Samia Halaby

1936 | Jerusalem, Palestine
Informations
Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Samia Halaby at Judith Nelson show at New England college, 1974 © Don King

Palestinian painter.

Samia Halaby is a leading contemporary abstract painter and a prominent scholar of Palestinian art. In addition to her career as an artist, she is also heralded as a creative thinker, educator and activist. In the past three decades, she has widely published on art history, art pedagogy and aesthetics.
In 1948, S. Halaby’s family was displaced from Palestine and settled in the United States in 1951. She was educated in the American Midwest when Abstract Expressionism was very popular, but the art world ignored women abstract painters. In the early 1960s, shortly after graduating with a Master of Fine Arts in painting from Indiana University Bloomington, S. Halaby began teaching at the Kansas City Art Institute. She travelled to the Eastern Mediterranean on a faculty research grant in 1964 and did intensive research on geometric abstraction in the Islamic architecture of the region, which has been a major source of inspiration for her work.

In 1972 she became the first full-time female associate professor at the Yale School of Art. However, after retaining this role for a decade, she was denied tenure. S. Halaby and her colleagues organised the exhibition On Trial: Yale School of Art at 22 Wooster Gallery in Manhattan in 1982-1983 to protest the school’s discriminating staff practices against women and people of colour. S. Halaby taught at several universities across the United States for over thirty years. She had many solo shows across Europe, North America and the Middle East, and her paintings have been collected by major museums since the 1970s, including the Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris, the Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha, and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.

S. Halaby’s abstract works stem from a deep and long-term interest in theories of the act of seeing and visual perception. Nature, primarily native Palestinian trees such as the olive tree, often inspire her works. The artist also draws inspiration from a variety of artistic styles, including early Islamic architecture and the Soviet avant-garde. In works such as Geometric Still Life (1966-1970), Helixes and Cycloids (1971-1975) and Diagonal Flight series (1974-1979), she approaches the representation of reality through abstraction, creating formal properties that correspond to the tonal colour values found in nature. Intensely focusing on the perception of boundaries in representing three-dimensional objects, S. Halaby makes edges almost disappear. Treating them with precision and yet at the same time relying on the formal characteristics of local colour and shade, the artist communicates depth and volume with an examination of the significance of shadows.

Within her unique approach, which she calls visual conjugation, S. Halaby deconstructs the real into its essential elements, and rebuilds it as an abstracted form. The artist believes that ways of seeing and thinking can be changed by introducing new approaches to art, and not just by developing new aesthetic theories. This in turn can also influence the advancements in teaching, technology and society as a whole. With this progressive perspective in mind, S. Halaby pursues experiments in drawing, printmaking, computer-based kinetic art and free-from-the-stretcher painting.

Read more

Rula Khoury

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Two Diagonals, 1968, oil on lead on canvas, 89 x 89 cm, Collection of the Barjeel Art Foundation

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Lovers, 1972, collage, 46 x 38 cm, Courtesy artist

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Rainbow Spirals, 1973, oil on canvas, 168 x 168 cm, Courtesy artist

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Green, 2015, acrylic on canvas, 178 x 178 cm, Courtesy artist

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Samia Halaby

1936 | Jérusalem, Palestine
Informations
Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait de Samia Halaby à l’exposition de Judith Nelson au New England college, 1974 © Don King

Peintre palestinienne.

Samia Halaby est une peintre abstraite de premier plan et une grande spécialiste de l’art palestinien. Elle est connue non seulement pour sa carrière d’artiste, mais aussi en tant que penseuse, éducatrice et militante. Elle a publié en abondance sur l’histoire de l’art, la pédagogie artistique et l’esthétique.
En 1948, la famille de S. Halaby est déplacée de Palestine et s’installe aux États-Unis en 1951. La jeune femme grandit dans le Midwest américain où l’expressionnisme abstrait est très populaire, mais le monde de l’art ignore les peintres abstraites féminines. Au début des années 1960, son master de peinture de l’université de l’Indiana à Bloomington en poche, S. Halaby commence à enseigner à l’Institut d’art de Kansas City. Grâce à une bourse de recherche, elle part en 1964 au Proche-Orient, où elle étudie en profondeur l’abstraction géométrique dans l’architecture islamique de la région, qui constitue pour elle une source d’inspiration majeure.

En 1972, elle devient la première femme associate professor (professeure contractuelle) à plein temps de l’école d’art de l’université Yale, la Yale School of Art. Pourtant, après dix ans passés à ce poste, on refuse de la titulariser. S. Halaby et ses collègues organisent alors l’exposition On Trial : Yale School of Art [Accusée : Yale School of Art] à la galerie 22 Wooster à Manhattan en 1982-1983 ; son but est de contester les pratiques discriminatoires de l’école à l’égard des membres féminins ou racisés de son équipe pédagogique. S. Halaby a enseigné dans plusieurs universités américaines pendant plus de trente ans. De nombreuses expositions lui ont été consacrées en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et au Moyen-Orient et ses tableaux figurent dans les collections de grands musées depuis les années 1970, parmi lesquels l’Institut du monde arabe à Paris, le Mathaf : Arab Museum of Modern Art à Doha et le musée Guggenheim à New York.

Les œuvres abstraites de S. Halaby trouvent leur origine dans l’intérêt ancien et profond de l’artiste pour les théories de la vision et de la perception visuelle. La nature, surtout l’olivier de sa Palestine natale, inspire ses toiles. La peintre puise également dans différents styles artistiques, dont l’architecture islamique primitive et l’avant-garde soviétique. Dans des œuvres telles que les séries Geometric Still Life [Nature morte géométrique, 1966-1970], Helixes and Cycloids [Hélices et cycloïdes, 1971-1975] et Diagonal Flight [Vol diagonal, 1974-1979], elle aborde la représentation de la réalité par le biais de l’abstraction, créant des propriétés formelles qui correspondent aux valeurs de couleurs que l’on trouve dans la nature. Se concentrant intensément sur la perception des limites dans la représentation d’objets en trois dimensions, S. Halaby fait pratiquement disparaître les contours. Elle les traite avec précision tout en se reposant sur les caractéristiques formelles de la couleur et de la nuance locales, communiquant ainsi profondeur et volume et offrant une réflexion sur le sens des ombres.

Grâce à sa démarche unique, qu’elle qualifie de conjugaison visuelle, S. Halaby déconstruit le réel, en décompose les éléments essentiels et les rebâtit sous forme abstraite. L’artiste est convaincue que les manières de voir et de penser peuvent être transformées en approchant l’art autrement et non simplement en développant de nouvelles théories de l’esthétique. Ces nouvelles approches influenceraient les progrès de l’enseignement, de la technologie et de la société dans son ensemble. Forte de cette perspective progressiste, S. Halaby poursuit ses expérimentations par le dessin, la gravure, l’art cinétique informatique et la peinture sans châssis.

Lire plus

Rula Khoury

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Two Diagonals, 1968, huile sur toile, 89 x 89 cm, Collection de la Barjeel Art Foundation

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Lovers, 1972, collage, 46 x 38 cm, Courtesy artiste

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Rainbow Spirals, 1973, huile sur toile, 168 x 168 cm, Courtesy artiste

Samia Halaby — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samia Halaby, Green, 2015, acrylique sur toile, 178 x 178 cm, Courtesy artiste

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29