Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Our publications

Interview

Published on 08.11.2019

Interview with Nil Yalter

Introduction

“There was no specific issue relating to Middle Eastern artists: the central issue was women artists. So what is women’s art? For example, I was sometimes criticised […] because I was using video and photography. I was working with media used by men. There were two groups: those who were looking at the female body, psychoanalytically and physically ; and my work, which was a bit too politicised.”

The 8 November 2019 the first volume of the collection of interviews with recipients of Outstanding Merit Prize is available in bookshop. This first tome is dedicated to Nil Yalter – a joint winner of the 2018 Prize – on the occasion of her exhibition TRANS/HUMANCE at MAC VAL in Vitry-sur-Seine. The interview was conducted by Fabienne Dumont, an art historian, art critic, specialist of the French feminist art scene in the 1970s, and co-curator of the MAC VAL exhibition.
The collection of interviews is launched in partnership with Manuella Éditions for all the recipients of AWARE Outstanding Merit Prize since its creation. In order to give more visibility to women artists in recognition of their exceptional career and to make their voices heard.

The next volumes of the collection are scheduled for publication in 2020 and will be devoted to Jacqueline de Jong (2019 recipient), Vera Molnár (joint 2018 recipient) and Judit Reigl (2017 recipient).

Colophon

Editorial direction
Hanna Alkema
Fanny Verdier

Editorial coordination
Manuella Éditions

Graphic design
Rousset – Templier

Translation from the French
Martyn Back

Proofreading
Mike Woods

Photo-engraving
Gérard Martini

Co-edition
Archives of Women Artists,
Research and Exhibi­tions
Manuella Éditions

This publication received support from Tania Assaf. With a publishing grant from Centre national des arts plastiques.

AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nos publications

Entretien

Publiés le 08.11.2019

Entretien avec Nil Yalter

Introduction

« Il n’y avait pas de spécificité d’artistes du Moyen-Orient, mais « les femmes artistes » comme problématique. Alors qu’est-ce que c’est, l’art des femmes ? Par exemple, on me critiquait parfois […] parce que j’utilisais la vidéo, la photographie. Je me servais d’un média utilisé par les hommes. Il y avait deux groupes : celles qui regardaient psychanalytiquement et physiquement le corps de la femme ; et mon travail, qui était un peu trop politisé. »

Le 8 novembre 2019 parait en librairie le premier ouvrage de la collection Prix d’honneur AWARE consacré à Nil Yalter, lauréate ex-aequo du prix d’honneur en 2018, en parallèle de son exposition TRANS/HUMANCE qui se tient au MAC VAL à Vitry-sur-Seine. Cette discussion est menée par Fabienne Dumont, historienne de l’art, critique d’art, spécialiste de la scène artistique féministe des années 1970 et co-commissaire de l’exposition du MAC VAL.
La collection d’entretiens est lancée en partenariat avec Manuella Éditions pour l’ensemble des artistes lauréates du prix d’honneur depuis sa création, avec l’objectif de leur donner une visibilité et faire entendre leur parole. Ces entretiens viennent ainsi couronner leur carrière.

S’ensuivront en 2020 les ouvrages dédiés à Jacqueline de Jong (lauréate 2019), Vera Molnár (lauréate ex-aequo en 2018) et Judit Reigl (lauréate 2017).

Colophon

Directrices éditoriales
Hanna Alkema
Fanny Verdier

Coordination éditoriale
Manuella Éditions

Conception graphique
Rousset – Templier

Relecture
Philippe Blaizot

Photogravure
Gérard Martini

Co-édition
Archives of Women Artists,
Research and Exhibi­tions
Manuella Éditions

Cette publication a bénéficié du soutien de Tania Assaf et du soutien à l’édition du Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap).

 

AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29