Me Black, 2009, 144 lampes fluorescentes, luminaires en métal blanc, structure en avier, câbles électriques, 2 disjoncteurs, chaînes en acier, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, NOT FOR YOU, 2006, galvanised steel, light bulbs, dimmer, electric cabels, 74 x 300 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, RUN, 2012, 12 mm ESG white-glass with inside IpaChrome coating, PVB foil, 10 mm TVG white-glass, Dibond mirror, stainless steel, stainless steel cover (with mirror polished surface), high-performance-LED in plastic cover, 2150 x 900 x 1860 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, These Days only a Few Men Know What Work Really Means, 1999, seven digital prints on foil, display walls, 239 x 97 cm each, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Wallfuckin’, 1995/96, b/w video on monitor, sound, amplifier, speakers, drywall panels, aluminium studs, bricks and mortar, white paint, wood panels, door, 250 x 310 x 330 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, WIldfire Kern 2010, 2016, tempera and spray paint on Fabriano paper mounted on canvas, 197 x 307 cm, © Monica Bonvicini and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Monica Bonvicini

1965 | Venise, Italie
Informations
Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Martin Bahler

Soutien
— Studio Monica Bonvici

Plasticienne italienne.

Monica Bonvicini suit des études à Berlin (1986-1990), puis à Los Angeles, au California Institute of the Arts (1991-1992). Présentée au milieu des années 1990, son œuvre la propulse rapidement sur la scène artistique internationale et fait l’objet d’expositions dans de nombreuses institutions (Kunstmuseum de Bâle ; Le Magasin à Grenoble ; Kunsthalle de Kassel ; palais de Tokyo à Paris ; musée d’Art contemporain à Vigo ; Palazzo Grassi à Venise ; Secession à Vienne). Elle obtient le Lion d’or à la Biennale de Venise en 1999 et le prix de la National galerie de Berlin en 2005. En 2007, elle décroche une commande publique : une sculpture flottante, face au nouvel Opéra House d’Oslo (Norvège). « Engagée », son œuvre s’inscrit profondément dans la société contemporaine. L’artiste questionne, parfois avec violence, les structures traditionnelles du pouvoir, qui régissent les rapports homme/femme et déconstruit de façon méthodique les systèmes de valeurs sociales, culturelles et identitaires. Elle mène alors une analyse critique sur l’architecture, ses codes et ses représentations, en termes de sexualité : I Believe in the Skin of Things as in That of Women (1999), titre emprunté à une citation de Le Corbusier, est un espace en placoplâtre, dont les parois portent des citations d’architectes célèbres dialoguant avec des dessins caricaturaux, parfois obscènes, qui tournent en ridicule les grand maîtres du modernisme ; à la destruction morale s’ajoute parfois une destruction physique, comme dans Hammering Out (an old argument) (1998), performance filmée, montrant le bras d’une femme assenant un mur de coups de marteau, ou encore Plastered (1998), faux sol recouvrant un espace d’exposition, voué à être détruit par le flux de visiteurs. Sans être pour autant participatives, les réalisations de M. Bonvicini impliquent le spectateur dans un processus particulier, d’où il est parfois rejeté, mais dont il demeure le destinataire. Ainsi, les inscriptions en ampoules et en miroir de Not For You (2006), tout en s’adressant au visiteur, le mettent à l’écart. Le corps dans un espace, dans une architecture, au sein d’un milieu donné, constitue une des problématiques que l’artiste développe à travers l’ensemble de ses œuvres.

Si l’architecture constitue un domaine de questionnement du pouvoir révélateur de l’asymétrie homme/femme, à partir des années 2000, la plasticienne diversifie ses recherches en s’intéressant à d’autres formes de domination, telle que la pratique du sadomasochisme, dont elle s’approprie des éléments caractéristiques – cuir noir et chaînes en acier –, qu’elle combine avec des grilles métalliques et du verre éclaté, le tout étant détourné au service de mises en scène fortes et grinçantes (Never again, 2005 ; Identity Protection, 2006). Le cuir devient alors une matière emblématique de nombre de ses œuvres (Black You, 2010 ; Leather Chainsaw, 2004 ; Leather Tools, 2009), de même que les chaînes en acier (Black, 2002 ; Knotted (big) 2004 ; Starway to Hell, 2003 ; Scale of Things [to come], 2010). Qu’elle soit définie par son absence ou sa présence, la femme occupe une place importante, et, plus particulièrement, dans des performances qui dénoncent l’hégémonie masculine (Hausfrau Swinging, 1997 ; Wallfuckin’, 1995-1996). À travers sa démarche, l’artiste développe un discours qui l’inscrit dans l’héritage des mouvements féministes des années 1970, tels que le Feminist Art Movement, groupe très actif qui entendait lutter contre le sexisme. Cependant, il ne s’agit pas tant de prendre position en faveur de la femme que de déconstruire les rapports traditionnels entre les sexes au sein de la société. De fait, dans ses pièces, la femme n’est pas considérée comme un objet de désir ou catégorisée par un ensemble de clichés. Pour M. Bonvicini, la femme est une force potentiellement destructrice, capable de déstabiliser les structures autoritaires et de renverser la domination masculine, devenant parfois elle-même dominatrice.

Lire plus

Ludovic Delalande

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, SCALE OF THINGS (to come), 2010, tuyaux en acier galvanisé, plaques et chaînes galvanisées, pinces, 393 x 192 x 485 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Hammering Out (an old argument), 1998, projection vidéo en couleurs, son, amplificateur, deux haut-parleurs, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Destroy She Said, 1998, deux projections vidéo en couleurs, son stéréo, deux écrans de cloison sèche, bois, peinture blanche, quatre haut-parleurs, éclairage ou papier rouge, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Latent Combustion no.3, 2015, tronçonneuses, Polyuréthane noir, finition mate, chaînes en acier, crochets, 300 x 135 x 135 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Light Me Black, 2009, 144 lampes fluorescentes, luminaires en métal blanc, structure en avier, câbles électriques, 2 disjoncteurs, chaînes en acier, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, NOT FOR YOU, 2006, acier galvanisé, ampoules, variateur, câbles électriques, 74 x 300 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, RUN, 2012, verre blanc ESG 12 mm avec revêtement intérieur IpaChrome, feuille PVB, verre blanc TVG 10 mm, miroir Dibond, acier inoxydable, couvercle en acier inoxydable (avec surface polie miroir), LED haute performance en plastique, 2150 x 900 x 1860 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, These Days only a Few Men Know What Work Really Means, 1999, sept impressions numériques sur film, murs d’affichage, 239 x 97 cm chacune, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, Wallfuckin’, 1995/96, vidéo noir et blanc sur moniteur, son, amplificateur, heut-parleurs, panneaux de cloison sèche, goujons en aluinium, briques et mortier, peinture blanche, panneaux de bois, porte, 250 x 310 x 330 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Monica Bonvicini — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Bonvicini, WIldfire Kern 2010, 2016, tempera et peinture en aérosol sur papier Fabriano monté sur toile, 197 x 307 cm, © Monica Bonvicini et VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29