Madeleine Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite)

1845Les Arcs, France | 1928Paris, France
Informations
Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Anonyme, Madeleine Lemaire, c. 1900, silver print mouted on cardboard, 7.4 x 4.2 cm, © droit réservé – photo musée d’Orsay / rmn

French painter, pastellist and illustrator.

Recognised for her natural authority, energy and humility, Madeleine Lemaire is perhaps better known to us as the socialite Madame de Villeparisis and the tyrannical Madame Verdurin in Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. A few photographic portraits show her in her studio, a conservatory in the Plaine Monceau district where she entertained guests from all walks of life. Every Tuesday evening, writers, musicians and actors from the Comédie-Française and politicians flocked to her very sought-after musical and literary salon. The dandy Robert de Montesquiou was a regular visitor. Tenor Reynaldo Hahn won over his first audiences there, and M. Proust was initiated into the fever of socialite life at her salon in 1891. In the summer, the whole company was hosted by their benevolent friend at her Château de Réveillon in the Marne, where M. Proust wrote Les Plaisirs et les Jours while R. Hahn created four piano pieces and M. Lemaire painted watercolours of wildflowers.
Born into the upper middle-class, the daughter of General Baron Joseph Habert and niece of famous miniaturist Mathilde Herbelin (1820-1904), who also ran a salon, M. Lemaire developed social skills that benefitted the practice of her art. However, she refused to remain confined to the salons. Villeparisis and Verdurin only briefly outshine the independent artist she was, who was resolved to assert herself amidst a very masculine assembly. M. Lemaire had spent her childhood in the presence of artists. Her aunt was her first teacher, and Charles Chaplin (1825-1891) later became her tutor. The portraits she exhibited at the Salon from the age of nineteen showed the influence of 18th-century art. Her marriage to municipal civil servant Camille Lemaire in 1870 and subsequent motherhood never prevented her from working tirelessly to perfect her precocious talent. Her relationship with Alexandre Dumas fils cemented her position within the artistic elites and marked her emancipation and her move towards a more personal output.

As an illustrator, watercolourist and pastellist, M. Lemaire was a draughtswoman. She was a founding member of the Société des Aquarellistes Français (Society of French watercolourists) in 1879 and of the Société des Pastellistes Français (Society of French pastellists) in 1885, and advanced her ambitions alongside men, as equals. Pastel work was open to women and they entered into competition with male pastellists unlike women-only fields as watercolours or miniatures. Building a career in the field was harsh: only M. Lemaire and Marie Cazin (1844-1924) were allowed into the society. In 1893 she and Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) were the first two female members of the Salon’s jury. M. Lemaire also took part in World’s fairs. In 1893 she was part of the French delegation at the World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago. She designed the official poster and wrote the catalogue for the Woman’s Building exhibition. In 1898 she exhibited at the Venice Biennale. She was also appointed as a “drawing teacher” at the French National Museum of Natural History in 1899.

J. M. Lemaire received an honourable mention at the 1877 Salon and a silver medal for her entire body of work at the 1900 World’s Fair. In 1906 the readers of Femina magazine elected her vice-president of the Femina Prize. She was made Knight of the Legion of Honour in 1908. The ultimate acknowledgement of having one of her works bought by the state never came. However, the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Troyes acquired a sanguine portrait of a woman in 1918 thanks to the Millard legacy. As host of a salon, M. Lemaire was nicknamed “patronne” (boss), and as a painter she was dubbed “impératrice (des roses)” (empress of the roses) by R. de Montesquiou; above all, she fulfilled her destiny as a determined, uncompromising woman.

Read more

Géraldine Masson

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Pensées à grandes fleurs, fig.1 / Pensées Viola tricolor maxima, 1900, watercolor, in Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Le char des fées, 1892, oil on canvas, 240 x 250 cm, Musée de Dieppe

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Rose la France, 1900, watercolor, in Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Orchidées / Odontoglossum crispum, fig.1 / Cattleya labiata, fig.2, 1900, watercolor, in Théodore de Villard,  Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Clématite flammula et ordinaire, fig.1 / Clematis lanuginosa, fig.2 / Clematis jacksoni, fig.3, 1900, watercolor, in Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Cannas hybrides à grandes fleurs (non légendé), 1900, watercolor, in Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Le sommeil de Manon, c. 1906, oil on canvas, 96 x 130 cm

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Buste d’une Dame, 1855–1928, watercolor and pencil on paper, 26.1 x 31.2 cm , © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Young woman with a little dog, before 1928, oil on canvas, 86 x 68 cm

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Madeleine Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite)

1845Les Arcs, France | 1928Paris, France
Informations
Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Anonyme, Madeleine Lemaire, vers 1900, épreuve argentique contrecollée sur carton, 7,4 x 4,2 cm, © droit réservé – photo musée d’Orsay / rmn

Peintre, pastelliste et illustratrice française.

Reconnue pour son autorité naturelle, son énergie et sa modestie, Madeleine Lemaire est parvenue jusqu’à nous sous les traits de la mondaine Madame de Villeparisis et de la tyrannique Verdurin d’À la recherche du temps perdu de Marcel Proust. Quelques portraits photographiques la représentent dans son atelier, ce jardin d’hiver de la plaine Monceau où elle reçoit sans comparaison. Écrivain·e·s, musicien·ne·s, acteurs et actrices de la Comédie-Française et hommes politiques se pressent les mardis en fin d’après-midi pour se divertir dans ce très renommé salon musical et littéraire. Le dandy Robert de Montesquiou est un fidèle. Le ténor Reynaldo Hahn y conquiert un premier auditoire. M. Proust y est initié au démon de la mondanité en 1891. À la saison estivale, cette belle société bénéficie de l’hospitalité bienveillante de leur amie au château de Réveillon, dans la Marne, où M. Proust écrit Les Plaisirs et les Jours, complété par quatre pièces pour piano de R. Hahn et par les fleurs sauvages à l’aquarelle de M. Lemaire.

Issue de la haute bourgeoisie, petite-fille du général baron Pierre Joseph Habert, nièce de la célèbre miniaturiste Mathilde Herbelin (1820-1904), qui tenait elle aussi salon, M. Lemaire déploie un entregent qui bénéficie à la pratique de son art. Pour autant, elle ne se laisse pas emprisonner dans les salons confinés. Villeparisis et Verdurin n’éclipsent que momentanément une artiste indépendante. La créatrice emploie sa détermination à s’affirmer au sein d’un aréopage très masculin. Dès son enfance, M. Lemaire côtoie des artistes. Sa tante est sa première professeure, puis Charles Chaplin (1825-1891). Les portraits qu’elle expose au Salon dès ses dix-neuf ans marquent l’influence de l’art du XVIIIe siècle. Mariée en 1870 à l’employé de mairie Camille Lemaire puis mère, elle ne renonce pourtant pas à son art et travaille inlassablement à parfaire son jeune talent. Sa rencontre avec Alexandre Dumas fils consacre son appartenance à la haute société artistique et marque son émancipation vers une production plus personnelle.

Illustratrice, aquarelliste et pastelliste, la peintre est aussi une dessinatrice. Membre fondatrice de la Société des aquarellistes français en 1879 et de la Société des pastellistes français en 1885, elle poursuit son ambition aux côtés des hommes, d’égal à égal. Ouverte aux femmes, la carrière de pastelliste constitue un domaine qui ne leur est pas concédé au contraire de l’aquarelle ou des miniatures. La concurrence est âpre : seules M. Lemaire et Marie Cazin (1844-1924) sont admises dans la Société. En 1893, elle est avec Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) la première membre féminine du jury du Salon. M. Lemaire participe également à des expositions internationales. En 1893, elle fait partie de la délégation française à la World’s Columbian Exposition de Chicago. Elle dessine l’affiche officielle et rédige le catalogue de l’exposition des œuvres de femmes au Woman’s Building. En 1898, elle expose à la Biennale de Venise. Elle enseigne enfin, et est nommée « professeur de dessin » au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle en 1899.

M. Lemaire obtient la mention honorable au Salon de 1877 et une médaille d’argent pour l’ensemble de son œuvre lui est décernée à l’Exposition universelle de 1900. En 1906, elle est élue vice-présidente du prix Femina par les lectrices et lecteurs de la revue éponyme. Elle est décorée du grade de chevalière de la Légion d’honneur en 1908. L’ultime reconnaissance qu’aurait constituée l’acquisition par l’État d’une de ses œuvres ne se produit pas. En revanche, le musée des Beaux-Arts de Troyes possède dès 1918 un portrait de femme à la sanguine grâce au legs Millard. La salonnière est surnommée la patronne, la peintre est qualifiée d’impératrice (des roses) par R. de Montesquiou : M. Lemaire s’accomplit en femme déterminée et ne transige pas.

Géraldine Masson

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Pensées à grandes fleurs, fig.1 / Pensées Viola tricolor maxima, 1900, aquarelle, dans Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Le char des fées, 1892, huile sur toile, 240 x 250 cm, musée de Dieppe

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Rose la France, 1900, aquarelle, dans Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Orchidées / Odontoglossum crispum, fig.1 / Cattleya labiata, fig.2, 1900, aquarelle, dans Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Clématite flammula et ordinaire, fig.1 / Clematis lanuginosa, fig.2 / Clematis jacksoni, fig.3, 1900, aquarelle, dans Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Cannas hybrides à grandes fleurs (non légendé), 1900, aquarelle, dans Théodore de Villard, Les fleurs à travers les âges et à la fin du XIXe siècle, Paris, 1900, A. Magnier, © Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Le sommeil de Manon, vers 1906, huile sur toile, 96 x 130 cm

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Buste d’une Dame, 1855–1928, aquarelle et crayon sur papier vélin, 26,1 x 31,2 cm , © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire, Young woman with a little dog, avant 1928, huile sur toile, 86 x 68 cm

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29