Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Discover

“Staging one’s life”: autofictions by women artists
30.03.2019 | Cassandre Langlois

“All my work of the last fifty years, all my subjects, have found their inspiration in my childhood”, Louise Bourgeois once said (Louise Bourgeois. Album, New York, Peter Blum, 1994). When the works of an artist come to grips with childhood trauma, they become repositories of a “true” and “fantasised” life.

Throughout the 1970s, a new genre combining fiction and autobiography began to come into use. It was called autofiction, a word coined by the writer Serge Doubrovsky in 1977. In literature, autofiction enables the author, who is also both the narrator and the main character, to recount his or her life in a novelised form. In the field of visual arts, several artists have used this process in which they become both players and creators in a narration that combines fiction and reality, while also maintaining an ambiguity as to the truthfulness of the facts depicted.

This is the case for Sophie Calle, who began to create factual narration and to take an interest in the notion of intimacy as early as 1978 by openly staging elements from her own life in writing and photography. For No Sex Last Night (1992), she asked her partner Greg Shephard to film their relationship. In doing so, the artist constructed her own “individual mythology”, an expression used by Harald Szeemann to describe one of the sections of documenta 5 Kassel in 1972. The 1970s would come to be known for the large number of works in which artists explored their personal lives; Annette Messager, for instance, used the first person form in the titles of her “album-collections” – Mes clichés témoins [Control Snapshots, 1971-1973], Mes jalousies [My Jealousies, 1972] – and pieces from the 1980s – Mes trophées [My Trophies, 1987], Mes petites effigies [My Little Effigies, 1988], and Mes vœux [My Vows, 1989].

In their process of documenting the artist’s life, Florence Paradeis’ photographs are populated by members of her circle of family and friends staged in fake tableaux of their everyday activities. As for Florence Chevallier, her existentialist soul-searching leads her to stage her own body, revealing its most secret facets.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Découvrir

« Sa vie en scène » : autofictions d’artistes femmes
30.03.2019 | Cassandre Langlois

« Toutes les œuvres depuis ces cinquante dernières années, tous les thèmes dont je m’inspire viennent de mon enfance » affirmait Louise Bourgeois (Louise Bourgeois. Album, New York, Ed. Peter Blum, 1994). En appréhendant notamment les traumatismes de l’enfance, les œuvres de l’artiste deviennent réceptacle d’une vie « réelle » et « fantasmée ».

Au cours des années 1970, un genre nouveau, mêlant la fiction à l’autobiographie, tente d’être défini. On parle d’autofiction, un concept que l’on doit à l’écrivain Serge Doubrovsky (1977). En littérature, l’autofiction permet à l’auteur ou autrice, qui est aussi narrateur ou narratrice et personnage, d’évoquer sa propre vie de façon romancée. Dans les arts plastiques, plusieurs artistes deviennent actrices et/ou metteuses en scène d’un récit liant fiction et réalité, en laissant demeurer le doute quant à la véracité des faits exprimés.

C’est le cas de Sophie Calle qui, dès 1978, élabore des récits factuels et s’intéresse à la question de l’intime. Elle affirme mettre en scène sa propre vie, à l’aide de textes et de photographies. Pour No Sex Last Night (1992), elle demande à son compagnon Greg Shephard de filmer leur relation. L’artiste élabore ainsi sa « mythologie individuelle », l’expression utilisée par Harald Szeemann afin de désigner une section de la 5e documenta de Cassel en 1972. Cette décennie est, en effet, marquée par de nombreux travaux dans lesquels les artistes explorent leur histoire personnelle ; Annette Messager utilise la première personne du singulier dans les titres de ses « albums-collections » des années 1970 : Mes clichés témoins (1971-1973), Mes jalousies (1972), ou ceux de pièces réalisées dans les années 1980 : Mes trophées (1987), Mes petites effigies (1988), Mes vœux (1989).

Cherchant à rendre compte du vécu de l’artiste, les photographies de Florence Paradeis sont habitées par les membres de son entourage faussement révélés dans leurs activités quotidiennes. Quant à Florence Chevallier, guidée par un questionnement existentialiste, elle scénographie son propre corps ; ses photographies le révèlent sous ses angles les plus secrets.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29