Sarah Bernhardt

18441923 | Paris, France
Informations

French actress, sculptor and painter.

Sarah Bernhardt, born Henriette Rosine Bernard, was not just a famous actress. She had many other artistic talents: she designed her own costumes, took part in stage direction, wrote plays, essays and novels, and was a sculptor and painter.
S. Bernhardt studied at the Conservatory in Paris and worked at the Comédie-Française in 1863. She then left the institution to later come back after a successful debut at the Odéon from 1866 to 1872. Her breakthrough role was Phèdre in 1873. As a young girl, her mother had insisted that she receive piano and drawing lessons. She created her first paintings and sculptures in the 1860s (Les Champs-Élysées en hiver [The Champs-Élysées in winter], Buste de femme [Bust of a woman]) and went on to study with sculptors Mathieu-Meusnier (1824-1896) and Jules Franceschi (1825-1893) in the 1870s. She was less proficient as a painter, but nonetheless took classes from Alfred Stevens (1823-1906), who painted at least five portraits of her, including a tondo of her painting a picture.

S. Bernhardt would exhibit at the Salon for over twenty years, beginning in 1874. Her works became increasingly influenced by Symbolism and Art Nouveau. In 1876, after having presented two marble busts, she submitted the group Après la tempête [After the storm], for which she received an honourable mention. She then sent the Salon several busts of her close relations, including one of her partner Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) in 1879. In 1880 she presented a large-format canvas, La Jeune Fille et la Mort [The young woman and Death] and in 1881 a marble bas-relief, Ophélie. She also donated a life-size bronze of the piece to the Royal Danish Theatre in Copenhagen. On the occasion of the 1900 World’s Fair she presented a marine-themed series of paperweights, flower boxes, vases and a fountain based on mouldings of real-life algae and fish.

S. Bernhardt, for whom Jean Cocteau coined the term “monstre sacré” (living legend) was faced with reactions from the critics, who reproached her for straying from the theatre. In her defence, Émile Zola wrote in Naturalisme au théâtre in 1881 (published in English as Naturalism on the Stage): “How odd that not content with finding her too thin and declaring her mad, they should now want to regulate her daily activities. … Let us pass a law immediately to prevent the accumulation of talent! … This is how things go in France: we do not accept that any individuality should escape from the art to which we have assigned them.” And yet her career as a sculptor proved to be inspirational: her contemporaries recognised both S. Bernhardt and Marcello (1836-1879) in the character of Félicia Ruys, the statue sculptor protagonist of Alphonse Daudet’s Le Nabab [The Nabob], published in 1877.
In 1879, upon travelling to London with the Comédie-Française troupe, S. Bernhardt took it into her own hands to organise an exhibition of her works at the William Russel Galleries. She presented sixteen canvases and fourteen sculptures, almost all of which were sold. She received the politician William Ewart Gladstone and Prince Leopold, Duke of Albany, who bought one of her paintings. In 1880 a souvenir album with a catalogue of her works was published on the occasion of her exhibition at the Union League Club in New York.

S. Bernhardt twice tried her hand at monumental sculpture. The architect Charles Garnier commissioned her to create Le Chant (Song), a ronde-bosse sculpture for the facade of the Monte-Carlo casino (inaugurated in 1881), designed as a sister piece to Gustave Doré’s (1832-1883) La Danse. She also took part in a competition organised by the Seine departmental council for a monument commemorating the defence of Paris in 1870.
In addition to busts and portraits of her friends, as well as a death mask of her husband Jacques Damala, she painted and sculpted several self-portraits, sometimes inspired by her roles. In 1876 she depicted herself as La Fille de Roland; in 1878 she painted herself as Joan of Arc and in La Dormeuse [The sleeper]; and in 1883 as Pierrot, whom she was playing at the time in a pantomime at the Trocadéro theatre. In 1880 she was a sphinx in her Encrier fantastique [Magical inkwell]. The creature’s shoulder pads are shaped as Tragedy and Comedy, and the main motif of the inkwell is a reminder of her role in Octave Feuillet’s Le Sphinx in 1873 and 1880. In 1893 she became the director of the Théâtre de la Renaissance and in 1899 of the Theâtre Sarah-Bernhardt, a position she held until her death in 1923. While S. Bernhardt achieved world fame as an actor, patron and director, her painted and sculpted work remains little known to this day. In 2011 her Autoportrait en chimère [Self-portrait as a chimaera, c. 1876] was presented at the exhibition Sculpture’Elles. Les sculpteurs femmes du XVIIIe siècle à nos jours at the Musée des Années Trente in Boulogne-Billancourt.

Read more

Mathilde Leïchlé

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Louise Abbema, 1878, marbel bust,  42 x 27 x 22 cm, © Photo: Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Buste de Georges Clairin, c. 1875, patinated plaster bust, 52 x 39 x 34 cm, © Photo: Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Émile de Girardin, 1878, terracotta bust with wooden shower stand,  19.5 x 15 x 12 cm, © Photo: Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Portrait funéraire de Jacques Damala, c. 1889, marbel, 27.9 x 46 x 31.1 cm, New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2009

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Algues, 1900, patinated bronze, © Photo: Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Buste de Victorien Sardou, 1900, bronze round, 72 x 54 x 40 cm, © Photo: Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Autoportrait, 1910, oil on canvas, © Photo: Fondation Bemberg, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Nature morte aux pêches, 1922, oil on canvas, 24.5 x 32.5 cm, Musée Carnavalet, Histoire de Paris, © Paris Musées / Musée Carnavalet

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Sarah Bernhardt

18441923 | Paris, France
Informations

Actrice, sculptrice et peintre française.

Actrice célèbre, Sarah Bernhardt, née Henriette Rosine Bernard, a multiplié les talents artistiques : elle dessine ses tenues, participe à la création de mises en scène, écrit des pièces, essais et romans, sculpte et peint.
D’abord formée au Conservatoire, à Paris, elle entre une première fois à la Comédie-Française en 1863, la quitte puis y revient en 1872 après un début brillant à l’Odéon de 1866 à 1872. Elle triomphe dans Phèdre en 1873. Jeune fille, elle a appris le piano et le dessin selon la volonté de sa mère. Elle réalise ses premières œuvres peintes et sculptées dans les années 1860 (Les Champs-Élysées en hiver, Buste de femme) et suit ensuite les enseignements des sculpteurs Mathieu-Meusnier (1824-1896) et Jules Franceschi (1825-1893) dans les années 1870. En peinture, domaine où elle se distingue moins, elle suit les cours d’Alfred Stevens (1823-1906), qui réalise lui-même au moins cinq portraits d’elle, dont un tondo la présentant en train de peindre.

À partir de 1874, S. Bernhardt expose au Salon pendant plus de vingt ans. Ses œuvres sont de plus en plus marquées par le symbolisme et l’Art nouveau. Après avoir présenté deux bustes en marbre, elle propose, en 1876, le groupe Après la tempête, pour lequel elle reçoit une mention honorable. Elle envoie ensuite plusieurs bustes de ses proches, dont celui de sa compagne Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) en 1879. En 1880, elle présente au Salon un grand format peint, La Jeune Fille et la Mort, et, en 1881, le bas-relief en marbre Ophélie. Elle offre un bronze grandeur nature de cette œuvre au Théâtre royal danois de Copenhague. À l’Exposition universelle de 1900, elle montre ses compositions marines, presse-papiers, jardinières, vases et fontaine réalisés à partir de moulages sur nature d’algues et de poissons.

Face aux réactions des critiques qui reprochent à celle pour laquelle Jean Cocteau invente l’expression « monstre sacré » de s’éloigner du théâtre, Émile Zola écrit dans Le Naturalisme au théâtre, en 1881 : « Voilà que, non content de la trouver maigre et de la déclarer folle, on voudrait réglementer l’emploi de ses journées. […] Qu’on fasse une loi tout de suite pour empêcher le cumul des talents ! […] Nous sommes ainsi faits en France, nous n’admettons pas qu’une individualité s’échappe de l’art dans lequel nous l’avons parquée. » Sa carrière de sculptrice inspire pourtant : ses contemporain·e·s reconnaissent à la fois S. Bernhardt et Marcello (1836-1879) dans le personnage de Félicia Ruys, statuaire et protagoniste du roman d’Alphonse Daudet Le Nabab, paru en 1877.
En 1879, à l’occasion d’un voyage de la troupe de la Comédie-Française à Londres, S. Bernhardt organise elle-même une exposition de ses œuvres aux William Russel Galleries. Elle présente seize toiles et quatorze sculptures, et vend presque tout. Elle reçoit la visite de l’homme politique William Ewart Gladstone et le prince Léopold d’Albany lui achète un tableau. En 1880, un album souvenir comportant un catalogue de ses œuvres est publié en parallèle de son exposition à l’Union League Club de New York.

S. Bernhardt s’essaie à deux reprises à la sculpture monumentale. L’architecte Charles Garnier lui commande Le Chant, ronde-bosse destinée à une façade du casino de Monte-Carlo inauguré en 1881, à laquelle fait pendant La Danse de Gustave Doré (1832-1883). Elle participe également au concours organisé par le conseil général de la Seine pour un monument commémorant la défense de Paris en 1870.
Outre les bustes et portraits de ses ami·e·s ainsi que le masque funéraire de son mari Jacques Damala, elle réalise plusieurs autoportraits en peinture et en sculpture. Elle s’inspire parfois de ses rôles : en 1876, elle se représente dans La Fille de Roland et, en 1878, elle se peint en Jeanne d’Arc et dans La Dormeuse, tandis qu’en 1883 elle se représente en Pierrot alors qu’elle joue la pantomime au Trocadéro. En 1880, elle est un sphinx dans son Encrier fantastique. Sur ses épaulettes sont représentées la Tragédie et la Comédie, et le motif principal rappelle qu’elle a joué en 1873 puis en 1880 Le Sphinx d’Octave Feuillet. En 1893, elle prend la direction du théâtre de la Renaissance puis, en 1899, celle du théâtre Sarah-Bernhardt jusqu’à sa mort en 1923. Si elle est mondialement admirée en tant qu’actrice, mécène et directrice, son œuvre peinte et sculptée est encore méconnue. En 2011, Autoportrait en chimère (vers 1876) est présentée dans l’exposition Sculpture’Elles. Les sculpteurs femmes du XVIIIe siècle à nos jours, au musée des Années Trente, à Boulogne-Billancourt.

Lire plus

Mathilde Leïchlé

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Louise Abbema, 1878, buste en marbre,  42 x 27 x 22 cm, © Photo : Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Buste de Georges Clairin, vers 1875, buste en plâtre patiné, 52 x 39 x 34 cm, © Photo : Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Émile de Girardin, 1878, buste en terre cuite sur pied douche en bois,  19,5 x 15 x 12 cm, © Photo : Musée d’Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Portrait funéraire de Jacques Damala, vers 1889, marbre, 27,9 x 46 x 31,1 cm, New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2009

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Algues, 1900, bronze patiné, © Photo : Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Buste de Victorien Sardou, 1900, ronde-bosse en bronze, 72 x 54 x 40 cm, © Photo : Petit Palais, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris Musées

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Autoportrait, 1910, huile sur toile, © Photo : Fondation Bemberg, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Sarah  Bernhardt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Bernhardt, Nature morte aux pêches, 1922, huile sur toile, 24,5 x 32,5 cm, Musée Carnavalet, Histoire de Paris, © Paris Musées / Musée Carnavalet

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29