Victoria Dubourg

1840Paris, France | 1926Buré, France
Informations

French painter.

While Victoria Dubourg was often presented as “Fantin’s most perfect student” and “a true collaborator” (Le Bulletin de la vie artistique, 15 October 1926), she was also described as a “talented painter” (musée de Grenoble, Catalogue, 1911) who in fact started painting prior to meeting Henri Fantin-Latour (1836-1904) in 1869 and marrying him in 1876.
The daughter of a French teacher, she spent part of her childhood in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, where she studied at the Staedel Institute before teaching drawing at the Institute of Mary. Upon returning to France in 1865 she obtained a copyist card at the Louvre. In 1866, at the recommendation of Gustave Chaix d’Est-Ange, vice-president of the State Council and president of its public works and fine arts department, she was commissioned for a copy of The Virgin, the Child Jesus and Saint Martina (c. 1643) by Pierre de Cortone (1596-1669) and, later, of Pilgrims at Emmaus (c. 1530) by Titian (c. 1488-1576).

V. Dubourg’s first well-known painting is a still life from 1861. Between 1868 and 1902 she exhibited fifty-three works at the Salon des Artistes Français independently from any tutor. She received an honourable mention in 1894 and a third-class medal in 1895. She participated in exhibitions organised by the Amis des Arts society in Pau, exhibited seven times at the Royal Academy in London between 1882 and 1896, and occasionally showed her works at Society of British Artists shows between 1882 and 1899. In 1908 her works were featured at the International Industrial Exposition in Toulouse.
Most of her works were still lifes and were well received by the critics: “Her canvases are seemingly modest, but the flowers in them talk and breathe, far outdistancing the rest of the horticultural works at ordinary exhibits” (Arsène Alexandre, “Histoire sommaire des femmes artistes”, Comoedia, 12 February 1910, p. 3). V. Dubourg also painted a few landscapes and indoor scenes (Le Jardin de Buré [The garden at Buré], Musée de Grenoble, and L’Atelier de Fantin-Latour [Fantin-Latour’s studio], held by the Musée des Beaux-Arts et de la Dentelle in Alençon), as well as some portraits (Portrait de Mlle S. B… in 1869; Portrait de Mlle C. D…, her sister, in 1870; and a pastel Portrait de Mme E. D. in 1887). Two statuettes inspired by antiquity in the collections of the Musée de Grenoble are also attributed to her. Her last known piece, a still life of a flower vase, is dated 1916. The French state acquired several of her canvases (Fleurs et fruits[Flowers and fruit] in 1872 and Panier de fleurs [Basket of flowers] in 1895), some of which were also kept in private collections such as those of Émile Duranty and Baron Alphonse de Rothschild’s, who donated Fleurs (Flowers) to the Musée de Nîmes.

V. Dubourg befriended Édouard Manet (1832-1883) in the 1860s – he went on to be H. Fantin-Latour’s best man at their wedding. On Mondays the couple entertained close friends in their Parisian apartment located above H. Fantin-Latour’s studio. During these soirées, V. Dubourg read texts that she had translated from English (art and book reviews) and German (Hegel, Schopenhauer, etc.). The two artists spent the summers in Buré in the French department of Orne, but abstained from painting outdoors.

After her husband’s death, V. Dubourg helped organise the retrospective exhibition devoted to his career at the École des Beaux-Arts in 1906 and designed the catalogue raisonné of his works, which was published in 1911. She gave his Nature morte dite “de fiançailles” (Still life [The engagement], 1869) to the Musée de Grenoble and La Famille Dubourg [The Dubourg family, 1878] to the Musée du Luxembourg.
On 27 July 1913 she was mentioned by Arsène Alexandre in Le Figaro as “one of the most important women artists of today”, alongside Marie Cazin (1844-1924), Charlotte Besnard (1854-1931), Angèle Delasalle (1867-1939) and Virginie Demont-Breton (1859-1935). She was made Knight of the Legion of Honour by Léonce Bénédite in 1920, the same year as Aristide Maillol (1861-1944). Her participation in the San Francisco World’s Fair in 1915, during World War I, was considered an exceptional service rendered to the nation. In 1989 Elizabeth Kane retraced the artist’s life in her article “Victoria Dubourg: The other Fantin-Latour”, published in the autumn 1988-winter 1989 issue of the Woman’s Art Journal. There is still much to be discovered and brought to light about V. Dubourg’s work and its reception.

Read more

Mathilde Leïchlé

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Flowers, unknown date, oil on canvas, 42.7 x 47.8 cm, musée national de l’art occidental, Tokyo

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Fleurs dans un vase, 1910, oil on canvas, 42.5 x 36.5 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, White Hydrangeas, unknown date, oil on canvas, 38.4 x 39.4 cm

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Roses dans un semoir en porcelaine, ca. 1875-1900, oil on canvas, 33.3 x 41.2 cm, © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Pieds d’alouettes et raisins blancs, unknown date, oil on canvas, © Photo : Asar Studios / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Narcisse, before 1900, watercolor on ove white paper prepared with brown chalk, 22.4 x 15.2 cm, © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Coin de table, oil on canvas, 52 x 63 cm, musée de Grenoble, © Photo :  RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Gérard Blot

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Victoria Dubourg

1840Paris, France | 1926Buré, France
Informations

Peintre française.

Si Victoria Dubourg est souvent présentée comme « la plus parfaite élève de Fantin », « une véritable collaboratrice » (Le Bulletin de la vie artistique, 15 octobre 1926), elle est aussi évoquée comme une « peintre de talent » (musée de Grenoble, Catalogue, 1911) et commence à peindre avant sa rencontre, en 1869, avec Henri Fantin-Latour (1836-1904), qu’elle épouse en 1876.
Fille d’un professeur de français, elle passe une partie de son enfance à Francfort-sur-le-Main, en Allemagne, et étudie à l’Institut Staedel avant d’enseigner le dessin à l’Institut des Dames anglaises. En 1865, de retour en France, elle obtient une carte de copiste au Louvre. En 1866, grâce à la recommandation de Gustave Chaix d’Est-Ange, vice-président du Conseil d’État et président de la section des Travaux publics et des Beaux-Arts, elle reçoit une commande de copie pour La Vierge, l’Enfant Jésus, sainte Martine (vers 1643) de Pierre de Cortone (1596-1669) et, plus tard, pour Les Pèlerins d’Emmaüs (vers 1530) de Titien (v. 1488-1576).

La première œuvre connue de V. Dubourg est une nature morte de 1861. Elle expose cinquante-trois œuvres au Salon des artistes français entre 1868 et 1902 sans se réclamer d’un professeur. En 1894, elle reçoit une mention honorable et, en 1895, une médaille de troisième classe. Elle participe aux expositions des Amis des arts de Pau et sept fois à celles de la Royal Academy de Londres entre 1882 et 1896, ainsi qu’occasionnellement à celles de la Royal Society of British Artists entre 1882 et 1899. En 1908, elle présente ses tableaux à l’Exposition industrielle internationale de Toulouse.
Ses œuvres sont pour la plupart des natures mortes qui remportent l’adhésion des critiques : « Ses tableaux modestes en apparence, mais où la fleur parle et respire, et qui laissent bien loin en arrière toute l’horticulture picturale des expositions ordinaires » (Arsène Alexandre, « Histoire sommaire des femmes artistes », Comoedia, 12 février 1910, p. 3). V. Dubourg réalise également quelques paysages ou vues d’intérieur (Le Jardin de Buré, conservé au musée de Grenoble, et L’Atelier de Fantin-Latour, aujourd’hui dans la collection du musée des Beaux-Arts et de la Dentelle à Alençon) et portraits(Portrait de Mlle S. B… en 1869, Portrait de Mlle C. D…, sa sœur, en 1870 et le pastel Portrait de Mme E. D. en 1887). Deux statuettes antiquisantes conservées au musée de Grenoble lui sont attribuées. Sa dernière œuvre connue, représentant un vase de fleurs, date de 1916. L’État acquiert plusieurs de ses peintures (Fleurs et fruits en 1872 et Panier de fleurs en 1895) et elles sont également présentes dans des collections particulières comme celles d’Émile Duranty ou du baron Alphonse de Rothschild, qui fait don de Fleurs au musée de Nîmes.

V. Dubourg fréquente Édouard Manet (1832-1883) dans les années 1860 – il sera le témoin d’H. Fantin-Latour à leur mariage. Le lundi, le couple accueille des amis proches dans son appartement parisien situé au-dessus de l’atelier d’H. Fantin-Latour. Au cours de ces soirées, V. Dubourg lit des textes en anglais (comptes rendus artistiques et littéraires) et en allemand (Hegel, Schopenhauer…) qu’elle traduit. Les deux artistes passent leurs étés à Buré, dans l’Orne, mais ne peignent pas en plein air.

Après la mort de son mari, V. Dubourg participe à l’organisation de l’exposition rétrospective qui lui est dédiée à l’École des beaux-arts en 1906 et réalise le catalogue raisonné de son œuvre, publié en 1911. Elle lègue Nature morte dite « de fiançailles » (1869) au musée de Grenoble et La Famille Dubourg (1878) au musée du Luxembourg.
Le 27 juillet 1913, elle est citée par Arsène Alexandre dans Le Figaro parmi « les artistes femmes qui ont une place importante dans le mouvement actuel » aux côtés de Marie Cazin (1844-1924), Charlotte Besnard (1854-1931), Angèle Delasalle (1867-1939) et Virginie Demont-Breton (1859-1935). Elle est faite chevalier de la Légion d’honneur en 1920, la même année qu’Aristide Maillol (1861-1944), par Léonce Bénédite. Sa participation à l’Exposition universelle de San Francisco pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, en 1915, est en effet considérée comme un service extraordinaire rendu à la nation. En 1989, Elizabeth Kane retrace la vie de l’artiste dans l’article « Victoria Dubourg : the other Fantin-Latour » paru dans le numéro automne 1988-hiver 1989 du Woman’s Art Journal. Son œuvre et sa réception restent encore très largement à redécouvrir et à mettre en lumière.

Lire plus

Mathilde Leïchlé

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Flowers, date inconnue, huile sur toile, 42,7 x 47,8 cm, musée national de l’art occidental, Tokyo

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Fleurs dans un vase, 1910, huile sur toile, 42,5 x 36,5 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, White Hydrangeas, date inconnue, huile sur toile, 38,4 x 39,4 cm

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Roses dans un semoir en porcelaine, vers 1875-1900, huile sur toile, 33,3 x 41,2 cm, © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Pieds d’alouettes et raisins blancs, date inconnue, huile sur toile, © Photo : Asar Studios / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Narcisse, avant 1900, aquarelle sur papier blanc de ove préparé avec de la craie brune, 22,4 x 15,2 cm, © Photo : Artokoloro / Alamy Banque d’Images

Victoria Dubourg — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Victoria Dubourg, Coin de table, huile sur toile, 52 x 63 cm, musée de Grenoble, © Photo :  RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Gérard Blot

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29