Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Tamara de Lempicka

1898Warsaw, Poland | 1980Cuernavaca, Mexico
Informations
Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Madame d’Ora © FineArtImages/Leemage

Polish painter.

Born of a Russian Jewish father and a Polish mother, Tamara de Lempicka spent her childhood in St. Petersburg, Warsaw, and Lausanne. She maintained memories from her childhood of a life of a privilege, punctuated by prestigious soirées in the company of the cultured Saint Petersburg nobility. Shortly after her marriage in 1916 to the Polish lawyer Tadeusz Lempicki, she saw the easy happiness for which she was destined swept away by the 1917 October Revolution. Forced to flee the Bolshevik regime, the couple ended up in Paris, where Lempicka had to sell her jewelry to survive. She divorced her husband in 1928 in order to marry the baron Raoul Kuffner in 1933. In Paris, she frequented the ateliers of Maurice Denis and André Lhote. She came into her own style around 1925, when, encouraged by Count Emanuele di Castelbarco, a Milanese gallery owner, she painted 28 new paintings in six months, including thirty which were shown at the Bottega di Poesia gallery in Milan. Quickly becoming one of the most in-demand portrait artists, she completed a string of portraits of the haute bourgeoisie and the Italian and French aristocracy – like those of the Marquis of Afflito (1925) or the Duchess of Hall (1925). Aside from the important figures of the high society she wanted to conquer by painting, it was modernity itself that shines through as a theme of her work. The incredibly close framing and the theatrical look of some of the subjects in her paintings seem to come from the silent films of the early twentieth century. Contemporary architecture and the city—especially the skyscrapers of New York that fascinated her—serve as the background of her paintings.

Her style, which combines neo-Cubism and the expressiveness of Italian Mannerism, was inspired by Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, with an added touch of perversity. Her creative process was fascinating: although she produced almost no preparatory studies, her figures are modeled to perfection. The linea serpentina, the supreme expression of beauty for Italian theorists of the sixteenth century, animates the body and permeates her work with a surprising dynamism. In this way, the famous Portrait d’Andre Gide (c. 1925) reduces the subject to a “compressed charge of energy “, in the words of Germain Bazin, with his empty black eyes, unfettered by glasses, set in a twisted face. Her treatment of the subjects she depicted often translated their determination and sensuality, the latter of which is particularly on display as flirting often presided over her portrait sessions.

Claiming her bisexuality, the artist dared to paint women as few men did, similar to Gustave Courbet in the impudence and lasciviousness of her female nudes. A certain Rafaela posed for her for almost a year and served as a model for the famous painting La Belle Rafaela en vert (1927), whose sumptuousness of form, frank attitude, and dramatic lighting make it one of the most extraordinary nudes in the history of art. Often referred to as the “woman painter of women,” the artist confessed that it was her own portrait she painted through each piece. When asked for a self-portrait, she depicted herself in a green Bugatti, which she never owned, with luxury gloves and hat, borrowed from a photograph of the period. In this picture, entitled Mon portrait ou Autoportrait dans la Bugatti verte (1925), the artist becomes a true icon of the modern woman, mistress of fashion and speed.
Having moved to the United States at the beginning of World War II with her second husband, the painter was almost forgotten in Europe, which was uninterested in the world she portrayed. It was not until 1972, when an exhibit at the Luxembourg gallery in Paris rediscovered her works and reignited the passion for, in the words of Magdalene Dayot, “the improbable and certainly curious trinity of extreme modernism, of the purest classicism, and the most burning romanticism” that Lempicka embodies.

Read more

Hanna Murauskaya

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Andromède, 1929, © Photo: Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Le chinois, 1921, huile sur toile, 35 x 27 cm, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Femme bleue à la guitare, 1929, © Photo: Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Adam et Eve, 1932 © Photo: Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, La chemise rose, 1933 © Photo: Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Portrait de la romancière, chanteuse française Suzy Solidor (1900-1983), 1933, 46 x 37,5 cm, © Photo: Lebrecht/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Tamara de Lempicka

1898Varsovie, Pologne | 1980Cuernavaca, Mexique
Informations
Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Madame d’Ora © FineArtImages/Leemage

Peintre polonaise.

Née d’un père juif russe et d’une mère polonaise, Tamara de Lempicka passe son enfance entre Saint-Pétersbourg, Varsovie et Lausanne. De ses premières années, elle garde le souvenir d’une vie privilégiée, ponctuée par de prestigieuses soirées dans l’entourage cultivé de la noblesse pétersbourgeoise. Tout juste mariée depuis 1916 à l’avocat polonais Tadeusz Lempicki, elle voit le bonheur aisé auquel elle se destinait emporté par la révolution d’Octobre 1917. Obligé de fuir le régime bolchevique, le couple se retrouve à Paris, où la jeune femme doit vendre ses bijoux pour survivre. Elle divorce en 1928 pour se remarier avec le baron Raoul Kuffner en 1933. À Paris, elle fréquente les ateliers de Maurice Denis et d’André Lhote. Elle parvient à trouver son propre style vers 1925, quand, encouragée par le comte Emanuele di Castelbarco, galeriste milanais, elle peint 28 nouveaux tableaux en six mois, dont une trentaine sont exposés à la galerie Bottega di Poesia à Milan. Devenue très rapidement l’une des portraitistes les plus à la mode, elle enchaîne les portraits des représentants de la haute bourgeoisie et de l’aristocratie italienne et française – le marquis d’Afflito (1925) ou la duchesse de la Salle (1925). Outre les acteurs de la société brillante qu’elle peint et veut conquérir, c’est la modernité elle-même qui transparaît comme fil conducteur de ses œuvres. Le cadrage ultraserré et le regard théâtral de certains des personnages semblent venir du cinéma muet du début du XXe siècle. L’architecture contemporaine, la ville et surtout les gratte-ciel new-yorkais qui la fascinent, se retrouve dans l’arrière-plan de ses tableaux.

Son style, qui associe le néocubisme à la finition et à l’expressivité du maniérisme italien, s’inspire de Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, en y ajoutant une touche de perversité. Sa manière est étonnante : bien qu’elle ne produise presque aucune étude préparatoire, ses figures sont modelées à perfection. La linea serpentina, expression suprême de la beauté pour les théoriciens italiens du xvie siècle, anime les corps et imprègne l’œuvre d’un dynamisme surprenant. Ainsi, le célèbre Portrait d’André Gide (vers 1925) réduit le personnage à une « charge d’énergie comprimée », selon l’expression de Germain Bazin, avec ses yeux vides et noirs sans lunettes dans un visage tordu. Le traitement des personnages représentés traduit souvent leur détermination et leur sensualité, laquelle est d’autant plus affichée que le flirt préside souvent aux séances.

Revendiquant sa bisexualité, l’artiste ose peindre la femme comme peu d’hommes l’avaient fait, s’apparentant à Gustave Courbet dans l’impudence et la lascivité de ses nus féminins. Une certaine Rafaela pose ainsi pour elle pendant près d’une année et sert de modèle pour le célèbre tableau La Belle Rafaela en vert (vers 1927), dont la somptuosité des formes, la franchise de l’attitude et l’effet dramatique de l’éclairage en font l’un des nus les plus extraordinaires de l’histoire de l’art. Souvent désignée comme « femme peintre de femmes », l’artiste avouera que c’est son propre portrait qu’elle peint à travers chaque œuvre. Et, quand on lui commande un autoportrait, elle se représente dans une Bugatti verte, qu’elle n’a jamais possédée, avec gants et casque de luxe empruntés à une photographie de l’époque. Dans ce tableau, intitulé Mon portrait ou Autoportrait dans la Bugatti verte (1925), l’artiste se transforme en véritable icône de la femme moderne, maîtresse de la mode et de la vitesse.
Installée aux États-Unis depuis le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale avec son second mari, la peintre devient pratiquement oubliée dans une Europe peu intéressée par le monde qu’elle dépeint. Il faut attendre 1972 pour qu’une exposition à la galerie du Luxembourg la redécouvre et pour que l’on se passionne à nouveau pour, selon les mots de Magdeleine Dayot, « l’improbable et assurément curieuse trinité du modernisme extrême, du classicisme le plus pur et du romantisme le plus brûlant » qu’incarna T. de Lempicka.

Lire plus

Hanna Murauskaya

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Andromède, 1929, © Photo : Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Le chinois, 1921, huile sur toile, 35 x 27 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Femme bleue à la guitare, 1929, © Photo : Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Adam et Eve, 1932 © Photo : Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, La chemise rose, 1933 © Photo : Electa/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Tamara de Lempicka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Tamara de Lempicka, Portrait de la romancière, chanteuse française Suzy Solidor (1900-1983), 1933, 46 x 37,5 cm, © Photo : Lebrecht/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29