Zineb Sedira

1963 | Gennevilliers, France
Informations
Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Sureya Shaheen

Sponsor
— Galerie kamel mennour

French multimedia artist.

Born to Algerian parents who had immigrated to France, Zineb Sedira studied graphic art in France, then moved to London where she attended Central Saint Martin’s College of Art and Design and the Royal College of Art, among other institutions. A multimedia artist, her interest lies in the expression of intimacy and the personal and biographic from a multicultural perspective. She thus merges everyday images of life in the West with Arab rituals: for example, the video A Scream for Liberation (1995) consists in a single close-up of a woman’s mouth whose cry is suggestive of the yu-yu, the traditional high-pitched ululation among women of the Maghreb and Middle East to express their emotions at birth ceremonies, marriages and funerals, or also used as a warning such as by the resistance during the war in Algeria.

In 1996 the film Autobiographical Patterns shows Sedira’s hand on which she quickly writes her life story in French, Arab and English from her birth to her move to London. This superposition of different texts and scripts becomes the symbol of her multiple identities and cultural plurality. Zineb Sedira is also a photographer; in the triptych Self-Portraits or the Virgin Mary (2000) she shows herself dressed in a white haik (a long traditional Algerian veil) before a white ground. This white-on-white image illuminates Sedira like a representation of the Virgin Mary in her take on the supposed opposition between Christian and Muslim imagery. A turning point in her work occurred in 2002 when she returned to Algeria after more than ten years of absence. This trip, during which she took a series of landscape photographs, led her to engage in a more universal work. The same year she produced Mother Tongue, a set of three videos that are played simultaneously. In the first, Sedira talks in French to her mother, who replies in Arabic; in the second she speaks in French to her daughter, who replies in English; and the third video reveals the impossible communication between the granddaughter and grandmother as they have no language in common. Mother Tongue thus explores inter-generational differences and how integration into a society is detrimental to one’s own genealogy. Taking a similar approach, with the video Mother, Father and I (2003), in which her parents describe the paths of their respective lives, Sedira takes her own history as the basis for her thoughts on the history that links France and Algeria. In 2005 she produced a video documenting travel and encounters called And the Road Goes On… (2005), in which she gives a portrait of contemporary Algeria shortly after the end of its civil war.

She switched to a more cinematic approach in the video Saphir (2006), focusing attention on the image, in contrast to her earlier, more experimental and rudimentary works. The subject of Saphir is the Hotel Es-Safir, opened in Algiers in 1930, and its surrounding area. Filmed by the sea and near the port, the two videos that constitute the installation use the wanderings of a man in the city and the hotel to refer to the departure and migration of Algerians to Europe. In contemplative style – the production is composed mainly of panoramic views and slow-motion photography – Saphir presents itself above all as a universal urban dream. In MiddleSea (2008), the same man wanders around the bridge of an empty ferry that runs between Algiers and Marseille. In this video punctuated by the sounds of the waves and the boat, it is the torpor of the journey and its hopes and promises that are transcribed, as the points of departure and arrival are in the end of little importance. Floating Coffins (2009) can be considered the third work in a triptych whose common thread is the sea. Initially a means of escape, and then a form of frontier, in the last work the sea is portrayed as a prison. The installation employs fourteen screens of different size and eight loudspeakers. The videos were filmed in Nouadhibou in Mauritania, in a reserve for migrating birds that is also a place of transit for Sub-Saharan migrants illegally attempting to reach Europe despite the danger of the crossing to the Canary Islands. The town is also known for its ships’ graveyard.

Read more

Priscilia Marques

Translated from French by Timothy Stroud.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Silent Sight, 2000, video projection (black and white, sound), 11’10’’, film 16 mm, 4:3 format, soundtrack by Edith Marie Pasquier. View of the exhibition Les rêves n’ont pas de titre, [mac] musée d’Art contemporain, Marseille, 2010. Production: Westminster Arts Council & Artsadmin, London. Collection: The mumok – museum moderner kunst stiftung ludwig wien collection. Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Photo: Charles Duprat © Zineb Sedira © DACS, London © ADAGP, Paris.

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Mother Tongue, 2002, installation. 3 videos (colour, sound) on screens with audio headsets, 4’38’’ each video, 4:3 format, Mother and I (France), Daughter and I (England), Grandmother and Granddaughter (Algeria). Collections: Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Paris; Musée national de l’histoire et des cultures de l’immigration / Cité nationale de l’histoire, Paris; Tate Collection, London. View of the exhibition Les rêves n’ont pas de titre, [mac], musée d’art contemporain, Marseille, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo: Zined Sedira, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Saphir, 2006, Still, video installation, double projection (colour, sound), HD, 19’, 16:9 format, funded and commissioned by Film and Video Umbrella and the Photographer’s Gallery, London, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Saphir, 2006, Still, video installation, double projection (colour, sound), HD, 19’, 16:9 format, funded and commissioned by Film and Video Umbrella and the Photographer’s Gallery, London. Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Floating Coffins, 2009, installation, 14 screens and 8 rounds loudspeakers, screens of various sizes, the overall dimensions depending on the space, soundtrack by Mikhail Karikis, 9’43’’. View of the exhibition New Art Exchange, Nottingham, 2009, commissioned by the New Art Exchange, Nottingham, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo: Bartosz Kali, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, MiddleSea, 2008, still, video-projection (colour, sound), 16’, super 16 mm, 16:9 format, soundtrack by Mikhail Karikis. Production: Arts Council England, London & Henry Moore Foundation, Liverpool, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Framing the View I, 2008, c-crint, 50,8 x 76,2 cm, commissioned by the Photographer’s Gallery, London. Collections: Sharjah Art Museum; private collection, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Gardiennes d’images, 2010, Part I: double video projection (black and white, colour, sound), 19’, 16:9 format, French and English subtitles, Part II: single video projection (colour, sound), 30’50’’, 16:9 format, production and prize: SAM Art Projects, 2009. Collections: Centre national des arts plastiques, ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Paris; SAM Art Projects, Paris. View of the exhibition Gardiennes d’images, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2010, Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo : André Morin, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Transmettre en abyme, 2012, still, video installation, 3 screens (black and white, colour, sound), part I: single screen; 18’; 16:9 format, part II: double screen; 15’; 16:9 format. Commissioned by Marseille Provence 2013, European, Capital of Culture and the Port of Marseille. Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Sugar Silo I & II, 2014, Diptych, C-Type, 160 x 200 cm each. Commissioned by Marseille Provence 2013, European Capital of Culture and the, Port of Marseille. Courtesy Zineb Sedira and galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Zineb Sedira

1963 | Gennevilliers, France
Informations
Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Sureya Shaheen

Soutien
— Galerie kamel mennour

Artiste multimédia française.

Née de parents algériens immigrés, Zineb Sedira suit des études d’art graphique en France, puis poursuit sa formation à Londres, à la Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design et au Royal College of Art, entre autres. Artiste multimédia, elle s’intéresse à l’expression de l’intime, du personnel, du biographique, intégrée dans une problématique multiculturelle. Elle confronte ainsi les images usuelles occidentales et les rituels arabes : la vidéo A Scream for Liberation (1995) consiste en un gros plan unique sur la bouche d’une femme, dont le cri rappelle le « youyou » ; tradition orale chez les femmes du Maghreb et du Moyen-Orient, ces longs cris très aigus et modulés sont utilisés pour exprimer leurs émotions lors de cérémonies (naissances, mariages, mais aussi décès), ou bien comme alertes, véritables appels de résistance pendant la guerre en Algérie.

En 1996, le film Autobiographical Patterns montre la main de l’artiste, sur laquelle elle écrit frénétiquement en français, en arabe et en anglais son histoire personnelle, depuis sa naissance en France jusqu’à son installation à Londres. Cette superposition de différents textes et de calligraphies multiples symbolise son identité plurielle et la confusion identitaire qu’elle peut engendrer. Z. Sedira pratique également la photographie : dans le triptyque Self Portraits or the Virgin Mary (2000), elle se met en scène, vêtue d’un haïk blanc, long voile traditionnel algérien, devant un fond blanc. Cette superposition de tons clairs illumine le sujet comme une représentation de la Vierge Marie. L’artiste aborde de la sorte l’opposition supposée entre l’imaginaire religieux chrétien et musulman. L’année 2002 marque un tournant dans son œuvre, alors qu’elle retourne en Algérie après plus de dix ans d’absence. Ce voyage, dont elle tire une série de photographies de paysages, l’amène à proposer un travail plus universel. La même année, elle réalise Mother Tongue (« langue maternelle »), un ensemble de trois vidéos diffusées simultanément : sur la première, l’artiste dialogue en français avec sa mère qui lui répond en arabe ; sur la deuxième, elle parle en français à sa fille qui lui répond en anglais ; la dernière vidéo montre enfin la communication impossible entre la petite-fille et la grand-mère, puisqu’elles n’ont plus de langue commune. Cette oeuvre explore ainsi les différences entre les générations, et comment l’intégration dans une société se produit au détriment de sa propre généalogie. Dans la même perspective, Z. Sedira part de son histoire personnelle pour élargir sa réflexion vers l’histoire qui lie la France à l’Algérie, avec la vidéo Mother, Father and I (2003), dans laquelle ses parents relatent leur parcours respectif. En 2005, à travers une vidéo de voyage et de rencontres, And the Road Goes on… (2005), elle dresse un portrait de l’Algérie contemporaine, sortant d’une guerre civile.

À partir de la vidéo Saphir (2006), elle s’oriente vers une mise en scène plus cinématographique, en portant une attention particulière à l’image, ce qui contraste avec les œuvres précédentes, plus expérimentales et dépouillées. Saphir a pour sujet l’hôtel Es-Safir, inauguré en 1930 à Alger, et ses alentours. Filmées au bord de la mer, près du port, les deux vidéos composant l’installation évoquent le départ et la migration vers l’Europe, à travers les déambulations d’un homme dans la ville et l’hôtel. Dans un style contemplatif – la mise en scène se compose principalement de panoramiques et de ralentis –, Saphir se veut avant tout un rêve urbain universel. Dans MiddleSea (2008), le même personnage, dans une posture d’attente, arpente le pont d’un ferry, vide, reliant Alger à Marseille. Dans cette vidéo rythmée par le bruit des vagues et les sons émanant du bateau, c’est bien la langueur du trajet, le voyage chargé d’espérances et de promesses, qui sont retranscrits, les points de départ et d’arrivée n’ayant finalement que peu d’importance. Floating Coffins (« cercueils flottants », 2009) peut être considéré comme le troisième volet de ce triptyque, où la mer établit un lien entre chaque oeuvre ; d’abord échappatoire puis frontière, elle devient prison. L’installation est constituée de 14 écrans aux formats différents et de huit haut-parleurs. Les vidéos ont été tournées à Nouadhibou en Mauritanie, dans une réserve d’oiseaux migrateurs qui est aussi le lieu de passage des migrants subsahariens clandestins tentant de rejoindre l’Europe, malgré le danger que représente la traversée. Le site est aussi connu pour son cimetière de bateaux.

Lire plus

Priscilia Marques

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Silent Sight, 2000, projection vidéo (noir et blanc, son), 11’10’’, film 16 mm, format 4/3, bande-son réalisée par Edith Marie Pasquier. Vue de l’exposition Les rêves n’ont pas de titre, [mac] musée d’Art contemporain, Marseille, France, 2010. Production : Westminster Arts Council & Artsadmin, Londres. Collection : The mumok – museum moderner kunst stiftung ludwig wien collection. Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Photo : Charles Duprat © Zineb Sedira © DACS, London © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Mother Tongue, 2002, installation, 3 vidéos (couleur, son) sur écrans avec casques audio, 4’38’’ chaque vidéo, format 4/3, Mother and I (France), Daughter and I (Angleterre), Grandmother and Granddaughter (Algérie). Collections : Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Paris ; musée national de l’histoire et des cultures de l’immigration / Cité nationale de l’histoire, Paris ; Tate Collection, Londres. Vue de l’exposition Les rêves n’ont pas de titre [mac], musée d’art contemporain, Marseille, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo : Zined Sedira, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Saphir, 2006, still, installation vidéo, double projection (couleur, son), HD, 19’, format 16/9. Production et commande de Film and Video Umbrella et Photographer’s Gallery, Londres, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Saphir, 2006, still, installation vidéo, double projection (couleur, son), HD, 19’, format 16/9. Production et commande de Film and Video Umbrella et Photographer’s Gallery, Londres, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Floating Coffins, 2009, installation, 14 écrans et 8 haut-parleurs ronds, écrans de tailles variées, dimensions de l’ensemble variables suivant l’espace, bande son réalisée par Mikhail Karikis, 9’43’’. Vue de l’installation New Art Exchange, Nottingham, 2009, commande du New Art Exchange, Nottingham, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo : Bartosz Kali, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

 

Zineb Sedira, MiddleSea, 2008, still, projection vidéo (couleur, son), 16 min, super 16 mm, format 16/9, bande-son réalisée par Mikhail Karikis. Production : Arts Council England, Londres & Henry Moore Foundation, Liverpool, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Framing the View I, 2008, photographie couleur, 50,8 x 76,2 cm, commande de la Photographer’s Gallery, Londres. Collections : Sharjah Art Museum ; collection particulière, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Gardiennes d’images, 2010, Part I: double projection vidéo (noir et blanc, couleur, son), 19’, format 16/9, sous-titres français et anglais, Part II: projection vidéo simple (couleur, son), 30’50’’, format 16/9, production et prix : SAM Art Projects, 2009. Collections : Centre national des arts plastiques, ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Paris ; SAM Art Projects, Paris. Vue de l’exposition Gardiennes d’images, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2010, Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris, © Photo : André Morin, © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Transmettre en abyme, 2012, still, installation vidéo. 3 écrans (noir et blanc, couleur, son), partie I : écran simple ; 18’ ; format 16/9, partie II : double écran ; 15’ ; format 16/9. Commande de Marseille Provence 2013, Capitale européenne de la culture et du Port de Marseille. Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Zineb Sedira, © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Zineb Sedira — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zineb Sedira, Sugar Silo I & II, 2014, diptyque, C-Type, 160 x 200 cm chaque, commande de Marseille Provence 2013, Capitale européenne de la culture et du Port de Marseille. Courtesy Zineb Sedira et galerie kamel mennour, Paris. © Zineb Sedira © DACS, London / © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29