Prix AWARE

2021 Edition

Four commissioners – young professionals from the world of culture: art historians, art critics, curators – have each selected two artists whose names are respectively entered in the Prize (for artists whose career began less than 10 years ago) and for the Outstanding Merit Prize (for artists whose career began 30 years ago or more).

The commissioners for the 2021 prizes are Eva Barois De Caevel (independent curator, art critic and publisher), Thomas Conchou (independent curator and mediator for Les Nouveaux Commanditaires of La Fondation de France), Morad Montazami (art historian, publisher and curator) and Marion Vasseur Raluy (independent curator and author). They will present and defend the work of their selected artists in front of seven leading figures in the world of culture.

This panel is chaired by Emma Lavigne (president of the Palais de Tokyo), and composed of: Sophie Auger-Grappin (director of the contemporary art centre Le Creux de l’Enfer, Thiers), Alexandre Bohn (director of Frac Poitou-Charentes, Angoulême), Cathia Lawson-Hall (Head of Coverage and Investment Banking for Africa at Société Générale, collector), María Inés Rodríguez (artistic director Tropical Papers), Camille Morineau (co-founder and chairwoman of AWARE) and Béatrice Salmon (director of the Cnap, Centre National des Arts Plastiques).

Since 2019, the laureates benefit from new conditions of visibility thanks to the renewed and on-going support of the Ministry for Culture.

The winner of the Outstanding Merit Prize will receive a EUR 10,000 grant and a monographic publication, containing an original interview for release in 2021. The collec­tion of interviews is developed in partner­ship with Manuella Éditions for all the recipients of AWARE Outstan­ding Merit Prize since its creation. The first volumes, dedicated to Nil Yalter (joint winner of the 2018 Outstanding Merit Prize) and Jacqueline de Jong (winner of the 2019 Outstanding Merit Prize), has been launched in November 2019 and November 2020.

The artist who emerges as the Prize laureate will have one or more of her works acquired by the Cnap collections and a production grant for a solo exhibition to be held within the d.c.a (French Association for the Development of Contemporary Art Centres) and/or Platform network (cluster of Regional Contemporary Art Funds).

The 2021 AWARE Prizes for Women Artists will enjoy the support of the Ministry for Culture, the CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture and Elysées Monceau.

Laureates
Nominees

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Prix AWARE

Édition 2021

Quatre rapporteurs et rapporteuses – jeunes professionnel·le·s du monde de la culture : historien·ne·s de l’art, critiques, commissaires d’exposition – ont chacun·e présélectionné un duo d’artistes, nommées respectivement au prix (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis dix ans au plus) et au prix d’honneur (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis plus de trente ans).

Les rapporteurs et rapporteuses de l’édition 2021 – Eva Barois De Caevel (commissaire d’exposition indépendante, critique d’art et éditrice), Thomas Conchou (curateur indépendant et médiateur pour l’action Nouveaux commanditaires de la Fondation de France), Morad Montazami (historien de l’art, éditeur et commissaire d’exposition) et Marion Vasseur Raluy (commissaire d’exposition et autrice) – présenteront et défendront le travail des artistes devant un jury composé de sept figures majeures du monde de la culture.

Ce dernier sera présidé par Emma Lavigne (présidente du Palais de Tokyo), et composé de : Sophie Auger-Grappin (directrice du centre d’art Le Creux de l’Enfer, Thiers), Alexandre Bohn (directeur du Frac Poitou-Charentes, Angoulême), Cathia Lawson-Hall (Directrice des Relations Clients et Banque d’Investissement pour l’Afrique à la Société Générale, collectionneuse), María Inés Rodríguez (directrice artistique Tropical Papers), Camille Morineau (co-fondatrice et directrice d’AWARE) et Béatrice Salmon (directrice du Cnap, Centre national des arts plastiques).

Depuis 2019, les artistes lauréates bénéficient de nouvelles modalités de visibilisation grâce au soutien renouvelé et pérennisé du ministère de la Culture.

L’artiste recevant le prix d’honneur bénéficiera d’une dotation de 10 000 euros et de la publication d’un entretien inédit à paraître en 2022. La collec­tion d’entre­tiens est réalisée en partena­riat avec Manuella Éditions pour l’ensemble des artistes lauréates du prix d’honneur depuis sa création. Les premiers volumes, dédiés à Nil Yalter (lauréate ex-aequo du prix d’honneur 2018) et Jacqueline de Jong (lauréate du prix d’honneur 2019) , sont sortis, respectivement, en novembre 2019 et novembre 2020.

L’artiste émergente lauréate du prix bénéficiera d’une acquisition au sein des collections du Cnap et d’une aide à la production pour la réalisation d’une exposition monographique dans le réseau d.c.a (Association française de développement des centres d’art contemporain) et/ou Platform (regroupement des Fonds régionaux d’art contemporain).

En 2021, AWARE renforce son action en faveur des artistes émergentes nommées au Prix, au-delà de l’accompagnement déjà effectué auprès des lauréates des Prix AWARE depuis 2017. De nouveaux partenariats sont noués avec le Comité Professionnel des Galeries d’Art (CPGA) et l’Institut Français, afin d’œuvrer à une meilleure visibilité de leur travail.
Les portfolios des artistes émergentes nommées seront portés à l’attention de l’ensemble des galeries membres du CPGA, dans l’objectif de favoriser des rencontres entre galeristes et artistes.
En collaboration avec l’Institut français, des rencontres avec les artistes nommées sont envisagées dans le cadre du programme « Focus » destiné aux commissaires étranger·e·s.

L’édition 2021 des prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes bénéficient du soutien du ministère de la Culture, du CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture et d’Elysées Monceau.

Les Lauréates
Les Nommées

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29