Zanele Muholi

1972 | Durban, South Africa
Informations
Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Beowulf Sheehan/ PEN America/ Opale / Bridgeman Images

South African photographer and activist.

Zanele Muholi grew up in a township on the outskirts of Durban. She moved to Johannesburg at the age of 19 and, in 2002, enrolled in the Market Photo Workshop, a school founded by the acclaimed South African photographer David Goldblatt. The two-year intensive course marked a major turning point during which the artist outlined the principles of her photographic approach, an approach she defines in absolute correlation with her commitment to the South African LGBTI community, which, although it is supported by the Constitution, continues to endure violence, discrimination and inequality. As a “visual activist”, as Z. Muholi likes to present herself, the artist develops an extensive and open visual archive that focuses mainly on black lesbian women.
In 2006, she began working on an ambitious project entitled Faces and Phases, the “Faces” being the subjects, and “Phases” the different phases of their identity construction. The constantly evolving series is emblematic of her entire approach, and now includes some 300 portraits of women that Z. Muholi has met all over the country, and with whom she has sought to establish “a relationship based on mutual understanding”. Captured at various moments of their lives, the models are all photographed following the same method established by the artist: head and shoulder shot, face or three-quarters on, framed at an equal distance, indoors or outdoors, in black and white, without any accessories, backdrops or costumes. With this unique collection, Z. Muholi gives visibility to South African black lesbian women, reveals their presence, and gives them the possibility to assert themselves in the eyes of the world through their difference and singularity. Beyond their value as social documentary, these manifestly heartfelt images face viewers with a rare intensity.

The series Somnyama Ngonyama [“Hail the dark lioness” in Zulu], initiated in 2012, marks a new step in Z. Muholi’s work. With this series of self-portraits, taken at home or in hotel rooms while abroad, the artist questions the history of photographic depictions of black women’s bodies. The artist is shown wearing outrageous makeup and an array of headpieces, costumes, and accessories (shells, clothes pegs, stainless steel scouring pads, electrical cable, stools, feathers, gloves, bank notes…), and proudly posing in minimalist settings to poke fun at stereotypes surrounding African femininity. Shot in black and white, these pictures make meticulous use of lighting in order to accentuate the pigmentation of the black skin to the extreme.
Z. Muholi has expressed her unfailing commitment to the LGBTI cause in many exhibitions, publications, and conferences, as well as in her documentary filmmaking (Difficult Love, 2010) and through the creation of a forum focused on women’s empowerment and a multimedia platform for queer artists (www.inkanyiso.org). She is now considered a major figure in South Africa, both in activist circles and in the art world, embodying the first post-Apartheid wave of political artists and the leader of a new generation of women artists for whom she has without a doubt paved the way.

Read more

Ludovic Delalande

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Debora Dlamini, KwaThema Community Hall, Springs, Johannesburg, 2011, gelatin silver print, 76.5 x 50.5 cm, MoMA, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Bakindile IV, The Square, Cape Town, 2017, gelatin silver print, The Israel Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Buzani (Parktown), 2016, gelatin silver print, 78.2 x 54.3 cm, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Fezekile IV, Cincinnati from the series Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2016, gelatin silver print, 50.16 x 38.1 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Flesh II, 2005, gelatin silver print on paper, 60 x 44.6 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Gazi T Zuma, Umlazi, Durban, 2010, gelatin silver print, 86.52 x 60.48 cm, SFMOMA, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, ID crisis, 2003, gelatin silver print on paper, 35.3 x 48 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, In-security, 2003, gelatin silver print on paper, 48.3 x 33.2 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Misiwe III, Bijlmer, Amsterdam from the series Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2017, gelatin silver print, 59.94 x 51.43 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Sunday Francis Mdlankomo, Vosloorus, Johannesburg, 2011, gelatin silver print, 86 × 60.6 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zibuyile, Parktown, 2014, gelatin silver print, the Israel Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zimaseka, Zim Salusalu, Gugulethu, Cape Town, 2011, gelatin silver print, 86 x 60.6 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zonk’zizwe, Green Market Square, Cape Town from the series Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2017, gelatin silver print, 60.32 x 59.37 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Zanele Muholi

1972 | Durban, Afrique du Sud
Informations
Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Beowulf Sheehan/ PEN America/ Opale / Bridgeman Images

Photographe et activiste sud-africaine.

Après avoir grandi dans un township à la périphérie de Durban, Zanele Muholi s’installe, à l’âge de 19 ans, à Johannesburg où elle s’inscrit, en 2002, au Market Photo Workshop, école fondée par le mythique photographe sud-africain David Goldblatt. Cette formation avancée de deux ans constitue un tournant majeur pendant lequel l’artiste énonce les principes de sa démarche photographique qu’elle définit en corrélation absolue avec son engagement envers la communauté sud-africaine LGBTI qui, bien que la Constitution lui soit favorable, continue de subir violences, discriminations et inégalités. En tant qu’« activiste visuelle » – c’est ainsi que Z. Muholi aime à se présenter –, elle développe une importante archive visuelle ouverte, qui prend pour sujet principal les femmes noires lesbiennes.
En 2006, elle initie un ambitieux projet intitulé Faces and Phases, « Faces » désignant les personnes et « Phases » les différentes phases de la construction de leur identité. Emblématique de sa démarche, cette série en constante évolution se compose aujourd’hui d’environ 300 portraits de femmes, rencontrées à travers tout le pays et avec lesquelles Z. Muholi souhaite établir « une relation fondée sur une compréhension mutuelle ». Capturés à différents moments de leur vie, ces modèles sont tous photographiés selon un même principe, imposé par l’artiste : en buste, de face ou de trois quarts, cadrés à distance égale, en intérieur ou en extérieur, en noir et blanc, sans artifice, ni décor, ni costume. Avec cette collection unique, Z. Muholi donne une visibilité aux femmes noires lesbiennes sud-africaines, révèle leur présence et leur offre la possibilité de s’affirmer dans leur différence et leur singularité aux yeux du monde. Mais, au-delà du documentaire social, ces images, à la sincérité manifeste, s’imposent dans un face-à-face d’une rare intensité avec le spectateur.

Commencée en 2012, la série en cours Somnyama Ngonyama [Salut à toi, lionne noire en zoulou] marque une nouvelle étape. Au travers d’autoportraits, réalisés chez elle ou dans des chambres d’hôtel à l’occasion de déplacements à l’étranger, l’artiste interroge l’histoire des représentations photographiques du corps de la femme noire. Grimée de façon outrancière, affublée de coiffures, de costumes et d’accessoires aussi divers que variés (coquillages, pinces à linge, éponges en Inox, câbles électriques, tabourets, plumes, gants, billets de banque…), l’artiste s’affiche avec fierté dans des mises en scène minimales, pour se jouer avec malice des stéréotypes liés à la féminité africaine. Exécutés en noir et blanc, ces clichés accordent un soin tout particulier à l’éclairage afin d’accentuer à l’extrême la pigmentation du corps noir.
Son engagement sans faille pour la cause LGBTI s’exprime à travers des expositions, des publications et des conférences, tout autant que dans la réalisation de documentaires, dont Difficult Love (2010), la création d’un forum pour l’autonomisation des femmes ou encore d’une plateforme multimédia destinée aux artistes queer (www.inkanyiso.org). Désormais considérée comme une figure majeure en Afrique du Sud, à la fois du militantisme et de la scène artistique, dont elle incarne le premier moment politique de l’art après la fin de l’apartheid, Z. Muholi apparaît aujourd’hui comme la cheffe de file d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes femmes à laquelle elle a indéniablement ouvert la voie.

Lire plus

Ludovic Delalande

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Debora Dlamini, KwaThema Community Hall, Springs, Johannesburg, 2011, tirage gélatino-argentique, 76,5 x 50,5 cm, MoMA, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Bakindile IV, The Square, Cape Town, 2017, tirage gélatino-argentique, The Israel Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Buzani (Parktown), 2016, tirage gélatino-argentique, 78,2 x 54,3 cm, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Fezekile IV, Cincinnati issu de la série Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2016, tirage gélatino-argentique, 50,16 x 38,1 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Flesh II, 2005, tirage gélatino-argentique sur papier, 60 x 44,6 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Gazi T Zuma, Umlazi, Durban, 2010, tirage gélatino-argentique, 86,52 x 60,48 cm, SFMOMA, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, ID crisis, 2003, tirage gélatino-argentique sur papier, 35,3 x 48 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, In-security, 2003, tirage gélatino-argentique sur papier, 48,3 x 33,2 cm, Tate, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Misiwe III, Bijlmer, Amsterdam issu de la série Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2017, tirage gélatino-argentique, 59,94 x 51,43 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Sunday Francis Mdlankomo, Vosloorus, Johannesburg, 2011, tirage gélatino-argentique, 86 × 60,6 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zibuyile, Parktown, 2014, tirage gélatino-argentique, the Israel Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zimaseka, Zim Salusalu, Gugulethu, Cape Town, 2011, tirage gélatino-argentique, 86 x 60,6 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Zanele Muholi

Zanele Muholi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zanele Muholi, Zonk’zizwe, Green Market Square, Cape Town issu de la série Somnyama Ngonyama (Hail the Dark Lioness), 2017, tirage gélatino-argentique, 60,32 x 59,37 cm, Collection Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Zanele Muholi

Magazine
Article lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29