Prix AWARE

Nil Yalter
Nominee of Prix d’honneur 2018

Courtesy Nil Yalter

Nil Yalter

The creation of identities – those we make up for ourselves and those we are given – lies at the heart of Nil Yalter’s practice. Since she arrived in Paris in 1965 and her first exhibitions in the mid-70s – particularly at the musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris in 1973 –, she has consistently developed a body of work that combines powerful sociological explorations and great formal freedom – from experimental film to computer-generated animation and from documentary observations to poster campaigns in the public space. Her videos, paintings, multimedia installations, and drawings all place humanity at their core, bringing to life cultural affiliations, the effects of migration, and women’s issues. A quote from the Turkish poet Nâzim Hikmet (1901-1963) sums up her approach and outlook on the world: “Exile is a hard job.”

Nil Yalter - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nil Yalter, Topak Ev, 1973, metal structure, felt, sheepskins, painting, leather, text, mixed media, exhibition view, «  Nil Yalter, 1973-2015 », Verrière-Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Bruxelles, 2015, Courtesy Nil Yalter & Verrière-Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, © Photo: Isabelle Arthuis

Nil Yalter - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nil Yalter, Histoire de peau, 2003, interactive video, Courtesy Nil Yalter, © Nil Yalter

While Nil Yalter’s work is undeniably political – in the sense that her projects examine relationships and trajectories within a codified and complex shared space (Paris Ville Lumière, 1974; La Roquette, Prison de Femmes, 1974; Rahime, Kurdish Women from Turkey, 1979; Ris-Orangis, 1979) –, it also takes an interest in the sphere of intimacy. In Orient Express (1976), a series of photographs, drawings, Polaroids and film, she recorded her soul-searching and thoughts during a train journey between Paris and Istanbul – the two complementary poles of her existence. In other projects, she gives us a glimpse of the intimate life of people by sharing alternative stories that are usually considered as minor. In this respect, the installation Le Chevalier d’Éon, created in 1978 and shown on the occasion of the AWARE Prize for Women Artists 2018, marks an important milestone. A truly pioneering work in the representation of (trans)gender identities, it combines film, photography and painting through a double intersecting story: on the one hand, the story of the Chevalier d’Éon (1728-1810), a historical figure with multiple personalities, both a spy for King Louis XV and a maid of honour to Empress Elizabeth I of Russia, and on the other, the story of a friend of the artist, whom she documents with her Portapak camera as he transitions into a woman. Set to a Baroque soundtrack composed by Domenico Scarlatti, in an infinite set of mirrors and reflections – two elements perfectly suited for the majestic setting of the Hôtel de Soubise, which now houses the musée des Archives nationales –, the video documents their metamorphosis and state of androgyny. The multiple movements that play on perspective and on the circulation of the eye create a hypnotic moment in which we see the protagonist looking back at us, somewhere between intimacy and self-design. Calmly and with the utmost respect, Nil Yalter holds up a mirror to reflect our doubts and certainties.

 

Nil Yalter (1938) is a self-taught French artist of Turkish descent. She came to Paris in 1968 and held her first solo exhibition at the ARC, musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, in 1973. Her recently rediscovered work has been the subject of a retrospective at the Arter Space for Art (Istanbul) in 2016, and of many solo shows, particularly at La Verrière – Fondation d’entreprise Hermès (Brussels), MOT International (London) in 2015 and Hubert Winter Gallery (Vienna) in 2014. The first retrospective exhibition of her work in France was held in 2016 at 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz). Her works are featured in the collections of Tate Modern, Istanbul Modern, musée d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou, Paris Musées, Museum Ludwig (Cologne) and CNAP.

Commissioner: Clément Dirié, art historian, art critic, curator, and managing editor of JRP|Ringier

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Nil Yalter
Nommée au Prix d'honneur 2018

Courtesy Nil Yalter

Nil Yalter

La fabrique des identités – celles que nous nous forgeons comme celles qui nous sont assignées – constitue le cœur de la pratique de Nil Yalter. Depuis son arrivée à Paris en 1965 et ses premières expositions au mitan des années 1970 – notamment au musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris en 1973 –, elle développe une œuvre où la force de ses auscultations sociologiques du réel s’associe à une grande liberté formelle – du film expérimental à l’animation générée par ordinateur, du relevé documentaire aux campagnes d’affichage dans l’espace public. Ses vidéos, peintures, installations multimédias et dessins placent tous l’humain au centre, en mettant notamment en mouvement les appartenances culturelles, les effets de migrations et la question des femmes. Une formule, empruntée au poète turc Nâzim Hikmet (1901-1963), résume sa démarche et sa manière d’observer le monde : « C’est un dur métier que l’exil. »

Nil Yalter - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nil Yalter, Topak Ev, 1973, armature en métal, feutre, peau de mouton, peinture, cuir, texte, techniques mixtes, vue de l’exposition «  Nil Yalter, 1973-2015 », Verrière-Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Bruxelles, 2015, Courtesy Nil Yalter &  la Verrière-Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, © Photo : Isabelle Arthuis

Nil Yalter - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nil Yalter, Histoire de peau, 2003, vidéo interactive, Courtesy Nil Yalter, © Nil Yalter

Indéniablement politique – au sens où ses projets examinent relations et trajectoires au sein d’un espace commun codifié et complexe (Paris Ville Lumière, 1974 ; La Roquette, Prison de Femmes, 1974 ; Rahime, Kurdish Women from Turkey, 1979 ; Ris-Orangis, 1979) –, l’œuvre de Nil Yalter s’intéresse également à la sphère intime. Dans Orient Express (1976), ensemble de photographies, dessins, polaroïds et film, elle enregistre ses états d’âme et ses pensées lors d’un trajet en train entre Paris et Istanbul, deux pôles complémentaires de son existence. Dans d’autres projets, elle donne à voir l’intimité de personnes choisies, proposant des récits alternatifs, considérés comme mineurs. À ce titre, l’installation Le Chevalier d’Éon, réalisée en 1978 et exposée dans le cadre du prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes 2018, constitue un jalon emblématique. Œuvre véritablement pionnière quant à la représentation du (trans)genre, elle réunit film, photographies et peintures autour d’un double récit croisé : celui du chevalier d’Éon (1728-1810), figure aux identités multiples, espion de Louis XV et dame de cour d’Élisabeth Ire de Russie, et celui d’un ami de l’artiste se transformant en femme devant sa caméra Portapak. Au son d’une musique Grand Siècle composée par Domenico Scarlatti, dans un jeu infini de glaces et de reflets – ces deux éléments s’insérant à merveille dans le décor grandiose de l’hôtel de Soubise qui abrite aujourd’hui le musée des Archives nationales –, la vidéo documente cette métamorphose et cet état d’androgynie. Mouvements multiples de mise en abyme et circulation des regards créent ainsi un moment hypnotique où nous regardons ce personnage, entre intimité et fabrication de soi, nous scruter à son tour. Calmement, avec grand respect, Nil Yalter nous tend un miroir où refléter nos questionnements et nos certitudes.

 

Artiste autodidacte française d’origine turque, Nil Yalter (1938) arrive à Paris en 1965. Elle réalise sa première exposition personnelle en 1973 à l’ARC, au musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris. Son œuvre, récemment redécouverte, a fait l’objet d’une rétrospective en 2016 à l’Arter Space for Art (Istanbul), ainsi que de nombreuses expositions personnelles, notamment à La Verrière – Fondation d’entreprise Hermès (Bruxelles), à la MOT International (Londres) en 2015 et à la Galerie Hubert Winter (Vienne) en 2014. En 2016, le 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz) a consacré ses espaces à la première rétrospective de ses travaux en France. Ses œuvres font partie, entre autres, des collections de la Tate Modern, de l’İstanbul Modern, du musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou, de Paris musées, du Museum Ludwig (Cologne) et du CNAP.

Rapporteur : Clément Dirié, historien et critique d’art, commissaire d’expositions, directeur éditorial de JRP|Ringier
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29