Beatriz González

1938 | Bucaramanga, Colombia
Informations
Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Alamy Stock photo

Colombian painter, art historian and critic.

Beatriz González studied fine arts at the Universidad de los Andes in Bogotá and print-making at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Her first solo show took place in 1964 at the Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogotá, where B. González exhibited her Encajeras [Lacemaker] series based on Johannes Vermeer’s famous painting. This series revealed what would reoccur in her oeuvre: a careful study of canonical paintings and an interest in color blocking and saturated colors. As her career progressed, B. González became aware of the intersection between old master paintings and their re-signification in so-called Third World countries, such as Colombia, where these images are ubiquitous in mass media and popular among many sectors of society. This link between formal painting and widely held traditions propelled González to become one of the leading pointers in what at the time was known as neo figuración (new figuration) and what today is generally known as pop art. The 1965 painting series Los Suicidas del Sisga [The Suicides of Sisga] was inspired by a tabloid story, published in the local newspaper El Tiempo, about a young couple who committed suicide by throwing themselves over the Sisga Dam. Other series depicted images of important politicians, family portraits published in newspaper society pages, and naive scenes painted on city buses.

The political impact of B. Gonzalez’s works has led her to be considered as a key player in the shaping of conceptual art in Colombia. With Los Suicidas del Sisga, B. González won second prize in the 17th Salón de Artistas Nacionales (1965). During her career she has received other awards, such as second prize at the 1st Salón de Pintura (1965) in Cali and special mention at the 33rd Salon Nacional de Artistás de Colombia (1990). Adding to these accolades is her participation in important biennials, such as the 11th Bienal de São Paulo (1971), 38th Venice Biennale (1978), 8th Berlin Biennale (2014), and documenta 14, Kassel (2017). Most recently, Los Suicidas del Sisga and her furniture piece La Última Mesa [The Last Table, 1970] were included in The World Goes Pop at Tate Modern, London (2015). B. González’s work has extended beyond the gallery walls. Since 1983 she has curated numerous exhibitions in Colombia and has published monographs on individual artists, including Luis Caballero (1943-1995). Her work is in international collections such as Havana’s Casa de las Américas and New York’s Museum of Modern Art and El Museo del Barrio as well as in museums in Colombia.

Read more

Marcela Cristina Guerrero

Publication made in partnership with the Hammer Museum, in the framework of the exhibition Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985.

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los suicidas del Sisga III [The Sisga Suicides III], 1965, oil on canvas, 100 x 85 cm, National Museum of Colombia, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, El silencio [the silence], Self-portrait nude crying and El paraíso [the Paradise], 1997, oil on canvas, 160 x 45 cm, private collection, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Decoración de Interiores [Interior decoration], 1981, screenprint on canvas, 269 x 1958 cm, vue d’exposition documenta 14, Athens Conservatoire, © Photo: Mathias Voelzke, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Gratia Plena (Tocador) [Full of Grace (Vanity)], 1971, enamel on metal assembly on furniture, 149.8 x 149.8 x 38.1 cm, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los papagayos [the parrots], 1987, oil on paper, 74.9 x 198.1 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miami, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los Predicadores [The Preachers], 2000, charcoal and pastel on canvas, 123.35 x 209.55 x 4.44 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miam, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Villa María, 1985, enamel on pottery, 96.5 x 19.8 x 19.8 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miami, © Beatriz González

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Beatriz González

1938 | Bucaramanga, Colombie
Informations
Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Alamy Stock photo

Peintre, historienne de l’art et critique d’art colombienne.

Beatriz González étudie les beaux-arts à l’Universidad de los Andes à Bogota et la gravure à la Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten d’Amsterdam. Elle expose seule pour la première fois en 1964 au Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogota, avec sa série des Encajeras [Dentellières, années 1960], inspirée du célèbre tableau de Johannes Vermeer. Elle y montre ce qui deviendra récurrent dans son œuvre : une étude minutieuse des peintures classiques, ainsi qu’un intérêt pour la saturation et le contraste des couleurs. Au fur et à mesure de sa carrière, l’artiste prend conscience de l’entrecroisement des tableaux des grands maîtres et de la signification nouvelle qu’ils revêtent dans les pays dits du tiers monde, comme la Colombie, où ces images, omniprésentes dans les médias de masse, sont aussi répandues dans de nombreux pans de la société. Ce lien entre peinture classique et traditions populaires a fait de B. González l’une des précurseuses de ce que l’on appelait alors la neofiguración (néofiguration), mieux connue aujourd’hui sous le nom de pop art. La série de tableaux Los Suicidas del Sisga [Les suicidés de Sisga], de 1965, se fonde sur un fait divers paru dans le journal El Tiempo et montre un couple qui s’était donné la mort en se jetant du barrage de Sisga. D’autres séries reproduisent des images de politiciens, des portraits de famille publiés dans les carnets du jour des journaux, ou des scènes naïves peintes sur les autobus.

La force politique des œuvres de B. González est telle que l’on considère que l’artiste a joué un rôle majeur dans le développement de l’art conceptuel en Colombie. Avec Los Suicidas del Sisga, B. González a remporté le deuxième prix au XVIIo Salón de Artistas Nacionales (Salon des artistes nationaux, 1965). Elle a reçu d’autres récompenses au cours de sa carrière, notamment un deuxième prix au Io Salón de Pintura de Cali (Salon de peinture, 1965) et une mention spéciale au XXXIIIo Salón Nacional de Artistas (Salon national des artistes, 1990). À ces marques de reconnaissance, on peut ajouter ses participations à d’importantes biennales, comme la XIe Biennale de São Paulo (1971), la XXXVIIIe Biennale de Venise (1978), la VIIIe Biennale de Berlin (2014) et la documenta 14 à à Athènes et Cassel (2017). Plus récemment, Los Suicidas del Sisga et son tableau-meuble La Última Mesa [La dernière table, 1970] ont figuré à l’exposition The World Goes Pop à la Tate Modern, à Londres (2015). Le travail de B. González s’étend au-delà des murs des galeries d’art. Depuis 1983, elle est la commissaire de nombreuses expositions en Colombie et publie des monographies sur des artistes, comme Luis Caballero (1943-1995). Ses œuvres sont présentes dans des collections internationales telles que celles de la Casa de las Américas à La Havane, du Museum of Modern Art et d’El Museo del Barrio à New York, ainsi que dans des musées colombiens.

Lire plus

Marcela Cristina Guerrero

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le Hammer Museum, dans le cadre de l’exposition Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985.

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los suicidas del Sisga III [les suicides de Sisga III], 1965, huile sur toile, 100 x 85 cm, National Museum of Colombia, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, El silencio [le silence], Self-portrait nude crying et El paraíso [le paradis], 1997, huile sur toile, 160 x 45 cm, collection particulière, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Decoración de Interiores [Décoration d’intérieur], 1981, sérigraphie sur toile, 269 x 1958 cm, exhibition view documenta 14, Athens Conservatoire, © Photo : Mathias Voelzke, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Gratia Plena (Tocador) [Pleine de grâce (Vanité)], 1971, métal émaillé sur meuble, 149,8 x 149,8 x 38,1 cm, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los papagayos [les perroquets], 1987, huile sur papier, 74,9 x 198,1 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miami, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Los Predicadores [Les prédicateurs], 2000, fusain et pastel sur toile, 123,35 x 209,55 x 4,44 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miam, © Beatriz González

Beatriz  González — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Beatriz González, Villa María, 1985, émail sur poterie, 96,5 x 19,8 x 19,8 cm, Pérez Art Museum Miami, © Beatriz González

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29