Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Discover

Monumental feminist works in the public space
09.08.2018 | Louise Sénéchal

In 1967, Niki de Saint Phalle built her first Nana-Maison and started to occupy public places with round, colourful female figures, restoring their place to women creators in towns which had mainly been occupied by men. “The flourishing of her colossal urban art corresponds in the same way to the arrival on the public scene of the women’s rights protest movement of which she forged a plastic equivalent,” explained art historian, Fabienne Dumont. At a time when the fields of sculpture and architecture were considered as masculine, women artists recaptured public places by installing monumental works, refusing the domesticity to which they were confined. It was a way of showing that women are capable of the same achievements as men: “I obey my pressing need to show that a woman can work on monumental scale,” said Niki de Saint Phalle regarding the creation of her sculpture park, Le Jardin des Tarots (1978-1998).

Feminist artists who create monumental works for public places wished to offer a more democratic art in tune with inhabitants. To do this, some first took over the streets in a non-conventional fashion by directly addressing passersby. They flooded towns with their messages: In 1978, using 54 NI panels, Tania Mouraud indicated all the places in Paris from which women were excluded, and as of 1977, Jenny Holzer showcased her Truismes. Others used monumental advertising posters: in 1989, the Guerrilla Girls asked: “Do women have to be naked to get into the Met. Museum?”, and Barbara Kruger used the phrase: “Your body is a battleground” to protect abortion rights in the United States, a slogan that French urban artist, Miss.Tic, would reuse in 2000 in Paris.

Other artists with feminist preoccupations have had works commissioned by government bodies, for which they have produced monumental sculptures: Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely in 1983 with the Fontaine Stravinsky in Paris; Louise Bourgeois in 2005 with her spiders called Maman; Monica Bonvicini, in 2010, with She Lies, a floating structure opposite the Oslo Opera, Joana Vasconcelos in 2018 with Cœur de Paris at Porte de Clignancourt, on tramway line T3 in Paris.

Feminist artists also give written and visual portrayals of the demands heard in the demonstrations of the 1960s and 1970s. Viewers are thus confronted with works by women which are more and more imposing and more and more perennial. These women creators of an inclusive town thus give women a right to express themselves in public.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Découvrir

Œuvres féministes monumentales dans l’espace public
09.08.2018 | Louise Sénéchal

En 1967, Niki de Saint Phalle réalise sa première Nana-Maison et commence à envahir les lieux publics de figures féminines rondes et colorées, redonnant aux femmes créatrices leur place dans des villes principalement investies par les hommes. « L’éclosion de son art urbain gigantesque correspond de même à la venue sur la scène publique du mouvement féministe revendicatif, dont elle forge un équivalent plastique. » explique l’historienne de l’art Fabienne Dumont. À une époque où les métiers de sculpteur ou d’architecte étaient considérés comme masculins, des artistes femmes se sont réapproprié l’espace public en y installant des œuvres monumentales, refusant la domesticité à laquelle on les cantonnait. Un moyen de montrer que les femmes sont capables des mêmes prouesses que les hommes : « J’obéis à mon besoin pressant de montrer qu’une femme peut travailler à une échelle monumentale » dit Niki de Saint Phalle à propos de la création de son parc de sculptures, Le Jardin des Tarots (1978-1998).

Les artistes féministes qui créent des œuvres monumentales pour les lieux collectifs souhaitent proposer un art plus démocratique en prise directe avec les citoyen·ne·s. Pour ce faire, certaines ont d’abord pris possession de la rue de manière sauvage en s’adressant directement aux passant·e·s. Elles inondent les villes de leurs messages : Tania Mouraud indique tous les endroits parisiens dont les femmes sont exclues avec 54 panneaux NI en 1978, et Jenny Holzer diffuse ses Truismes à partir de 1977 ; ou bien détournent l’affichage publicitaire monumental : en 1989, les Guerrillas Girls interrogent : « Do women have to be naked to get into the Met. Museum ? », et Barbara Kruger reprend : « Your body is a battleground » pour protéger l’avortement aux États-Unis, slogan qu’utilisera   en français l’artiste urbaine Miss.Tic en 2000 à Paris.

D’autres artistes aux préoccupations féministes ont pu accéder à la commande publique, pour laquelle elles réalisent de gigantesques sculptures : Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely en 1983 avec la Fontaine Stravinsky à Paris ; Louise Bourgeois en 2005 avec ses araignées appelées Maman ; Monica Bonvicini, en 2010, avec She Lies, une structure flottante face à l’Opéra d’Oslo ; ou encore Joana Vasconcelos en 2018 avec Cœur de Paris sur la ligne du tramway T3, Porte de Clignancourt à Paris.

Les artistes féministes donnent ainsi à lire, puis à voir, les revendications entendues dans les manifestations des années 1960-70. Les spectateurs et spectatrices sont alors confronté·e·s à des œuvres d’artistes femmes de plus en plus imposantes et de plus en plus pérennes. Ces créatrices d’une ville inclusive redonnent ainsi aux femmes un droit d’expression sur la place publique.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29