Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nan Goldin

1953 | Washington, United States
Informations
Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie with me after I was punched, Baltimore, Md. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 31.6 x 48 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

American photographer.

An icon of the 1980s, Nan Goldin revolutionised photography, transforming her life into art. For more than forty years, she photographed the private lives of her loved ones: fits of laughter, parties, sex, drugs, tight embraces, children, illness, and burials. The artist sought to hold onto each moment shared with her friends, struggling with all her might against time and oblivion. She also created many self-portraits, including the very famous Nan one month after being battered (1984). In the late 1980s, with many of her best friends succumbing to the curse of AIDS, she photographed them as they died. Her work, which she presented as a “visual diary”, became the story of an entire generation. Unlike Diane Arbus, with whom she is often compared, she abolished the conventional distance that separated her from her subjects: “I want to show exactly what my world looks like, without glamorization, without glorification” (The Ballad of Sexual Dependency, 2006). Coming from a bourgeoise family from the Washington suburbs, she was traumatised by the suicide of her older sister Barbara Holly at the age of 18, a highly gifted pianist, her soulmate and paragon. Her parents attempted in vain to make her suicide pass for an accident. This drama was determinant in Nan Goldin’s artistic orientation, her libertarian lifestyle, and her concern for truth: “Photography and drugs saved my life,” she affirmed. At the age of 15, she ran away from home and taught herself photography.

In 1972, she entered the Boston College of Fine Arts and joined a marginal group introduced to her by her friend and photographer David Armstrong, who later became a drag queen. At that time, she mainly photographed – obsessionally and in black and white – the daily life that she shared with her transvestite friends in clubs and bars, but also moments of intimacy. Her arrival in New York in 1978 marked her transition into colour. Progressively, her framing grew tighter. She lived in squats, working as a waitress and rubbing shoulders with the underground that she tirelessly photographed, as well as her friends: Cookie Mueller (1949-1989), Sharon Niesp, Bruce Balboni, and D. Armstrong, who had followed her from Boston. She organised screenings at her home and in clubs and set to work on her masterpiece, which, sixteen years later, was to constitute her apogee: The Ballad of Sexual Dependency, a slideshow of over 700 images, accompanied by songs of various kinds, such as the repertoire of James Brown and Maria Callas. This slideshow inaugurated a new genre, which was similar to film and broke away from the dominant postmodern aesthetic. These screenings as well as her photographic installations entitled Grids were arranged in a series of themes underpinning the narrative: nudes, women in front of the mirror, C. Mueller, and lovemaking scenes. The Ballad was notably presented live at the Tate Britain in 2004 and at the Arles arena in 2009. Over the preceding years, major touring exhibitions had been dedicated to her: at the Whitney Museum in 1985 and 1986; at the Centre Georges Pompidou in 2001; and at the Matthew Marks Gallery in 2003. She took advantage of her extensive travels to produce new series, particularly in Japan. In 2004, N. Goldin left a memorable mark on spectators’ minds with her multimedia installation Sisters, Saints and Sibyls shown at the Salpêtrière chapel and organised by the Festival d’Automne in Paris, where she paid a vibrant homage to her sister. At the Musée du Louvre in 2010, she presented Scopophilia, a slideshow combining photographs of artworks from the museum and images from her personal archives.

Read more

Pauline Guélaud

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Roommate in her Chair, Boston, 1972, gelatin-silver print, 50.8 x 40.1 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Roommate with teacup, Boston, 1972, gelatin-silver print, 50.5 x 40.3 cm, © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, New York, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, New York, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Sharon dancing in the Back Room, Provincetown, Ma. 1976, 1976, cibachrome, 45 x 61.5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Millie in the Girl’s room at the Mudd Club, N.Y.C. 1979, 1979, cibachrome, 45 x 61.5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie at Tin Pan Alley, N.Y.C. 1983, 1983, cibachrome, 45 x 61.5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie with me after I was punched, Baltimore, Md. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 31.6 x 48 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Vittorio’s wedding : the ring, N.Y.C. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 45 x 61.5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie in her casket, N.Y.C. Nov. 15, 1989, 1989, cibachrome, 45 x 61.5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo: Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Heartbeat, 2000, projection of 245 slides, variable dimensions, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Soeurs, Saintes et Sibylles, 2004, cibachrome, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo courtesy: Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Soeurs, Saintes et Sibylles, 2004, cibachrome, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo courtesy: Nan Goldin

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nan Goldin

1953 | Washington, États-Unis
Informations
Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie with me after I was punched, Baltimore, Md. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 31,6 x 48 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Photographe américaine.

Icône des années 1980, Nan Goldin a révolutionné la photographie, en faisant de sa vie son œuvre. Durant près de quarante ans, elle n’a eu de cesse de photographier ses proches dans leur intimité. Fous rires, soirées, sexe, drogue, étreintes, enfants, maladie, enterrement. L’artiste a cherché retenir chaque moment partagé avec ses amis, luttant de toute ses forces contre le temps et l’oubli. Elle a également réalisé de nombreux autoportraits, dont le très célèbre Nan One Month After Being Battered (« Nan un mois après avoir été battue », 1984). À a fin des années 1980, le fléau du sida déferle, emportant ses meilleurs amis, qu’elle aura ainsi photographiées jusqu’à la mort. Son œuvre, qu’elle présente comme un « journal intime », devient le récit de toute une génération. Contrairement à Diane Arbus, à qui elle est souvent comparée, elle a aboli la distance conventionnelle qui la séparait de ses sujets : « Je veux montrer exactement à quoi mon monde ressemble, sans glamour, sans glorification » (The Ballade of Sexual Dependency, 2006). Issue d’une famille bourgeoise de la banlieue de Washington, elle est traumatisée par le suicide à l’âge de 18 ans de sa sœur aînée Barbara Holly, pianiste émérite, son âme sœur et son modèle. Ses parents tentent en vain de faire passer le suicide pour un accident. Ce drame est déterminant dans son orientation artistique, son mode de vie libertaire et son souci de vérité : « La photographie et la drogue m’ont sauvé la vie », affirme-t-elle. À l’âge de 15 ans, elle s’enfuit du domicile familial et s’initie à la photographie.

En 1972, elle entre au Boston College of Fine Arts et pénètre un milieu marginal par l’entremise de son ami et photographe David Armstrong, qui devient dragqueen. À cette époque, elle photographie essentiellement en noir et blanc, et, de façon obsessionnelle, le quotidien qu’elle partage avec ses proches travestis, les clubs, les bars, mais également les moments d’intimité. Son arrivée à New York en 1978 marque son passage à la couleur. Progressivement son cadrage se rapproche. Elle vit alors dans les squats, travaille comme serveuse, et côtoie la sphère underground qu’elle photographie sans relâche, ainsi que ses amis : Cookie Mueller (1949 – 1989), Sharon Niesp, Bruce Balboni et D. Armstrong, qui l’ont suivie depuis Boston. Elle organise des séances de projection chez elle ou dans des clubs et débute son chef-d’œuvre qui, seize ans plus tard, marquera son apogée : The Ballad of Sexual Dependency, un diaporama de plus de 700 images, accompagné de chansons d’inspirations diverses, telles que le répertoire de James Brown ou de Maria Callas. Ce slideshow (« diaporama ») inaugure un genre nouveau, proche du cinéma et en rupture avec l’esthétique postmoderne dominante. Ces projections ainsi que ses installations photographiques intitulées Grids (« grilles ») s’agencent en une succession de thèmes qui sous-tendent la dramaturgie du récit : les nus, les femmes au miroir, C. Mueller, les scènes d’amour. The Ballade est notamment présentée en live à la Tate Britain en 2004, et dans les arènes d’Arles en 2009. Au cours des années précédentes, d’importantes expositions itinérantes lui ont été consacrées : Whitney Museum en 1985 et 1986 ; Centre Georges-Pompidou en 2001 ; Matthew Marks Gallery en 2003. Elle profite de ses nombreux voyages pour réaliser de nouvelles séries, en particulier au Japon. En 2004, N. Goldin marque profondément les esprits avec son installation multimédia Sœurs, Saintes et Sibylles à la chapelle de la Salpêtrière, organisé par le Festival d’automne à Paris, où elle livre un vibrant hommage à sa sœur. En 2010, elle présente Scopophilia au musée du Louvre, un diaporama où se mêlent photographies des œuvres du musée et images extraites de ses archives personnelles.

Lire plus

Pauline Guélaud

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Roommate in her Chair, Boston, 1972, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 50,8 x 40,1 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Roommate with teacup, Boston, 1972, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 50,5 x 40,3 cm, © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, New York, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, New York, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Sharon dancing in the Back Room, Provincetown, Ma. 1976, 1976, cibachrome, 45 x 61,5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Millie in the Girl’s room at the Mudd Club, N.Y.C. 1979, 1979, cibachrome, 45 x 61,5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie at Tin Pan Alley, N.Y.C. 1983, 1983, cibachrome, 45 x 61,5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie with me after I was punched, Baltimore, Md. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 31,6 x 48 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie and Vittorio’s wedding : the ring, N.Y.C. 1986, 1986, cibachrome, 45 x 61,5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Cookie in her casket, N.Y.C. Nov. 15, 1989, 1989, cibachrome, 45 x 61,5 cm, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo : Yves Chenot

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Heartbeat, 2000, projection de 245 diapositives, dimensions variables, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, © Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Soeurs, Saintes et Sibylles, 2004, cibachrome, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo courtesy : Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nan Goldin, Soeurs, Saintes et Sibylles, 2004, cibachrome, © Nan Golding, © CNAP, © Photo courtesy : Nan Goldin

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29